Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 15533 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11460)

4 Star

(1832)

3 Star

(929)

2 Star

(511)

1 Star

(801)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

173 out of 200 people found this review helpful.

excellent

loved this book. loved the movie even more. would recommend to everyone

posted by vickytren on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing on so many levels

I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it'...
I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it's more of a superhero series. It's like reading Justice League or X-Men. Vampires running around who can read minds, see the future, inflict pain without ever touching you. The only vamipre elements here seem to have been borrowed from Anne Rice's series. Out of four books it seems like one book (if you add up the pages) is dedicated to telling us how beautiful Edward is and how much Bella misses him when he's not there. It get's so bad that she won't even blink when she's around him. I've found so many things wrong with this story, but I don't want to ruin it for anybody, and the ending is so horrible I was hoping it would have given me something to give this book a 2, but sadly it gave me nothing. Save your time and go read a real vampire book or read Twilight and stop there.

posted by QuagMiker on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 801 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 41
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    Could not put this book down?

    I found myself reading the final book, just to end the series. I wanted to be done with the Cullens, the Swans and the Blacks.
    Stephanie Meyer wrote a book that demonstrates the worst possible teen romance. To put the relationship into acceptable form she had the main characters wait until the final book to consumate their love, an ill fated love at that. Teens and tweeners are reading these books and believing that young love and relentless pursuit go hand in hand. There is a pro-life and pro chastity edge to this book that is counter to all the story leading up to this final book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    Not a favorite

    I've read all four of the books from the 'Twilight' series, and this one was by far the worst. I felt as if it took away from the storlyine as a whole. It dragged on and was poorly planned. I had to force myself to finish it... very disappointing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    Worst Book Ever...should not even get 1 star

    The other 3 books were ok, but this one just screwed up the whole series. The book was just too happy, nothing really ever happened. I found myself skimming though it half the time.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    very dissapointing

    This was one of the most pointless book Ive ever read. It seems to me like she was just writing a book to make a sequal (however, it did seem expected) But it was just 800 something pages of crap. She sets you up for about the first 200 maybe and then it just goes all downhill. The ending was horriable. I really felt like I had wasted my time with this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    OMG What was Meyers thinking??

    after i read this in like 1 month(cuz it was sooo boring) I like went pregnant just like bella and when the baby came out it was like fat and ugly and "immortal" just like i wished bella's would've came out as. maybe that would've added some edge to the story. Then at least something wouldn't be perfect. Like serisouly Bella has everything perfect for her. perfect body, hair, face, husband, and now a perfect child. STOP being so selfish!!! Do you serisouly need sex with Edward to make ur life more perfect then it already is. This character was not likeable and i hated reading about her in this book. <BR/><BR/>the plot was terrible like serisouly kk meyers had to make a big deal about the volturi coming and when they came there wasnt even any action (not like her action parts are any good). everything revolved around nessie which made the book longer and more boring. I do not recommend this book to anybody unless they just wanna get the series over with<BR/><BR/>recommend: Harry Potter (I hear there is a war about which is better Twilight or Harry Potter) and Artemis Fowl.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Breaking doan

    It boaring

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    :(

    I read half then stopped i hate the idea of goodlooking vampire werewolf. There supposed to b pale deadly bloodsuckers

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    Seriously, when someone asks me what is my least fav book, i would reply instantly, "Breaking Dawn. The book is a waste of paper. The first book i LOVED, the second book slow, the third book was bad, and this is...TERRIBLE! Whoever is reading this, it would be a HUGE HUGE mistake to buy this. It drags on and on, and is not worth a cent. I wouldn't read it if it was free!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Ugh. Spoilers

    Ew. So gross. The idea of a fifteen year old falling in love with a baby is nasty. Plus stupid whiny bella is still not superior to edward after she is changed into a stupid vampire. No stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Sickening

    Everything about this series--and this book--is horrific. The writing continues to be awful and the storylines...OMG. Imprinting on a child? Are you kidding me?? There is NO way to present that which is not obscene. The baby's "birth" is not only completely unoriginal (think the original "Alien" people) and ungodly gruesome but hey, Bella, finally gets her wish of giving up herself sexually, dying, totally sacrificing her humanity to be controlled and dominated--a submissive in EVERY sense of the word. And the way that other characters like Bella's dad just decide to accept her path ("yeah Dad, I'm under Edward's control now; I'm also a vampire and really can't be in your life anymore." "Uh, okay, honey")--What in the world kind of message does this send to young women?? If I were Goddess of the Literary Universe, these would have never seen the light of day. They are all appalling in every sense of the word. I'm just mad I can't post a review without a rating--it doesn't deserve one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Breaking dawn

    This book was a total waste of my time if i had a chance to go back to the day i bought this and stop myself from buying it i would it is a total waste of peoples time the author has no talent in writing now if you want to read a good book try the hunger games by suzzane collins it is the best book ever listen to me loud and clear NEVER READ THIS BOOK

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely horrible ending.

