Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn Special Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

THE GREATEST AUTHOR OF OUR TIME!!

When I first finished this book, I was thinking about it for MONTHS after reading it. I finished the whole series in 3days because I couldn't seem to be able to put the book down. :) Stephanie Meyer is TRULY So Very Talented!!
This is one of my most Beloved Books of al...
When I first finished this book, I was thinking about it for MONTHS after reading it. I finished the whole series in 3days because I couldn't seem to be able to put the book down. :) Stephanie Meyer is TRULY So Very Talented!!
This is one of my most Beloved Books of all time!! And that is REALLY saying something! :)

posted by luv2beme4life333--xoxo on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Worthy read if you're under 14

I picked this series up based on a recommendation from a woman that i work with (not to mention the hyped up hysteria on the news and such) and was vastly disappointed. Stephanie Meyer, while being talented in the imagination department, lacks creating a stimulating and...
I picked this series up based on a recommendation from a woman that i work with (not to mention the hyped up hysteria on the news and such) and was vastly disappointed. Stephanie Meyer, while being talented in the imagination department, lacks creating a stimulating and conclusive series. Not to mention that she writes like a high schooler. All of the characters get exactly what they want in the end and the big struggle ends in non-violence and inaction. Hah! The first 3 books in the series are great in the fact that we can identify with Bella but once she turns into a vampire (which i laughed outright at) she turns into this boring non-entity that no one could identify with. My advice to all: only read if you like super fluffy endings.

posted by Catniss on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worthy read if you're under 14

    I picked this series up based on a recommendation from a woman that i work with (not to mention the hyped up hysteria on the news and such) and was vastly disappointed. Stephanie Meyer, while being talented in the imagination department, lacks creating a stimulating and conclusive series. Not to mention that she writes like a high schooler. All of the characters get exactly what they want in the end and the big struggle ends in non-violence and inaction. Hah! The first 3 books in the series are great in the fact that we can identify with Bella but once she turns into a vampire (which i laughed outright at) she turns into this boring non-entity that no one could identify with. My advice to all: only read if you like super fluffy endings.

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I hate Twilight

    Stephenie Meyer is a terrible writer. Her characters are so changeable and they are incredibly moody. Also, what Bella and Edward have is an infatuation for each other. In no way is it love. If you haven't started the series, don't.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ugh =/

    I started reading the Twilight Series in 2005, when the first one came out. I devoured it in 6 hours, loosing myself within the story page after page. it was AMAZING! When every other book came out it was the happiest day of my life because I just couldnt get enough. but this book...ugh...this book was HORRIBLE! I stopped reading it at page 500, it was so disappointing. I loved the first three, but THIS ONE...just terrible. I hate how everyone got everything they wanted & how it was just a yay happy ending. Stephenie Meyer disppointed me majorly, I expected better.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sickening Sweet Finale With Perverted Twist Lacks Grace, Style And Substance

    This methodical wind-up to the series is contrived, disingenuous and just plain awful. The first half is a (hokey, slightly nauseating) melodrama which predictably unfolds at a slow to moderate pace and peaks at the birth scene. Then, a lead character distastefully, predictably, and ludicrously mate bonds with the infant despite his longstanding love for the mother and adult male heterosexuality. Near the middle of the book, the pace modestly picks up as a deja vu confrontation starts developing. However, the fight preparations drag on and the potential dispute resolves without any climax or fighting. (It's a long, slow build-up to a big nothing.) Then, the story comes to a convenient, consequence-free end. I thoroughly enjoyed the first three books in this series, but this final installment was a disappointment.

    In addition to the plot and pace problems, I was particularly dissatisfied by the author's abandonment of the heroine's intelligent, self-questioning/doubting, insightful, girl-next-door characterization. During her honeymoon, the heroine (Bella) becomes uncharacteristically irrational, brainless and certain refusing to consider any termination of an unplanned, unnatural and deadly pregnancy. In doing so she conspires against Edward, her new vampire husband, who desperately wants her to have a medically necessary abortion. (Note, her cloying emotional certainty completely undermines her supposed intelligence, mental balance and/or any true empathy for Edward. Further, Bella's implied underlying 'pro-life' moral certainty indicates a hypocrisy which condones and/or does not oppose human-slaughtering vampires but resists reasonable/necessary life termination.)

