Customer Reviews for

Breadcrumbs

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A Charming and Enchanting Modern Day Fairy Tale

Breadcrumbs is a charming and enchanting new novel by Anne Ursu. Billed as Middle Grade fiction, the lyrical writing and interesting mix of fantasy and reality will appeal to Young Adult and Adult readers alike.

Breadcrumbs is an emotional journey that follows Hazel ...
Breadcrumbs is a charming and enchanting new novel by Anne Ursu. Billed as Middle Grade fiction, the lyrical writing and interesting mix of fantasy and reality will appeal to Young Adult and Adult readers alike.

Breadcrumbs is an emotional journey that follows Hazel as she navigates a dangerously magical forest on her quest to reach the Snow Queen's lair and rescue her best friend Jack. One of the many things I enjoyed about Breadcrumbs is that it evoked such nostalgic memories of my own childhood. There is an almost natural separation that happens in boy/girl friendships at a certain age and Ursu highlights this with such poignancy that it is beautiful to read.

Hazel shone as the main character and her courage, loyalty, and fortitude were inspiring. I loved her whimsical nature, her willingness to trust her intuition as she faced some terrifying challenges and persevered through seemingly insurmountable obstacles. The way her character evolved throughout the story was wonderful. The quest that Hazel undertook was as much about self discovery as it was about the strength of friendship and Hazel learned something valuable with each step of the journey.

Within the story, there were nods to many other popular children's tales such as Harry Potter and Narnia and of course, the Snow Queen which inspired this novel. These mentions made sense in the context of the story and I don't feel that they were overused at all.

This was an emotional and whimsical modern fairy tale with overtones of melancholy and nostalgia. This is one of those reads that stays with you long after turning the last page, a modern day classic. I would recommend this to readers of all ages and would go so far as to say that you will be missing out if you don't have a copy of this on your shelf.

posted by The-Happy-Booker on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great

Great book. I totally recommend it.

posted by 7846120 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Charming and Enchanting Modern Day Fairy Tale

    Breadcrumbs is a charming and enchanting new novel by Anne Ursu. Billed as Middle Grade fiction, the lyrical writing and interesting mix of fantasy and reality will appeal to Young Adult and Adult readers alike.

    Breadcrumbs is an emotional journey that follows Hazel as she navigates a dangerously magical forest on her quest to reach the Snow Queen's lair and rescue her best friend Jack. One of the many things I enjoyed about Breadcrumbs is that it evoked such nostalgic memories of my own childhood. There is an almost natural separation that happens in boy/girl friendships at a certain age and Ursu highlights this with such poignancy that it is beautiful to read.

    Hazel shone as the main character and her courage, loyalty, and fortitude were inspiring. I loved her whimsical nature, her willingness to trust her intuition as she faced some terrifying challenges and persevered through seemingly insurmountable obstacles. The way her character evolved throughout the story was wonderful. The quest that Hazel undertook was as much about self discovery as it was about the strength of friendship and Hazel learned something valuable with each step of the journey.

    Within the story, there were nods to many other popular children's tales such as Harry Potter and Narnia and of course, the Snow Queen which inspired this novel. These mentions made sense in the context of the story and I don't feel that they were overused at all.

    This was an emotional and whimsical modern fairy tale with overtones of melancholy and nostalgia. This is one of those reads that stays with you long after turning the last page, a modern day classic. I would recommend this to readers of all ages and would go so far as to say that you will be missing out if you don't have a copy of this on your shelf.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Love it

    I am in love with this book.it is the greatest book of all time. You need to read it. It is intense,great,and an awesome book to read. Please if you are thinking about reading this book YES READ IT! I LOVE IT! Amazing book,
    Love it!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    I loved it!

    I loved it< although I thought some parts were to long. I think it was a great twist of a usual fairy tale. Fairy tales and fantasy books are my favorite and this is one of my favorites. (i have read ALOT of books). The age group to me would probably be 8-13. It depends on what kind of reader you are. I love it, you will love it :)

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    brilliantly written fairytale...

