BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Breaking Back: How I Lost Everything and Won Back My Life

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    Inspiring

    I am a huge tennis fan and a huge James Blake fan. This book went beyond the sports or tennis side of is life which I already knew about, I've seen him play several times at the US Open always felt he was the nicest guy out there, signing autographs on the grounds after a tough loss. After this book I like James even more. The book was incredibly inspiring showing the relationship between he and his father. When James broke his neck he talked of how this was a blessing in disguise for him that he got to spend time with his father during his last months of his life. This book truly made me wish to tell my parents how much I love and appreciate them. This is a great book for all not just sports/tennis fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    Awesome!

    This book was great. I am a tennis (mostly Andy Roddick) fan but this book was very well-written, interesting, and inspiring. As an English major I really was impressed with the writing style of this story. It never got boring or too much into detail with the tennis losses or wins, instead focusing on the story. This is a great read and I really felt for Blake, at times trying not to cry. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a tennis fan or who has gone through a personal struggle, or who just wants a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Amazing!!

    Any tennis fan SHOULD read this book. it is full of inspiration and makes you want to keep going when your on the court! one of my favorite books I have EVER read! I love James Blake!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    Breaking Back

    Breaking Back written by James Blake, professional tennis player, along with Andrew Friedman autobiography. It tells the life of James and how he overcame the life of professional tennis, an on court freak accident, and the death of his ¿superman¿. James wrote this book to not only entertain other tennis players but also people who don¿t even know tennis. In the back of the book he includes a glossary of all the tennis terms he uses throughout the book. James is telling the story from his point of view, and how he felt during all these hard times. He explains the hardships he has on and off the court. Also explained in this book is his on court freak accident when James was unable to play for the next season. He tells about his difficulties not being able to play with his paralyzed left face and what he had to do to pass the long months. I could really connect with James because I am a tennis player also and I had a family member die from cancer like James¿ ¿superman¿. James tells about how his father was so significant and why he calls him superman. ¿When I was a little kid, and even when I grew up to be a young man, my father was like Superman to me. He wasn¿t a crime fighter, and he didn¿t wear a cape¿he lived a more mild-mannered existence that Clark Kent ever did¿¿ After his fathers long battle with cancer Blake says he always knew when his father was watching over his tennis match. Like in the Us Open semifinals. He says, ¿There was only one person I thought of at times like that. I looked straight up into the sky over the stadium, and spoke right to my father: I love you Dad.¿ One book that I would compare this book to is Pete Sampras¿ book Champion¿s Mind: Lessons from a Life in Tennis. Both books talk about the rough and tiring life of a professional tennis player. The books title comes from the hard struggle he had with being temporarily paralyzed and losing his father, and then being able to come back after all that and be fifth in the world today. I would recommend this book to anyone. You don¿t have to play tennis to understand this book and it¿s mostly about his inner struggles, which everyone can relate to. Overall I think it¿s a great book. The ending leaves you really understanding what he went through and how he came back. Also it gives you a great deal of compassion for professional tennis players and their hard work. If I had to rate this book out of five stars (1 being the lowest and 5 being the highest) I would give it a 5. This book has made me both laugh and cry. Its one of the best autobiographies I have ever read. -Rachel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Very inspiring book

    Breaking Back written by James Blake, professional tennis player, along with Andrew Friedman was an interesting autobiography. Excitement and sports fill the pages of this book, but you¿ll also find yourself sad for Blake. It was a good book mainly from its suspense and the dramatic life of Blake. From the mid 1990¿s to present day James Blake travels all over the world but mainly he lives and stays in Connecticut. Blake was an aspiring tennis star but his main priority was education. After being offered many opportunities to go pro, he takes this into consideration and eventually becomes a professional tennis player. He is forced to overcome many tragedies to himself and other family members but some he may never be able to recover from. When James Blake was younger he took lessons at a nearby tennis clinic. His future coach, Brian taught him that his only goal should be getting better. Also, Blake learns to work as hard as he can, be the best he can, and not take anything for granted. He learns that even if he may never be the number one player in the world he will still be lucky to be a professional tennis player. James Blake turns out not to be only a great tennis player but also a good author. His use of the first person point of view enhances the realism in this book and his gripping and strong vocabulary (he went to Harvard) brings his past to life and makes you feel as if you¿re reliving it. This is not only a book for sports lovers, but also anyone with a craving for drama and those who just want a good book. This book will teach you dozens of lessons that you can use on the tennis court and in everyday life. This book will keep you interested in every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1