Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 15533 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11460)

4 Star

(1832)

3 Star

(929)

2 Star

(511)

1 Star

(801)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

173 out of 200 people found this review helpful.

excellent

loved this book. loved the movie even more. would recommend to everyone

posted by vickytren on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing on so many levels

I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it'...
I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it's more of a superhero series. It's like reading Justice League or X-Men. Vampires running around who can read minds, see the future, inflict pain without ever touching you. The only vamipre elements here seem to have been borrowed from Anne Rice's series. Out of four books it seems like one book (if you add up the pages) is dedicated to telling us how beautiful Edward is and how much Bella misses him when he's not there. It get's so bad that she won't even blink when she's around him. I've found so many things wrong with this story, but I don't want to ruin it for anybody, and the ending is so horrible I was hoping it would have given me something to give this book a 2, but sadly it gave me nothing. Save your time and go read a real vampire book or read Twilight and stop there.

posted by QuagMiker on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 15627 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 782
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent

    loved this book. loved the movie even more. would recommend to everyone

    173 out of 200 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours. Stephenie Meyer is an amazing writer!!

    128 out of 144 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    The Best in The Series!!! AMAZING!!!

    Breaking Dawn is definitely my favorite book in the Twilight Series. It takes on a more mature tone, and leads the story in a completely unexpected and different direction than the first 3 books. I highly recommend reading the series, you won't be disappointed.

    80 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    Breaking Dawn

    Breaking Dawn is my favorite book except for Twilight. A lot happens to Bella and Edward. Bella truly figures out who she is and ends up the ¿hero¿ of the story. This is a complicated time for Jacob he deals with Bella, who he loved, marrying someone else. I had many mixed emotions about this book. I really liked it but a few times I thought to my self, well that was stupid. The usually led to something Bella did. Or a lot of the times Leah and her brother didn¿t make very good decisions while with Jacob instead of being with Sam. Jacob had many troubles with fighting with Sam and imprinting on this new girl. It¿s a very good book and never gets old. There are plenty of new surprises with just the flip of a page. You can never predict what is happening which is why I kept reading it.

    61 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing on so many levels

    I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it's more of a superhero series. It's like reading Justice League or X-Men. Vampires running around who can read minds, see the future, inflict pain without ever touching you. The only vamipre elements here seem to have been borrowed from Anne Rice's series. Out of four books it seems like one book (if you add up the pages) is dedicated to telling us how beautiful Edward is and how much Bella misses him when he's not there. It get's so bad that she won't even blink when she's around him. I've found so many things wrong with this story, but I don't want to ruin it for anybody, and the ending is so horrible I was hoping it would have given me something to give this book a 2, but sadly it gave me nothing. Save your time and go read a real vampire book or read Twilight and stop there.

    42 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Boring

    I was so disappointed in this book. It took me 3 days to finish Twilight. It took me 1 month to finish Breaking Dawn. The story just dragged on and on about the baby. I felt like Stephanie just ran out of ideas and maybe she was rushed into writing this poor story line.

    37 out of 103 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    You will like it, unless you want Jacob to be with Bella

    Breaking Dawn was essentially a great book to read. Just as I was with the other books, I couldn't possibly put it down until I was finished. However, everything about the book is so please the fans. Bella Swan (the main character) finally marries Edward Cullen, her vampire boyfriend, as the fans would have wanted. They have a romantic honeymoon and realize that Bella becomes pregnant. Throughout most of the book you read through the complications of a human hosting a half-vampire half-human baby. Of course, this problem doesn¿t fly with her best friend, werewolf, and former love interest from the previous books, Jacob Black. When Jacob sees Bella¿s condition he insists on staying with her wherever she goes. The problem with this is the relationship between Jacob and Edward and the ongoing tension between werewolves and vampires. The book also has a portion through Jacob¿s point of view which gives a very interesting aspect of the situation. Breaking Dawn mainly oversees the controversies that have happened in the last few books and intertwines them all into one plot. If you are a fan of the Twilight series, you will certainly enjoy this book. The entire book satisfies just about every fan fantasy. Unless you are a Jacob Black fan, then that¿s just too bad. But worry, it all works out in the end. If you haven¿t read any of the other books, I would not suggest starting with this one. One reason being that you shouldn¿t start with the last book in a series anyway, and another reason is although you will understand what is going on in the book, you may not understand the significance of everything that¿s going on. Most of that is explained in the previous books.

