Customer Reviews for

Brawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Loved this story

Okay, I really didn't like the picture on the front of the book but loved the story so much I ended up buying and reading the entire series. These men are so strong but also vulnerable, which makes them very attractive.

I recommend this book and the rest of the ser...
Okay, I really didn't like the picture on the front of the book but loved the story so much I ended up buying and reading the entire series. These men are so strong but also vulnerable, which makes them very attractive.

I recommend this book and the rest of the series. Laurann Dohner did a great job with these books.

posted by Caddo on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but disturbing in places. This is not my favorite in the

Okay, but disturbing in places.

This is not my favorite in the series (Valiant and Fury rock), but it was okay. A few things I wasn't crazy about. For one thing, I don't care how hot I am for a guy, there is no way I would have sex with him in a cage while being w...
Okay, but disturbing in places.

This is not my favorite in the series (Valiant and Fury rock), but it was okay. A few things I wasn't crazy about. For one thing, I don't care how hot I am for a guy, there is no way I would have sex with him in a cage while being watched, monitored and possibly recorded by sickos who want to hurt us. That's just majorly creepy. And I don't understand for a race of people who pride themselves on being blunt and honest, they have so many breakdowns in communications. Sorry, but if I want to know something, I don't rely on "go-betweens". I ask the person directly. Not sure why Brawn and Becca didn't do the same thing. Also did not like how the NSO and Trisha lied to and manipulated Becca when she contacted them anonymously about a New Species pregnancy. They basically hunted her down and kidnapped her to get her to Homeland where they could monitor her. Reminded me very much of something Mercile would have done.

I think the thing that disturbed me the most was Trisha giving Becca the morning after abortion pill WITHOUT her knowledge or consent. I get that they wanted to keep the fact that New Species could get human women pregnant secret. But Becca is Tim's daughter, it's not like she's someone they don't know. Medicating anyone without their knowledge is just morally and ethically wrong. And again reminded me of what Mercile would have done to the New Species while they were still prisoners. It just seems like while New Species want their rights and freedom, they don't care if they take it away from humans. Even humans who are not their enemies. So far, I have liked Brawn the least of any of the New Species series. I have read them all from Fury to Tiger. I have read some of them multiple times because I like them so much and they are fast reads, but I will not be reading this one again.

posted by Cathy92483 on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Must Read

    This book is a fantastic read. It follows the storyline of the rest of the series. This series is highly recommended. I have to say this author never disappoints!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Definately HAWWTT!

    As everyone knows, I am a devoted Laurann Dohner fan. Valiant is my favorite book and I just can't wait to see what it takes to bring Tiger to his knees. This book has a slight problem with fluidity. They meet, they are kidnapped, they mate, they are rescued, the inevitable miscommunication of the Slade/Trisha variety keeps them apart. Come on! Laurann, you know I love your work. How about throwing in a little bit of sibling rivalry? Have a couple of these man cookies duke it out for the same hot steamy milk? Moreover, how about bringing a nice hard, tan and war trained experimental super soldier to blow Breeze away? He doesn't have to be Captain America, but a cross between the Incredible Hulk and Tarzan might work for me!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Love this series. Laurann Dohner, please write faster. Looking forward to the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    wow

    This series is so Hot its a must read for everyone!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Ok

    I preordered the book and my nook wont let me read it; however, I really enjoyed the earlier books in the series. They are easy reads and a great way to spend a day off... Darn technology...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    This is such an enjoyable series. I try to read the books slowly to savor the story. Unfortunately, Brawn only lasted one day because I really got cougt up in the storyline. I would definitely recommend the book to anyone who needs a little bit of escapism.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    loved the series

    am looking forward to the next book. this book was as great as all the others in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    loved it

    I have read all the books available in this series and they are all very good. Lots of good sex....a good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Mickey

    Great read I will look forward to others like this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    So worth the wait

    Every time I finish one of this series I'm so excited for the next and so apprehensive that it will be a let down and I haven't been yet. Brawn & Becca's story is great, the sex melted so of my nook guts it was so hot. I have to say the author is so talented I find I'm alway rooting for who she wants, the New Species so is facinating and I once I start one of her books, even the cyborg series, I am absolutely hooked until it's finished - no matter how much sleep I'm missing out on.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    Reading Brawn, which is the fifth book in the New Species Series is even better than the other four.

    Brawn holds a place on the New Species council. He took the place of Jessie who is Justice’s mate. He finds out that he won’t be staying in a place by himself. Becca will be staying with him, and she’s his boss’s daughter. He’s not used to being out of the gated community.

    Becca has been a widow for about a year. Her dad is very over protective and she just wants to have her own life. She has some scarring from her first marriage.

    When Brawn and Becca meet the attraction is instant. Brawn doesn’t want her because she can’t handle the way he likes sex and Becca’s deal is for the very same reason. I could tell that they tried to fight it hard.

    Things are taken out of their hands when they get kidnapped in the middle of the night and are taken to a place for breeding.

    I couldn’t imagine having to go through all the things that the New Species had to go through. Having to be tied up, forced to have sex to breed, and given drugs to take away your control. They are treated so bad. To have to have my rights and control taken away would be so degrading.

    For Becca and Brawn to survive they have to do what the sick twisted doctor wants them to do. I just couldn’t imagine the horror that they would face every day. There is no way that I would still be sane. To have to be forced to have sex and to be tied up and on so many drugs that I would kill and never remember anything.

    I really loved reading Brawn. Every time I read the next book I realize that they are very strong people. I get more involved with the characters with every book. There is so much excitement and I get a rush from each one. To the New Species males, females are to be cherished and they take care of their mates. They are protective and take care of all the females wants and needs.

    I wish with every book that this was how it could be in real life. To never have to worry about the person that you love hurting or cheating on you. I would recommend this series to everyone. Well time for me to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    best series

    Im rereading the series for the fifth time. Love every book, they are amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Wow

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    BERR'S VOW

    Did I say Cyborg? I meant Zorn Warriors. Sorry, my bad. But, be it Warriors, Cyborg, or Shapeshifters it's ALL good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Great story

    Each story gets better. Great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Great

    This so far is the last great book in the series. Obsidin almost was then he got neutured like the rest of the mle characters feom this point on. For me the draw of this series ws the dangerous male. They seem to disappear after this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Whole series is hot hot hot

    Read all this series and it was so hot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Loved It!

    Laurann did it again with a New Species book that swept me away. I loved Becca and her interaction with Brawn. His vulnerability and protectiveness made his character pull you in from the get go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Loved it"!!!!!!

    This book was a great addition to the whole series and this is an great author. I would recomend this book and the whole series to everyone :) Happy reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9