Customer Reviews for

Brave New World

Average Rating 4
( 695 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(346)

4 Star

(206)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Classic novel, sub-par conversion

Huxley's story is stronger than ever, unfortunately the conversion process left much to be desired. Many run-on words and formatting errors negatively affect the flow of reading this timeless novel. Buyer beware!

posted by Thaddaeus on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Book is Good. Editing is not.

Bought a copy of this to have on my nook. Started reading it and found a few typographical errors in the book. It only gets worse throughout.

It's not unreadable but, it is pretty annoying. I have a paper copy of the book so I didn't really need a nook copy.
...
Bought a copy of this to have on my nook. Started reading it and found a few typographical errors in the book. It only gets worse throughout.

It's not unreadable but, it is pretty annoying. I have a paper copy of the book so I didn't really need a nook copy.

Save your money for a copy that isn't full of errors.

posted by TomTB on November 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Tick tock (prolouge)

    Ruby paced the length of her room. As each step left a satifying thud she thought over her plans. Is she really going to ki<_>ll someone? For what cost? 'Maybe,' Ruby thought as she sat down on her bed, elbows on knees and head in hands, 'What it's just a mistake? The Knot can't black-mail me.' 'But,' her concousius said poking its abnormanly long finger at her heart, 'what if you're going insane? What if you need the source to keep your saneity?' Ruby thought it over. Maybe she /was/ going insane? The source of her power might be powerful enough to cure her? She had to try. Ruby's phone dinged. She picked it up and answered. A cool male voice echoed throuh her ears, "You are insane! Ki<_>ll Emerald before I ki<_>ll you!! I need the source!!" "But sir!" Ruby objected, "I need a /place/! A /time! A /camera/!" "I will give you all those thing tomarrow. Or you want to tell them why YOU DID WHAT!" Ruby gasped as if she were slapped. Her face stung like it too. With shaking fingered Ruby turned of her phone. Calmly she parted her curtains and opened her window. Then with a sudden movement, the pink cellphone was /thrown/ out the window and a broke a window on the other side of the street. Ruby picked up her computer and caused a serious wound on a passerby's head, but she did not care. Ruby can always get a new one. "Ruuuby! Dinner's ready!" Emerald called from the kitchen. Ruby forgot her dorr was open. She closed the door and locked it and a wicked smile spread across her face. There is no Ruby. Only Fury. ()()()()()()()()()() <p>
    What do ya think? You know, I like Nick Fury's name. If someone is very angery with Fury, they shout, I'LL HAVE FURY!! In a very loud voice. BOO!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Brave New World By Aldous Huxley 3 Stars cross posted to Love

    Brave New World By Aldous Huxley

    3 Stars

    cross posted to Love A List

    Bernard and Lenina live in a Utopian London. London is where the Central Hatching and Conditioning Centre is located. Hatching, conditioning, cloning, brainwashing - Utopian speak right? The Director oversees all of this, everything is controlled percisely clones are produced according to a Greek class system consisting of Alphas, Betas, etc. Each hatchling is then conditioned according to their destiny to have certain talents and be repelled by others. Perfection! There is no wanting there is no needing it is all provided for. And if you can't handle something there is always SOMA in tablet form to take you away to blissful retreats.

    Bernard and Lenina do not quite fit into the mold of perfection. Bernard as an Alpha isn't quite as strapping that he should be and there is talk of alcohol being supplied to him pre-hatching. Lenina has been in a longer term relationship with Henry, and that is unheard of. You are to copulate freely with no thought or care of any consequences because there are none, no babies are born there are no diseases. Lenina is pressured to try out others so she seeks our Bernard and they are off to the Savage Reservation. The Savage Reservation represents the stuff of pure nightmares the dystopian on the fringes society at least to the hatchlings. Which is better Utopia or Dystopia? Is it a matter of perception or reality?