    36 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Breaking Dawn a lengthy finale.

    While I enjoyed this book, it became more and more far fetched as I progressed through it. It went off in many different directions, some of which did not seem necessary. The ending is also very predictable. You will see it coming a mile away.

    31 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Is it possible to vomit rainbows and butterflies?

    In Stephanie Meyer's finale book in an epic series, I can say that it is indeed possible to achieve the aforementioned. <BR/>Twilight in its essence was a fantastic novel--just what the doctor ordered for a sixteen-year-old with considerably a lot of heartache. <BR/>Though as the novels progressed, I became increasingly disappointed with the character development. Even so, the plot line was kept just above becoming stagnant, which kept me, for one, turning the pages. <BR/>However, in Breaking Dawn, it was an effort and struggle to hover over each page. I found myself skimming through sappy dialogue and over dramatized scenes of the worst cliches. Like many have said, this novel seems to be Meyer's fanfiction of her own fiction! I've never seen an author become so smitten with her own love story!<BR/>Jacob's role in Breaking Dawn was my chance at a breather. I found I made it through his segment far too quickly. And though the Volturi segment was highly suspenseful and interesting, its anticlimactic ending left a bad taste in my mouth.<BR/>Stephanie Meyer has sufficiently dragged Bella through the mud and beaten her past senseless through the duration of four novels. Not only have we been subjected to annoyingly selfish needs and enough depression to induce nausea, Meyer still succeeds at trampling both us and her narrative voice Bella into a sludge pile of disgustingly sweet teenage romance and drama.<BR/>The fourth book was the catalyst that ruined an otherwise "okay" series. Stephanie, don't rush yourself next time. And please be sure not to read your fan mail before you sit down to write.

    27 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Well, it's sad.

    Just a couple of years ago, before Twilight became a phenomenon, I read the first book just to get some free ice cream at my middle school. I remember finishing the book and not thinking much about it; sure, it was very emotional, but not wonderful. Then, some of my friends became obsessed and I decided to continue reading the series as the books came out, curious to see why it was so great.

    Well, it didn't improve. A few points that had disturbed me in Twilight were even more apparent in New Moon and Eclipse: Bella didn't grow as a character (and I had hoped to see her learn that love isn't all-consuming, but she didn't learn), Edward wasn't fleshed out (honestly, I don't want to read about being in love with Michelangelo's David; I like to read about romances involving two people with personalities, not two cardboard cutouts in love with each other based on looks), and the plot was terrible. The supporting characters got little attention (Jasper, Alice, Rosalie, Emmett, Jacob, etc) and they had the most potential. Jacob, perhaps the most fleshed out secondary character, seemed to be hated by Meyer.

    Which leads me to Breaking Dawn, which brought the Twilight series crashing down from rather cliched pulp novels with potential to a irredeemable mess. The characters, already cookie-cutter, were slammed and most of the time, shelved for the main characters to angst and moan (Alice, Rosalie, Emmett, Jasper, Carlisle, etc etc. were not mentioned as often as before; Alice was gone because of a headache??? What? Also, Jacob was handed off to a baby so that the love triangle wouldn't be an issue anymore. Talk about throwing out a character.) This should have made room for Edward and Bella to grow, but Edward was actually diminished and any growth Bella had was actually counterproductive: she became all too perfect and boring to read about. There was no epic fight at the end because the author couldn't bear killing her own characters (it's called a STORY; they're not REAL. If it helps the story, you SHOULD kill them).

