Customer Reviews for

Breakfast with Buddha

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A friend recommended Breakfast with Buddha and I followed up on her clue.

I enjoyed the book so much, I devoured it mindfully, at a slow pace, being such a brief book I steeped myself in the story. I read a lot of non-fiction, so I really enjoyed this little book as it was right up my alley. It is a good book.

posted by Arrrrrggggh on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I hated it.

We had to read this for a class. I couldn't stand it from the very first chapter, and it never got any better. Otto is NOT a likable character and is also not relatable unless you are a middle-aged man with a middle class family. His sister is a stereotype, and the Rinp...
We had to read this for a class. I couldn't stand it from the very first chapter, and it never got any better. Otto is NOT a likable character and is also not relatable unless you are a middle-aged man with a middle class family. His sister is a stereotype, and the Rinpoche doesn't seem to do very much.
Merullo makes several attempts at humor and fails miserably. His jokes and situations are unfunny and sometimes feel forced. He also makes several attempts at being deep, but most of those fall flat as well. The ones that don't are the lessons he stole from actual buddhists who actually know what they are talking about. He seems to be writing this from the point of view of a content, comfortable middle class american family man. One whose questionings only arise out of the death of his parents, before which he never had to seriously question or think about the world. For someone who has spent their whole life trying to understand the world without any outside prompt, it seems to lack authenticity and heart, and also understanding. Otto never seems to really get it. I think he only THINKS he gets it. He doesn't. But, like any all-american man he thinks he can just learn very little about something and suddenly understand it completely.
This was a waste of my time, and it is unfortunate that my professor seemed to mistake it for REAL literature. If you really want to learn about buddhism, there are much better and more authentic ways. If you want to be like Otto and only have a narrow understanding, go ahead and read this, I guess.

posted by 1668456 on May 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Loved it!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was fun and thought provoking. The author has read so much on world religions and has put much of his gleanings into the story. If you like pondering about God - a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    funny and enjoyable

    It's a fiction story, the characters are lovable each in his own way.
    Easy to read and thoughtful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Didn't knock my socks off but i enjoyed it and call it fun and thought provoking. Wish it was a little more profound but liked the spiritualism without religion and felt it was realistic. Thought the ending was slightly lackluster but still really liked the book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Fabulous!

    An engaging, thought provoking novel. What a fun trip Mr. Merullo takes us on with the joyous Rinpoche. Ignore anything less than 5 stars, and just buy this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Katelyn

    I have not read the book but will because l am buddist.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    I loved this book, would recomend it to any fellow seeker!

    Just an excellent read by an excellent author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Wonderful

    Fantastic book. Engaging, thought-provoking, entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    A road trip for your soul

    I can't tell enough people to read this book. What an amazing story!!! I was sad to get to the end, for I wanted to keep having breakfast with Otto and Rinposhe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    WOW

    such a great read. inspirational and made me reflect a lot on my life and how I conduct myself and my thoughts. I loved this book. it was very interesting. very touching moments to some hilariously funny moments. Awesome.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful story...wonderfully written

    The author sets a tone of informality and maintains a consistent intimacy with the reader throughout the journey of the book.

    I related very strongly with the narrator and found that his spiritual journey was feasible and even felt as if he brings you there with him.

    Very pleased to have found this gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    A journey worth taking

    Otto is a happily married, happily employed father and culinary book editor from New York who is rather unwillingly convinced to take his sister's guru, Volya Rinpoche, on a cross-country trip to settle their parents' estate in North Dakota. Over the course of several days, Otto attempts to teach Rinopoche about America - showing him Hershey's kisses, bowling, "furniture" golf, and baseball, as well as the beauty of its nature and the sometimes tragedy of its cities, while Rinopoche works to take Otto on a more inward voyage.

    Part travelogue, part "food-logue," and part spiritual journey, overall the author balances each part quite well to make for an interesting trip. For some reason I expected it to be lighter, but I never felt like it was heavy, and I did laugh out loud at the yoga session. I related to the main character - I understood well where he was coming from - so his "awakening" was thought-provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Buddhism Meets Midwestern Prostestantism

    It's an interesting premise. Take an Upper Middle Class Married Professional with a Wife, Two Kids a good job and the suburban house and throw him into daily enforced contact with a semi-Buddhist Rinpoche or Guru and see what happens. The idea is interesting, the characters well positioned and developed and the plot is plausible. And the author does a great job of making it believable and in letting it flow. It could have been trite and forced but the story seems to flow. It is even amusing and has its twists and turns. And I really enjoyed and actually I've read it twice. But still in all I felt it just barely missed. It wasn't quite as good as it might have been. I didn't quite relate to the main character as much as I thought I would. I found him kind of self satisfied and unreachable. And maybe this is just my prejudice coming through but I somehow wanted it to be more - for the transformations to be more detailed or a little more real life. Still in all I give it an A- grade. Not quite what I hoped for but still really well done and polished and thought provoking and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    Offers More Than Expected

    Tackles difficult questions in a funny, light hearted way. This book is empowering, never preachy. It addresses issues that face each of us but often go unanswered. The delightful characters help us see that we've had the answers all along. Brilliant uncommon, common sense. I've gifted it several times. The subplot of good food makes it current, and quite unexpectedly trendy. A pure delight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Fun book to read

    Not at all what I thought it would be..loved it. Great for flight or beach...or just to read anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    I enjoyed this book thoroughly. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    A Wise and Pleasant Journey

    This book has a lot going for it: likeable characters, a cross country journey, and a lot of good meals! I would love to spend some time with someone like the Rinpoche -- although I would be no less nervous than Otto, the main character. Once I started this I just couldn't put it down. The philosophy sprinkled in was paced just right and the ending, well, happy and miraculous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    The Quest for Happiness

    You certainly don't have to be a Buddhist to read this book. This book is about a high-strung family man who seems to have everything he needs and wants in life yet he still feels a nagging void deep inside. His off-beat sister sets him up on an extended road trip with a Dalai Lama type who, very passively, begins to expose the man to a life path of inner peace and joy. It is a wonderful journey that we can all take a lesson from. I would highly recommend this book. Those who loved the book Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert will also love this book. Their husbands may also like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5