BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Brave

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Anonymous cat URGENT ABOUT LEADER

    Thunderstar is locked out and is moving the clan to bravest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Bramblepaw

    (Sorry canf see headlines)
    He looked at his mentor. "Want to go hunting?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Icefang

    No im ur mentor not thunderstar.
    ~ icefang

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    The Brave

    A boy Sonny is living with his uncle on a old junkyard and wants to become a boxer.
    Sonny is a boy living on the Reservation with his uncle. His uncle Jake took him in after his mom dropped him off so she could go find a place to live in the city. He's been training for fighting from his uncle Jake. Sonny is also half white and half Indian. When he is training they call him a running brave.
    This is a kind of book that if you like sports and action. The book is by Robert Lipstyle who writes not just any book he writes about everything in sports. If I had a favorite character would have to be the main one Sonny because he does everything.
    So when he is done with boxing and finally moves away from the reservation. So now he is ready to try to make it on his own.
    Yes I would recommend this book for people who like boxing sports and action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    The Boxing Bear's 'Brave'come-up

    After picking up this book and flipping through the pages I looked at the cover. It didn't look like anything special but I decided I would read it anyway. After the first time I actually opened the book and started reading it I didn't want to put the book down. This book keeps your eyes glued to the pages and makes you flip the pages almost systematically. To tell you the truth, I was getting in trouble for staying up late reading which is very unusual for a kid like me. Sonny Bear, the main character who is a boxer, has a very interesting life. One that you want to keep 'watching' to see what will happen to him next. Throughout this book you meet many minor characters that shake up the plot. A story wouldn't be complete without villians, or antagonist, that threaten to bring Sonny down into a place he shouldn't be. Being an Indian, and from a reservation Sonny was put through a lot of prejudice from others especially during boxing matches. Fights were robbed from him, but yet he still battled through it all. Sonny goes from a small Indian reservation for Moscogandas, to the Big Apple, or New York City. Big city life can change anyone who isn't used to it. Sonny, being no different than anyone else, also has trouble that comes his way. He tries to work through it, but whether he comes out on top or goes down in flames, you'll have to read the book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Life keeps getting better and better, until!!!!!

    Sonny Bear a 17 year old native american boy who wants to get out of the reservation. He is sick and tired of Jake, who is 68, telling him about running braves. He goes to New York, meets the wrong people that get him in trouble with the law. Then Alfred Brooks takes Sonny off the streets and gets him in the ring. They say he can be the next best thing. Then his past comes back to haunt him. Is his life runned? One of the Best fictions I have ever read. Another Rocky type story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    A GREAT book!!!!

    This was a great book. The contender was also great if you red that you will want to read this or vis versa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    From A Student

    Sonny Bear is an Indian, who runs runs away from his reservation to New York City to search for his mother. He is a boxer is who tired of participating in smoker fights. He is also tired of his Uncle Jake's fairy tails. When he gets off the bus in New York City, he accepts a job with a hustler, and he is immediately busted for possesion of illigal substances. Sonny is a talented boxer, but he is hot-temperedand undiseplened; he has nearly killed in a correctional center before Alfred Brooks sends him to Donatelli's Gym, the place in Harlem, New York where he used to train. Sonny's training begins on the reservation, where its supplied by Jake, a member of the 'Running Braves'; after a brief course of instruction at Donatelli's, Sonny enters a city-wide amateur competetion and makes his way to the finals. But in his way strikes a terrible tragedy. Read this book to find out what happens to Sonny. I feel you need to read this book because it's action packed and it always makes you want to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    The Brave

    The book The Brave is a book for an average reader in the middle school level. I havn't read the prequal to this book The Contender. But I'm sure it's juat as good as The Brave

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1