    When reading books such as this that were written so long ago but are still so relevant I am always amazed. Cloning, conditioning, morality questions, we as a modern society struggle with these daily. Should we or shouldn't we? To struggle or not to struggle. There is so much within these pages to think about, things you recognize and so much social commentary. That utopian society may be closer than you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Brave New World was an interesting take on what might become soc

    Brave New World was an interesting take on what might become society in the future. The story follows several different characters, and how they all view this world. Throughout childhood and the teenage years, children are conditioned to believe certain things, based on where they stand in the caste system. Bernard and Helmholtz are Alphas, the highest in the system, and believe that there is something more, and they feel alone in this world that frowns upon solitariness. John lives in the Reservation and is brought into the “civilized” world, and finds that their motto “Everyone belongs to everyone else” is completely different from his normal world of marriage. John and the Controller have a conversation that pretty much sums up the whole point of this book: should there be stability and happiness, or passion, religion and heroism; people can’t have them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Brave new world is a book that was written in the 1900¿s, the bo

    Brave new world is a book that was written in the 1900’s, the book was supposed to be about the future. It’s about everyone having eternity happiness, and not ever has to worry about ever being sad. They believe that being with multiple partners is healthy; but marriage and love is disgusting. IT was really one big orgy with everyone. If any problems occur a drug is the cure and gets rid of the problems. The society is divided into social class and conditioned to be a specific way. Aldous ideas for this book are very similar to what today’s society is becoming. I feel that Aldous wanted the world to be happy and that was the most important thing to have than be free. Having a controlled environment brought happiness to the people. The book was interesting and it was a bit out of my comfort zone; but I liked the way he thought. I didn’t really dislike the book but I didn’t particularly like this book either. I don’t judge this book because it was very different, but I don’t like how the world was based off of sex and drugs. I think to be happy you have to create your happiness and no one could make you be happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I bought this book in paperback in a store one day thinking it w

    I bought this book in paperback in a store one day thinking it was gonna be good. I was wrong, while the story somewhat kept the reader wanting to read more to find out what's gonna take place next, it seemed boring and dull in the way that it overly describes things. While yes, it does help for the futuristic items the story has, it also takes away by over doing it. But as the book started it went well, describing the futuristic world, and telling about characters, and soon went down from there. Some of the characters seemed shallow and not developed enough. And while the story goes good, after about 2/3's of the way in it got boring and I really didn't care how it ended. And then when it did end it had a horrible ending that seemed a bit overdone. So if your looking for a new sci-fi book with a futuristic setting I would stick to the classic Fahrenheit 451 or the newer Hunger Games series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Brave New World Book Review by Alyssa Canda Brave New World by

    Brave New World Book Review by Alyssa Canda

    Brave New World by Aldous Huxley warns its readers that our current society is heading towards a Utopia. BNW&rsquo;s values of promiscuity and soma, a drug that puts its users in a coma-like state of happiness, allow citizens of the New World to have a sense of false happiness. The false sense of happiness creates emotional stability at the cost of the loss of individuality and meaningful relationships. Huxley&rsquo;s creative depiction of the transformation of his characters&rsquo; emotions from pure lust to a desire for true love serves as evidence that the New World could not control innate human emotions. The relationship between Lenina, a perfectly conditioned woman who abides by BNW&rsquo;s customs, and John, a savage who understands both the BNW&rsquo;s and the Savage Reservation&rsquo;s culture, demonstrates the common misunderstandings between couples. While their values and beliefs on love and sex differ, their lust for each other is undeniable. Huxley carefully crafts their relationship and creatively illustrates his characters&rsquo; emotional transformation from feelings of lust to desire for true love. Utopians are oblivious to their false sense of happiness. Lenina and John&rsquo;s relationship serves as evidence of the loss of individuality and meaningful relationships because they could not stay true to their feelings or empathize for one another.

    The setting of BNW is in London, 632 A. F. (After Ford). The New World society is ruled by ten World Controllers who are the only people in BNW who knows of the past and when life was imperfect. They eradicated history from BNW, which removed all appreciation for art and literature. The absence of literature prevented all personal expressions of emotions like romance found in Shakespeare&rsquo;s writings. This created stability by removing romance, which is a distraction from more important aspects of the society like consumption and reproduction. Meaningful relationships and individuality disappeared because Utopians have no form of imagination or freedom of expression besides through sex. The lack of imagination is beneficial to the New World society because the Utopians do not dwell in the past, but rather on the present. &quot;History is bunk&quot; is a statement made by Henry Ford. It is a motto that the New World society uses to ensure that citizens are focused only on the present days&rsquo; work. Without the mental interference of literature, imagination, and meaningful relationships, Utopians would solely focus on their &ldquo;Identity. Community. Stability.&rdquo;

