Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 15520 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11450)

4 Star

(1831)

3 Star

(929)

2 Star

(509)

1 Star

(801)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

172 out of 199 people found this review helpful.

excellent

loved this book. loved the movie even more. would recommend to everyone

posted by vickytren on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

41 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing on so many levels

I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it'...
I've never wanted to stop reading a book as much as I wanted to stop reading this one, but after putting in the work for the first three I had to finish this. First off, after reading this series I've come to the conclusion that this isn't even a vampire series, but it's more of a superhero series. It's like reading Justice League or X-Men. Vampires running around who can read minds, see the future, inflict pain without ever touching you. The only vamipre elements here seem to have been borrowed from Anne Rice's series. Out of four books it seems like one book (if you add up the pages) is dedicated to telling us how beautiful Edward is and how much Bella misses him when he's not there. It get's so bad that she won't even blink when she's around him. I've found so many things wrong with this story, but I don't want to ruin it for anybody, and the ending is so horrible I was hoping it would have given me something to give this book a 2, but sadly it gave me nothing. Save your time and go read a real vampire book or read Twilight and stop there.

posted by QuagMiker on August 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1831 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 92
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    I loved the book!!!

    The book was full of adventure and excitement. It was hard for me to put this book down, as was the entire series. I felt like i knew the characters. there were a few parts in the book that were a little "deep" fo me. For the most part i LOVED the book, but during a couple of sections i felt that there was unneccessary detail on inappropriate subject matter, for a twelve year old. Over all i give this book 4.5 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not too sure about this book but all in all, a captivating read

    Being much of an adult and the fact that these books are to be for young adults, some of the situations were a bit mature. My sister has a 13 year old that BEGGED her to get this book for her and after she'd read some of the reviews, didn't want her to read it.

    As an adult, I can respect the fact of Edward and Bella being married before anything physical happened between them. The fact of conceiving a child on their honeymoon, was no big issue for me either. That happens more often than people want to admit. The fact of him being a vampire and she being human, was a BIT of a stretch and while there was some explaination for that, I would have liked more elaboration. I don't believe a young adult would understand what goes through a pregnant mother's head when she's not certain if her child will live or die. It would have been so easy to terminate the pregnancy but Bella (with help), puts her foot down and does not give up even with all that is happening with her and what she has to do to keep the baby alive.

    I think I'd read some reviews about the way Bella was after the change. About it being TOO easy and her not going through the sames things other new vampires went through. My thoughts were that she had been preparing herself for that. It was her choice and it was something she wanted more than anything in the world. Just because she seemed to be doomed as a human doesn't mean that same situation should follow her into vampirehood.

    The bonding Jake experiences was a bit much for me and I had to put aside the fact of who he was bonding with (again, there was detail on this and about how this happens but more information would have been nice or even a reference book to give more detail).

    I cannot wait to see how they handle the buildup and the actual scene of all those vampires getting ready to go into battle in a movie. When you are reading, your imagination can be SO vivid and then when it's brought to film, you just shake your head and say "What was that?".

    I know that this is the last book but it just seemed that everything was just rolled up and it was decided to close all the loose ends (no matter how far out there things seemed) so we could go on to something else. There has to be more to this story. There should be a book on Jake and HIS pack along with the full detailed story on how they came to be. What about Nessie and the other children like her?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wish There Was More!

    I loved this book! After getting addicted to the Twilight saga and reading all four in a row I was so sad to finish the book. I got very attached to the characters and it felt like saying good-bye to them. Although I had read the first 3 books in just a couple of weeks I really dragged this book out because I just didn't want it to end.

    This book ends the saga on a note that I was very content with, everything you are wishing for the characters happens, I don't think anyone could be unhappy with this book. I loved it, but Twilight was still my favorite of all. Of course, I would love it if Meyer came out with a surprise sequel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You have to read this series

    I was actually left wanting more by the end of this book. Let's see some action!! I loved that the author brought so many characters together. I really enjoy the characters interaction. At first it was a little hard to swallow what happens in the beginning, but she manages to pull it together. I'm hoping the author finished Midnight Sun. I LOVED what I've read off her site so far. I CAN'T WAIT for her to finish. Loved it, loved it!!! I love Edward's mind! Hopefully we will see more from these characters in the future. I couldn't put the entire series down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    What a finish.

