Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 15488 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11429)

4 Star

(1827)

3 Star

(929)

2 Star

(507)

1 Star

(796)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

169 out of 196 people found this review helpful.

excellent

loved this book. loved the movie even more. would recommend to everyone

posted by vickytren on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing on so many levels

I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it'...
I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it's more of a superhero series. It's like reading Justice League or X-Men. Vampires running around who can read minds, see the future, inflict pain without ever touching you. The only vamipre elements here seem to have been borrowed from Anne Rice's series. Out of four books it seems like one book (if you add up the pages) is dedicated to telling us how beautiful Edward is and how much Bella misses him when he's not there. It get's so bad that she won't even blink when she's around him. I've found so many things wrong with this story, but I don't want to ruin it for anybody, and the ending is so horrible I was hoping it would have given me something to give this book a 2, but sadly it gave me nothing. Save your time and go read a real vampire book or read Twilight and stop there.

posted by QuagMiker on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 507 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Boring

    I was so disappointed in this book. It took me 3 days to finish Twilight. It took me 1 month to finish Breaking Dawn. The story just dragged on and on about the baby. I felt like Stephanie just ran out of ideas and maybe she was rushed into writing this poor story line.

    35 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    Not what I hoped for

    Even though I've had my gripes with the series, I still enjoyed it. Not so with Breaking Dawn, I couldn't connect with Bella as a "perfect" vampire. When she was human, she was like any girl. Renesmee was an easy cop out to give everyone a nice happy ending, and we were lead up to a dramatic battle that never happened. Unless you are a hardcore fan, leave it on the shelf.

    17 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bleh

    I've had enough of Twilight, after Eclipse. The whole series drags, Bella can't stop talking about how beautiful and sparkly Edward is. We get the point. And the fact she has no backbone either... The whole series does not have much plot or even a theme. I'm glad it's over. <BR/>I hate that people try to call Meyer the next J.K. Rowling, (which is IMPOSSIBLE) and get very obsessed over this series. It's only a series that'll be over the next two years, for it doesn't 'stand out'. It isn't a great book, not at all like Dickens or Shakespeare. Even J.K. Rowling beats Meyer into a crumb. If I could go back in time, I wouldn't of read the books and wasted my time.

    15 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    700+ Pages AND NOTHING HAPPENED

    I am so disappointed, not just because everything i wanted to happen didn't, but primarily because Stephenie Meyer chose a plot in which nothing happens. Right after Jacob's book (which is probably the best part of Breaking Dawn) it all goes down hill. After that, there is 300 pgs of Bella gazing at Nessie. When it finally comes to there being ANY action--the highly anticipated Volturi vs. Cullens War--Stephenie sells out. Unfortunately she lost the essence of the story with this one. Basically the main characters are pushed in the background. I even felt I lost contact with Edward! Major upset.

    15 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    disappointed

    Okay so first of all, I LOVED the first three books in this series. In fact, New Moon was by far my favorite. But Breaking Dawn is a complete and utter let down! The whole point of this saga was to illustrate the love between a human and a vampire and their struggle to be together. Breaking Dawn completely misses the point and shoots off into a weird and idiotic direction. "Disappointment" pretty much sums it up.

    14 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Utterly Disappointing

    It was a complete waste of time reading this book. I expected it to be something great since it was the end of saga and it looked that way for a while 'I was really hopeful' but in the end, it turned out beyond disappointing. I was extremely irritated. It was absolutely not worth the time.

    14 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    Really Disappointing

    I found the end of this book really disappointing. I understand the need for Bella and Edward to live happily ever after, but no fight scene at the end after all this build up??? Ridiculous. It's too bad because I really enjoyed the beginning of this book and the other 3. The end just really ruined the concept of the entire series. I wonder why I even bothered reading any of them if this was how it would end????

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Some refer to it as "Broken Dawn"

    Let me begin my saying I love the Twilight series. After I finished Eclipse I was anticipating the realease Breaking Dawn so much I could hardly stand it, but after all that waiting I have to say I was disappointed with Breaking Dawn. I don't want to ruin anything for anyone, but I felt like there were places in which the plot could've been developed more or taken a little but further. I didn't feel as close to the characters in Breaking Dawn as I had through the rest of the series, and several times I had to put my copy down and walk away because I was so disappointed or disturbed. <BR/><BR/>Breaking Dawn had a lot of potential, but as I said, it did not impress as a series conclusion. Everything was thrown together in a little box and tied with a not-so-neat bow, in my opinion.

