Customer Reviews for

Breaking Beautiful

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I feel this is a book teens will really enjoy. It has strong cha

I feel this is a book teens will really enjoy. It has strong characters, a great plot, and an issue that is more commonly dealt with today. However, it also kept me interested and guessing some things until the end.

posted by 17111051 on February 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

YUCKOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This was a hoooooooooooooooorible book!!!! It was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo sad! Booo-hooooooooooo!!!!! It was so @#$% bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 14268759 on July 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Breaking Beautiful

    A quick read that takes you through all emotions. You feel Allie's fear and embarrassement as an abused teenage girl trying to protect herself and those around her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Stunning

    I cannot begin to express how much I had been wanting to read Breaking Beautiful. After so much anticipation, it left me breathless and in tears. Jennifer Shaw Wolf wrote a stunning novel about love, loss, grief, shame, and abuse.

    Allie has lived an Army life. Her father was a sergeant major and frequently moved the family around. The only home she ever really knew was Pacific Cliffs, her grandma's home, her mom's home town, the place where her only friend lives. Upon her fathers retirement they moved back and Allie find herself in a relationship that ends with her broken and bruised, thinking little of herself. Now she must put together the pieces of the night he died, the night he went off the cliff.

    I loved this story. Allie grew from a girl who thought she was the cause of all problems to a girl who was slowly coming to realize that she never did anything wrong. She was broken and needed to trust again. Trip made her who she was. Blake reminded her of who she used to be. She was in control of who she would become.

    What first drew me to Breaking Beautiful was the kind of relationship Allie and Trip had and how she couldn't remember the night he died. Going in I knew this book would be an emotional roller coaster, but it wasn't as bad as I had thought it would be. I found myself happy, sad, giddy, and crying the entire way though. Allie was like most people who have been abused. She was ashamed, felt guilty and thought little of herself. The plot was slow in the beginning, but quickly built to the mystery surrounding what really happened. As Allie slowly regained her memory, I became more entranced in the story line. In the end, I didn't know who would ultimately be responsible until it was finally revealed. Best of all, two unexpected twists!

    Overall, Breaking Beautiful was a wonderful read that kept me on the edge of my seat, dying to know how it would all end. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    A great first novel!

    A great first novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    good

    very good understanding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Great!

    Loved this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    great read

    good book, kind of sad very well written, the end surprised me a little, I would recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a very emotional story that didn't let me go, with

    This is a very emotional story that didn't let me go, with a main character that held my attention and a plot that uncovered piece by piece.
    Allie lost her boyfriend and is in mourning, but that is not all there is to the story. She's forgotten all the events leading up to his death, she doesn't know if she's responsible, her best friend is responsible, or a dark mysterious James is to blame. She isn't sure if she wants the memories to come back or not. Allie definitely got my sympathy, though I really wished she would have had the courage to come forward with the abuse sooner, but I've been in those shoes and I know the mindset, and I can only imagine if the person was dead and it might just seem like you're trying to tarnish his name.
    Blake is such a sweety and I was rooting for him right away. But again, with their blossoming romance that I wish would have started sooner in her life to save her lots of pain, with Trip just dying, I can see how she would be hesitant, and why she pushes him away like she does.
    I also love the character of her brother Andrew. He is so strong in all the right ways, he may have a disability, but he uses his brain and his huge heart for those he cares about. I think that their relationship is so touching and it makes me want to have a sibling. And Caitlyn is such a great addition, I love her quirkiness and how she is so at home with who she is. I love a character who can look past the surface and see the hearts of others, and really hold on to that.
    I really think the title is so appropriate, it is a sad book but in a beautiful kind of way... at least how everything turns into.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    I really liked this book, and one simple reason is because I lov

    I really liked this book, and one simple reason is because I loved the character development. I say that because in this book there was a very definite change in Allie, our heroine, from the start of the book where she can't even get out of bed through to the end of the book. And it's not even just Allie who changes as she progresses through the senior year from hell.

    I said earlier that this book had the best of teen drama and tragedy, and I mean that. We got the best of the drama as Trips ex girlfriend, Hannah, goes all crazy on Allie and the endlessness of the rumor mill turning this accident and the most innocent events into this drawn out insanity. You also get the tragedy because there is so much more to the accident than even the wildest imaginations can draw up (although Wolf's did a great job thinking it up).

    I felt sorry for Allie as everyone vilifies her for surviving and not remembering what happened. I couldn't imagine having to face all of these people who adored this boy when you knew the real truth about him. It was heartbreaking to see this relationship had changed her and how it had impacted her relationship with everyone in her family including her twin brother.

    I loved that Blake never seemed to give up on Allie despite how much she pushed him away. Its friends that like that people in difficult situations like hers need and it was great that she had him. I would tell you about the ending and why I liked it, but that would give too much away.