    As the final (so far) installment of the Twilight series, this was a great finish. I was sad when the story ended-surely the sign of a good read-but was glad to be able to come up for air, as well. I recommend this book for mature audiences only. NOT for your average teenager. There's gore, sex and angst; read it before you give it as a gift or you could be very embarrassed!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Breaking Dawn review

    I absolutely love this book. I think it made a great ending! But, seriously, don't read this unless you have read the other three books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Enjoyed it but...

    I would recommend that if someone younger than 15 is going to read part or all of the series, a parent or guardian read it first. You know your own child so you'll know if they can handle all of the content. It's a personal call after that. Other than that, great books! Very hard to put down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    Obsessive!

    I love this series so of course I couldn't wait to get my hands on the last book. It didn't disappoint! I was sceptical when I started Twilight, knowing that the author took liberties with vampire lore--but I was very impressed with the way she interperited lore. Not just using Hollywood versions, or even one version of lore for her depiction was brilliant and surprizing. That is what impressed me, what kept me reading was the tention and the intensity. She packed them in tight. The series is less about mythical creatures and much more about the intensity of love and the extremes to which love and passion will take these charactures. <BR/>Bella's reluctance for marriage is questionable even given her upbringing, her commitment is already so complete it would hardly seem that drastic a move. While I appreciate the chaste version especially concidering the primary audience, I personally would have liked a little more detail as to the workings of the whole species coupling shall we say. There is a privacy there that is nice to see...still. However, I enjoyed the book many times! <BR/><BR/>I can't wait for more!---and yes, I firmly belive there is more. Jacob will tell his story, we will hear more from Reneseme--hate the name--, we haven't seen the end of the Volture (and the Romanians), Alice and Jasper, and frankly we have not heard the end of the Denali clan either. She has many direction to go and many threads to weave. --Thank you Stephanie--send more soon!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    Not exactly as expected but still great

    First, I should say that I read the entire saga in less than a week. It happened sort of by accident. My satellite was out and I went to the library and checked out Twilight really just out of curiousity because of all the hype. I had finished it by the same time the next day. The next day I promptly went to my local B&N and bought the other three. I am in love with every single character. Even my husband has enjoyed listening to the audiobooks (yeah....I bought them too). But I was a little disappointed with Breaking Dawn. Since I'm a little older (25) than the target teenage girl, I would have liked a little more heat and detail to the honeymoon scenes, but I can understand why Meyer wrote them the way she did. I also wish the way Edward changed Bella would have been a little more romantic. But that's just me. All in all, I was so pleased that they got their happy ending. I think I would have been devastated if it would have ended any other way. Now I'm looking forward to all the movies!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It could be better!!!

    I really didnt like the first chapter of Bella view (after the birth) because it was repeating what Jacob said. But all the story was good I will like another end or even I would like to see not an End page ... I think that The author has more opp. to write she has a new character..and a new romance as difficult as the bella and edward... It will be interesentig to see how this couple devolpes inthe future... After all I did like the book enjoy it :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best book out of the series but it does tie everything together

    This book was the most outlandish of the four books in the series. But I still enjoyed it. The author cleanly tied all the loose ends together, which I liked so the reader didn't really have many questions at the end. However, it was almost too cleanly put together. The massive fight that was brewing gets dealt with quickly, as does Bella's question of immortality. In fact, she has no problem with the adjustment. The love triangle that was throughout the other books is dealt with at the beginning of the book so that drama is over. <BR/><BR/>I recommend this book to everyone who has read the first three. It does tie everything together and finish off the story well but it does get a little laughable at times. Hence why it only gets 4 stars from me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    Breaking Dawn review

    I think that Breaking Dawn is the perfect ending for the Twilight series. It just seems to fall into place perfectly though some parts were some what gruesome. I have read Breaking Dawn so many times this past month.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Slightly disappointing, but okay overall.