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ashamed I read this whole series

    I have to admit I got sucked into reading these from book 1. I never thought the writing was great, but the story was exciting to read and a nice piece of teen drama fluff to bite into (vampire pun intended). As the books progressed, they got worse but this book takes the cake for most regretted time spent reading a book for me. She capitalized on the Team Edward/Team Jacob bit and within the first 50 pages of this book that drama is officially over.
    It might be my natural disdain for hearing teenagers whine, but that's what the rest of the book felt like to me. The underdeveloped relationship between Edward and Bella was another huge hole in the story to me. I understood they were obsessed, but not that they were pretty for a vampire enternity.
    There was also that part where an 18 year old falls in love with an infant (it's ok because he'll wait until she's 18 to start puttin' the moves on her)that she didn't quite mull over in terms of taste.
    Then the huge 80 page stare-off across that field masquearding as an epic battle was definitely the worst combat in literary history.

    Read this if you have nothing better to do and you've been wondering what happens when Mormon values and Vampires collide!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    Ugh.

    The first three books were amazing. This one was completely and utterly terrible. I didn't think Stephanie Meyer could write anything bad. The characters seemed so real in the other books, they seem fake now. The story was awful, splitting the book into parts was dumb. Why would Jacob get a section and not Edward? And why did it have to be so gory? Certain parts made me sick. This book had no emotion or life. I could hardly get through it, it was so awful. I wish I had never read this book. It would have been better not having an ending.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I honestly did not like this book, I've loved the previous books, they are some of my all time favorite books, but this I didn't really enjoy. I bought this book at the midnight release party, excited and ready to finally see what was going to happen next from the previous book, but in the end I endedup disliking it. Even though I enjoyed alot of the parts (mostly Jacob's view lol), some parts just seemed irrelavent. Especially the scene in the field, towards the end,I felt like just skipping all the way till the last chapter; because it was pretty obvious on what was going to happen and it just felt like stephenie meyer was writing just for the sake of writing other than actually wanting to write a fullfilling ending. I wouldn't recommend this specific book from the series to anyone and I wouldn't really take the time to reread it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Even for a cheesy romance about vampires this is bad.

    I was never a big fan of the series. But after reading this book (or not really, I never got ot the end) I saw how good the first three were. The characters were lost. The plot was lost. Any redeeming qualities in her writing were lost. In Japan the number four is an unlucky number. Now I know why.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    I was disappointed.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the first 3 books in the series. I read each of them in a day. I really enjoyed the first part of BD, but the pregnancy events just took the joy out of the story for me. I could deal with Bella getting pregnant, even though is was totally out of canon. (I read SM's explanation on her website- but sorry, I can't buy it.) but I could not deal with the graphics and the blood and gore. I thought that was way over the top and unnecessary. I also did not like how Edward and Bella's relationship suffered during the pregnancy. Their magic was destroyed for me. (That was my favorite part of the books). I missed the intimacy between the two characters. The story continued to go downhill for me. I could not relate to the baby- and yes, that name leaves much to be desired. I also could not relate to the "perfectness" of the baby. She got on my nerves. I did not particulary wish for Bella to become a vampire, but I accepted that she would. However, I thought her skipping the newborn stage was totally unrealistic-- after all, as much as Edward loved her (Bella), he still had to fight to control his urges. Also laying there in silence as her body burned to keep from hurting Edward--- Please!!!! Bella did more self-sacrificing than Mother Theresa. It was way over the top. Bella's character became like a Twilight Barbie- complete with designer outfits , a cozy cottage, and a Ferrari. I didn't like this new Bella. I thought Charlie's reaction was way out of character too. Overall, I felt that the book was rushed. She introduced too many new storylines without thoroughly and adequately finishing up the ones she had started-- the ones we were invested in for 3 books. Jacob's imprinting on the baby perhaps would have fit in Forever Dawn, but Bella and Jacob did not have a relationship then. With the events in New Moon and Eclipse, it just didn't fit anymore. Perhaps Jacob's son imprinting on the baby would have been more palatable. Bella's new powers were over the top as well- and to have mastered these skills in a few days-- Please!!! I love a happy ending and I certainly wanted Bella, Edward and the others to have a happy ending-- but this one was cheesy.
    I don't want to bash the author. She's entitled to her vision and overall, I enjoyed the series. I just found the ending disappointing.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Meyer's work, or a fancfiction?