    All in all, it was a quick read. Even if I wasn't trying to be a super reader, I still think that I would have read it in a day. So if you have a rainy day to kill, this is a great book to snuggle up with a remember how glad you are that you aren't in high school any more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful and heartbreaking

    First and foremost, I was so drawn to the cover of this book! It practically screams mystery and heartbreak and I felt like I needed to know what was up with the image. How did it tie-in to the story? What really happened to Allie and Trip? Thankfully this book pulled me into Allie's story from the first page. I found myself curious to discover what had really happened to Allie, both throughout her relationship with Trip and the night of the accident.

    Allie is such a great character and I found that to be a really strong point for me with this book. She's clearly got a lot of complex feelings about her (former) relationship with her now-deceased boyfriend and you can tell she's torn. They were one of those "golden couples" that everyone thinks is happy and perfect...but no one knew the real Trip--the one that hurt her physically and mentally. Her family is great, especially her twin brother, Andrew. Their relationship is really strong but they both have secrets that it takes a lot to eventually share with each other.

    Beyond Allie, I felt like all of the characters in this book were really well-developed. From her parents to her friend Blake and even the mean students at school, each person has a role to play in the story and a lot to learn along the way. They each have a special place in the broader story and I felt like they were, for the most part, dynamic in the way that they react to various situations throughout the story. If you're a character person, like me, then I definitely think this novel will be high on your list of favorites.

    The story itself is well-crafted. The flashbacks that Allie has give you a perfect taste of what really went on with Allie and Trip's relationship without giving TOO much away too soon about the night that he died and what actually happened. As events are revealed toward the end, I found myself pleasantly surprised by the turns that the story took in resolving the mysteries hidden in Allie's memory.

    Overall, this was a really fantastic read. The pacing is just right and you'll really fly through the pages. The characters will capture your heart and imagination. The story is full of a satisfying blend of mystery, heartbreak, pain, friendship, romance, and hope that will leave readers feeling content at the end. This is a great standalone debut novel that I highly recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    A Must Read!

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down. Jennifer Wolf is a very talented writer. I can't wait to read more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Beautifully compelling. Disclaimers: I received an e-galley of

    Beautifully compelling.

    Disclaimers: I received an e-galley of this book in exchange fore my honest opinion.

    My Overall Thoughts/Impressions: One of my fellow reviewers, Sara, said "I think I have an unhealthy interest in characters that suffer from memory loss." I'm first mate on the same ship. The idea of memory loss mixed in with an abusive relationship and I was hooked. That sounds morbid, but I love books where characters triumph over terrible things like abuse.

    Allie managed to keep her abusive relationship a secret and those are the ones that break my heart. She didn't dare tell anybody the truth and that is terrible. And yet, Allie was a character that I really liked. She was one that I just wanted to hug and say don't you see how wonderful you are.

    Enter Blake. I loved Blake from the moment he entered the novel. He was the best friend anybody could ask for and he stood beside Allie patiently. I loved watching Blake and Allie's relationship progress.

    Another interesting aspect to this novel was watching Allie's memory return. Wolf kept me in suspense the whole time. Every time I thought that I had figured out how Trip died, she threw another curve at me.

    Fans of dramatic realistic young adult novels will love this novel. I know I did. This novel was one that I couldn't read fast enough. Any time I had to stop reading, my mind remained centered on the novel and what would happen next.

    In my book, Wolf's debut novel was a home-run and I definitely will keep tabs on her. Her writing was compelling, the characters intriguing, and the plot was incredible. A great novel. One of my favorites of the year.

    In Summary: An intense, suspenseful realistic young adult novel that I ate up. I simply adored this novel. Definitely recommend this one.

    The Wrap-up: A beautifully written novel that was poignantly written. A novel that I'm glad I got the chance to read. I would consider buying this one. Wolf definitely made an impression and like I mentioned I'll be looking forward to see what she writes next.

    Love,

    Danica Page

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Touching, Heartbreaking Mystery

    Allie’s story is heartbreaking and having to read what she went through with her seemingly perfect boyfriend, Trip, was hard. I hate hearing stories of abuse where no one else seems to notice what’s going on and seeing that the victim is often covering up for her abuser. It is saddening that anyone has to go through that, especially a teen who is still discovering who they are. While this story is told after Trip dies, you are still taken back to see what Allie’s remembering of the night of the accident and with it you see the way her life really was.

    As she discovers more and more of what really happened, even she is shocked at what she finds out. Her best friend and her brother are both wonderfully written characters, each compelling in their own right. The small town they live in, which was probably seen as charming at one point in time, isn’t so charming when people are accusing you of killing your boyfriend who they saw as the golden child. Allie is much stronger than she thinks she is, and eventually with a little help she realizes that and comes into her own. A touching, heartbreaking mystery.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1