    I would recommend Brave New World to anyone who enjoys a dramatic plot and is interested in discovering the consequences of a &ldquo;perfect&rdquo; society. BNW&rsquo;s focus on consumption and false happiness makes us second guess the way we live our lives. The book also makes us question our moral codes of individuality and relationships. It is an enlightening book that can help readers to become more aware of the harmful decisions that our current society is supporting, such as our obsession with technology and the growth of consumption. Ultimately, these desires will lead to humanity&rsquo;s demise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    What the world is coming to

    I'd want to live on an island.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hhhmmm

    I'm not quite sure how I felt about this book. It was intersting certainly, but also very, very odd. I can see why it is what I deem a "smart person book."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good food for thought

    I enjoyed the relavent topics in this book. It is interesting to see how much this book still has to do with current ethical topics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ok but not all that

    I had to read this book for school. I don't like reading books for school because of all the assignments you have to do. But over-all its wasn't a good book (to me). I think that it was a little messed up. But I going to try to read it again and see how I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    Period 7 - Brave New Cah

    To say the least, Brave New World is a very interesting, out-of-the-box book. Though this book may be confusing for some, it will quickly be easy to understand chapter after chapter. In the beginning of this world, different from any other, humans are born through machine and not through women. In this way, humans are created in a mass amount and can be taught certain things that scientists want to be programmed into the young human's mind while they grow up. All of this seems normal to the characters in the book, because they came up with the idea and they have lived with it for many years. In this book, technology is everything for people. It is everywhere and and could not be more popular. <BR/><BR/>There is not one view that is the main focal point of the book, but rather several. The idea behind this can only mean that Huxley wanted people to see the different ways that you could view this new technological society. Of course, you're going to have people that enjoy the technological society, and then you will have the people that despise it and want nothing to do with it. These are the different points of views that Huxley presents. <BR/><BR/>For being written in the 1950's, Adlous Huxley must have been very intelligent and very good in predictions because this world is very technologically advanced. It blows my mind that he had thought of cloning and machine made humans that far before the booming technology time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Brave New World Review

    Book Review Aldous Huxley was the author of the book, Brave New World, which focuses around the theme of how state control over technology would result in a very unpleasant world. Huxley believes that everything in society will become chaos if something isn¿t changed. He believes that the fields of science and technology should be kept separate to stop this problem. The title begins to explain how the world in the future is not afraid to change everything that they believe is wrong. The author specifically shows what he believes in through this book. I believe that there will not be a huge problem with the ever changing science and technology fields, like Huxley proposes. Huxley constantly insists on how social status is so important in the future world. I believe the whole classification system has nothing to do with what will happen in the future. It would not be the government¿s choice about where you fit into society. Other people have no way of choosing how intelligent another human would be. If technology does advance, and we can clone people, there would really be no use to have social classes. Real humans would still be the prominent life form. All of the clones would be doing jobs that real humans don¿t want to do. When John goes to the World State, it is very hard to fit in with the society, because he is different. John feels that everything is wrong, and there should be morals to regulate them. This is why he finally gets so angry with the world that he commits suicide. Technology and science are rapidly increasing, but can be monitored to an extent. Even if we can clone humans, I don¿t think that it would be drastic enough to completely wipe out the real human race. Why would we need clones when there are already enough people in the world? Huxley puts too much emphasis on how medical technology is becoming a problem. It really only becomes a problem when the government wants to be involved. The book seems to exaggerate the mass production of human life through technology. Everyone gets their identity through training to dislike and like things as a child. Huxley does a great job of tying technology and the social life of the characters together. World controllers should have nothing to do with technology. The government should be limited how much power they have over technology. I agree with Huxley that the government could become too involved and take control in the future. The government just wants what can benefit from the most. The government could become involved in cloning humans, just like in the book. If they do, they could potentially control how they want the world to work. It is a scary thought, and we should definitely limit the power of the government. Mustapha Mond is one of the important world leaders, and represents what the government would be like. I don¿t agree that the government would want to destroy all the emotion of the citizens. The government and world leaders are supposed to be helping out the countries and guiding them correctly. I don¿t believe that people in the future will not have morals like Huxley shows through the characters actions. Relationships between characters are very loose in moral. Leinina Crowne is a perfect example of loose morals. Her way of relating to other people is through sex. I believe that people will still be fairly similar to what it is like in today¿s world. The whole theme of the book is really about the government becoming too powerful to control. Huxley ties all of his topics together very nicely throughout the book. This book really has made me think twice about the future. Huxley seems to look at the world in a way that is not always the nicest. Some of what he says may be true, and others could be completely wrong. Many topics in this book are very debatable because nobody knows what the future will turn out like. It has given me a different perspective of what could become of this world. I believe this book is overall a great way to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    REVIEW!!!!!!!