    Reviewed by Rita V for Readers Favorite

    Breadcrumbs is an intriguing modern day fairy tale written by Anne Ursu and Erin Mcquire. Inspired by Hans Andersen's "The Snow Queen," Hazel and Jack have a bond like no other and share a passion for fantasy. Soon, the dynamics of their unique friendship change, and Jack seems to drift away from Hazel after a precarious snowstorm shifts his world. Needing a drastic change in his life, Jack finds himself lured away by a mysterious ice witch, leaving Hazel behind to pick up the pieces. Hazel is devoted to Jack, and she decides to set out on a great adventure to rescue him. But as Jack drifts off further and further, he does not seem to want to be rescued. Hazel finds her inner courage and battles the elements while leaving a breadcrumb trail in search for Jack in the deep snowy forest. Their imaginations carry them away into a fantasy land with eminent danger, beautiful landscapes and in search for their true identities.

    This mysterious and compelling children's fairy tale is a must read for all older children. The cover of Breadcrumbs is truly eye catching and provides a great introduction into the story. The characters are all well developed and each contains great depth and mystery. Older children will be able to comprehend this story easily as they drift off into a fantasy land like no other. The modern day themes of divorce, depression, conformity, loss of friendship and not being able to fit in are brilliantly woven in. Children will be able to relate to this magical wonderland while also bringing away lessons they are able to grip in real life. This book brought me back to my childhood where believing in magic again felt wonderful and inspiring. I found myself so intertwined with the book that I could hardly set it down. This fast paced adventure is exciting and packed with twists and turns in each chapter. The lesson to come away with at the end is that friendships are special and not to be given up on. Being true to oneself is all we can strive for. Breadcrumbs is creativity and imagination at its best, and I recommend this brilliantly written fairytale for all older children as well as adults. Anne Ursu and Erin Mcquire do not disappoint in this truly unique story that I can easily see developed into a television series or a big screen motion picture.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Awesome Book

    Breadcrumbs is a really cool book that you can just eat up! Don't judge it by it's name cause' it rocks. Some parts are strange but mysterious. Don't think of what will happen because what will happen is totally unpredictable.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    I loved this book so much! It is seriously one of the best books

    I loved this book so much! It is seriously one of the best books that i have ever read. I love the idea of how it's like magic in the real world. A beautiful and touching story about friendship, magic, and growing up. I would reccommend this book to everyone, young and old. I loved this book at almost fourteen, and I will love it at twenty. It's amazing, touching, and beautiful. :)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    AWESOME

    I didn't have high hopes for this book, so I was really surprised when I read it. I had read Anne Ursu's "The Shadow Thieves" and that book is a complete waste of money and time. This book is not. It's a beautiful, touching story about friendship and magic.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    So good!!!

    I loved it so much that i would recomend it to everyone i know!!!! I might just do that i wish there were 100 stars so i could fill all of them!!!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    The book

    This book is a really good book trust me im eleven and i love it its totaly worth it!!!:):):) If you like it please tell me i need friend!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Mustread

    This book is so beautiful, but at times, Hazel, the main character, has thoughts that are way too old for a middle schooler. She sounds so much older than she actually is. Also, stick with it! The first bit is slightly boring, but becomes so much more.
    BEAUTIFUL!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Nice book

    I aint finished this yet but it great

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Breadcrumbs review

    Spectacular! Very suspenseful. Must Read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Great

    Great book. I totally recommend it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Good book

    So far it is so good to me!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Good

    Sounds really good! My teacher told me about it.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Brilliant Storytelling!

    For fans of fairytales retold...you MUST read this well-crafted tale based, of course, on Hansel and Gretel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Magical

    I loved this book at first it seem as if it was made for younger kids but got better as I went on. At some parts I could not stop reading a wonderful fairytale!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Breadcrumbs

    This is a very great book
    If you read it u will not put it down,go to sleep,and eat until u read this very special book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Spectacular

    Iread this in a few hours praise for breadcrumbs a wonderous spectacular book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    SOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I could eat this book, I love it so!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5