Customer Reviews for

Brave New World

Average Rating 4
( 696 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(346)

4 Star

(206)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Classic novel, sub-par conversion

Huxley's story is stronger than ever, unfortunately the conversion process left much to be desired. Many run-on words and formatting errors negatively affect the flow of reading this timeless novel. Buyer beware!

posted by Thaddaeus on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Book is Good. Editing is not.

Bought a copy of this to have on my nook. Started reading it and found a few typographical errors in the book. It only gets worse throughout.

It's not unreadable but, it is pretty annoying. I have a paper copy of the book so I didn't really need a nook copy.
...
Bought a copy of this to have on my nook. Started reading it and found a few typographical errors in the book. It only gets worse throughout.

It's not unreadable but, it is pretty annoying. I have a paper copy of the book so I didn't really need a nook copy.

Save your money for a copy that isn't full of errors.

posted by TomTB on November 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 697 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Book is Good. Editing is not.

    Bought a copy of this to have on my nook. Started reading it and found a few typographical errors in the book. It only gets worse throughout.

    It's not unreadable but, it is pretty annoying. I have a paper copy of the book so I didn't really need a nook copy.

    Save your money for a copy that isn't full of errors.

    29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Poor Quality!! Many Errors

    A ton of errors in this nook book. I dropped this and picked up a copy from my local library. Would not recommend purchase... ever.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Classic novel, sub-par conversion

    Huxley's story is stronger than ever, unfortunately the conversion process left much to be desired. Many run-on words and formatting errors negatively affect the flow of reading this timeless novel. Buyer beware!

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Beware of terrible editing...

    You can find reviews of the story itself elsewhere. I want to elaborate on the bad electronic tranfer from print. Examples include no paragraph indents, incorrect spelling, incomprehendible sentences, and other annoyances. 5 stars for the story, but the lack of proper formatting/editing was truly frustrating to me- although I could see some readers not minding at all, the problems occur throughout the entire book. I will be suspicous of Rosettabooks publishing in the future.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I, for one, welcome our new corporate overlords...

    If multinational corporations ruled the world...people would be bred in bottles for certain jobs to make society more efficient. They would be psychologically conditioned to always want to buy new things, to find the idea of close personal ties to be undesirable, and to be happy with their lives no matter what (and take some "soma" whenever they began to feel unhappy). And any social dissenters would be sent to Greenland -- or simply crushed. Huxley saw it coming 80 years ago with his dystopian classic that depicts what happens seven centuries from now when someone whose psychological conditioning didn't work perfectly runs into a "savage" in New Mexico and brings him back to "civilization." The characters aren't very deep, but one would expect that with psychologically conditioned people. Meanwhile, the science behind his "Brave New World" seems inevitable. Whether or not the people let themselves become happy slaves to a corporate military state is yet unknown. Of course, there are lobbyists in place to encourage it with unfettered cash. But don't worry too much -- just enjoy Huxley's short-but-sweet vision of a possible future and realize that, if it ever comes to pass, at least you know that you'll be perpetually happy... :)

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    It's a shame how many reviews (mostly from high schoolers, it se

    It's a shame how many reviews (mostly from high schoolers, it seems) are bashing Brave New World because it defies social normalcy, morality, etc., for the book is by no means endorsing or preaching any of it. I too was required to read the book as a student a few years back (at a Catholic high school), but never did it seem to me that sex, drugs, and artificial, induced happiness were meant to seem desirable. Rather, this book is a prophetic warning of what the modern world could become; in my opinion, the parallels between aspects of our world and this are not so far apart. I would argue that this book, if anything, promotes humanity-- what it is to really be human, the necessity of emotions (even sadness and pain), the importance of art and literature, the value of religion and the great freedom to philosophize, and so on. These are a few lessons that I took from this Brave New World, and I would say that this book has been more influential to me than any other that I've read.

    Also, it's too bad that so many of the poor reviews are because of editing on nooks; the paperback edition doesn't have those problem.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Good book, sloppy ocr.

