Customer Reviews for

Brave New Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    Bad bad bad

    This book was very disapointing. I thought it would be good because the people on this site seemed to enjoy it, but it was just weird. There was a cuss word in every other sentence and there really wasn't a plot. I couldn't even bring myself to finish it. I wouldn't recommend this book, but if you still want to read it, check it out from the library. There's no point in wasting your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    interesting book

    This was a great read, and I'm glad that I read it, though it did remind me of another book called The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. Brave New Girl is about a girl trying to find her way in her complicated life while she deals with troubling teen problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    brave new girl review

    Brave New Girl Louisa Luna Doreen¿s family doesn¿t understand her her dads domineering, her moms a fluttering mess, and her ¿perfect¿ sister primps and preens while endlessly criticizing Doreen¿s flannel shirts and lack of fashion sense. To add to this the kids at school thinks she is a social reject, since she is somewhat of a tomboy and her only friend is another outcast, Ted. The only thing that keeps Doreen going is the thought that she might one day see her brother again. Her dad kicked him out of the house at the age of 4, making Doreen¿s memories vague at best. When she finds a postcard from Henry to her parents, it gave her more hope that he is still alive and that they might one day meet as she wanted. As Doreen endlessly struggles day in and day out, she encounters her sister¿s boyfriend, Mathew. Over time he makes her feel accepted although this was only a trick to have his way with her. After Doreen¿s crisis her whole world came crashing down, which made her dysfunctional and troubled family realize that that they had to forge a stronger more forgiving unit. I would strongly suggest this book for any teenager who feels like they have obstacles in their life. Although this book may have some harsh language, it is used to emphasize a point and without it you would not have gotten the feeling expressed in the writing I would say this story is for young adults and is very strongly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2006

    LUVED IT!

    Its based on a girl, 14 to be exact, living a teenage life. At the beginning, things were simple and easy, but as time goes on things get more intense, stranger, and intoxicated than ever before. But as the struggle goes on, she learnes more and more about herself, her family and her friends. Oh, and alot of drama, lots and lots of drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Short and Sweet

    I give this book three stars because it is a good book and worth reading. Doreen is a well developed character however, I find some of her experiences a little over dramatic in comparison to real life. This book is a good short read with a kind of mixed message but still worth the time. It did remind me sort of like The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbolsky. This book however, lacked the same knowledge and inspiration of The Perks... I still give it three stars and thats rather good on my scale so you should read it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Awesome Book

    I stayed up until 4 in the morning reading this book; I really couldn't put it down. The author did an excellent job at portraying the life of a teen, with none of that fake-sounding stuff you find in most young adult novels. I hope Luna writes more books like this in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    good book

    I enjoyed this book! Though it was confusing at some points, it is sharply written and reminded me of thoughts that went through my head when I was Doreens age. I would recommed this book to many people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    THE BEST

    All these series sort of books are awesome for teens. They seem so real and you don't want to put them down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    I couldn't get into it...

    Thank god I didn't spend my own money on this and it was given to from a friend...I honestly tried to read this book, but I just couldn't get past the first 20 pages...I didn't like the concept, I didn't like some of the things said, and I hated that the dialogue wasn't put in quotes. It confused me so much I didn't know when someone was talking or thinking! I want to enjoy the books I read, not have to make sure I don't miss the next line someone says. This book overall was very poorly done and too bad to be true! I'm glad that some people liked it, because I sure didn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    Readable

    I read this book and it was pretty good but not awesome. The character takes you back to a time when being a young girl ment so many things and you thought that the world sucked...it was raw and that's the best thing about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    It Was Great

    This was the best book I've read in a long time. It really takes you into the mind of a not so typical teenager whose life is changing dramatically. I recommend this book to any teenage girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2003

    Sorry but yes, this is good literature...

    For Jesse, who said this book could have been written by a 13 year old, excellent observation. It could have been, and I think that's where we find its appeal. What an incredible journey this girl has in the book. The reader is taken through a rainbow of emotions, some that every teenager will at one time experience and others that are unique to her and her situation (you'll see what I mean when you read the story). I may have to agree that this book wasn't as good as "The Perks of Being a Wallflower", but Louisa Luna definitely wrote something worth reading. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    Brave New Girl

    This is Ms. Luna's debut novel, and what an excellent way to begin your writing career! The narrator is a sarcastic, sullen fourteen year old we can all relate to. It's a brilliant sort of "coming of age" novel that has a painful, poignant end. I very much look forward to more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    !!!

    This is the best book i ever read.It was so good it only took me less than a day to read it, i reccommend this book to EVERYONE! just read it ! OK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2002

    If you don't read this boob you suck.

    This book was so great. I red it in a few hours. I read it over the phone to my friend and she wouldnt let me get of the phone with her she loved it so much. The things that happen in this book you can totally relate and it leaves you shocked at some things. It was really funny too. I wish I had a friend like Ted. This is a great book. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    Not Good Literature

    This book was OK at best. It was not good literature at all - I feel like this was something that a 13-year-old could have written. Obviously, the author remembers what it's like to be an adolescent girl, but remembering's not enough. The writer has to be able to write about it in a compelling way; this book wasn't compelling, it was boring & way too slow. It only became interesting at the end but the plot was so predictable that it didn't really hold my interest. The only reason I didn't put this book down & pick up something of substance is because my friend's book is being optioned by MTV & he wanted me to read the books in its line. This book was no "perks of being a wallflower", I can tell you that. The main character was whiny & bratty & she complained about everyone, which got really tiring. If this was supposed to be a critique of modern youth culture, it was inaccurate & disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    Funnny worth all the money!

    this book put me in the hospital from laughing so hard and it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Great!

    This book is the most amazing book i have ever read. It is so like the real world there is today. And the fact they never came straight out and told you some of the stuff, it made you think. I give it 2 thumbs up, and would tell anyone to read this book, especially a teenage girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2001

    fffffuuuunnnnnnnyyyyy.

    i died laughing thru this whooooooole book. wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2001

    A good novel to take to the Beach

    This book was a great book. I would deffinatly recommend to any person. Although a lil confusing at times but in teh end very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2