BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn Special Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

THE GREATEST AUTHOR OF OUR TIME!!

When I first finished this book, I was thinking about it for MONTHS after reading it. I finished the whole series in 3days because I couldn't seem to be able to put the book down. :) Stephanie Meyer is TRULY So Very Talented!!
This is one of my most Beloved Books of al...
When I first finished this book, I was thinking about it for MONTHS after reading it. I finished the whole series in 3days because I couldn't seem to be able to put the book down. :) Stephanie Meyer is TRULY So Very Talented!!
This is one of my most Beloved Books of all time!! And that is REALLY saying something! :)

posted by luv2beme4life333--xoxo on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Worthy read if you're under 14

I picked this series up based on a recommendation from a woman that i work with (not to mention the hyped up hysteria on the news and such) and was vastly disappointed. Stephanie Meyer, while being talented in the imagination department, lacks creating a stimulating and...
I picked this series up based on a recommendation from a woman that i work with (not to mention the hyped up hysteria on the news and such) and was vastly disappointed. Stephanie Meyer, while being talented in the imagination department, lacks creating a stimulating and conclusive series. Not to mention that she writes like a high schooler. All of the characters get exactly what they want in the end and the big struggle ends in non-violence and inaction. Hah! The first 3 books in the series are great in the fact that we can identify with Bella but once she turns into a vampire (which i laughed outright at) she turns into this boring non-entity that no one could identify with. My advice to all: only read if you like super fluffy endings.

posted by Catniss on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    Loved it!

    I can't wait to read more of her work. Is a marvelous book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    don't waste your time

    these series are so bad. they are the worst books i've ever read in my entire life.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    star crossed vampiric love

    this is the perfect twist of love, mystery, desire, jealosy and trust. watch as these feuding races set aside there diferences, all to save there common love from the ranks of the voltori, will they save there youngest or die as one?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    -Sigh-

    Wow. so many things i can say about this book... where to start? The author may have a bit of a good imagination, but no specail writting talent at all. If you disagre with me, you are probably under the age of 13.
    After finishing the series (reluctantly) i had to ask if it was meant to be a spoof in its self.
    Some parts just seem to be asking to be laughed at.
    Themain characters are annoying and unlikeable, at best. While reading i found myself liking the minnor charcters better.
    The book had a semi good begining, but was quickly ruined as it headed into what I have to admit is very original (and very unusual...) plot.
    I never really took this series seriously, i read it for a good laugh, and a bit of entertainment.
    Breaking Dawn did not dissapoint me! i laughed more then i thought i could at a book, and found my self rereading the 'funny parts'.
    If by some miracle, you have escaped the pointlessness of this series by reading it (lucky you...) I highly recomend you don't...

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome in its Awfulness

    I'm going to be upfront with you: this book is TERRIBLE.

    HOWEVER. Therein lies its COMPLETE AWESOMENESS.

    The writing is mediocre at best, the characters are caricatures of themselves, and a series of absurd plot developments leads to a stunningly anti-climactic climax.

    And I laughed my way through the entire book.

    It is, quite honestly, the most enjoyable, most hilarious book I read in the summer of 2008. At several points in the story, I very nearly fell off of the couch for laughing so hard. There were CAPSLOCKED POSTS OF GLEE in my LiveJournal, sections read aloud to incredulous family members, and general merriment in abundance.

    If you take the Twilight series seriously, you will probably loathe Breaking Dawn. But if in the course of your reading, you've come to the realisation of the lulziness of the Twilight series, I guarantee that Breaking Dawn will be your favorite of the four.

    I have even told friends who haven't read the first three books that they should read Breaking Dawn for no other reason than sheer entertainment value. I *love* this book and re-read my favorite hilariously awful parts whenever I need a quick pick-me-up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    love the series

    it's hard to put the books down once you start reading them

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read (Heck read it twice or more)

    I picked up the First one, well after the movie had come out, I even waited to read it after my mother, sister and best friend told me to go and get the book and read it, I kept putting it off saying I was trying to read something else first....BIGGEST MISTAKE I ever made. Once I picked up these books I couldn't put them down. The characters have been written so well you can't help but to love/hate them as you should. I was torn between two men just as Bella was. I staied up all night reading these books. I couldn't stop talking about the books at work while I was reading them, I talked about them so much that I got others to read them after I was done, they also love them. I cried when it was over because I just wanted more.
    These books stay with you after your done (So much so that I'm reading them all for the 4th time and I've only had them a month)
    I have to say that I'm hoping that Stephenie Meyer will finish writing Midnight Sun (I wouldn't care if it was 5,000 pages) Heck I wish she would write all of the books from Edwards point of view....I just can't get enough.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    Ridiculous

