Customer Reviews for

Brawn (New Species Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Loved this story

Okay, I really didn't like the picture on the front of the book but loved the story so much I ended up buying and reading the entire series. These men are so strong but also vulnerable, which makes them very attractive.

I recommend this book and the rest of the ser...
Okay, I really didn't like the picture on the front of the book but loved the story so much I ended up buying and reading the entire series. These men are so strong but also vulnerable, which makes them very attractive.

I recommend this book and the rest of the series. Laurann Dohner did a great job with these books.

posted by Caddo on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but disturbing in places. This is not my favorite in the

Okay, but disturbing in places.

This is not my favorite in the series (Valiant and Fury rock), but it was okay. A few things I wasn't crazy about. For one thing, I don't care how hot I am for a guy, there is no way I would have sex with him in a cage while being w...
Okay, but disturbing in places.

This is not my favorite in the series (Valiant and Fury rock), but it was okay. A few things I wasn't crazy about. For one thing, I don't care how hot I am for a guy, there is no way I would have sex with him in a cage while being watched, monitored and possibly recorded by sickos who want to hurt us. That's just majorly creepy. And I don't understand for a race of people who pride themselves on being blunt and honest, they have so many breakdowns in communications. Sorry, but if I want to know something, I don't rely on "go-betweens". I ask the person directly. Not sure why Brawn and Becca didn't do the same thing. Also did not like how the NSO and Trisha lied to and manipulated Becca when she contacted them anonymously about a New Species pregnancy. They basically hunted her down and kidnapped her to get her to Homeland where they could monitor her. Reminded me very much of something Mercile would have done.

I think the thing that disturbed me the most was Trisha giving Becca the morning after abortion pill WITHOUT her knowledge or consent. I get that they wanted to keep the fact that New Species could get human women pregnant secret. But Becca is Tim's daughter, it's not like she's someone they don't know. Medicating anyone without their knowledge is just morally and ethically wrong. And again reminded me of what Mercile would have done to the New Species while they were still prisoners. It just seems like while New Species want their rights and freedom, they don't care if they take it away from humans. Even humans who are not their enemies. So far, I have liked Brawn the least of any of the New Species series. I have read them all from Fury to Tiger. I have read some of them multiple times because I like them so much and they are fast reads, but I will not be reading this one again.

posted by Cathy92483 on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Okay, but disturbing in places. This is not my favorite in the

    Okay, but disturbing in places.

    This is not my favorite in the series (Valiant and Fury rock), but it was okay. A few things I wasn't crazy about. For one thing, I don't care how hot I am for a guy, there is no way I would have sex with him in a cage while being watched, monitored and possibly recorded by sickos who want to hurt us. That's just majorly creepy. And I don't understand for a race of people who pride themselves on being blunt and honest, they have so many breakdowns in communications. Sorry, but if I want to know something, I don't rely on "go-betweens". I ask the person directly. Not sure why Brawn and Becca didn't do the same thing. Also did not like how the NSO and Trisha lied to and manipulated Becca when she contacted them anonymously about a New Species pregnancy. They basically hunted her down and kidnapped her to get her to Homeland where they could monitor her. Reminded me very much of something Mercile would have done.

    I think the thing that disturbed me the most was Trisha giving Becca the morning after abortion pill WITHOUT her knowledge or consent. I get that they wanted to keep the fact that New Species could get human women pregnant secret. But Becca is Tim's daughter, it's not like she's someone they don't know. Medicating anyone without their knowledge is just morally and ethically wrong. And again reminded me of what Mercile would have done to the New Species while they were still prisoners. It just seems like while New Species want their rights and freedom, they don't care if they take it away from humans. Even humans who are not their enemies. So far, I have liked Brawn the least of any of the New Species series. I have read them all from Fury to Tiger. I have read some of them multiple times because I like them so much and they are fast reads, but I will not be reading this one again.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this story

    Okay, I really didn't like the picture on the front of the book but loved the story so much I ended up buying and reading the entire series. These men are so strong but also vulnerable, which makes them very attractive.

    I recommend this book and the rest of the series. Laurann Dohner did a great job with these books.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Must Read

    This book is a fantastic read. It follows the storyline of the rest of the series. This series is highly recommended. I have to say this author never disappoints!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Definately HAWWTT!

