Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 15520 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11450)

4 Star

(1831)

3 Star

(929)

2 Star

(509)

1 Star

(801)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

172 out of 199 people found this review helpful.

excellent

loved this book. loved the movie even more. would recommend to everyone

posted by vickytren on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing on so many levels

I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it'...
I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it's more of a superhero series. It's like reading Justice League or X-Men. Vampires running around who can read minds, see the future, inflict pain without ever touching you. The only vamipre elements here seem to have been borrowed from Anne Rice's series. Out of four books it seems like one book (if you add up the pages) is dedicated to telling us how beautiful Edward is and how much Bella misses him when he's not there. It get's so bad that she won't even blink when she's around him. I've found so many things wrong with this story, but I don't want to ruin it for anybody, and the ending is so horrible I was hoping it would have given me something to give this book a 2, but sadly it gave me nothing. Save your time and go read a real vampire book or read Twilight and stop there.

posted by QuagMiker on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 15614 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 781
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    This book is definately not in my favorites

    The reason I dislike this books so much is that I've read so many like it before. Yes, I went through this phase of dreaming about becoming the girl EVERYONE falls for and vampires were awesome. Now, after reading many, many, many, MANY stories online (Harry Potter fanfiction and fictionpress) I realize how boring they are. I'm the type of person that can figure out a movie quicker than most. And when you read the same idea over and over again, it gets really boring, especially for me. I'm not saying this is badly written. In fact, the authoress was amazing at description. It's just...I think the only reason this is popular is because others haven't gotten out of this phase of Mary-Sues (look up on Wiki if you don't know what that is) and 15 guys falling for one girl. And now I find that vampires are not as great as I thought they were. Have you heard about Dracula? He is the first and biggest vampire out there, and he was not like Edward at all. I'm inclined to believe that no vampire is like Edward. Drinking human blood does not equal perfect boyfriend material.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    Disappointing

    I am a fan of the previous book and, like others who've written their reviews, I must say this was the weakest book of the four. With the other three, I found it hard to stop reading. However, with the fourth novel, it wasn't difficult for me to put the novel down to do something else. I was very disappointed.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    SM, just a question... WHAT WERE YOU THINKING???!!! Dangit, no zero stars option...

    I am horrified. Truly horrified. How could anyone with an IQ over 0 create such a piece of true ew?
    I really loved the first three books, and was eager to find out what would happen, Jacob-wise especially. But I was disappointed like I have never been before.
    Spoilers but important points ahead:
    1) The Bell-Edwrakle honeymoon. SEX IS BAD. Ok, SM, we get it. So now she's covered in bruises. Well, at least SOMETHING bad happens to the amazingly shallow, stupidly perfect main character. I can't say heroine cause she does nothing heroic - she leaves that to Jacob and Edward.
    2) The whole Jacob-Bella union even though Bella's married to Edward. Ew. And it was Edwards idea. Double Ew.
    3) The creepy, messed up mutant kid. But nooo, Bella loves her little monster of a child. SM, leave this to sci-fi. Don't put children of the corn in Twilight.
    4) The creepy kid chewing her way out of her mommy's tummy? Oh, how cute! Not.
    5) RENEESME. Seriously? *insert string of creative curses here*
    6) I was expecting Jacob to go on a life-changing journey over the globe until he finds himself and realizes that he doesn't need Bella to be happy. But that would be too interesting for Breaking Dawn, so instead he imprints on mutant kiddo. One word - PEDOPHILE. And then Edward calls him son. NO! Jacob is my favorite character, actually, and I would prefer it if he at least died a valiant death in battle against the Volturi, maybe even protecting Edward for an extra plot twist. But no, instead he imprints on the creepy mutant kiddo who happens to be 2 months old. And how old is he? 17. People may say 'But Edward's 107!' The difference is Edward doesn't look(or act) it. Jacob! I mourn for you. *insert tragic sobs and more cursing here*
    7) 'I'm gonna leave you very vague clues to do something you don't know about! oh wait, false alarm, I guess you don't have to do anything at all!' -Alice
    8) Edward has a family? Oh, since when? They left for a vaction to a more interesting book after page 150!
    9) Leah+Jacob= interesting story. Which this is not.
    10) The epic non-battle. Volturi are coming! Finally, it gets a little better! Yay, people will actually die!!! Slogging through pages and pages of trash paid off! Oh, wait, Bella has a magical mind shield, so no one dies and now everyone lives happily ever after with rainbows and smiling unicorns! Someone shoot me - and if possible, the mutant kid-spawn.
    These are very few of the may reasons you should not waste your money or time on this... abomination. SM shreds, the burns, the pukes on, and finally dances on the graves of the characters I've come to love(Jacob, I shall avenge you by burning the book). Hey SM's editor, what were you smoking when you edited this? Dang, it must be good.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An enchanting break