    Meyer also pushes her beliefs about premarital sex, abortion, education, and sexism onto the reader: don't have sex before you're married, do not, even if the mother is in danger, abort the baby, a woman's education isn't all that important, and the man usually dominates the relationship (this was pushed more in the first three books than the last). While I'm fine with her having set beliefs on abortion, she shouldn't promote in a book that she knows will be read by millions of pre-teens and teenagers. I appreciate her stance on sex, but she claims to NOT be promoting any message, and I'm angered by her characters' casual derision of education (yes, she has the rest of eternity to get an education, but to just throw it out the window temporarily for a dream honeymoon and marriage is ridiculous; it sends a dangerous message to kids.)

    Twilight was decent, although highly emotionally charged (as the entire series was), and there were some characters who had some real potential, but they were given up for the sake of expanding the lust between Edward and Bella (after four books, I'm still not sure what they see in each other, other than tasty blood and a beautiful body). I would share this with friends, if only for the laughs. It was unforgettable in a bad way; my generation is enthralled by THIS series? No wonder parents despair.

    25 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Epitome

    I am a huge fan of the Twilight series. I absolutely adore it!! Everytime I reread the books, I find something new that I missed before, which I consider to be a tell-tale sign of good writing. Everytime I reread Breaking Dawn (which is about 5 times so far), I find more and more things- subtle, but still there- that I missed before. Though some of my friends complain about Jacob's part being too boring, I thought it was interesting to get someone else's point of view, instead of just Bella's. Even though I'm sad to see it go, I think this is a fitting end to the series.

    23 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    A Complete Let Down

    I found Breaking Dawn to be a terrible let down after very much enjoying the first three books. Things moved too quickly- graduation, marriage, baby, becoming a vampire- but nothing much actually happened. The final confrontation fizzled, and the coolest part of the story, meeting the other vampires, was condensed to give us hundreds of pages about the most disgusting pregnancy and birth I have ever had the displeasure of reading. With the character of Renesmee, Meyer really went somewhere I wished she hadn't, and I think that the same conclusions could have been reached by different means- for example, the Volturi could have come after the Cullens for not turning Bella quickly enough. And so on. The most egregious plot point, though, was what happened to Jacob. What a disappointment for Jacob fans, and I feel sorry for anyone who bought into the Team Edward/Team Jacob hype. Overall, I was very disappointed with Breaking Dawn, which is a shame, because I very much enjoyed Twilight, New Moon, and Eclipse.

    18 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    Not what I hoped for

    Even though I've had my gripes with the series, I still enjoyed it. Not so with Breaking Dawn, I couldn't connect with Bella as a "perfect" vampire. When she was human, she was like any girl. Renesmee was an easy cop out to give everyone a nice happy ending, and we were lead up to a dramatic battle that never happened. Unless you are a hardcore fan, leave it on the shelf.

    17 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book, prefer Fallen Angel way more over this. But this is a

    Good book, prefer Fallen Angel way more over this. But this is a good read too.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bleh

    I've had enough of Twilight, after Eclipse. The whole series drags, Bella can't stop talking about how beautiful and sparkly Edward is. We get the point. And the fact she has no backbone either... The whole series does not have much plot or even a theme. I'm glad it's over. <BR/>I hate that people try to call Meyer the next J.K. Rowling, (which is IMPOSSIBLE) and get very obsessed over this series. It's only a series that'll be over the next two years, for it doesn't 'stand out'. It isn't a great book, not at all like Dickens or Shakespeare. Even J.K. Rowling beats Meyer into a crumb. If I could go back in time, I wouldn't of read the books and wasted my time.

