Customer Reviews for

Brava, Valentine (Valentine Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

BRAVA, TRIGIANI!

......and I thought it couldn't get any better! VERY VALENTINE, this trilogy's first installment was definitely five stars-good but BRAVA, VALENTINE is at least a 7-plus-er!

Valentine Roncalli, "Angelini Shoes since 1903" entrepreneur crawls, walks and sometimes run...
......and I thought it couldn't get any better! VERY VALENTINE, this trilogy's first installment was definitely five stars-good but BRAVA, VALENTINE is at least a 7-plus-er!

Valentine Roncalli, "Angelini Shoes since 1903" entrepreneur crawls, walks and sometimes runs through life in Greenwich Village, Tuscany and Argentina. Along the way
life is interesting, insightful and entertaining. Her strong desire to survive in her chosen,
handed down career propels her to branch out into mass shoe production from her custom made wedding shoes line. In this novel Ms. Trigiani presents us with a multi-dimensional work of art similar to Val's shoes designs.

As in her other novels, or perhaps more so in this one, poetry abounds in this author's
description of everything we read except for the hilarious dialogue that goes on between the colorful characters in Val's life.

With a long lost cousin rediscovered in Buenos Aires intrigue is interjected in the story
line.

An affair and two potential divorces and Clickety Click's rant - or is it Cluckety Clack"? we have dra-ma! Adding to that is June, a treasured long time employee who
has at it with her direct assessment of the Roncalli family. She swings with both fists!

80 year old Gram's wedding in Tuscany to her long time love, Dominic, would have been relatively uneventful if not for her sister the lush, Aunt Feen.

We are privvy to Valentine's past love, Bret and to Valentina's present love, Gianluca. All things considered life would be easier with her "husband" Gabe who's a great decorator and cook and more importantly a trusted confidant. Gianluca is European but
unprogressive though maybe he's gettin' with it - he acquired a Blackberry the last time I looked. I'm not giving my blessing if she chooses Gianluca since he is old world
schooled and she is young, progressive, determined and focused. The ring is lovely but it's not too late to say, "No"!

When a man loses his job he becomes "nicer" and more cooperative it seems. Alfred, Val's brother and new business partner is no longer the domineering know-it-all. He's now an asset to the business but maybe not to himself.

I've said enough here and recommend you read BRAVA, VALENTINE for yourself. Trust
me, you'll love it!

posted by imarose on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. Lacks depth and meaning.

This book is missing something, a lot. It lacks depth and meaning. Seemed rushed as the story and characters were severely underdeveloped. This feels like a placeholder for the third book and quite frankly commercial. Very disappointed. I was very much looking forward ...
This book is missing something, a lot. It lacks depth and meaning. Seemed rushed as the story and characters were severely underdeveloped. This feels like a placeholder for the third book and quite frankly commercial. Very disappointed. I was very much looking forward to the sequel as I loved "Very Valentine" and all of Ms. Trigiani's book. I have given several of them as gifts and am always hoping to discover a book I haven't yet read. Is this the last Adriana Trigiani book I read? Could be.

I think the sequel is riding the coat tails of "Very Valentine" and all of the other books. Sorry, this isn't worth the praise, attention or the read. I couldn't wait to find out what was next for Valentine, but I feel that reading the book didn't take us into Valentine's life, rather it was just an update that we could have gotten from reading a summary of the book. Unlike all of the preceding books, this book doesn't draw you into the characters or the story. There's no connection. I am no longer interested in Valentine's story.

Get back to basics - focus on the books and not the screen plays.

posted by mdlc on February 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Love this one so much that I am hoping for a thrid!

    I couldn't put this or Very Valentine down. These are amazing books and Adriana Trigiani is an amazing author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    A Fun Book

    I was not so crazy for the first book Very Valentine. Though I love all Ms. Trigiani's other books, especially Lucia Lucia. Brava Valentine was much more enjoyable. Ms. Trigiani developed Valentine much better in the second book. Valentine had more character and was much more interesting. She brought out the the brother Alfred more and less on the grandmother. Great interest with the lost family in Argentina. Thought was very interesting how Ms. Trigiani showed the prejudices of some members of her family. The second trilogy was much more interesting than the first book. Can't wait to see what happens next with Gianaluca. Also, I love her gay friend. Was sad to see what happened to June. Funny Thanksgiving scene.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Touching and Romantic!

    I enjoy all of Adriana's books. She has done a lot of research in the making of shoes for both of the "Valentine" books. She has a special way of touching the human heart, with Grandma's marriage, and Valentine's struggle to find herself. I hated to see the story end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    Something is missing

    I love Adriana Trigiani but something was missing from this book. It almost seemed as if she rushed the ending and skipped over parts to finish sooner. I'm assuming there will be another Valentine book to follow but Brava Valentine shouldn't have been rushed. The book was fun and lighthearted and if you are a Trigiani fan, worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Beautiful sr Beautiful story about kearning to love, to forgive, and the nature of trust.

    I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    You will enjoy this book.

    This book was very romantic and very funny. The family members are hilarious. I learned a lot about making shoes also. I don't want to mention too much so I won't spoil it, but It is funnier than Very Valentine. Both are good reads. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Enjoyable read.

