Customer Reviews for

Bread Bible

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

OMG, the information in this book is mind blowing! If you want to 'seriously' learn how to make bread. Read this book, cover to cover, then try a recipe.

Who comes up with this stuff? Honestly? It's crazy and fun! I am 43 years old and retired. I have tons of time on my hands and love to cook. So I tried a few recipes out of my "regular" cook books with great success and decided to move forward with "The Bread Bible...
Who comes up with this stuff? Honestly? It's crazy and fun! I am 43 years old and retired. I have tons of time on my hands and love to cook. So I tried a few recipes out of my "regular" cook books with great success and decided to move forward with "The Bread Bible". I wanted to learn how to make baguettes. I received the book and began to read it, and my eyes started to cross. I realized if I was going to seriously bake bread, I was going to have to learn a lot, and I had a great textbook in my hands to show me the way. The way the book is presented, makes the task just a process to complete, if you are good at following precise directions. The book explains why each process is executed and how to execute it.

Rose Levy Beranbaum puts a lot of herself into the book. She explains how recipes came to be. Why she changes them, how trial and error, made the recipe. You can tell she actually came up with every recipe in this book, or made many of the few recipes she gives credit to others for.

While I do have a fully stocked gourmet kitchen and pantry, by following the book I found myself making a variety of other purchases. I found my self ordering special flour and yeast from online suppliers, dough rising containers, specialty pans, etc. I did not have to to achieve good results, but found by following Rose's advice in the book, it made a significant difference. And learning why and how the small things did make a difference and noticing what the difference is, is just pure joy.

This book is for the accomplished cook that is wanting to take specialty learning to the next step. Oh and some of this bread is really, really good! Enjoy

posted by MissEileen on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bread Bible Isn't 'THE' Word on Baking

This cookbook's instructions are often trying and confusing. Sometimes you think you are being told to add all ingredients, then find out that isn't the case upon further reading of the instructions. There are too many other good baking books to be annoyed by this one...
This cookbook's instructions are often trying and confusing. Sometimes you think you are being told to add all ingredients, then find out that isn't the case upon further reading of the instructions. There are too many other good baking books to be annoyed by this one. Also, many of the recipes take days to assemble.

posted by Anonymous on July 5, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG, the information in this book is mind blowing! If you want to 'seriously' learn how to make bread. Read this book, cover to cover, then try a recipe.

    Who comes up with this stuff? Honestly? It's crazy and fun! I am 43 years old and retired. I have tons of time on my hands and love to cook. So I tried a few recipes out of my "regular" cook books with great success and decided to move forward with "The Bread Bible". I wanted to learn how to make baguettes. I received the book and began to read it, and my eyes started to cross. I realized if I was going to seriously bake bread, I was going to have to learn a lot, and I had a great textbook in my hands to show me the way. The way the book is presented, makes the task just a process to complete, if you are good at following precise directions. The book explains why each process is executed and how to execute it.

    Rose Levy Beranbaum puts a lot of herself into the book. She explains how recipes came to be. Why she changes them, how trial and error, made the recipe. You can tell she actually came up with every recipe in this book, or made many of the few recipes she gives credit to others for.

    While I do have a fully stocked gourmet kitchen and pantry, by following the book I found myself making a variety of other purchases. I found my self ordering special flour and yeast from online suppliers, dough rising containers, specialty pans, etc. I did not have to to achieve good results, but found by following Rose's advice in the book, it made a significant difference. And learning why and how the small things did make a difference and noticing what the difference is, is just pure joy.

    This book is for the accomplished cook that is wanting to take specialty learning to the next step. Oh and some of this bread is really, really good! Enjoy

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    My husband loves this --our family adores the bread!

    About a year ago my husband decided to start making his own bread and rolls. He experimented with different recipes, but never acheived the results he was looking for.

    When I saw this online I knew it was the perfect gift--I didn't realize what I was getting our family into!! For several days we had all sorts of yeast type things growing all over the kitchen. He was online searching for baking stones and rising baskets. I was a little crazy, but glad that he had something to take his mind off his stressful job for the government.

    Now it is two months later and he has developed a more calmness about the bread baking. He has make wonderful, crusty loaves at least 3 times a week and they are better than any bakery or restaurant. We don't buy bread anymore. But we do buy a few different kinds of yeast and flour!

    This is a great gift!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    Bread Bible Isn't 'THE' Word on Baking

    This cookbook's instructions are often trying and confusing. Sometimes you think you are being told to add all ingredients, then find out that isn't the case upon further reading of the instructions. There are too many other good baking books to be annoyed by this one. Also, many of the recipes take days to assemble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    It truly is the best book for bread bakers!!

