Customer Reviews for

Breakers

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding!

This is a must read for any what-if end of times story lover. Well written and the characters are brought to life. I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended!

posted by Marcompro on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

great start-and then descent into cliches

I started reading this, and was fascinated. I liked the action, the characters were interesting, and the plot moved along.
Then came the apocalypse with a twist. I got bored, and as I read I was comparing the apocalypse narrative with Stephen King's The Stand.
...
I started reading this, and was fascinated. I liked the action, the characters were interesting, and the plot moved along.
Then came the apocalypse with a twist. I got bored, and as I read I was comparing the apocalypse narrative with Stephen King's The Stand.

And then I had the terrible feeling that I'd read this before.
Skipping to the ending, I saw there was a nice plot twist, but the plot was like some sci-fi I've seen in movies and read in books. Boredom crept in again

I ended bored. I hope the sequel can maintain the interest, depth of character and interesting relationships of the 1st 50 pages. If so, I'd gladly read it.

posted by maloken on April 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Outstanding!

    This is a must read for any what-if end of times story lover. Well written and the characters are brought to life. I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    Have already started on the second book of this series. I am an

    Have already started on the second book of this series. I am an apocalyptic book fan and this series fits the bill, but in a rather strange way. Liked the first book very much.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Favorite series in years

    Edward Robertson is an insightful, hysterical and entertaining author! I loved, I mean LOVED, this book, and equally enjoyed "Meltdown", the second in the series. You will not be disappointed in this amazingly quick read. Be prepared. You wont be able to put it down...

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Let us first acknowledge author Edward W. Robertson¿s remarkable

    Let us first acknowledge author Edward W. Robertson’s remarkable facility for storytelling, but perhaps even more so his profound knowledge of people. He knows how people relate, why they do the things they do. Because his characters are fully drawn, possessing all the flaws and foibles that make us, and them, human, we come to feel we know them. Because we feel we know them, we are able to care about them. This ability to create convincing portraits of people sets Mr. Robertson’s fiction apart from that of mere spinners of yarns whose characters are, by comparison, cut out of cardboard.
    His protagonists in the Breakers series are people whose world is suddenly and terrifyingly gone, who are forced to confront scary monsters and still scarier humans. How they persevere and adapt to a mad new reality illustrates poignantly the meaning of the word “survivor."
    Breakers, the first installment in this series, is a take on the post-apocalypse theme -- with a mind-bending twist. Here we are introduced to the stories of ordinary people facing unimaginable cataclysm and a pitiless foe bent on their ultimate annihilation. Heart-rending and at times hilarious, Breakers had me turning pages long into the night and hungering for more. The author writes with a narrative power reminiscent of Heinlein, Asimov, and Clarke, in an engaging style in tune with the times. Mr. Robertson’s Breakers series is a welcome addition to the corpus of fantastical end-of-times fiction.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Wow! What a great epic story-definitely need to read all three

    Wow! What a great epic story-definitely need to read all three books. You'll fall in love with all the characters in this series. Edward weaves a great story and I look forward to reading more of his work. At the end of the third book he tells us that there will be more in the series! I can't wait!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    A wild ride!

    Started out as a post-apocalyptic yarn, then -- what the heck?! -- veered into a different (if related) genre. Quite a read is in store for you, friend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    A Good but Different SIFY Read

    This is a good read, but it left a lot of things open and unanswered. Hopefully they will be tied up in the sequels. I recommend the book, but expect a slower paced story told from various viewpoints.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this!  Couldn't put it down...very well-written book. High

    Loved this!  Couldn't put it down...very well-written book. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    A great twist on the ever popular dooms day novel.

    What a good read Breakers was. Without any spoilers I felt like I was reading a Chrichton novel. I am defininatly going to follow this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Good story.

    I really enjoyed reading it. Kind of boring at the beginning but ended up good. Hope the sequels are good also..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    great start-and then descent into cliches

    I started reading this, and was fascinated. I liked the action, the characters were interesting, and the plot moved along.
    Then came the apocalypse with a twist. I got bored, and as I read I was comparing the apocalypse narrative with Stephen King's <u>The Stand</u>.

    And then I had the terrible feeling that I'd read this before.
    Skipping to the ending, I saw there was a nice plot twist, but the plot was like some sci-fi I've seen in movies and read in books. Boredom crept in again

    I ended bored. I hope the sequel can maintain the interest, depth of character and interesting relationships of the 1st 50 pages. If so, I'd gladly read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Loved it!

    I love the Breaker series. When I can't wait to get back to my book, you know it's good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Entertaining Series

    Well worth the investment in time and $.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2015

    Fans of Stephen King¿s ¿The Stand¿ will enjoy ¿Breakers¿.  I fou

    Fans of Stephen King’s “The Stand” will enjoy “Breakers”.  I found there to be some similarities in the two, but not so much as to call it a copycat, but there was dome of that dejevu when reading it.  The plot is interesting and well thought out.  The characters are engaging and dynamic and there is enough action to go around.  A highly entertaining read for the post-apocalyptic and horror fans on your list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Exciting and suspenseful, I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    This was a great story. The characters were all believable and all had their own unique personalities. The alternating perspectives from chapter to chapter was a nice touch as well, it definitely kept me turning the pages. The story flowed very well and was suspenseful and exciting the entire way through. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it to a friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2014

    One the best I have read on Nook recently. While similar stories

    One the best I have read on Nook recently. While similar stories have been in films and other fiction the author did an excellent job drawing me and keeping me ingaged with the subject. Very detailed with superb charactor development in the primary charactors and tight action this is one I hope becomes a film. A finely crafted adventure I was not able to stop reading until I finished reading. See for yourself!

    Bgbdesign

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2014

    Fantastic book. My favorite kind of story post civilization, wel

    Fantastic book. My favorite kind of story post civilization, well thought out and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    It is free

    :) happyhappyhappy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Started out ok

    Then got boring and hard to follow. I tried to follow but after re-reading the same pages over and over i gave up and skipped ahead. End left me hanging and wondering how it got there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Really good

    I thought the addition of aliens was going to turn a good book into a stupid mistake post haste. It didn't. He managed to carry it off pretty damn well. I'm impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6