    I'm sure there are plenty of other reviews about the book itself... this copy is full of ocr issues though from when it was scanned to ebook. Poor proofreading... page 78 has a random "BraveNewWorld78" midsentence. Makes me wonder if people even read the ebook releases before publishing them.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Really.....

    Come on this book (in my opinion) was awful. I dont get why as a sophmore I have to read it. It has immorality, unfaithfulness, and child "erotic play". I think this book should be in another genre of reading if you understand me......... oh and i couldn't put zero stars so lets give it one

    10 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    Best Book I've Read In A While...

    This is a great read if you love something that makes you think, and makes you reflect on the ideals of society. I feel this book was written ahead of it's time, and a lot of the messages in it are timeless...A great read for the intellectual.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    incredibly thorough and insanely brilliant

    This book was simply marvelous. Alous Huxley certainly manages to create a world of his own and embellishes it with deep thought and distopian possibilities of any society. This book is highly recommended in my eyes and is a top-notch read! Wonderful, you will not regret reading this!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    A must read!

    Brave New World is frightening because it could very well come to pass. So many of the situations depicted in the book are close at hand. The fact that the inhabitants of this New World can escape through a drug called Soma is true today. This book used to be required reading in schools.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    This is not a usual book!

    I am totally surpriced by the Author, eventhough he wrote this book long long time ago , all the things that is in the book is very likely will happen in our life right now! .. look at all the people want to control this world : for example, people try to control the edcation . By doing that, people get less brain excises so that they don't think that much as before. Those who want to control the world can have more chance to accomplish their evel dream. Anyways.. This is a very good book.. you sure you want to read it.... COOL!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    A MUST READ! Brave New World is a classic that many people recom

    A MUST READ!
    Brave New World is a classic that many people recommended me over the years and about which  I read several positive reviews. When finally I decided to buy it I regretted to have not done it before: I can say it totally lived up my expectations. Written in 1931 by Aldous Huxley, this novel – listed in the 100 best English-language novels of the 20th century – is definitely more contemporary than ever. The pioneering side of this book resides in its main themes, which refer to reproductive technology, mass-consuption, psychological manipulation and conditioning. 

    Set in London in 2540, Brave New World depicts a future global society organised on the basis of strict rules and regulations, which guarantee stability, peaceful and happiness: it's the “World State”, under which the world population is unified and controlled. As a matter of fact, its citizens are divided into five castes, forged through chemical interferences during the fetuses' development (natural reproduction has been replaced by a sort of industrial process, while sex has only a recreational purpose), an accurate government control using slogans and promoting recreative projects, sleep-learning and operant-conditioning methods. The lower castes, which represent the majority of human society, are heavily limited in their cognitive abilities: their anbitions and desires are restricted and thus easier to manipulate. However, everyone in the World State seems to be fully happy: Huxley portrays an utopian community where people are satisfied with their predetermined jobs,  relationships, lives and need nothing else, where the notions of family, religion and love have no reasons to exists. Nonetheless, this happyness is illusory, since it is soon threatened by some characters who see the non-sense of being happy without a real awareness of their life and personal identity. The author himself represents the “new world” with a hint of irony, and so it can be said that the society he depicts is actually a dystopian one.
     
    In a nutshell, this book deals with many of our current concerns about globalisation and technology: the fear to be controlled and the consequent mind-torpor and uniformity of the society, the loss of moral values and the weakening of feelings, the utopia of permanent happiness, based on what we consume insted of what we are. On the other hand, we are a mixture of bad and positive feelings, and can't be simply happy, we have also “the right to be unhappy”. As my favorite quote of all time says: "Actual happiness always looks pretty squalid in comparison with the over-compensations for misery. And, of course, stability isn't nearly so spectacular as instability. And being contented has none of the glamour of a good fight against misfortune, none of the picturesqueness of a struggle with temptation, or a fatal overthrow by passion or doubt. Happiness is never grand." (Brave New World – chapter 16)
    Despite its complex writing style – which sometimes seems to mirror the scientific and technological language – I found Brave New World unpudownable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    A Unique and Interesting Book

