Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 15528 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11458)

4 Star

(1831)

3 Star

(929)

2 Star

(509)

1 Star

(801)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

172 out of 199 people found this review helpful.

excellent

loved this book. loved the movie even more. would recommend to everyone

posted by vickytren on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing on so many levels

I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it'...
I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it's more of a superhero series. It's like reading Justice League or X-Men. Vampires running around who can read minds, see the future, inflict pain without ever touching you. The only vamipre elements here seem to have been borrowed from Anne Rice's series. Out of four books it seems like one book (if you add up the pages) is dedicated to telling us how beautiful Edward is and how much Bella misses him when he's not there. It get's so bad that she won't even blink when she's around him. I've found so many things wrong with this story, but I don't want to ruin it for anybody, and the ending is so horrible I was hoping it would have given me something to give this book a 2, but sadly it gave me nothing. Save your time and go read a real vampire book or read Twilight and stop there.

posted by QuagMiker on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 15622 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 782
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Breaking Dawn

    This was a fantastic, well written book. I loved it. <BR/>I suppose one must understand from the very beginning of the Twilight Saga that these vampire stories do not adhere to the conventional vampire lore. Infact, I had a hard time even starting this series because I was sold completely on the Anne Rice Vampire Chronicles and their very definitive world; in other words, nothing could compare to them-ever. However, when I finally caved in and started reading the Twilight series, I found Meyer's world to be very refreshing indeed.<BR/>Of course, in Breaking Dawn the most distinctive variance in vampires occur. Let's just say, I never saw that coming! However, I feel Meyer made her case very clear, defined the "how did that happen," and I bought it completely. The entire saga is very compelling, and like I said from the beginning, a complete and finally refreshing take on vampires.<BR/>Upon hearing that Meyer's readers did not take to the change as easily as I did astonishes me. Again, from the beginning, most saw and accepted that Meyer's world was extremely different, so why should the ending be any different?<BR/>Needless to say, I LOVED IT, and am hoping for more from Meyer. I truly hope that if you enjoyed the first three novels, you are not swayed from other people's opinions, and that you simply read for yourself. Enjoy! While waiting for more SM, read K S Michaels; fantastic as well!!!

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a disappointment...

    I was a fan of the Twilight series until this horrid book came out. Here are my main issues with this book:
    1. Bella and Edward's relationship was gone in this book. GONE. It was nothing like it was in the previous books. All they cared about was the physical stuff! That's not how they acted in the first three books! They cared about EACH OTHER, not about PHYSICAL things.

    2. There were so many nasty things in this book, for example *SPOILER ALERT*
    Jacob imprinting on Renesmee. I mean, what is that? Yeah it's not an actual relationship now, but he knows it will be later! And he even gave her a Quiluete version of a promise ring! How much more of a pedophile could you be!

    3. There were some things in this books that were completely impossible. Besides the obvious, there is also the fact of the imprinting. The person that werewolves (excuse me, "shape shifters") imprint on is suppose to be the person who will most likely carry out the werewolf gene... how in the heck is a *SPOILER AGAIN*
    half-vampire-half-human baby gonna do that?

    All in all, this book was SOOO disappointing and did not live up to ANY of my expectations. I know that you can't get everything you want, but nothing that I expected would happened actually happened. I remember when I was crying because I couldn't get Breaking Dawn the moment it came out. I had to get it the next day. I know feel like crying again because of how excited I was to get this book when it ended up on the top of a shelf collecting dust.

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    To much for one book

    I agree with other readers she put to much into her last book to tie up lose ends. I think she could have done another book to sepearate some of the story. She pushed main characters away and spent way to much time on some areas. It seemed like some parts were just a lot of talk. Really, what about Nessie and Jacob in the future? What about the Volturi? If she wanted a happy ending she should have gotten rid of the them. There are a ton of new stories that could be developed from this series but just to leave it as a happy ever ending story? You know that can't happen with the Volturi still at large and with half of the them mad that they were one upped? It just doesn't seem it ended when she made it end. Not impressed with the last book but her others are good.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Total crap.

    As I read all the Twilight books, I found them all to be at about the level of a amateur Fan fiction writer on the internet. The first book was standable, and each book got worse until this one....

    Had a VERY hard time getting through it. It was standable by ripping out my hair until Bella got Pregnant, then it was a distinct line that it felt like some even worse Fanfic writer took over Stephanie's book, filling it with painful dribble that is usually only found in bad fan fictions. and the "Book 2 Jacob" part was dull, long and pointless. I mean, the rest of the books are Bella, then all of a sudden there's a random Jacob. it made me hate Jacob more, and it made his character seem even more unrealistic.

