Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 15539 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11466)

4 Star

(1832)

3 Star

(929)

2 Star

(511)

1 Star

(801)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

173 out of 200 people found this review helpful.

excellent

loved this book. loved the movie even more. would recommend to everyone

posted by vickytren on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing on so many levels

I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it'...
I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it's more of a superhero series. It's like reading Justice League or X-Men. Vampires running around who can read minds, see the future, inflict pain without ever touching you. The only vamipre elements here seem to have been borrowed from Anne Rice's series. Out of four books it seems like one book (if you add up the pages) is dedicated to telling us how beautiful Edward is and how much Bella misses him when he's not there. It get's so bad that she won't even blink when she's around him. I've found so many things wrong with this story, but I don't want to ruin it for anybody, and the ending is so horrible I was hoping it would have given me something to give this book a 2, but sadly it gave me nothing. Save your time and go read a real vampire book or read Twilight and stop there.

posted by QuagMiker on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1832 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 92
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Breaking Dawn a lengthy finale.

    While I enjoyed this book, it became more and more far fetched as I progressed through it. It went off in many different directions, some of which did not seem necessary. The ending is also very predictable. You will see it coming a mile away.

    31 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Flawed, but still good

    Breaking Dawn, the fourth and final installment of Stephenie Meyer¿s Twilight saga, follows the story of 18 year old Bella Swan through her uncovnentional journey into newlywed life and motherhood with her gorgeous husband, Edward Cullen, who just happens to be a vampire. In this volume we rediscover Edward and Bella¿s epic romance which was first told from Bella¿s perspective in Twilight; then in New Moon, and again in Eclipse. Breaking Dawn however, which is divided into three books over its 754 pages, is told from two different points of view. The first and third books are told in the familiar voice of Bella, but in the second book we see the small town of Forks Washington through the eyes of a bratty teenage werewolf named Jacob Black. Jacob is Bella¿s best friend who just happens to be harboring an all-consuming love for her. <BR/><BR/>The story begins shortly before Edward and Bella¿s wedding day. Edward and Bella have an old-fashioned wedding before their friends and family, vampire and human alike. The happy couple then jets off to a private island for a picturesque honeymoon, where Edward makes good on his promise to make love to her before changing her into a vampire. Everything seems to be perfect, until Bella learns she¿s pregnant, something believed impossible and dangerous for a vampire and human. <BR/><BR/>The story is then told from Jacob Black¿s perspective. Through his telling we hear the minds of the rest of his werewolf pack as well as his own. Through Jacob¿s eyes we also watch Bella essentially give up her life to have a baby who is already stronger than she, while still in the womb. Jacob is disgusted by this and because of that the reader is too. Despite his objections, Jacob is still drawn to Bella and stays with her through most of the process, even though she is surrounded by his mortal enemies -- vampires. <BR/><BR/>Bella has her baby in nothing less than gruesome fashion, with dramatic scenes of her baby ripping open her stomach. In the process of birth, Edward is forced to change Bella into a vampire in order to save her life. The third book, told by Bella, starts with her painful transformation from human to vampire and follows the relationship between her and her half-vampire, half- human daughter, Renesmee. The book ends with vampires and werewolves joining forces to fight for Renesmee¿s life against the Volturi, a brutal group of Vampires who uphold the laws of their kind. <BR/><BR/>This installment is quite a departure from the rest of the Twilight saga. The previous three novels focused on the head over heels romance between the plain human and the dazzling vampire. Breaking Dawn is harder to identify with, much darker and at some points just plain bizarre. In the first three novels Bella was a normal clumsy girl but in Breaking Dawn, when she becomes a perfect vampire, it is harder for the reader to connect with her character. <BR/><BR/>While this may not be Stephenie Meyer at her best, Breaking Dawn is still well worth reading. Her polished use of language in depicting many situations from the steamy romantic to the horrifyingly gruesome will still have teenage readers ripping through the pages. <BR/><BR/>Quill says: Although it is flawed, Breaking Dawn will leave you satisfied and smiling at its finish.

