Customer Reviews for

The Breakdown Lane

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2005

    Deadbeat Dad of Worst Kind

    Although Julieanne offers helpful advice via a weekly column in a local newspaper, she was oblivious to the warning signs that her own twenty-year marriage was about to collapse. When her husband, Leo announces that the pressure of domesticity is weighing him down and needs a six month 'time-out' Julieanne pleads with him to reconsider. He doesn't. He takes off, with the empty promise of returning in six monts, to a commune far away from home. He doesn't even leave a forwarding address. With the recently acquired status of single parent and breadwinner of three (two teens and a toddler) Julieanne is stressed beyond belief. That stress is followed by puzzling medical symptoms that are soon diagnosed as MS. The reader goes along on the journey with this family guided by the voice of Julieanne and her mildly disabled teen son, Gabe. Gabe's voice will touch any mother's heart. He's been victimized by his peers due to his LD but the reader quickly learns that Gabe possesses depth and sensitivity and intelligence that would make any mother proud. When his mother becomes too ill to properly care for baby Aury, Gabe steps up to the plate without complaining. We don't get Julieanne's daughter Caroline's perspective through her own voice, but we're made aware that Caroline seems too self-absorbed to be affected by the unraveling of her family. Later, we learn that Caroline was simply using the only coping skills she could access during the most troubling and confusing time of her life. Caroline concocts a plan for damage control: go to the commune and fetch the father who deserted them. Surely once he finds gets a first hand account of the terrible troubles at home, he'll come running back, shame-faced and begging for forgiveness. Dad, however, is none too happy to see his two offspring. He's already started another family with a younger woman. Amazingly, this family bonds together and with the help of a family friend and new rich husband for Julieanne, there's a happily ever after for everyone. Even baby Aury. A touching read, which Mitchard tied up nicely at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Die and Dark

    You see violet and black everywhere almost missing the two identical cats...the only differance was one was weak and under the strong one...help...grab....AHH dark screamed...YOU SHALL DIE DARK HELP ME KILL HER......this is your time to pick....grab dark and glitch out possibly killing die...my choice...or kill dark and only die will remain

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended!!!

    Page turner. I could not put down the book. I read this book in 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Great read

    Page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    Very interesting book.

    A very heart warming book, filled with ups and downs in the family life of writer that ends up with MS. Learning to live again after things fall apart, but never giving up and a happy ending. I lovedthe two perspectives, Jules and Gabes in the journals that they kept. What a family endures and goes thru, capitvated me and kept me engrossed. It was so real like to me as if I was reading in secret or watching from the outside looking in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I actually picked up this book on the recommendation of--don't laugh!--Stephen King. As one of the ten books he recommended for late summer reads in an issue of Entertainment Weekly Magazine, the premise hooked me. <BR/><BR/>The book centers around a woman who not only loses her husband to a wacky desire to live a simpler and more-fulfilling life, but has to single-handedly raise two teenagers and a young daughter by herself, all while dealing with her diagnosis of MS. <BR/><BR/>THE BREAKDOWN LANE is women's fiction at its best. I actually enjoyed the two first-person accounts that make up the book (it's in the form of a journal belonging to the mother and one written by the son). Although it does end up with a rather happily-ever-after ending, this book details life in all its ups and downs--and you'll appreciate being along for the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Pass on this one-

    The storyline is slow and sad..... if you are an active attentive dad you will hate this book - the father is complete loser / deadbeat scum and the wife/mother is an enabler of the first order - neither of whom have the childrens best interests in mind or heart - wraps up neatly and quickly and for once I was grateful for this type of ending - it was the best part.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Wonderful Women's Fiction

    I actually picked up this book on the recommendation of--don't laugh!--Stephen King. As one of the ten books he recommended for late summer reads in an issue of Entertainment Weekly Magazine, the premise hooked me. The book centers around a woman who not only loses her husband to a wacky desire to live a simpler and more-fulfilling life, but has to single-handedly raise two teenagers and a young daughter by herself, all while dealing with her diagnosis of MS. THE BREAKDOWN LANE is women's fiction at its best. I actually enjoyed the two first-person accounts that make up the book (it's in the form of a journal belonging to the mother and one written by the son). Although it does end up with a rather happily-ever-after ending, this book details life in all its ups and downs--and you'll appreciate being along for the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    good understanding on MS

    I was interested in reading this book after hearing from fellow readers that the main character deals with MS. I am a person with MS and I found that she protrayed the MS in a positive way. A person with MS does not do well with stress of any kind. I felt as if she had used parts of my life as research for this book. Many people with MS are diagnosed shortly after something very stressful has happened in their life. I can only hope that this book will help people better understand the illness. One moment you can be fine and the next unable to think correctly, walk, sight can be affected as well as speech. Thank You for this information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    A Superb Read!!!