    ¿To escape from the prison bars of self and the pressures of here and now into realms of pure goodness and pure enjoyment¿¿ a lifelong dream that Aldous Huxley illustrates in his insidious novel, Brave New World. Huxley takes you to a world where science dictates and leaves its people a feeling of false happiness. Brave New World portrays a dream of world peace coming true but with a high price. The story begins with a tour of the Central London Hatchery and Conditioning Centre in order to give the readers a better understanding of the way their society works and also to prepare them for the real story that is to come later on. The main character is Bernard Marx, an Alpha. Alphas are the highest caste in their society, equivalent to upper class today. Lenina, the girl he is interested in, goes with him to a Savage Reservation for vacation. When they returned, they brought back a Savage whose mother was originally from civilization. The story then goes on to describe the Savage¿s encounter with civilization and how it caused his gruesome death. In Brave New World, Huxley indicates the rapid growth of technology. Though during his time, this book seemed rather fictitious and impossible, but if you look at the world around us now, you will see that their world and ours aren¿t so different after all. We rely on technology to bring us happiness and make the world easier to manage. In the story, they also rely on technology to shield them from unpleasantness and to make life less stressful. What is more important: Truth or Happiness? The question is mentioned several times throughout the book. In their world, they chose happiness, even if it wasn¿t really happiness. Huxley¿s point with Lenina and her sexuality represents a false sense of happiness. Her character embodies all that is wrong with their society. They don¿t have their own ideas or opinions. To keep their world running smoothly, no one is able to. In the Savage¿s conversation with Mustapha Mond, they revealed that the people in the society couldn¿t handle the truth, and, most importantly, they couldn¿t understand it. The positive point of their society is that everyone is at peace with one another. The dream of world peace would finally come true but at what price? Would peace and happiness really be worth giving up yourself? Brave New World depicts a world where science is the dictator, and the citizens are merely pawns in the game. In my opinion, Huxley did a magnificent job of showing readers the darker side of such a wonderful world. In a peculiar way, he may also be indicating our world sometime in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    It was okay

    I thought this novel was okay, but not great. The story is well developed in terms of setting and characterization, however I did not like the plot. The plot was too much into science-fiction for me, and as a result, just created unnecessary confusion as well as boredom. In terms of character, the 'Savage' is portrayed extremely well, as the reader can sympathize and relate to him. However, I didn't like the way this book was organized, and didn't feel like there was really much of a point to this novel. It basically shows life in the future, where everything is modernized. It also disturbed me to see that babies weren't created the normal way, and instead through machinery, and their fates are pretty much destined for them. I did not agree with that concept, and therefore found it hard to be intereseted in the rest of the novel. The writing style is good, but the overall plot is just ordinary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    Emily's Review

    Though seen as a timeless and classic novel, Aldous Huxley's BRAVE NEW WORLD is not exactly a book I would recomend for teenagers. It lacks the excitement and passion that is needed to captivate adolescents. It is creative and thoughtful, just not lively and animated enough for teens to want to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Good book but not great

    I can easily understand how this book can have a powerful effect on you. It's reall eye opening. But after reading 1984 this book didn't really compare. It should be a classic but I got no enjoyment from reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    A World W/O Mothers?