    Bible

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of the best books in our generation. Stephani

    This is one of the best books in our generation. Stephanie Meyer kept me hooked on to the series until the very end. I kept on thinking about the book months after I read!
    This is a must read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Probably best of all 4

    I liked this book the best out of all of them. Even though the plot of this book was extremely predictable from page one, it had something to it that made me keep reading. I don't particularly like Jacob, so I completely skipped the bunch of chapters in his point of view(The book begins in Bella's point of view, then when Bella gives birth it switches point of views to Jacob's) until I got back to Bella's point of view. It was a little dumb because Bella was all of a sudden perfect as a newborn vampire. Otherwise this was a pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    WOW!!!!---What a MONUMENTAL waste of paper

    I don't really know how else to say it....wasted paper. I mean, Every Single Character got Everything they Wanted, even if it meant restructuring that character so that he or she won't have to suffer...boo-friggin-hoo... How boring is that? ***SPOILER***, if you can call it that. I don't know that a book this terrible can be "spoiled" but I'm getting ready to rant about the ending... When the vulturi and the Cullens meet for the epic vampire war I thought, "finally, something worth reading." I can see it so clearly in my mind now...Dr Cullen plants a hand on his hip and points his finger and gives the Vulturi a good stern "talking to". Then the Vulturi leave and the book ends!!!!!!!!!!WHAT KIND OF ENDING IS THAT???????????????To say it's "anti-climatic" is a severe understatement. I could go on all day, but I'll stop here...wasted paper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    must read

    for young readers. It got my daughter off facebook and the phone to read. That says alot, then she's read the whole series more than once!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's VERY discriptive and SOOOO detailed that It was my favorite book out of the 4!!!!!

    I love this book. It is so discriptive and so detailed that it blew my mind. You can tell that Stephanie Meyer took her time making this book. And the ending was so sweet. It left me in awe at how wonderful it was. What Edward wanted to do, which was read Bella's mind, he finally got to do. But he said that it made him happy and sad that he couldn't read her mind. In Eclipse, chapter Fire and Ice, he told Jacob that he was happy that he couldn't read her mind because it made Bella happy. But sometimes he wishes he could.

    Altogether, it was an awesome book. I completly reccomend it to ANYONE over the age of 10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Addicting series....NOT just for young readers!!!

    An easy, enjoyable read. I was scepticle at first. I mean, VAMPIRES, really?? But trust me, READ THE BOOKS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Twilight Book that Captures the Reader and Won't Let Go!

    Absolutely wonderful! I can't say enough about this series of books. As you dive into the book the characters become friends, making it nearly impossible to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Very good!

    I really enjoyed this book and the three others from this series. The characters were easy to like and the story line was very unique.It was a classic love triangle with a crazy twist. Even though it was written for a teenage audience,being in my forties,I still enjoyed it a lot.I did feel that some of it was a little inappropriate for young teenagers,so I recommend parents be aware of that.But it was a good read,in my opinion, for any other age group.I would recommend to any parents of young teenagers to read it themselves before letting your kid read it ,that's what I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Maybe the Best of the Series?

    Breaking Dawn was probably my favorite book outside of the original Twilight. While reading Breaking Dawn I couldn't read or turn the pages fast enough to find out what happened next. This by far is Stephanie Meyer's most suspensful book out of the whole series, however, it does leave me wondering what could happen next. Meyer could definitely make a spin-off series from the end of this book and I would read each one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Twilight Breaking Dawn. AWSOME - I am a teacher in a Middle School and the kids and I have shared many hours of discussion going over the series and comparing it to the movies. We loved all the books in the Saga.

    Some of the words in the book are not words that our kids would use on a regular basis. But it challanges them to read and find out what the meanings are. We are reading the books and then we get to watch the movies and talk about what the differences are--and which they like better and why. Beleive it or not we all love the books better. Althought we throughly enjoy the movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Twilight Saga

    I enjoyed the first three books a bit more than this one, but Breaking Dawn comes through explaining and revealing information that at the end of the series ties everything together in the triangle formed by Bella, Edward and Jacob. The story was very detailed and from the point of view of 2 of its 3 main characters. I personally would have liked to see some of the story from Edward's perspective. This final book may leave the reader wanting more, however at almost 800 pages some readers might feel that it is too much. Overall it was a good read for those that are true fans of Twilight and all its characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Read it as many times as I could

    LOVE the series and this is my favorite from all the series. The story is such an entertaining book that I want the story to continue on with Jacob and Renesmee. I can't wait for the movie to come out and I hope the writer sticks to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12