    I just think the whole Twilight series starts breaking down after the second book. This one, though, was the worst of the four.

    I started reading it with a sense of excitement: Oh yay, it's time to read the next book type of excitement. But, once I was about a quarter of the way through, it started sounding so cheesy and spacy that my opinion of the series in general started to deteriorate.

    The writing is definitely Stephanie Meyer's, and it's good -- I just don't think the storyline is her work, or at least it doesn't appear to be. The ending is terrible, and way too happy. It just doesn't have that "realistic" effect that the other books have; it just became too "fantasy" for the series' sake. I wouldn't recommend anybody read this book, for obvious reasons.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You can't please everyone..

    (Note: this review is as spoiler-free as possible, hence the lack of spoilerish details) <BR/><BR/>In Stephenie Meyer's Twilight Saga, Isabella (Bella) Swan is caught in a supernatural love triangle between the dazzling vampire Edward Cullen and Quileute werewolf Jacob Black. In Twilight (Twilight, Book 1), Bella met and fell in love with Edward, and throughout the next two books New Moon (The Twilight Saga, Book 2)and Eclipse Special Edition (The Twilight Saga), Meyer fleshed out her universe through her own brand of vampire and werewolf lore, including detailed descriptions of the clans, packs, and physical traits of each. Bella is determined from the very beginning to have Edward turn her into a vampire, and in Eclipse they struck a bargain; Bella wants to have sex with Edward before he turns her into a vampire, and he demands marriage first in return. Breaking Dawn picks up at this point shortly before Bella's wedding. <BR/><BR/>Breaking Dawn is divided into three books, two narrated by Bella and one by Jacob. The first book covers Bella's wedding, honeymoon, and its disastrous aftereffects. The second book continues the events from Jacob's point of view, since Bella is in the middle of an extremely dangerous health crisis. The third book is resumed by Bella and wraps up the Twilight Saga as told by Bella (the next book, Midnight Sun, is essentially a retelling of Twilight from Edward's point of view). <BR/><BR/>Without giving too much away, Breaking Dawn attempts to please everyone, and this is its downfall. Yes, there are several loose ends tied up (all too conveniently), but there are also disappointing lapses, such as the super-brief description of Bella's wedding. Given, Bella's attitude is, "let's get this over with and to the wedding night, tally-ho!", but still, it would have been nice for a little more description; I had the same complaint with Meyer's description of Bella's graduation. Also, despite not being sexually explicit, there is much bruising, ripped pillows, and destroyed furniture throughout, and married Bella constantly has sex on the brain (convenient, since Meyer's vamps are unable to sleep. Hey Edward, I know what we can do all night!). This is a complete change from the generally chaste Twilight; now we're bombarded with talk of tampons and all-night romps that destroy furniture and cause full-body bruising. Bella's former struggle against her attraction for the scaldingly-hot, impulsive werewolf versus the ice cold, rational vampire is conveniently resolved by a disturbing case of imprinting (the werewolf version of love at first sight) on a child. The supposed danger facing Bella and the Cullens was resolved all too easily ("sorry, guys, just a little misunderstanding! Call off the bloodthirsty hoards!"). Jacob's love for Bella is conveniently transferred to a similarly inappropriate substitute (in a pedophile kind of way; love at first sight with toddlers is just creepy). <BR/><BR/>The central dilemma is so implausible, I thought that this *had* to be bad fanfiction. Previous characters flit in and out with no resolution. Others are dropped like a stone to disappear without a trace. Breaking Dawn will provide a resolution for the most rabid Twihards, but I felt a sense of disappointment that the earlier struggles were so easily dispatched in favor of a "happily ever after" ending.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    Bad ending to an amazing series

    I loved the first few books and I was really excited for this book to come out. But I was very disappointed. Breaking Dawn is my least favorite out of all the Twilight books. I still love Twilight, but not Breaking Dawn.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    Pretty Laughable

    Before I read Breaking Dawn, I'd heard a lot of mixed reviews, and was looking forward to forming my own opinion.