    Aldous Huxley¿s Brave New World lets you travel forward to a land where people shudder at the word ¿mother¿. Families do not exist. God does not exist instead they worship Ford, the inventor of the first modern car. And people freely copulate with many individuals. This fiction novel is set in London in a time far into the future where people are made in factories in an assembly-like manner. The embryos are conditioned from day one to different specifications depending on what level of society, brain power, stature, and life they will lead. Children are given subliminal messages in their sleep telling them things such as ¿Everybody¿s happy nowadays.¿ (Huxley 91) The people are also kept happy by the drug soma which they willingly and freely take. They are given rations of the drug every day after they finish their work. The story follows a young man, Bernard Marx, who does not fit in with his social caste. He is smaller than most other ¿Alphas¿ and was rumored to have had alcohol put into his ¿blood-surrogate¿. Bernard is unusual and questions the way that they live. He rarely takes soma and doesn¿t fit in. He is allowed to go and observe a New Mexican reservation where people live like they did many years ago. Bernard asks Lenina Crowne, a popular worker, to accompany him. They go to the reservation where Lenina is disgusted by the state of the land and the people. She cannot comprehend the fact that people get old, sick, and ugly. While there, Lenina and Bernard are quite surprised to see a white man among all of the Indians. Bernard talks to the white man (whose name is John) and finds out that his mother came from London. Linda (John¿s mother) was abandoned by the man who impregnated her at the New Mexican Reservation. He and his mother have lived there ever since. Linda would often tell him stories of the place that she came from, how wonderful and amazing it was. After Bernard hears John¿s story, he contacts the World Controller and asks to bring John and Linda back to civilization with him. The World Controller agrees and they leave. Everyone in London is excited to see the ¿Savage¿ that has been brought back to London. Many altercations follow John and Linda¿s arrival. I generally liked this book, although not at first. It starts out rather uninteresting and dry with a long description of the Hatchery and Conditioning Center. Luckily I stuck with the book and found that it became much more interesting after the initial descriptions of the new world that was created. I found it really interesting to hear of all the new inventions of the future such as the ¿feelies¿ movie theatres that you don¿t just watch but you feel, too. They also have ¿scent organs¿ that release pleasant fragrances into the air. The imaginative new world is enticing and often paves the way for a good deal of daydreaming. However I was also disturbed, too, after reading the way they condition the children and how people are taught to fear families. But the thing that bothered me the most is the fact that no one thinks for themselves and, if they do, they are shunned from society and often sent away to an island so as to not interfere with the way the community works. All things considered, this book is an awesome read for any lover of science fiction. I definitely would recommend it to anyone who loves reading about the possible ¿future¿ of the world. And beware to not get discouraged by the dry beginning for action will eventually occur, and it definitely pays off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2005

    another novel that gives a future view of communism

    a good view of a communistic soiciety of the future. this displays another idea of how the world would be with a communist goverment. it shows how carefree people would become in an idealistic socilast society. it puts a grim view intoa racy novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    Not all that good.

    I had to read this book for school, and I must admit that it disappointed me. I have read 1984 and Animal Farm by George Orwell and thought that since this is along the same lines as those two, I would like it. I didn't. The beginning was utterly boring. It got better closer to the ending, but it still didn't impress me much. The concept, though, is quite interesting and, quite frankly, terrifying. However, if I were you, I'd go with Animal Farm or 1984 instead of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    A Great Peice of Writing

    This dystopian story is set in a world much different than ours, a world in the future, a world with a very strange government, and supposed happiness for all. The novel chronicles the occurrences in the life of a man named Bernard Marx, as well as those of; a friend of his, Helmoltz Watson; a woman he knows, Lenina Crowne; a man they meet, John; and the very powerful Mustapha Mond. In this book, I think Huxley¿s greatest accomplishment is keeping the reader thinking. His depiction of a world so different than ours is sometimes so eerie that the reader sometimes can¿t even understand it, and when the reader does, it merely leads to more confusion. I also think that Huxley has a great talent for getting his political point across while still telling a captivating story. I especially enjoyed the main character, Bernard, who doesn¿t fit in with anyone else; in Huxley¿s words, ¿He stood eight centimeters shorter than the standard Alpha height and was slender in proportion.¿ Bernard provides a human vehicle for Huxley¿s ideas about the future of the world. In short, Huxley manages to make tough ideas simple, and yet never leaves the reader feeling stupid, but actually smarter. A connection that I noticed, and that I¿m sure many, many others have noticed as well, is that this book is closely related to 1984. Many of the themes, ideas, and the thinking are the same. Both books tell us of futuristic societies in which individuality and humanity cease to exist. Both books were also written to caution us against totalitarianism, and I think had a lasting impact on the world, probably preventing the disasters that they predicted. When reading this book something that helped me to comprehend it better was getting a mental image of the story. By visualizing the setting in which this book takes place, I got a better idea of the strangeness of the story, and a better feel for the mood. Then by visualizing the characters, I understood why and how they did things, thus helping me to get to the greatest part of this book, Huxley¿s message for the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4