Customer Reviews for

Brave New World and Brave New World Revisited

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    This book blew me away. It challenges the mind by making you ste

    This book blew me away. It challenges the mind by making you step completely out of your comfort zone and demanding you to think in an abstract way.This propheic view of how our world may end up was all thought up by this brilliant author. Even his writing style makes you step out of your comfort zone. I found the entire book a very challenging and exciting read. This is seriously a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    In the story, Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, the reader is ex

    In the story, Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, the reader is exposed to a new world completely different from our own. Throughout the book we follow several characters, each with their own opinions on the society they live in. Strange ideas are excellently expressed through Mr. Huxely’s writings although at parts, the reader is left slightly confused. Some of his ideas were to throw the entire society into a strict caste system, babies created through the injection of embryos, and then pre-programming them to look and think a certain way, and ideas of a family being utterly disgusting. Personally I believed this book to be extremely strange yet captivating. I thought Mr. Huxely’s ideas that where expressed in Brave New World completely went against everything I’ve been taught yet, was still interesting to see someone else’s views on the world and how society could change into the new world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    When I first heard of A Brave New World during my Freshman year

    When I first heard of A Brave New World during my Freshman year of high school I immediately placed it on my running mental list of books to read. When the second semester of my Senior year rolled around and I was given the opportunity to read this novel in class I didn't hesitate to sign up for it.I definitely do not regret the time I spent reading and analyzing this novel as it has greatly enhanced the way that I view the workings of the world and society around me. At first glance Huxley's arguments about the human condition are fairly clear and straightforward, but as readers are taken deeper into the systems and inter workings of this strictly utopian society Huxley seems to offer up a multitude of poignant points concerning the state of the human condition. These points seem to transcend time as they remain relevant to society nearly one hundred years later. It is these reasons that make Aldous Huxley's A Brave New World a must read for any person ready to challenge themselves and the role they play in society.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recomend-Written in the 1920's to accurately predict the way we live today.

    Brave new world comes much closer to the way we live than Orwells "1984." In the 1920's,the visionary Huxley tells a futuristic tale of a dystopian civilization in which religion, families, marriage, long-term friendships, and love have all been replaced by a corrupt instutional state that freely distibutes tranquilizers, encourages casual sex between adults and even between children, ridicules and treats religion as a pschological illness, and stimulates and pacifies the population with a constant barrage of gratutous sexual movies, glorification of celebrity, and gossipy news about meaningless subjects. Sound familier. Read "Brave New World" to see its parallels in our own culture. The only hero is John Savage, a man who grew up on an Indian reservation in Arizona among tribe that still paractices the old ways of loving families, religious worship, and monogamous relatinships. When Savage is brought back to the Brave New World, he is treated like a side-show freak and ridiculed into insanity. A must read for anyone who really wants to discover reality.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Very satisfied customer

    I received the book on time, and it was in excellent condition. I am very satisfied with this purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Broke My Heart...

    This Book Brave New World Was Confusing, Yet Amazing Beyind Belief. I Read This Book For My 12Th Grade English Class. Even Though I Read It For That Class I Have To Say I Would Have Read It Anyways. This Book Made Me Stop And Take A Step To Look At The World I Now Live In. It Made Me Look At Everything. For Example, Just The Way We Treat Each Other And How We Go About Our Lifes. The Ending Though Straight Up Broke My Heart Apart. It Was Nothing Like How I Thought It Would Have Ended. I Would Give This Book To All Of My Friends, Family And Basicly Anyone To Read. It Changed Me And How I Now Look At The World Around Me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Brave New World Can Really Get You Thinking...

    Overall, I liked the book, I liked the theme - because we can all relate to the theme, somewhat. The characters of the book have a great variety, it really enhances the reading, and makes it easier to understand. Now that I think about it, I don't think Huxley could have created 'normal' characters in such a dystopia of a life. Some of the concepts of the book killed me, and I found myself looking up other summaries profusely to understand some of the: quotes, situations, and/or character responses.<BR/><BR/>I'll give this book a 4 star rating, the only reason, in my opinon, its not worthy of 5 stars is because it isn't one bit reader friendly, more of a 'manual' book to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    The beginning was great in terms of setting up this world but ab

    The beginning was great in terms of setting up this world but about half way through it begins a downward slide with an ending that I didn't like. Definitely prefer 1984 over this book, but it is a classic nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1