Customer Reviews for

Breadcrumbs

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A Charming and Enchanting Modern Day Fairy Tale

Breadcrumbs is a charming and enchanting new novel by Anne Ursu. Billed as Middle Grade fiction, the lyrical writing and interesting mix of fantasy and reality will appeal to Young Adult and Adult readers alike.

Breadcrumbs is an emotional journey that follows Hazel ...
Breadcrumbs is a charming and enchanting new novel by Anne Ursu. Billed as Middle Grade fiction, the lyrical writing and interesting mix of fantasy and reality will appeal to Young Adult and Adult readers alike.

Breadcrumbs is an emotional journey that follows Hazel as she navigates a dangerously magical forest on her quest to reach the Snow Queen's lair and rescue her best friend Jack. One of the many things I enjoyed about Breadcrumbs is that it evoked such nostalgic memories of my own childhood. There is an almost natural separation that happens in boy/girl friendships at a certain age and Ursu highlights this with such poignancy that it is beautiful to read.

Hazel shone as the main character and her courage, loyalty, and fortitude were inspiring. I loved her whimsical nature, her willingness to trust her intuition as she faced some terrifying challenges and persevered through seemingly insurmountable obstacles. The way her character evolved throughout the story was wonderful. The quest that Hazel undertook was as much about self discovery as it was about the strength of friendship and Hazel learned something valuable with each step of the journey.

Within the story, there were nods to many other popular children's tales such as Harry Potter and Narnia and of course, the Snow Queen which inspired this novel. These mentions made sense in the context of the story and I don't feel that they were overused at all.

This was an emotional and whimsical modern fairy tale with overtones of melancholy and nostalgia. This is one of those reads that stays with you long after turning the last page, a modern day classic. I would recommend this to readers of all ages and would go so far as to say that you will be missing out if you don't have a copy of this on your shelf.

posted by The-Happy-Booker on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great

Great book. I totally recommend it.

posted by 7846120 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    So good CLICK HERE!!!!!!!

    It was really good it is very entertaining and Hazel is very brave to rescue her friend Jack from the snow queen. Very intense and tons of action!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Omg read it!!!

    Omg you have to read it!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    THE BEST BOOK

    Ive read the first two pagesand fell in love who ever is having second thoughtsabout this book Dont its that good you'll love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "The Snow Queen" was always a favorite of mine growing

    "The Snow Queen" was always a favorite of mine growing up. I had several different versions that I just couldn't get enough of. Anne Ursu's version live up to all that I remember "The Snow Queen" ever being. Hazel is a fantastic character, and the world she trales while trying to rescue Jack is full of surprises and fantastic characters waiting to either help her or hinder her. Hazel needs to use her wits to try and bring Jack back from the clutches of the Snow Queen.


    This is a must read for lovers of fairy tales everywhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Book

    Best story I've ever read!





    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Awesome

    Such a good book! I would recommend it to anyone who likes a good story with fantasy in it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    I fell in love with this book!!!

    I loved this book i wish that i could be Hazel she is a strong young lady that can take a hit and would do anything fornhe friends and family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Breadcrumbs is my favorite book!!!

    I got thi fone from ghe library no thinking it would be any good and it exceeded my expectations!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    I heard of this is it good

    Not sure are there wolves in it if there are that is ok

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Awesome

    I HIGHLY recomend rhis book to anyone who is looking for a book to get.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Awesome

    This is one of the best books iv ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poignant and compelling

    This story about a girl who doesn't seem to fit in anywhere and her quest to rescue the one person who really understands her is a thoughtful, lyrical departure from the hilarious hijinks of the Cronus Chronicles. In tone, it reminded me of the author's earlier adult work, "Spilling Clarence". Hazel and Jack are middle-school students who have been best friends since they were six years old. Together they have shared their childhoods, a rich joint fantasy life, and the heartbreak of Hazel's father's defection and Jack's mother's crippling depression. When Jack suddenly seems to turn into a different person and then disappears with the mysterious "white witch", Hazel ventures into a mysterious woodland to save him. Ursu's trademark wit is still in evidence, though necessarily tempered by the serious subjects with which her protagonists grapple: identity, loss, self-worth, maturity and disillusionment. All in all, "Breadcrumbs" is an enchanting tale of friendship, mystery and the nature of magic, speaking to the heart of anyone who has ever felt lost, unwanted or strange.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    great read

    This was a wonderful book. Anne Ursu is able to write a story youth will want to read, without writing down to them. Her prose is full, and meaty. Even though I am far removed from the age this book is intended, I have to say I thought it captured the angst of growing from childhood to adolescence. A book I tried to put down and then finally succumbed to finishing--and now wish I still had it to read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2015

    Awsome

    This book is a great book to read for kids that like to reaf I guess idk but liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    I see bad things in the dark.

    This is my face every day. T_T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Really good

    I think I read this book but I dont remember. It was good though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Please tap!!!!!!!

    I read this at my school and it was amazing, great for someone who feels lonely 100% good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Awesome

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Definitely a MUST read!

    This book kept me wanting more and more! I actually borrowed it from my local library. It kept me on the edge of my seat, and I couldn't putit down. It was like just one more page, which turned into me reading the whole chapter! I love this book and I would recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    ?

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4