    I read the first two or three books of the Twilight series before all the buzz, and really enjoyed them. When I heard everyone talking about a new Twilight book coming out, I was amazed at all the people who had been sucked into the series and were so excited for Breaking Dawn's release. So, I ran out and bought it the first chance I could, expecting an amazing book. But I found it kind of disappointing compared to the previous books in the series. In Breaking Dawn, Stephanie Meyer seemed to take the easy way out with the major problems and make everything have a happy ending. <BR/><BR/>Bella and Edward finally commit to their love by getting married. With their marriage though, comes the obvious conflict between the Cullens and the werewolves. But, as a result of their marriage, a new character is introduced, who delivers the solution to the conflict between the Quiletes and the Cullens `tied up with a bow¿. Bella¿s relationship with Jacob is finally where she has always wanted it, but not exactly in the way she imagined. <BR/><BR/>Later, the Cullens find out some startling news about an old enemy of theirs, and are left in turmoil after a prominent part of their family leaves. However, they gather their senses and prepare a surprise for their meeting. <BR/><BR/>The end was the biggest disappointment to me, though. It was too perfect. The conflict between the Cullens and their old enemy ended with almost no blood shed, and basically, they all lived happily ever after.<BR/><BR/>I would recommend Breaking Dawn to those who have read the first three books in the Twilight series and enjoyed them, but don't expect something absolutely amazing from it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good ending to good series

    As with the 3 other books in this saga it was well written. There were many times during the first 3 books that Bella was extremely immature, indecisive, and down right irritating...Jacob as well. I did like the POV coming only from Bella in the first book but I would've preferred POV's from all the characters in the following books as it helps the reader to get to know the character. Even after 4 books the reader really doesn't know the other key players...Edward, Alice, Jasper, Rosalie, Emmett, Esme, Carlisle and Charlie. The build-up to the climax in Breaking Dawn was really well thought out, but the climax was seriously lacking. Bella's pregnancy and resulting "turning" was very interesting.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    november 20 2008 this book is unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i read dis book in 3 days would have been 1 if it wasn't for classes. dis book is so hard 2 put down.i lost one of my frenz over it bcaz she wanted my attention but i was 2 caught up in this thrilin, excitin and edgy book.it made me laugh out loud an people stare at me like i was goin crazy an it made me cry at nights wen my mom told me 2 go 2 bed which i didn't obviously. this author, stephanie meyer, is truly gifted .i workin on my own manuscript but she has given me great insights an i hope 2 be as hardworkin an focused and she is. ican't wait for the guide 2 come out in december. damn! wow wat a rush now imma have 2 try an patch things up with my fren hopefully she's still not upset. if she is oh well i'll read another stephanie meyer book lol

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Breaking Dawn

    The book was really good. I finally finished it and the ending was adorable!! : ] I cannot wait to go to the premiere next thursday night for Twilight!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Good

    I'de love it better if it had more of a twist ending but really you (at least i) kinda asumed the ending and it was right. it still was a good book though but to be honnest i still wish jacob got with bella. Now that would be a twistish. Anyway i did really enjoy the book i eecomend it to other people. I love the idea of dusk ( the next book in the series) someone sai they would write it i they do give ir a twist ending please!!! some one said it was a bad influence on chrilden umm childern arnt suposed o read this it ...it was a book for teens. NOT childern.
    -dove anderson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Good but...

    It was wierd. I mean dont get me wrong, i love this book, but it was like really wierd for Jacob to imprint on Bella's daughter. He is way older than her and she is just a kid. And it kinda made mad cuz he had so much with Bella and then the baby came along and he just acted like the whole feelings thing for Bella never happened. Atleast thats the way it felt when the baby came. I miss Jacob fighting for Bella :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Amazing!

    Truely one of the best vampire books. I love her spin on them and how they do things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    love it

    I thought it was really good. I just love happy endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1831 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 92