    If you are a seasoned bread baker or want to become one then this is the only book you need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    A must have for anyone that want the real deal !!!!

    every recipe is explained in a way it make sense. It got a lot of great information and great recipes of coarse. this book for serious only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Excellent resource

    This book never fails. I am not an experienced baker, but anytime I want to try a new bread, I use this. It is excellent. I have the paperback version which I purchased from B&N 5 years ago. I practically have the banana bread recipe memorized, but have also tried the dinner rolls, various breads, egg bagels, burger buns, & more all with rousing success. I highly recommend this even if you are "just wondering" if you could / should try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From Beginner to Baker

    I had never baked bread before and decided to start. I borrowed this book from the library and after the successful first loaf I knew I needed to own this book. The recipes may seem complicated, but really make you feel comfortable with the process. The only thing better than this book is the bread you'll bake!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy to get confusing.

    I'm reading The Bread Bible and it seems there are all these steps that are not necessary in making bread.
    Knead it for 5 minutes, stop and let it rest for 20 minutes and then knead it again for 10? This is just an example, but with this method it will take even longer than all day to make!
    It is a beautiful book and it looks nice on my coffee table.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Comprehensive, Research, Informative, Easy to follow

    Wonderful addition to any cookbook library. Easy to follow instructions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Great Book

    Was full of ideas and easy to follow instructions...Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    The title is very appropriate because the book is very comprehensive, including history, information, instruction, and illustration. The reference sections/ sources, equipment, and glossary of terms are invaluable!

    This is a book that has inspired me, taught me step by step, given me tons of resources and information of things I would need and where to get them as well as inspiration to try new breads beyond what is now my comfort zone, thanks to Rose Levy Beranbaum. I read it a lot in the beginning and took notes. Now, I read it a little every day or so to refine my knowledge and understanding. With each new day of reading, I learn something I didn't know before, and I reinforce or better understand what I previously read. I keep it in arms reach at all times. I am still learning, and her book has a lot to teach! I love it, and I would give it to a beginner, which is what I am and was, or an experienced bread maker because of all the resources she provides as well as first hand knowledge of what has worked best in her bread baking. The book is a comprehensive and thorough coverage of bread and bread making. I started baking bread around Christmas of this past year 2008 and I now have many people who ask to buy my bread! I love to give it as gifts tied with a pretty wired ribbon. There is nothing quite as delicious as a fresh piece of good homemade bread!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    Make real artisan breads from scratch! It's EASY!!

    This book is great. Mom got it out of the library in March 2007, and it hasn't been back to the library since. We think it is an essential accesory for people who like to eat what they cook themselves. #1 on Mom's Christmas list. To heck with Wonderbread!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've been baking bread for many years. This book taught me new tricks of the trade. I've been very pleased with the several recipes I've made with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    Best all around bread book

    I'm new to bread baking, so have been reading and trying to make bread from many cook books. This book is not just for the obsessive compulsive type who wants to know why, why, why. Because, with just a few exceptions the baking instructions are clear, concise, and consistent and all led to excellent bread. The information about what goes into the bread, what tools are available, and what variations are worth trying is extremely helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    Exceptional Book

    It is obvious in each recipe that Rose has taken great pains to perfect each loaf. I especially appreciate how she breaks down the bread baking process to explain why each step is critical to the taste and texture. She also explains why each ingredient is necessary and what its role in the bread baking process is. I love how she thoroughly explains bread baking to the point that a reader of this book is enabled to create their own bread recipes by either personalizing her recipes or creating their own, which, she states, is the point of the book-to empower bakers to take their baking a step further. I found the instructions more than easy to follow and Rose even goes so far as to list places that each specific baking item can be found (whether specialty or not). Some of her recipes I will probably not make again (her sticky bun, for example, is not my ideal sticky bun) though her potato bread and white bread are unrivaled her wheat bread is rising now. Thank you, Rose for a wonderful resource!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    The best book for the home baker...

    I have tried nearly every recipe in this book and each have come out exceptional the very first time I made them. The author gives you exact details on how each bread will come out as if a professional did them! I would consider myself a lover of good bread and even though some of her bread recipes take alot of steps, by no means are the complicated or hard to read. She gives precise details and tips on why and how to do things. If you want bread recipes that will impress even the toughest critic and will amaze you this book is must buy. My top favorite recipes are her bagels, panettone, chocolate bread, scones, sandwich bread, brioche bread... I could keep going and going. Again, if you love baking or just want to make exceptional home made bread, this book is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2