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiration for Dreamers Like Me

    Breaking Dawn is simply astounding to the mind. This novel tests the readers emotional abilities because I have found myself connected to the characters in a way. Stephanie Meyer brilliantly laid the foundation to a new kind of love. A love that is not afraid of forever. A love that takes place in a world where perfection is non existent. When the characters are in pain, you feel that pain. When they are lost, you somehow feel the confusion they experienced. The obscure, vivid portrayal of Forks, which is described in Twilight, becomes extremely significant in Breaking Dawn. The detailed descriptions of the setting foreshadows the darkness that is becoming of the characters. This chapter of Bella Swan and Edward Cullen's life symbolizes forgiveness. I enjoyed reading this novel because I felt as if true love was invincible. There were struggles, hardships,and strong emotional ties towards other loved ones. Jacob Black played a role in Breaking Dawn which was like icing on the cake because he is an interesting character that produces many contradictions. When reading I find myself asking what if?, and what would I do if I were in Bella's shoes. Some parts to the story did not feel as realistic to the other three books, but it is still a great read. After Eclipse I did not know what to expect, and there were definitely twists I was not expecting. I have always been torn between Jacob and Edward because from the beginning Bella's life could go either way. I am mesmerized by the different personalities of the characters and I would recommend this series to anyone. Young adults will feel inspired, and women falling under all categories will either reminisce or dream. Breaking Dawn was a good finale to the series and it was enough to leave the readers wondering about the futures of the characters.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    Different...

    I read the series in four days. This being the last book, I wanted to get on with it already, see the vampires do their thing, you know? I wanted Bella to become the vampire we all knew she would be, leave Forks, and see how the family dynamic was going to work with her around. It went a totally different direction. I was surely not expecting a Renesmee! I really wanted it to be a bit more like a vampire book and really see the Cullens, because they are the best part. There are exciting parts, no real climax to it. There is no fighting it in it, like you would expect there to be. You see Emmett a bit here and there, Jasper for just two seconds. There is some mature content in it, the Jacob and Edward conversation, that seemed way off base for Edward. I really dropped my jaw there. I wish that little tid bit hadn't been written. I love Edward and that was just wrong. Jacob's ending, no can't say I liked that. This book needed more action, all those vampires and there's was nothing...plus, it's the final book!! I can deal with her not being crazed because she did have time to plan mentally and she overthinks everything, that was alright. I didn't see it ending this way, but still, I like the series anyway.

    Edward is cool (besides his lack of judgement for that instance) and I love his family. I read it for those characters. Bella isn't my fave. I wish the author would continue with the Cullens or continue with Midinight Sun (Edward was by far more interesting than Bella).

    Overall, this series can and probably will suck you in, just to see where it's going to go. Be prepared for that and the anti-climatic ending.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    finally the end...

    love the twilight saga - one of the best i've read. but i'll be honest. at first i did felt that "breaking dawn" was boring and almost dragging. i even start hating it and read pages after pages too fast so i can just finish and be done with it. but it is definitely different from the first three books, and i guess that's why i liked it eventually in the end.<BR/><BR/>"breaking dawn" definitely has it's own perks and appeal. the book was both emotional and entertaining and for me finally answered some questions i've been waiting for - i mean who wouldn't like the idea of finding what bella's special talent is (i know i did). so in the end, eventhough it did get tough in some parts, i do recommend this book, and hope that you would like it too. definitely not a dissapointment.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    What a way to end the series!

    Breaking Dawn was a crazy way to end the series. I really enjoyed the book. Was it different from the first three? Yes. Did a bunch of werid things happen? Yes. But thats what made the book great. The fact that so many things happened that you did not expect. I won't go into detail of the plot, so many other reviewers already have. I will just tell what I enjoyed from the book. I loved the wedding and honeymoon. I loved Jacob's book, he has always been one of my favorite characters. It was nice to get an inside look of his mind, and that boy is hilarous. I'm glad that Jacob got his happy ending. I loved seeing all the new vamps, they were fun. Even though I did have to reread that part a couple times because it got a little confusing. Did Bella change when she became a vampire? Yes!! What do you expect shes a vampire now, of course she would change. I didn't think that it was a bad thing, now she is finally Edwards equal. I'm also so glad that Bella and Jacob were still able to remain best friends, and that in his eyes she is still just Bella. The ending was great to have Edward finally read Bella's mind brought tears to my eyes, thats what he has always wanted. I will miss this series. I hope Stephenie continues the story with Bella's daughter and Jacob, I would love to see that. I got what I wanted at the end of this series. Jacob's happiness and for Bella and Edward to be together forever.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Book of the Twilight Series!