    Fans of the Twilight Series will find the last book very exciting. We have followed the story of Bella and her beautiful vampire, Edward. On this book, unfortunately, the story ends, and the author leaves us with expectation on what will the future be of both of them and the whole Cullen family.
    I'm a book addict, and I'm sure most of you, beloved readers that love fiction and a good exciting reading time, will appreciate this finale. Notice this book is the thickest of the four (Twilight Series), so be prepared for adventure, more romance, lots of vampires, an unexpected surprise and a great time of reading.
    Let your heart jump again with "Breaking Dawn", transport to Forks and let your imagination go wild on this lovely book. I promise you will reread it again and again!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    It's just too bad

    This series is the story, in four too long volumes, of an hysterical, selfcentered, self indulgent angst ridden adolescent girl, who has the bad judgement to fall in love with a beautiful face and figure that has been dead for almost 100 years. There is one character that stands out as having a modicum of thought behind it; Jacob, a shape-changer.

    Even as a story aimed at adolescents and fantasy lovers there are many authors who much surpass this author in skill and imagination

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    Somewhat disappointed

    I must admit that I enjoyed the first 3 books in the saga. But Breaking Dawn, in some aspects, was a huge disappointment to me. It seems as though Bella has this martrydom quality about her that makes everyone around her look like drooling idiots. Jacob has this unyielding, undying love for her and she has rejected him too many times for him to still have this cock-eyed devotion for her. Good for Leah for setting her straight! It was about time.(I only wish what Leah sadi was written!!)

    After the character was "turned" she made her human life seem so unfortunate and mundane. She has THE most understanding parents on the planet. Not only was the character perceived to be a fantastic human, she was an extraordinary vampire. PERFECT!!!

    But my biggest regrets about the book was the way Jacob was treated. For someone who loved him so much and absolutely could not be without him, she had no problem calling him dog, mutt and mongrel. For someone who was so in love with this guy, she sure forgot about him quickly after turning.

    My goodness, instead of giving Jacob a chance at happiness, for instance, allowing the character to full in love with Leah, he imprinted on Bella's BABY!! Is there no hope for this guy! After all that he's been put through, can he get some real happiness!?

    I was disappointed in this book. I'll admit, it keeps you interested but it is upsetting in some ways( poor Jacob). In the end, Edward had more compassion for Jacob, Bella ends up treating him as nothing more than her pet. Her lap dog.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome ending to an addicting series!

    The best series I have ever read. I loved every minute of it. The final installment was worth the wait and wrapped up all plots and story lines. A great read!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing-Read the entire series in 3 days- Just can't put these books down.

    This was an amazing 4th book in the saga... however...I feel so connected to the characters I don't want this to be the end. I hope that Midnight Sun makes it to the shelves... I would love to read the entire series from Edward's perspective.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I read it..... and I don't regret it.

    I enjoyed all three books in the Twilight Saga, and I have to admit I was a bit skeptical about Breaking Dawn at first. But then I got a little feedback on why I should finish the saga from "thetwilightsaga.com" and I was encouraged by all to read it. So I did, and I finished it in three days. And I must say it is 100% worth reading it. It will give you a sense of closure, but will also leave you with a hunger for more. But before you read all the other reviews about this book, take into consideration that everyone has their opinion. Their likes and dislikes. But I am telling you now, read it. You will not regret it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    How could you NOT love it?