    As everyone knows, I am a devoted Laurann Dohner fan. Valiant is my favorite book and I just can't wait to see what it takes to bring Tiger to his knees. This book has a slight problem with fluidity. They meet, they are kidnapped, they mate, they are rescued, the inevitable miscommunication of the Slade/Trisha variety keeps them apart. Come on! Laurann, you know I love your work. How about throwing in a little bit of sibling rivalry? Have a couple of these man cookies duke it out for the same hot steamy milk? Moreover, how about bringing a nice hard, tan and war trained experimental super soldier to blow Breeze away? He doesn't have to be Captain America, but a cross between the Incredible Hulk and Tarzan might work for me!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Love this series. Laurann Dohner, please write faster. Looking forward to the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Not the best of the series by far

    Stick to Slade and Valiant. Hope wrath is better

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    wow

    This series is so Hot its a must read for everyone!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Ok

    I preordered the book and my nook wont let me read it; however, I really enjoyed the earlier books in the series. They are easy reads and a great way to spend a day off... Darn technology...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    EXCELLANT!!!

    I just re read this book again yesterday and I love the relationship building between Brawn and Becca. The couple who have just met have been captured and put in a cage by a crazy Mercile Doctor. Brawn was put on a NSO assignment team to help find and release New Species still in captivity. He is sent to live with Becca and her father The NSO Team supervisor Tim Oberto when they are kidnapped. This is a very fast paced and entertaining book. I just love this series and all the characters in it. I have just started reading the new release Wrath and it is starting out with a Bang!!! Ms Dohner please keep the NS series coming. I just pre order Tiger which is due out on April 10th I can't wait.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Good!

    Enjoyable as the rest! Would.like to see a story about Tiger! Flame and Brass. They definitely need their own.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    loved the entire series of these books. If you like shapeshifter series, this is a must to have!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    This is such an enjoyable series. I try to read the books slowly to savor the story. Unfortunately, Brawn only lasted one day because I really got cougt up in the storyline. I would definitely recommend the book to anyone who needs a little bit of escapism.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    loved the series

    am looking forward to the next book. this book was as great as all the others in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    ok

    didn't like the ending, Becca was a bit whiney, over all I didn't like it as much as the first one. I dohope the series continues because there are A LOT of loose ends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    loved it

    I have read all the books available in this series and they are all very good. Lots of good sex....a good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Mickey

    Great read I will look forward to others like this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Can't open newly purchased book

    I have read all the other New Species series, but am disappointed that I can't open it. I have been trying to get answers from BN, but am getting now where. But I did love the other books, I am looking forward to reading this one if I can get BN to resend another one or open it for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    So worth the wait

    Every time I finish one of this series I'm so excited for the next and so apprehensive that it will be a let down and I haven't been yet. Brawn & Becca's story is great, the sex melted so of my nook guts it was so hot. I have to say the author is so talented I find I'm alway rooting for who she wants, the New Species so is facinating and I once I start one of her books, even the cyborg series, I am absolutely hooked until it's finished - no matter how much sleep I'm missing out on.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    3.75* One look at Brawn and Becca is wondering how he¿d look wit

    3.75*
    One look at Brawn and Becca is wondering how he’d look without his clothes. Brawn is instantly attracted to Becca but has sworn never to touch a human female.  Laurann Dohner
    All that changes when Becca and Brawn are kidnaped together by Mercile Industries employees. They want to breed the New Species for the Black Market. They can get a lot of money for the still active sperm and even more for a child. 
    Brawn and Becca are caged together with only each other for comfort and protection. One thing leads to another and they begin to care for each other. When rescued they are taken away from each other and lied to by the people they should be able to trust. Brawn told to stay away from Becca to protect her from the terrible things she witness and Becca that Brawn wanted nothing to do with her. They suffer for nine weeks until Becca calls Reservation to talk to Dr. Trisha.
    This book is another good addition to The New Species series and I can't wait to read the next book. This is not a stand alone book and I highly recommend they be read in order. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    Recommended

    Similar to The Breeds series by Lora Leigh. Lots of big, brawny alpha males with animal traits fighting prejudice against their creation, finding their mates. Hot sex on all fours, growling, biting and howling!
    Each book can be read on its own, but best to read the series from the begining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15