Customer Reviews for

Breakfast with Buddha

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A friend recommended Breakfast with Buddha and I followed up on her clue.

I enjoyed the book so much, I devoured it mindfully, at a slow pace, being such a brief book I steeped myself in the story. I read a lot of non-fiction, so I really enjoyed this little book as it was right up my alley. It is a good book.

posted by Arrrrrggggh on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I hated it.

We had to read this for a class. I couldn't stand it from the very first chapter, and it never got any better. Otto is NOT a likable character and is also not relatable unless you are a middle-aged man with a middle class family. His sister is a stereotype, and the Rinp...
We had to read this for a class. I couldn't stand it from the very first chapter, and it never got any better. Otto is NOT a likable character and is also not relatable unless you are a middle-aged man with a middle class family. His sister is a stereotype, and the Rinpoche doesn't seem to do very much.
Merullo makes several attempts at humor and fails miserably. His jokes and situations are unfunny and sometimes feel forced. He also makes several attempts at being deep, but most of those fall flat as well. The ones that don't are the lessons he stole from actual buddhists who actually know what they are talking about. He seems to be writing this from the point of view of a content, comfortable middle class american family man. One whose questionings only arise out of the death of his parents, before which he never had to seriously question or think about the world. For someone who has spent their whole life trying to understand the world without any outside prompt, it seems to lack authenticity and heart, and also understanding. Otto never seems to really get it. I think he only THINKS he gets it. He doesn't. But, like any all-american man he thinks he can just learn very little about something and suddenly understand it completely.
This was a waste of my time, and it is unfortunate that my professor seemed to mistake it for REAL literature. If you really want to learn about buddhism, there are much better and more authentic ways. If you want to be like Otto and only have a narrow understanding, go ahead and read this, I guess.

posted by 1668456 on May 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Great Book

    First, it's not for everybody. If you are reasonably open minded, it is an enjoyable cross-country trip that explores growing your spiritual awareness. This book is for readers who enjoy meta-fiction and have a life is a journey mind-set. It doesn't push any dogma or belief. It really just recommends you relax, clean up, and open up, while presenting a light quick, easy read. I enjoyed it. It made me think. John

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A friend recommended Breakfast with Buddha and I followed up on her clue.

    I enjoyed the book so much, I devoured it mindfully, at a slow pace, being such a brief book I steeped myself in the story. I read a lot of non-fiction, so I really enjoyed this little book as it was right up my alley. It is a good book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    Great Read

    Fun easy read. Loved it. Read it with a book club. Everyone liked it. It is the kind of book that you don't want to put down. From the first page it is entertaining. If you like food, road trips and peace this is the book for you. Sit back and enjoy the ride.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    What a Pleasant Book

    I wasn't sure about this book until after I had read the first 45 to 50 pages. From then on every page was a treat. When I had to put it down and do something else, I found there was a smile on my face and in my heart. It is also very thought provoking. This is a book that I will read again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Very thought provoking.

    Really good book. Makes you think about choosing good, quieting the anger and all of the superficial things that life throws your way every day. I've felt my mind relax over the past couple of days and find that I am taking deeper breaths and letting the constant roar of my thoughts float by.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    I hated it.

    We had to read this for a class. I couldn't stand it from the very first chapter, and it never got any better. Otto is NOT a likable character and is also not relatable unless you are a middle-aged man with a middle class family. His sister is a stereotype, and the Rinpoche doesn't seem to do very much.
    Merullo makes several attempts at humor and fails miserably. His jokes and situations are unfunny and sometimes feel forced. He also makes several attempts at being deep, but most of those fall flat as well. The ones that don't are the lessons he stole from actual buddhists who actually know what they are talking about. He seems to be writing this from the point of view of a content, comfortable middle class american family man. One whose questionings only arise out of the death of his parents, before which he never had to seriously question or think about the world. For someone who has spent their whole life trying to understand the world without any outside prompt, it seems to lack authenticity and heart, and also understanding. Otto never seems to really get it. I think he only THINKS he gets it. He doesn't. But, like any all-american man he thinks he can just learn very little about something and suddenly understand it completely.
    This was a waste of my time, and it is unfortunate that my professor seemed to mistake it for REAL literature. If you really want to learn about buddhism, there are much better and more authentic ways. If you want to be like Otto and only have a narrow understanding, go ahead and read this, I guess.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Fun and serious - a great read!

    The cover picture tells it all. The book is fun and serious at the same time. The message is "Lighten up. Life is too short. Keep things in balance. And most of all, don't take yourself too seriously." A tale of fiction covering the deepest truths. Read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Breakfast with Buddha

    I found the book to be delightful - and thought provoking. In a gentle manner, Merullo asks the question "Why so angry?" Why today, in America, people seem to be angry over so many issues and non-issues. What is underneath that we are not addressing and how can we recover. This book is an excellent journey toward personal healing and renewal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    great read

    easy to read yet thought provoking

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Good story

    It was a light hearted, slightly comical story ending with a slight twist. Not the best book I've ever read but still worth reading. I'd recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    Good read

    An interesting story about a road trip with two unlikely passengers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    I'm not sure how I heard about this book or why now instead of e

    I'm not sure how I heard about this book or why now instead of earlier, but her I am.
    I very much enjoyed this. Told as if it were an autobiography, we get a very personal feeling for the transformation the main character undergoes.
    There are no unique spiritual "TRUTHS" revealed, but layer by layer Otto is allowed to look under his various layers and find more of who and what he really is.
    Quite delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    I loved this book and am anxiously awaiting Dinner with Buddha.

    I loved this book and am anxiously awaiting Dinner with Buddha. This is a fun and engaging read with an uplifting spiritual component. I laughed out loud reading many of the passages. The journey is compelling and I for one would like to join in the fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Enjoyable read

    easy to read, some humor and gets you thinking about some of the spiritual issues the story teller is going through. Good for book club discussions.
    Would read another from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    great read - 5 stars *****

    Terrific book. Completely engaging characters, and I loved the developing relationship. Would absolutely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Interesting read.

    interesting read....wouldn't say a great book but I was compelled to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Loved it

    I so enjoyed reading this book and had some light bulb moments along the way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    A good surprise

    Cute story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Great book!!

    Loved the jouney!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Cute story

    I felt pulled into the story like i was joining them on their journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5