    I was really disappointed by the time I finished Breaking Dawn.
    I felt like this book was written just to please fans. Bella gets married, becomes a vampire and has a child (like every girl thought would be a great idea). I thought it was weird, cliche, and unoriginal.
    For a second point, pretty much everything written in the book was completely wasted at the end. Half the book prepared for a fight that I was anxious for, and it never happened.
    Sorry, but it was just a really awful ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Dumb

    The twilight series is dumb. I woud rather read a book about Dora or Elmo. Also, why does every twilight fan take sides with either Jacobor Edward?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Terrible

    Dont waste your money or time this book is very bad im sorry i read it. Is there any way u can rate it 0 stars becouse i would so do that if u want a good book read harry potter

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The most painful book you'll ever read

    I actually liked Twilight when it read it years ago, but found that the books in the series got progressively worse. Still, against my better judgment, I felt compelled to finish the series so I suffered through Breaking Dawn. What a piece of self-serving junk! Stephenie Meyer obvioulsly sees herself as Bella -- it was apparent from the first book that she modeled the character after an ideal version of herself. But seriously? I wish I had a dollar for every sentence that talked about how beautiful, wonderful and powerful the "transformed" Bella is, and how so in love she and Edward are. I don't get what Edward and Jake see in this selfish, whiny, immature individual. The plot was ridiculous and the writing style was insufferable. And how nice for everyone that Ms. Meyer found a neat little tidy way to make everything work out for herself in the end. Ooops! I mean work out for Bella in the end .... Don't waste your time on this one. I'm sure the movie will be equally as repugnant.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA- Wait, you're SERIOUS?!

    This is, without a doubt, one of the worst books I've ever read, in one of the worst series I've ever read. First of all, it's plotless drivel. I mean, possibly moreso than the rest of the series. I know Ms. Meyer claims to have a degree in English, but it wows me that anyone with even a high school diploma could have so little grasp of narrative structure. My dysgraphic 14-year-old could write a better story. Second, Bella was never likable, and neither was Edward. By chapter three of Twilight, I wanted them both thrown off a cliff. Bella took me up on that offer later, but sadly she survived. This book makes them even LESS likable. As for Jacob, well... excuse me, I need to bleach my eyes from when he imprinted on Renesmee, Bella and Edward's insanely creepy baby. You know what sexual attraction to a minutes-old baby is? Seriously creepy, that's what! The writing, meanwhile, seems not to have been edited. Period. I'm not talking stylistic differences, either, I'm talking BRAZIL DOES NOT HAVE A WEST COAST sort of stuff. I know Ms. Meyer seems to fear research, but this is just pathetic. As for themes, take the misogynistic, pedophilic, anti-human, anti-sanity, codependency and emotional abuse-promoting, elitist, racist, shallow, sociopathic tendencies of all the other books and put them into one irritating doorstop. The prose is overly-purple and would make Lynne Truss weep, and the birth scene seriously includes spine-breaking, blood-vomiting, uterus-chomping insanity that must be read to be believed. To call this a waste of paper insults such fine pieces of writing as the screenplays of "Manos The Hands of Fate", "Monster A-Go-Go", "Plan Nine From Outer Space" and the works of Coleman Francis. And I don't even know if those HAD screenplays. The only reason to read this book is bile fascination. Even then, beware. This book doesn't even deserve the one star I am forced to give it. That being said, it's hilariously bad. If you got those references back there, prepare for the snark of your life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst book of the series

    I started off liking the books, they had started off strong and the characters were very likeable. But this book was the exception; it made me want to yell get to the point already.
    Fisrt I was tired of the Bellas preggo junk. By the time that part was over the child she gives birth ends up linked to Jacob in this sick pedifile way. I understand she grows at a faster rate, but couldnt the link be made when she gets closer to adulthood. By this point I'm done.
    Then a friend talked me into reading the end. The ending for the characters was disapointing. They make you feel like its going to build up to this amazing ending and what you get is this passive agressive junk not worthy of the series. I wanted the other vampire to get put in there places and I wanted a ending worthy of this story. I have a feeling shes not done writing about them, it seems like shes left the book open for more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Awful. Quite easily the worst book I've ever read.

    Although I felt all the books in the Twilight series were quite poorly written, there was still something about them that hooked you in until this one, that is. I read them all cover to cover despite the overwhelming urge I had to grab my red pen and start correcting but I couldn't even get halfway through this one before I gave it away just to get it out of my sight. When I finally did pick it back up and force myself to read through it, it got worse and worse the further I read into it and by the time I had finished, I felt like I'd just been Punk'd. The plot lacked any kind of suspense and at many times, didn't even make sense. I've seen fan fictions that do the series more justice than Meyer did.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seriously?

    Posted July 31, 2009, 9:29 AM EST: WOW.... I'm crushed! With all the energy and time invested in this series, I feel completely betrayed. With so many ways this series could have gone, this is what it came to??? A freak show image of it's former self, distorted, like that of a funhouse mirror! The dynamic of the relationships seemed to go out the window, overshowed by an illogical pregnancy and birth of Bella & Edward's hybrid spawn. Bella looses absolutely nothing; she gets her cake and eats it too.... so NOT the grounds of character strength and development. How sad for her! Poor Charlie, once the protectivly sweet dad, is no longer. He is a shell of what he once stood for, taking a backseat to Bella's NEW life as a vampire. Then Jacob, imprints on Bella's daughter... umm, gross. Some of the topics are not for the faint of heart. For example... children under 16! To top it off, the highly anticipated Volturi/Cullen Battle.... NEVER HAPPENS! All the hype for nothing... everyone walks away with a happy ending. Come on.... not everyone truely wants a totally happy ending, do they?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    How Sexually Offensive Can a Book Get?

    Ever since Twilight, this series has been spewing out awful notions of what true love is supposed to be. This book, though, in my opinion, takes it too far. Not only is the awful example of "love" still going on between Bella and Edward, but now we've got the sick new pedophile relationship between Jacob and Renesmee (What kind of name is that?). You can say that their relationship isn't going to be sexual until Renesemee is ready, but Jacob is going to be there her whole life, expecting and molding her into a parter for himself. That is the definition of child grooming, which is wrong, and not excusable because you're a magical mythical being.
    It's really sick and disgusting, and should especially not be promoted in YA novels, no matter how much the author claims it to be "true love".

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 801 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 41