    I wasn't a fan of the first 3 in the series, but this one just made me dislike it even more.

    Bella has to choose between her human life and her vampire "lover". The narration is split between Bella and Jacob, going from Bella, to Jacob, then back to Bella again. While it was a relief to get out of Bella's whiny and selfish head for a while, Jacob did do his fair share of complaining(though I felt more sympathy towards him than I ever had toward Bella), and by the end of the book, I didn't like Jacob just as much as I didn't like Bella and Edward(Those of you who have read the book might know why)

    When I found out there was a battle in the end, I got excited, hoping to see some action that didn't involve Bella and Edward looking deeply into each others eyes or making out. But, sadly, I was mistaken. All we got was multiple pages of the two sides talking to each other. I wasn't asking for a full on crazy war, but some fighting and sacrifice might have made the happy ending more meaningful. A good, brave author can kill of some of his/her best supporting characters, and by doing that they make the journey more difficult for our main characters, which makes for a good happy ending.

    Read it for laughs, but only if you've got lots of time to waste like I did.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    From a therapist's viewpoint -- Pure fantasy, but best in the vampire/werewolf series

    I read all four Twilight fantasy books because I work with kids and adolescents and need to keep up on trends, fads, and discussion points. The Twilight series, however, is more than merely a work of fantasy. If I were the parent of a pre-teen or teen, I don't think that I would approve of my child reading the entire series (as if a parent could stop a teen or pre-teen from doing something they're hell-bent on doing anyway). At times, the events are disturbing. The violence and bloodletting are rather vivid as the books progress, and death is central to the action in each book.

    This fourth in the series book was the best of the bunch since there is more real action and mystery, albeit through bloody events. The first three books portrayed high school students experiencing what can typically be called "puppy love." This fourth book took Edward and Bella to the stage of newlyweds and parents in a very discrete, yet believable, manner. Although I'm certainly not a prude, I appreciated the fact that sex was dealt with in a very delicate manner since younger kids are reading the book, also.

    My discussions with pre-teens indicate that although they know that vampires and werewolves probably are not real, the existence of these beings could...yes, COULD...happen. The overall theme that pre-teens take away from the Twilight series is that people(and animals)come in all shapes and sizes, and prejudice is alive and well in both real and fantasy worlds.

    Footnote: The descriptions of the town of Forks and the rainy Pacific Northwest were very real and well done. Yes, it does rain a lot in the fall, winter, and spring here in the PNW, but the summers are glorious!

    Cherie Renfrow Starry
    Private Practice Counselor/Therapist

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    I still don't understand all the hype.

    This is by far the worst book in the series. I didn't mind the second part of the story in Jacobs POV. But the last third of the book was painful to read. It was so boring.
    I am not a fan of this series at all. They have a interesting but not unique plot line. The writing its self is lacking a lot. The author is incapable of going a page with out describing Edward's "dazzling beauty".
    I feel there are many books that are better out there.
    With this book of the series I feel it got completely out of hand. The topics that were brought up and promoting I feel are inappropriate for younger readers I think that these books should not be read by anyone younger than 13. The book has a completely inappropriate and unhealthy relationship dynamic. Also in this book it is trying to make it seem like pedophilia and forcing abortions on people are acceptable.
    Truth fully I was hoping by the end of this book all the Cullens would die and the Italian Vampires would win. It defiantly would have made for a better and less predictable ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Breaking Dawn Is Retarded

    Book Review<BR/><BR/>Title: Breaking Dawn<BR/>Author: Stephanie Meyer<BR/><BR/>3 Things I liked about the story: Super Powered vampire, killer vampires, and sweet cars.<BR/><BR/>3 Things I didn¿t like about the story: Retarded little girl, overly protective parent/police chief, and an ugly old rusted truck.<BR/><BR/>My Book Review: The book Twilight is about a teenage girl who falls in love with a vampire. He is trying not to kill her the whole time. He is bloodthirsty and to him she would be delicious. The girl is physically challenged and has horrible hand eye coordination. The Vampires name is Edward and he is part of the Cullen family. They have been alive for¿ a while. They are rich and Edward feels as if he finally has a purpose. If she dies, he will too.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 507 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 26