    This book was good and wrapped up Edward and Bella's romance appropriately. I read the first three books a few years back, and never picked up the third because I didn't like Bella very much. Well, I really liked her as a vampire! I highly recommend this book, however, everyone else has probably read it already!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Breaking Dawn

    This book went beyond my expectation. If you want to get in to Stephanie Myers imagination this is the best way to get in. I hope she keeps up the good work!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Omg!

    I really liked this book cause it wrapped up all the series with edward and bella.I liked the endding cause finally edward and bella could be together and left alone in peace.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    WHAT WAS THAT ALL ABOUT?

    This was a disapointing ending to the series, with even a more disapointing end to the book. I have a habit of reading the last sentence, and even if it wasn't the end of the book it would be bad. Actually, the only interesting part of it was when all of Carlisle's friends showed up. I say that if you're hooked on the series, go ahead and read it, but other than that SKIP IT.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    A really great read

    It was a pretty good end to an amazing series, though I wish there was more character development/ interaction throughout its duration. Overall, I wasn't disappointed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Could have been better

    I first read Twilight a year after it was published. What I loved most about it was the plot. When you subtract all of the supernatural components of the novel, you are really left with this relationship, and although it wasn't perfect, people were able to coincide it with things going on in their everday lives. I believe that many readers such as myself really focus on the changes within the relationship. Many of Meyer's readers as well as myself are able to empathize with Bella and try and figure out what they would do in her situation. Knowing that I would be able to have discussions after reading the first three books from this collection with other readers was very enticing. The atmosphere of the first three books led to a series of different emotions, and I believe that this is what made Meyer's debut novel so popular. Breaking Dawn isn't really what I expected it to be. It was really slow paced, and I was able to piece everything together after the first twist. Meyer's ending novel was a complete utopia; every ribbon tied neatly as opposed to her other edgy, amazing creations. Many fans disliked the fact that there was sexual content in this novel, and in my opinion I was waiting for it to happen. It was something to be expected because sex was mentioned by Bella in Twilight. Those who couldn't handle that very small part of Breaking Dawn shouldn't have read the series due to their lack of maturity. I do reccommend it to vampire fan readers, but it could have been better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Bella is Boring

    I liked the book, though I find Bella REALLY boring. She has no character and is boring. I find that she has no personality and throws away her entire life for a vampire. Over all though, I found the book quite good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Team Edward

    If you are into vampires and werewolves, this is the series for you! Eclipse was my favorite!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Read before you watch the movie

    As always the book is better than the movie. If you enjoyed the first three books in this series thenyou will love this last book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    If you liked Twilight series...

    Read The Host by Stephenie also. It's a great book about aliens. I was a little doubtful about it myself at first but it is an amazing book. It should be in related titles or whatever...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    What can i say

    AMAZING. Wish there was one more book, id really like to know more about her immortal life. Really wish Midnight Sun would be realesed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    Good but long

    I have read all the books and I have to say that the second and third were the best. The first was good, but the second and third were best because you know the back story and you feel like you can relate to them better. The final book was good, but goodness, was it long. I really feel like they could have edited it better. I felt like it drug on in some places. Especially the final confrontation went on and on and on. They didn't need 750 pages. Good ending but not spectacular. It almost seems like the story had been so drawn out that they decided to just finally end it.... yea ok happy ever after the book is done the end. I think they should have cut more out and added something more to the ending. Not bad though, not bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    Would Like to read more!

    I thought this was a wonderful ending to the series regarding Bella's story. I think anyone reading the serious would feel the same way. It also leaves it open so the author can write another book letting you see the outcome for the lives of other characters in the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    A little slow moving from middle to end

    Loved the first 3 books in the series. Peeled through the pages. Couldn't put the books down. Breaking Dawn was a little drawn out. Took me awhile to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1832 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 92