    And i didn't think it was possible to make Bella anymore of a Mary-sue... but it happened!

    The whole Pregnancy time-period was the most unrealistic thing in the entire series.

    to be frank, this last installment in the horribly bland and poorly written series made me feel like committing ritual suicide, meaning cutting a L into my abdomen with a iron katana and letting myself bleed to death as my intestines rupture and my stomach acid eats through into my lungs. By all that's holy, I hope the books can be destroyed. (Ok, so i'm over-exagerating on this but that was my first thoughts upon finishing the book, it was just that bad.)

    And I still think that these so-called "vampires" are no more than Fairies with a bloodlust.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Too many questions left unanswered!

    ok This is was awful! 700+ pages for NOTHING TO HAPPEN!!! it was way 2 much for one book! Stephanie Meyer tired to put too much information into one book that she forgot about what she was accually writing, with that said, she left many many questions unaswered:<BR/>1.Can Leah imprint? If she can, who will it be?<BR/>2.What happens to the Voultri? When will they come back to check on Nessie?<BR/>3.What happens to Nessie? Does she grow up too fast and die or does she turn into a vampire?<BR/>4.What happens between Jacob and Nessie? Does she fall in love with him? Will he still be in love with her when/if she becomes a vampire?<BR/>5.What happens to Charlie? Wont he suspicious when Bella hasnt changed one bit?<BR/>6.How about Renee too? Edward said she thought differently than other people, will she guess that Bella is a vampire?<BR/>7.The Cullens cant stay in Forks forever! When will they leave? Where will they go?<BR/>8.If the Cullens leave Forks, what will happen to the pack? Does Jacob leave his pack to go with Nessie or will he stay and suffer?<BR/>9.Who are the new member of the pack?<BR/>10.Whats up with Bella's shield? What else will she be able to do with it?<BR/>11.What about the other half human half vampire dude? Does he go off again or does he come back to see Nessie when shes older?<BR/>12.How about Garret and Kate? Garret said he would go wherever she went? Was that true? Is he part of their coven now?<BR/>13.Since the Voultri is still at large, what else is Aro going to do to Edward, Bella, and Alice to make them come join him?<BR/><BR/>You get the picture...there are way too many questions left unanswered!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    this book was horrible

    I thought the first three were bad but this brings the series to a new level of bad. The writting was horrible, spliting the story into sections was just stupid, and the ending was so annoying.

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    Breaking Dawn

    It was a disappointment; the direction the author took in this book was not at all expected. More answers were wanted about the past books. It seemed as if she were writing from a completely different stand point. I found it to be more confusing than satisfying. As if someone had convinced her to change course. After the anticipation of the release, I wish I had not read it. I found it to be very lacking.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    scumy

    I read the series and was waiting for it, the first half was okay and then it just got dumb. She wanted it to be long and it ended up to be a holpess junk. So don't read this, it's not worth your time.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    NO.

    One word. Predictable. No fighting, no biting. Nothing.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Not the best....Not the same....

    Don't get me wrong I really like the whole series.But Breaking Dawn was a little dissapointing most of the chracters lost what makes them great.It just seemed to drag on.I hated that Bella and Jacob had no feelings for each other thats what made the books exciting jacob and edward fighting for her. I didnt like the happily ever after i mean its great and all but couldnt the ending be just more exciting? Edward wasnt at all mysterious he was kinda mushy...blah! I gotta say the first 3 books were much better.

    -Team Jacob!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    Really Disappointing

    I found the end of this book really disappointing. I understand the need for Bella and Edward to live happily ever after, but no fight scene at the end after all this build up??? Ridiculous. It's too bad because I really enjoyed the beginning of this book and the other 3. The end just really ruined the concept of the entire series. I wonder why I even bothered reading any of them if this was how it would end????

