Customer Reviews for

The Breadwinner

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Breadwinner

I loved it. Read it when I was in fourth grade and it still mesmerizes me. And I'm in the seventh grade. Beautiful. Makes you think past the things you hear.

posted by 6162056 on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not appropriate

I am going into the 6th grade in the fall. This book was violent and i dont think it was age approriate

posted by Anonymous on July 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    ?

    Its ok... It was boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Just getting started

    Im a 6th grader and we just started and it is okay so far!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    ok

    this book was enteresting but was slow at times and hard to fallow the gorry vilence was scary and inviting read this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Mrs. Carmichael loves this book

    I am in sixth grade and my class is reading thi book. It is kina sad but to sad . I love my teacher mrs. Carmichael

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Was Very Educational!

    I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about the Taliban in Afghanistan. Being grateful where you live is very important. This book makes you thankful that you live in such a violent free country like America. I did enjoy this book because whenever you were getting board with it it would draw you back in with something new and EXITING!!! I think this book would be great for teachers wanting to give their students an educational way to read a good book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2004

    The Breadwinner

    The Breadwinner Deborah Ellis Groundwood Fiction 170 Pages Parvana and her family are just getting by under the taliban¿s vice grip on Afghanistan. Then one night the taliban storm in on their dinner and take her father away. Without a man in the family Parvana and her family cannot go out to get food. When Parvana bravely went out to get water she ran into a family friend. Together they come up with a plan to turn Parvana into a boy. Parvana hates the idea but this allows her to work and get food without trouble from the taliban. Although Parvana can work they still need to get their father back, which leads to even more trouble and heartbreak. People that enjoy real gritty writing will like Deborah Ellis¿ The Breadwinner. The story is believable but the plot will bore more advanced readers. Despite the reading level The Breadwinner should interest people who want to learn about Afghanistan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    Breadwinner

    The Breadwinner was about a girl in Afghanistan that her dad got arreset she got dressed as a boy her sister went to Maza and there dad comes back.I think the book was OK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2003

    The Breadwinner

    The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis is the story of an eleven-year-old girl, Parvana, who lives in Afghanistan under the oppressive rule of the Taliban. After her father's imprisonment (for having a foreign education), she must disguise herself as a boy in order to safely leave the bombed out apartment she shares with her mother and siblings and be her family's "breadwinner". While the plot is based on stories from the author's interviews with Afghan women in refugee camps, the reader senses that the story is little more than a stringing together of incidents. The characters are so underdeveloped that, even though one is surely sympathetic to their horrible situation, it is difficult to feel an emotional attatchment to any of them, even Parvana. If there is value in reading this book it is that the horrors of Taliban rule, as recounted in the lives of Parvana and her family, serve to remind us that we must never allow any group that seeks to limit the freedom of others to gain power.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1