    This book, although confusing at first, is an interesting read that is vastly different from most books you will read. It takes place around 600 years in the future, “After Ford” era, in London. Humans in the book are made in a lab that produces test tubes that give birth to nearly identical humans. The babies that are made are then put into classes to social condition them. An example of this is that the babies are violently made to think flowers and books are bad. They are than put into a strict caste system. The highest caste being the Alpha-Plus. One of the members is Bernard Marx, a psychologist, who is unlike everyone both physically and mentally. He is short, due to an error in his embryo stage, and acts unorthodox compared to the conformity of the nearly identical humans. Bernard meets a girl named Lenina, whom he has feelings, although she has dated a man named Henry. Later Bernard goes on a trip with Lenina to a place called the “Savage Reservation”, in New Mexico. This is a Native American reservation, where they meet John, also called “The Savage”¸and his mom Linda. They go back to London, to find out that the D.H.C., one of the leaders, wants to banish him to Iceland. Also, while they were there they found out that the D.H.C was named Tomakin, and is John’s father. During this time Linda is taking a lot of a popular drug in this book called soma. She begins to die, and when she does John becomes angry. To make him even madder Lenina tries to seduce him, because in this book the humans are socially conditioned to crave sex a lot. A riot breaks out with the Delta caste, and John ends up whipping her. This arouses the crowd and it turns into a sexual convention. I don’t want to spoil the ending, but I will say that it is well written and a little shocking. The major theme is the author’s prediction of the future, but sex and Shakespearean allusions show up constantly. It also conveys that people shouldn’t conform to others, but be themselves no matter the consequences. This is very apparent in the character of Bernard. What I liked about this book is that it is a very creative idea, unlike any other, making it very interesting. It is also very well written, especially for an older book. I also liked how it plenty of action, some twists and turns, and a little romance. What I didn’t like was that at first the concept of creating humans in a lab, and making them think a certain way was very hard for me to wrap my head around. People should read this if they like unique, or science fiction books. You may also like if you like a good action book. I want to read another work similar to this, which is 1984 by George Orwell. Overall it gets a 4.8 out of 5.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Good book, terrible formatting

    The chapter and title markers are way off. And there are lots of typos and strange word breaks. It's a good book, but all these quirks make it hard to really get into the book. You're better off finding another version of it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Caveat Emptor; Major Rip-Off!!!

    The book itself is great, but this version of it sucks; the end is missing! The story stops abruptly, with no warning, and when I reported it to B&N, they told me it was just my tough luck. NOT cool!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Fantastic!

    Similar to 1984, yet a bit of an easier read. We read the first two chapters in a class, and I loved it so I bought the book. It truly is a classic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you like science fiction you must read Brave New World, You will never forgive yourself if you dont .

    I am glad that I read this book because it makes you think. It is not a page turner though but at the end it will make you think.I am totally surpriced by the Author, even though he wrote this book like a long long time ago this things are probley gonna happen ... look at all the people that want control and they get no education. The novel is set in the A.F. 632, almost seven centuries after the twentieth century. A.F. stands for the year of Ford and World Controllers rule the world and ensure the stability of society through the creation of a five-tiered caste system. Alphas and Betas are at the top of the system and act as the scientists, politicians, and other top minds, while Gammas, Deltas, and Epsilons are at the bottom and represent the world's industrial working class. A drug called soma ensures that no one ever feels pain or remains unhappy, and members of every caste receive rations of the drug. Pre- and post-natal conditioning further ensures social stability. its a good book read it !!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    worst book ive ever read

    This is absolutely one of the worst books out there. The author is seriously gone mad, and his world created in the novel is insane. People take 'soma' or drugs to get happy and solve problems. Is that something to read about? What a stupid book.

    2 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Against My Beliefs

    While reading this book I couldn't believe the topics that were discussed. The problems that are bought to the table make you think seriously about our society's problems, but as a Christian and a memeber of society, i have been brought up to be against these kinds of ideas. After reading about Huxley's life I began to understand where it came from, but a man like that would probably be institutionalized at this point in time. This is defiantly not highschool reading material!

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 697 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35