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    This book sucked. And I'm gona tell you the reasons why. The writing was never the best but Breaking Bawn was absolutely horrible, the Hanna Montana of literature you could say. The story seemed to be taken from fan fiction. I actually read a fan fiction story identical to the book and reviewed saying it was ridiculous. The book lacked character development and the mere fact that Jacob imprinted on Renesmee just made me sick. No Stphenie this is not like the Robert effect, you probably don't care seing as your filthy rich all because of fools like me who bought the book, but your book was just horrible. J.K showed us how a great series ends, Meyer showed us how NOT to end a series. Please buyers, don't get this book it is not worth reading. It did not answer all the problems building up since twilight just created a list of silly ones.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Some refer to it as "Broken Dawn"

    Let me begin my saying I love the Twilight series. After I finished Eclipse I was anticipating the realease Breaking Dawn so much I could hardly stand it, but after all that waiting I have to say I was disappointed with Breaking Dawn. I don't want to ruin anything for anyone, but I felt like there were places in which the plot could've been developed more or taken a little but further. I didn't feel as close to the characters in Breaking Dawn as I had through the rest of the series, and several times I had to put my copy down and walk away because I was so disappointed or disturbed. <BR/><BR/>Breaking Dawn had a lot of potential, but as I said, it did not impress as a series conclusion. Everything was thrown together in a little box and tied with a not-so-neat bow, in my opinion.

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ashamed I read this whole series

    I have to admit I got sucked into reading these from book 1. I never thought the writing was great, but the story was exciting to read and a nice piece of teen drama fluff to bite into (vampire pun intended). As the books progressed, they got worse but this book takes the cake for most regretted time spent reading a book for me. She capitalized on the Team Edward/Team Jacob bit and within the first 50 pages of this book that drama is officially over.
    It might be my natural disdain for hearing teenagers whine, but that's what the rest of the book felt like to me. The underdeveloped relationship between Edward and Bella was another huge hole in the story to me. I understood they were obsessed, but not that they were pretty for a vampire enternity.
    There was also that part where an 18 year old falls in love with an infant (it's ok because he'll wait until she's 18 to start puttin' the moves on her)that she didn't quite mull over in terms of taste.
    Then the huge 80 page stare-off across that field masquearding as an epic battle was definitely the worst combat in literary history.

    Read this if you have nothing better to do and you've been wondering what happens when Mormon values and Vampires collide!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Read!!!

    Breaking Dawn is the most thrilling and exciting book in the Twilight Saga. If you think think the other books weren't that exciting, you have to read this book. The writing is great. The story is great. It's filled with action. You really should read the whole saga. It is incredible!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LUUVED IT!

    i LUVED this book BECAUSE it makes alot of sparks when you burn it! YAYYYYY i did the same with twilight tooo i mean i dont get y a person would write a book about vampire ROMANCE? vampires r groossss! andd because of this author there r sooo many other books like it like the blue bloods its just tooo much! every where i go there r new vampire series! was stephanie meyer smoking pot when she wrote this??? watevss the only GOOD vampire book is sux to be me by Kimberly Pauley thanxx for listenin!

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    HIGHLY DISAPPOINTING ENDING TO AN OTHERWISE GOOD SAGA

    I was excited to get read the end of the Twilight saga because I was a big fan of the first 3 books (Eclipse was my favorite). However, the author really drove a stake into the series with Breaking Dawn. The plot was TERRIBLE. It completely lost the essence of the first three books. It's hard to imagine that a plot can become over the top when dealing with vampires and werewolves but somehow Stephanie Meyer found a way. Also, if you're into the romance aspect of the book you won't find it here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    There are no words.

    This book has no words for me to discribe but I'll try anyway. I didn't like the ending because everyone got what they wanted, I didn't like how Bella completly changed (not her transformation but how different her personality is), I didn't like how Jacob imprinted on Bella's baby, but fortunately there were a few good parts. It seemed like Stephine sort of rushed through it. There seemed like there were to many characters and I kind of lost track. The parts that I liked the best was from Jacob's point of view. He seemed liked he was the only character who had any feeling (until he imprinted and it made him sound like the underdog, no pun intended). I really wanted to see a big fight at the end. In the other books they made the Volturi sound scary yet respectful, good yet VERY bad, and would do anything to not expose their kind to human beings. In this book however they seemed to weak. All in all this book was ok just not NEARLY as good as the others. Breaking Dawn seemed more adult romance fiction than young adult romance ficton. What happen to the wonderful high-school lovers who would do anything for each other? I miss that alot.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    A disappointment ::remember it is fiction::

    I loved Twilight and had to read all of this series....Breaking Dawn...I just could not stop laughing. I love the romance of Edward and Bella. Alice is probably the other star of this series that is great. The best part of the book was the stand-up banter between Rose and Jacob. Of course, the honeymoon cause a bit of discussion. I think Ms. Meyer just didn't know what to do and threw a ton of stuff together with a fairy tale ending.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    Breaking Dawn

    I loved the twilight saga except Breaking Dawn. I found it to be very tacky and predictable. It was a sad disappointing ending to an incredible series.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 15622 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 782