    Most people interested in the Twilight Saga were mainly interested in the "teenage relationship" parts, and I think one of the main reasons why people disliked this book so much was because it was more focused on the relationship of a married couple. And considering that most people don't get married in their teens, this book wasn't exactly realistic. Also because it's about mythical creatures. But this series was all about the love that a vampire and a human girl share. And if you're disappointed because the book was boring or because you think it's all about a vampire couple that loves to have sex then you are missing the entire point of any of the Twilight books.<BR/>This book is written in a more mature point of view than just a teenage girl. I believe that it is the best book in the series and it is the most perfect ending to the most perfect series. Meyer did an incredible job, no doubt, and I am looking forward to any of the books that she has plans for.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    'Breaking Dawn'

    The perfect ending to the perfect saga, written by one of the most perfect authors. Once again, i did not want to put the book down, it was intriguing to read part of the story through Jacob's eyes, to read the story though Bella's eyes, before & after..... there is just to much to discuss.....

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Breaking Dawn is the Ultimate

    I started this book and couldn't put it down, from beginning to end, I was overjoyed, amazed, thrilled, and taken away in a dream land of Vampires and Werewolves, that I never thought could happen. I'm a mother of two, and in my 30's I never thought a book written for teenagers could turn out to be something I would miss dearly after reading the last page. I have tried to pick up other books and have not found anything to capture my attention like this book did. It is truly amazing a page turner for sure...I recommend it HIGHLY...I can only pray the Stephenie will complete Midnight Sun, and I will be one of those it inline at the bookstore at Midnight waiting for the release, the series is just that good, L

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Twilight Series

    Wow. That is all I have to say. This book shocked me in un-imaginable ways. DO NOT READ ANY SPOILERS ABOUT THIS BOOK YOU WILL BE UPSET FOR RUINING IT FOR YOURSELF!!! (I reccomend this book for ages 12-30)

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiration for Dreamers Like Me

    Breaking Dawn is simply astounding to the mind. This novel tests the readers emotional abilities because I have found myself connected to the characters in a way. Stephanie Meyer brilliantly laid the foundation to a new kind of love. A love that is not afraid of forever. A love that takes place in a world where perfection is non existent. When the characters are in pain, you feel that pain. When they are lost, you somehow feel the confusion they experienced. The obscure, vivid portrayal of Forks, which is described in Twilight, becomes extremely significant in Breaking Dawn. The detailed descriptions of the setting foreshadows the darkness that is becoming of the characters. This chapter of Bella Swan and Edward Cullen's life symbolizes forgiveness. I enjoyed reading this novel because I felt as if true love was invincible. There were struggles, hardships,and strong emotional ties towards other loved ones. Jacob Black played a role in Breaking Dawn which was like icing on the cake because he is an interesting character that produces many contradictions. When reading I find myself asking what if?, and what would I do if I were in Bella's shoes. Some parts to the story did not feel as realistic to the other three books, but it is still a great read. After Eclipse I did not know what to expect, and there were definitely twists I was not expecting. I have always been torn between Jacob and Edward because from the beginning Bella's life could go either way. I am mesmerized by the different personalities of the characters and I would recommend this series to anyone. Young adults will feel inspired, and women falling under all categories will either reminisce or dream. Breaking Dawn was a good finale to the series and it was enough to leave the readers wondering about the futures of the characters.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Breaking Dawn Broken Down