    After the first person narrative switches to the heroine's previous love interest Jacob, he describes her deplorable physical condition, Edward's mental anguish, and, eventually, a horrifically gory (never-go-though childbirth) scene. (A sophomoric and/or overly generous/sentimental perspective might interpret Bella's suffering as self-sacrificing; however, any rationale mind is forced to recognize her incredible, indurate stupidity and self-absorbed disregard for those who love her as evidenced by her continuation of a pregnancy which is undeniably killing both her and her unborn fetus.)

    When the narrative returns to the heroine, Bella becomes remote, inaccessible and flawless without experiencing any of the control issues associated with vampirism, and she eventually gains unprecedented powers. At this point, a reader would have a greater chance of identifying and/or empathizing with a statue of the Virgin Mary than connecting with this 'super' Bella. In sum, Bella's character progression, (from cloyingly sentimental, mind-numbingly irrational incubator to long-suffering, half-witted, putrefying invalid culminating in an unassailable, vampiric paragon/protector), significantly soured this story for me.

    Similarly, Edward and Jacob (and others) are portrayed out-of-character in various parts of the book. (Most glaring is Jacob's mated bonding with Bella's baby daughter. It's contrary to Jacob's longstanding love for Bella and, when you think about it, perverted. Even if Jacob just gives the child what she needs in accordance with her age limitations, he has adult needs and his interest in Bella's baby daughter is downright unwholesome.) IMO, the author tries to shoehorn the characters into a bogus (happily-ever-after) scenario which isn't remotely believable.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    don't waste your time

    these series are so bad. they are the worst books i've ever read in my entire life.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    -Sigh-

    Wow. so many things i can say about this book... where to start? The author may have a bit of a good imagination, but no specail writting talent at all. If you disagre with me, you are probably under the age of 13.
    After finishing the series (reluctantly) i had to ask if it was meant to be a spoof in its self.
    Some parts just seem to be asking to be laughed at.
    Themain characters are annoying and unlikeable, at best. While reading i found myself liking the minnor charcters better.
    The book had a semi good begining, but was quickly ruined as it headed into what I have to admit is very original (and very unusual...) plot.
    I never really took this series seriously, i read it for a good laugh, and a bit of entertainment.
    Breaking Dawn did not dissapoint me! i laughed more then i thought i could at a book, and found my self rereading the 'funny parts'.
    If by some miracle, you have escaped the pointlessness of this series by reading it (lucky you...) I highly recomend you don't...

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    Ridiculous

    Bible

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    WOW!!!!---What a MONUMENTAL waste of paper

    I don't really know how else to say it....wasted paper. I mean, Every Single Character got Everything they Wanted, even if it meant restructuring that character so that he or she won't have to suffer...boo-friggin-hoo... How boring is that? ***SPOILER***, if you can call it that. I don't know that a book this terrible can be "spoiled" but I'm getting ready to rant about the ending... When the vulturi and the Cullens meet for the epic vampire war I thought, "finally, something worth reading." I can see it so clearly in my mind now...Dr Cullen plants a hand on his hip and points his finger and gives the Vulturi a good stern "talking to". Then the Vulturi leave and the book ends!!!!!!!!!!WHAT KIND OF ENDING IS THAT???????????????To say it's "anti-climatic" is a severe understatement. I could go on all day, but I'll stop here...wasted paper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    .....Evil Book

    Plain and simple the Breaking Dawn is a horribly written fanfic. Not worth the money to buy the book, it is too long and boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    pitty

    this book had innopropriate language i do niot reccomend this to children the ages of 0 - 5!please check out a wayyyyyyy better series called percyjackson! the movie is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Least Favorite of the Series

    I got through this only because after going through the other 3 (and loving them), I had to see it through. It was my least favorite of the series. The conclusion leaves it wide open for a 4th book - should she decide to write one. The whole baby thing was too much - way overdone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1