    Highly recommend. I found it amusing,interesting and a must read especially if you are familiar with Italian families. Couldn't wait to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Entertaining Read

    I purchased this after reading The Shoemaker's Wife and enjoyed it thoroughly...though not as much as the latter. I have known Italian families and Trigiani portrays them perfectly. The love each other passionately; however, they argue ALL the time about anything! I laughed a great deal with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Good vacation read

    Really enjoyed the variety of characters and their relationships with each other throughout the story - moments that made me laugh and cry. The settings were interesting and the descriptions of the process of custom shoe making were fascinating. I'll be looking for more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Lovr it

    Cannot wait for the third book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    fun read

    really enjoyed fun light read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    A *bella* story!

    As much as I love Amish, Historicals, and suspense, I love a GREAT chick lit just as much! Now a days, with so much R rated content added in, it's truly hard to find a really good chick lit novel that I can get into. But, after hearing good things about Adriana Trigiani and her work, I was excited for the chance to review Brava, Valentine. Though, sadly, this is a follow up to her book Very Valentine, which I wish I would have read already, but it gives me something to look forward to reading in the future! That being said, though, I wasn't confused by the events or the characters in this book....in fact, this could be dubbed a stand alone title, as well.

    This book immediately captured me with not only the characters who become friends, but with the setting....parts of this book is set in Italy. I have ALWAYS wanted to go to Italy. And, reading a book like this, that's exactly what I got to do. I didn't even have to leave the comfort of my PJ's or my home! It was like I had just boarded a plane and was instantly next to the Angelini/Roncalli clan. Now, that's some fun traveling. I felt as though I could see the villages in Italy and I could just imagine the bella accents. Oh, how I love an Italian accent!

    Filled with lots of laugh-out-loud humor and a family secret, Adriana Trigiani really captures the readers' hearts with lovable characters like Valentine(she really was a sweet character!), Gianluca (*ppuurrr* can I have him?), Aunt Feen(well, let's just say that, um, she's definitely quite a character!), and even Gabriel(hhmm,he's sounds adorably funny, but...well,we'll leave it at that ;o)!). I really felt the pull into the story and became one of these characters, laughing out loud, running the family business with a nemesis and helping Valentine follow heart to what she REALLY wants.

    A story of longing, families, a'more and secrets, Trigiani has turned out a 4 star sexy, sassy, witty novel that, while I can't wait to go back and read book 1, is excellent! It's sexy, and passionate, yet there isn't any detailed R rated scenes, and with an extremely mild use of language (no F's !) that can be easily overlooked, it's one that I recommend to chick lit lovers! I'm hoping, really hoping, that Adriana Trigiani adds a third installment to Valentine's story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Brava Valentine worth reading to wrap up the story started in Very Valentine!!

    I very much enjoyed reading this book. It was a one sit read for me. Although there was a lot of description, which I tend to scan through, I did enjoy reading about Valentine's family. It was nice to get some of that cleared up in this book.

    Of course, I like the romance. I did find some of it unbelievable. She does keep you wondering until the end. It may not be the ending you would believe, but you will have to judge that for yourself.

    The family dynamics are very interesting. A little crazy to say the least. I was annoyed at Pam's Thanksgiving day lack of control... It is supposed to be a family day and as a mom, I wouldn't want to ruin it for everyone. More unbelievable was the lack of reaction toward her from the family. I would have been very angry and the fact they weren't I found hard to swallow.

    On the positive side, there were some very emotional spots of self realization for Valentine that I found so emotional I cried. It is a book about finding yourself and trusting others, which sometimes is very hard to do... Enjoy the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Fun reading

    Fun to read but not as good as her Stone Gap Series. I did enjoy it and will complete reading the trilogy as it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Adriana Trigiani Captures Brava Valentine!

    If you read Very Valentine and loved it, then Brava Valentine is a must read! This sequel has everything you can imagaine.

    Once I started this book, I had to gobble it up as fast as I could. Not a dull moment! I couldn't put it down! I laughed, I smiled, I grinned, I cried. I was elated, I was deflated. I was stunned. I was captured and touched by the wisdom in these words by this author. These characters, and this story gave me my heart's desire. I was taken all over hill and dale with my emotions....and back again.

    I think Adriana Trigiani captured it all in this one!.....she really does have you, even to the last page! And it still left me wanting to hear more about these characters!

    Valentine, the woman who finds growth, and a place in this world - from creative thoughts, and exploration in her works of art - to family problems that can only be resolved with the insights that these characters can offer - and finding love to push her to the point of understanding herself in this process. You simply fall in love with Valentine, and the people in her life.

    It's a fun read! And needless to say (but I will say it anyway), I loved this book! I hope you will, too!

    Kathy S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Her Valentine Books are Wonderful!

    i really enjoy Trigiani's books on Valentine. They have romance, plot and are very enjoyable to read. Never boring!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Sequel

    Like Scarlett O'Hara and her Tara, Val continues to put her life's legacy before her personal life in this second of three. Rich characters and a solid plot move the story along at an easy pace. It's an enjoyable read, and I'm awaiting the third in the series to tie this up to a solid finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Rather off-beat story line.

    Shoemakers, leather tanners -- kind of a different take on characters but very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brava Adriana!

    Adriana Trigiani is one of my favorite authors. I love a book that can make me laugh out loud. I enjoyed the interplay with Valentine's family. They put the "fun" in dys'fun'ctional! I related to Valentine's battle of wanting to assert her independence and still trying to find a way to fit love and a relationship into her busy life. It can be a difficult balance to figure out. A very enjoyable read and I look forward to the final book in the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Valentine's conflicted life...

    This is a fun light read for women. I love how Adriana Trigiani writes and look forward to her third installment in this series. Her descriptions of Italy literally take you there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4