    I simply couldn't put this book down. I could identify with nearly every character in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    A BIG disappointment

    After reading the back of the book I thought I would be amazing. Lackluster to say the least. I wasn't thrilled to say the least. Actually managed to finish it though and then I gave it to a friend may be they can appericate it cause I can't

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN

    I loved this book and couldn't put it down. This is one of Jacquelyn Mitchard's best books yet. It keeps you on your toes wondering what's going to happen next with this woman's life and her family. What a strong woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    AN AFFECTING DRAMA ELOQUENTLY READ

    Few authors plumb the depths of human emotion as deftly as Jackie Mitchard (Was there a dry eye at the conclusion 'The Deep End of the Ocean'?) Once again she explores the nooks and crannies of love, family and human relationships in the story of Julieanne Gillis. Actress Anna Fields does a superb job of occupying two narrative voices, that of Julieanne and her learning disabled teenage son, Gabe. As Julieanne, she is torn, angry, brave and resilient. With Gabe she gives voice to a young man who is forced to learn very early what can happen when a marriage not only bends but breaks. Married for 20 years to Leo, a not terribly successful lawyer, Julieanne has given birth to three children, two now in their early teens, the third just out of babyhood. She dispenses advice through a column in the local newspaper in their Wisconsin town. She's happy, devoted to her children, and her friends. Sorry the same can't be said for Leo. Think selfish, inconsiderate, or to put it more bluntly 'a real loser' and you have a pretty good picture of him. Seems he's decided he wants to take a break from hearth and home to live in a commune. Off he goes leaving Julieanne and the children behind. He doesn't even leave a forwarding address. When Julieanne is diagnosed with multiple sclerosis, she has no idea how she can continue being a single parent. Gabe, a son any mother would love, and his sister take off in search of their errant father. 'The Breakdown Lane' is both riveting drama and eloquent reminder of the mysteries of love. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Not as good as I hoped

    I've red most of her other books and loved them. As someone with MS, I was very keen to read this one, but found it disappointing. Some aspects were poorly researched (particularly the treatments used), which let down the bits that were on the mark for MS. I found myself more attracted by interplay of the other characters, especially the children, than the main character. She came across as more flat and one dimensional, defined pretty much by her disease. The development of the other characters was more interesting to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Forget your housework!!! Captivating, Great Novel!

    Plan on skipping meals and staying up late!!!! Jacqueline Mitchard has created a BLOCKBUSTER story, about a family of lost souls. Julieanne Gillis, a sweet Wisconsin housewife with a too-comfortable marriage and three kids, makes a meager living writing an advice column for a local paper. Blinded by the great advice she gives so freely to others, she fails to see the daily boredom that oozes from her own husband's pores. Once a ravishing dancer, she suddenly finds herself ravaged by a crumbling marriage and a tsunami of disease; Multiple Sclerosis. Her oldest children must leave Wisconsin to find their deadbeat dad, only to find themselves in the process. This riveting novel has many detours and 'breakdown lanes,' and like real life, runs the gamut of emotions. GREAT, GREAT READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Jacquelyn Mitchard At Her Best

    This book was so engaging, I did not want to put it down. The story is of ordinary people facing major challenges, except in 'The Breakdown Lane' all of them hit at once. Julianne is a successful advice columnist; she has a home and a family and a life that seems to be going smoothly along on cruise control. But she suddenly has the rug pulled out from under her and she finds herself without a husband, raising 3 children alone, and being diagnosed with a devastating illness that will literally knock her flat. Although difficult, none of these challenges are insurmountable by themselves. But Julianne has everything dropped upon her at once, and when the dust clears, she is alone and the horizon looks very dark. This book is not depressing; it is funny and poignant, sad and uplifting.I attribute this all to Ms. Mitchard's ability to craft a story that is realistic and believable. Her characters' voices are real. Her writing is right on the mark with dialogue, and her insight into Julianne's feelings is touching and true. I found myself wanting to shake her cad of a husband, and hug her son Gabe when he reaches down inside himself to help her. This novel is like a jigsaw puzzle that was finished, and then knocked off the card table. It gets put back together, but some of the pieces are missing. The puzzle is the same, the picture just looks a little different. This is an excellent book. I enjoyed reading it and know it will make a great selection for my book discussion group. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2