    I'm going to say right off the bat that this review contains spoilers.<BR/><BR/>Spoilers ahoy.<BR/><BR/>I'm not even sure where to start. Should I start with the contrived pregnancy? Should I start with the ridiculous name "Renesmee"? Should I start with Jacob imprinting on the vampire hybrid infant/toddler/whatever of the woman he loves? Or should I go right to the only really good part of the book, which was meeting all the different vampire clans, covens, and nomads, in preparation for a confrontation with the Volturi, only to have it build up to exactly nothing?<BR/><BR/>Stephenie Meyer has betrayed her readers on a scale that I have only ever seen from Laurell K. Hamilton. A series about choice and sacrifice has as its final volume an elaborate piece fanfiction that includes every cliche you can think of, in order to tie up everyone's stories with a neat little bow. Now, I am a married woman with a child, but I certainly don't think that's something to hold up to teen girls as something they should have done by age 18. I was never thrilled with the marriage plot, although considering Meyer's background I could have lived with it, but I found the pregnancy plot ridiculous, and worse, a cop-out. Meyer could have created the same conflict with the Volturi by having Bella decided she wanted a few more years of humanity- as she almost does decide, before the pregnancy angle comes into play. She could have resolved Jacob's story by having him fall for Leah- which would have tied up that poor girl's loose ends, too. She even still could have included Bella's change as a method to placate the Volturi, only to be too little, too late. Unfortunately, instead the author seemed to decided to take the most outlandish ideas she could come up with and run with them.<BR/><BR/>The good: reading the middle section from Jacob's POV. It was refreshing to have a realistic teenage voice and realistic teenage reactions to things. I also appreciated the plot involving the wolf pack, especially Leah and Seth. Unfortunately, this was mitigated by having Jacob's section focus almost entirely on Bella and the pregnancy, and ended with the most horrific delivery scene I've ever read and Jacob's imprinting on baby Nessie (no joke about the nickname, sadly). Another good aspect of the book I already mentioned, which was seeing all the various vampires from around the world, and reading about their interactions. Unfortunately, they came in to prepare for the most anticlimactic scene yet in this series.<BR/><BR/>Overall, I would categorize myself as horribly disappointed. I'm still shocked that what I just read was the real book and the true conclusion to Edward, Bella, and Jacob's stories. What a waste of 756 pages.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    LOVED IT!!!

    I would have been disappointed with anything less. The series was awesome, and I loved how Stephenie wrapped it up with Breaking Dawn. Fantastic!

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    Ugh.

    The first three books were amazing. This one was completely and utterly terrible. I didn't think Stephanie Meyer could write anything bad. The characters seemed so real in the other books, they seem fake now. The story was awful, splitting the book into parts was dumb. Why would Jacob get a section and not Edward? And why did it have to be so gory? Certain parts made me sick. This book had no emotion or life. I could hardly get through it, it was so awful. I wish I had never read this book. It would have been better not having an ending.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I honestly did not like this book, I've loved the previous books, they are some of my all time favorite books, but this I didn't really enjoy. I bought this book at the midnight release party, excited and ready to finally see what was going to happen next from the previous book, but in the end I endedup disliking it. Even though I enjoyed alot of the parts (mostly Jacob's view lol), some parts just seemed irrelavent. Especially the scene in the field, towards the end,I felt like just skipping all the way till the last chapter; because it was pretty obvious on what was going to happen and it just felt like stephenie meyer was writing just for the sake of writing other than actually wanting to write a fullfilling ending. I wouldn't recommend this specific book from the series to anyone and I wouldn't really take the time to reread it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    Horrible in Everyway

    I somewhat tolerated this okay written series until this book came out. I'm glad I borrowed it and didn't waste the money buying it because it isn't worth buying. Breaking Dawn totally takes a left turn into Weirdville, U.S.A about midway through the story and just slides downhill from there. In my opinion, Bella gets even more annoying and vapid as the book progresses. There are plenty of WTF moments, like the ending, and weird quotes, the infamous '!!!!' quote comes to mind, that made me want to throw the book at the wall. This book left a bad taste in my mouth in regards to Stephenie Meyer's writing and sealed the deal on me never reading another one of her novels. <BR/><BR/>I don't recommend this to anyone as anything more than a way to prove that millions can be totally wrong about what is good literature or to use as a fire starter or a really expensive paperweight. I recommend anything but this poor excuse of a novel. Unless you are one of the crazed Twilight fans, then you won't enjoy this book. At all.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Even for a cheesy romance about vampires this is bad.

    I was never a big fan of the series. But after reading this book (or not really, I never got ot the end) I saw how good the first three were. The characters were lost. The plot was lost. Any redeeming qualities in her writing were lost. In Japan the number four is an unlucky number. Now I know why.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 15614 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 781