    15 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Flawed, but still good

    Breaking Dawn, the fourth and final installment of Stephenie Meyer¿s Twilight saga, follows the story of 18 year old Bella Swan through her uncovnentional journey into newlywed life and motherhood with her gorgeous husband, Edward Cullen, who just happens to be a vampire. In this volume we rediscover Edward and Bella¿s epic romance which was first told from Bella¿s perspective in Twilight; then in New Moon, and again in Eclipse. Breaking Dawn however, which is divided into three books over its 754 pages, is told from two different points of view. The first and third books are told in the familiar voice of Bella, but in the second book we see the small town of Forks Washington through the eyes of a bratty teenage werewolf named Jacob Black. Jacob is Bella¿s best friend who just happens to be harboring an all-consuming love for her. <BR/><BR/>The story begins shortly before Edward and Bella¿s wedding day. Edward and Bella have an old-fashioned wedding before their friends and family, vampire and human alike. The happy couple then jets off to a private island for a picturesque honeymoon, where Edward makes good on his promise to make love to her before changing her into a vampire. Everything seems to be perfect, until Bella learns she¿s pregnant, something believed impossible and dangerous for a vampire and human. <BR/><BR/>The story is then told from Jacob Black¿s perspective. Through his telling we hear the minds of the rest of his werewolf pack as well as his own. Through Jacob¿s eyes we also watch Bella essentially give up her life to have a baby who is already stronger than she, while still in the womb. Jacob is disgusted by this and because of that the reader is too. Despite his objections, Jacob is still drawn to Bella and stays with her through most of the process, even though she is surrounded by his mortal enemies -- vampires. <BR/><BR/>Bella has her baby in nothing less than gruesome fashion, with dramatic scenes of her baby ripping open her stomach. In the process of birth, Edward is forced to change Bella into a vampire in order to save her life. The third book, told by Bella, starts with her painful transformation from human to vampire and follows the relationship between her and her half-vampire, half- human daughter, Renesmee. The book ends with vampires and werewolves joining forces to fight for Renesmee¿s life against the Volturi, a brutal group of Vampires who uphold the laws of their kind. <BR/><BR/>This installment is quite a departure from the rest of the Twilight saga. The previous three novels focused on the head over heels romance between the plain human and the dazzling vampire. Breaking Dawn is harder to identify with, much darker and at some points just plain bizarre. In the first three novels Bella was a normal clumsy girl but in Breaking Dawn, when she becomes a perfect vampire, it is harder for the reader to connect with her character. <BR/><BR/>While this may not be Stephenie Meyer at her best, Breaking Dawn is still well worth reading. Her polished use of language in depicting many situations from the steamy romantic to the horrifyingly gruesome will still have teenage readers ripping through the pages. <BR/><BR/>Quill says: Although it is flawed, Breaking Dawn will leave you satisfied and smiling at its finish.

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    700+ Pages AND NOTHING HAPPENED

    I am so disappointed, not just because everything i wanted to happen didn't, but primarily because Stephenie Meyer chose a plot in which nothing happens. Right after Jacob's book (which is probably the best part of Breaking Dawn) it all goes down hill. After that, there is 300 pgs of Bella gazing at Nessie. When it finally comes to there being ANY action--the highly anticipated Volturi vs. Cullens War--Stephenie sells out. Unfortunately she lost the essence of the story with this one. Basically the main characters are pushed in the background. I even felt I lost contact with Edward! Major upset.

    15 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    disappointed

    Okay so first of all, I LOVED the first three books in this series. In fact, New Moon was by far my favorite. But Breaking Dawn is a complete and utter let down! The whole point of this saga was to illustrate the love between a human and a vampire and their struggle to be together. Breaking Dawn completely misses the point and shoots off into a weird and idiotic direction. "Disappointment" pretty much sums it up.

    14 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Utterly Disappointing

    It was a complete waste of time reading this book. I expected it to be something great since it was the end of saga and it looked that way for a while 'I was really hopeful' but in the end, it turned out beyond disappointing. I was extremely irritated. It was absolutely not worth the time.

    14 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    Ridiculous

    I am a 7th grade teacher who has students completely hooked on this series and have to tell them they cannot read Breaking Dawn. The book is SEX, SEX, and MORE SEX! The sex is violent and extreme!!! How could Meyer do this? She has completely ruined the series.<BR/><BR/>Parents, <BR/>Be careful!<BR/><BR/>Teachers,<BR/>BE VERY CAREFUL!!!

    13 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 15627 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 782