Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn Special Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

THE GREATEST AUTHOR OF OUR TIME!!

When I first finished this book, I was thinking about it for MONTHS after reading it. I finished the whole series in 3days because I couldn't seem to be able to put the book down. :) Stephanie Meyer is TRULY So Very Talented!!
This is one of my most Beloved Books of al...
When I first finished this book, I was thinking about it for MONTHS after reading it. I finished the whole series in 3days because I couldn't seem to be able to put the book down. :) Stephanie Meyer is TRULY So Very Talented!!
This is one of my most Beloved Books of all time!! And that is REALLY saying something! :)

posted by luv2beme4life333--xoxo on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Worthy read if you're under 14

I picked this series up based on a recommendation from a woman that i work with (not to mention the hyped up hysteria on the news and such) and was vastly disappointed. Stephanie Meyer, while being talented in the imagination department, lacks creating a stimulating and...
I picked this series up based on a recommendation from a woman that i work with (not to mention the hyped up hysteria on the news and such) and was vastly disappointed. Stephanie Meyer, while being talented in the imagination department, lacks creating a stimulating and conclusive series. Not to mention that she writes like a high schooler. All of the characters get exactly what they want in the end and the big struggle ends in non-violence and inaction. Hah! The first 3 books in the series are great in the fact that we can identify with Bella but once she turns into a vampire (which i laughed outright at) she turns into this boring non-entity that no one could identify with. My advice to all: only read if you like super fluffy endings.

posted by Catniss on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE GREATEST AUTHOR OF OUR TIME!!

    When I first finished this book, I was thinking about it for MONTHS after reading it. I finished the whole series in 3days because I couldn't seem to be able to put the book down. :) Stephanie Meyer is TRULY So Very Talented!!
    This is one of my most Beloved Books of all time!! And that is REALLY saying something! :)

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing series.

    I was never too much of a reader until I saw the first book in a library yeeaars ago. Once I read this, I really figured out what books I'd like to read more, what type, that is.
    Twilight is sort of slow at first, and if you're the anxious type this can be pretty bothersome. But at the end, you'll always be begging for the next book. When this final book came out, I couldn't believe the series was over.
    There's action, tons of romance, and some comedy. It's a very realistic book, also, for something that's scifi.
    Overall, I've ready plenty of books that don't even compare to this.
    If you've read this book, or any of the Twilight series and you like them, You'll definitely like the recommended ones I left below.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    Breaking Dawn

    I enjoyed all the twilight books, but Breaking Dawn was the best. I have read and listened to all the books. I wish Stephenie Meyer would cont. to develop the characters of Bella and Edward. I look foward to her future books.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Series

    I loved this series and I think this one is my favorite. There is a few twists in the plot to keep you guessing. You embrace the characters and feel what they are feeling. I love the switch of viewpoints between Bella and Jacob. I definitely will keep this in my library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Different and Awesome

    Best I have read in a long time. Wanting to read more but there's no more. Will read again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Breaking Dawn

    I read this book twice already and every time I read I love it, it goes from romantic challenge, to life's unexpected turns to thrilling unforgettable extraordinary drama. I couldn't put it down for second only to sleep.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!

    LOVED READING THE SERIES OF TWILIGHT... YOU WERE TAKEN INTO EVERY CHARACTER AND IT FELT AWESOME! I CAN'T WAIT TO READ MORE OF STEPHENIE MEYERS BOOKS... WOULD LIKE TWILIGHT TO CONTINUE... WHAT HAPPENS WITH RENESMEE?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Challenging Anne Rice for the Top

    This series is worthy of a read by any vampire story fan. Ms. Meyer brings love into the darkness of the immortals world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Really didn't think I would enjoy this as I am 66 years old

    I started this series because my niece sent me the first one, Twilight, for Christmas and out of respect for her and because she had been after me to read it, I decided to give it a try. Figured I could read a chapter or two and if I didn't care for it, I could fake it for her. Well imagine my surprise that after I started reading I couldn't put it down. Not only did I finish it in record time, I immediately went out and bought the second book, then the third and now the fourth, Breaking Dawn. Really thought this series was just for the young and since I am 66 years old believed I would not enjoy it. I couldn't have been more wrong. I highly recommend this book and the series to anyone who loves to read. Forget the fact that it was aimed for the younger people and just enjoy it. I will be forever grateful to my niece for "forcing" me into reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Great Series, Just loved it!

    I thought that the Twilight Series was fantastic! Breaking Dawn put everything the books had been leading to into there places. I would recommend this series to anyone, it was just great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Breaking Dawn

    I love this book. It was a page by page turner. Great visuals and amazing story line....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Love it!

    Stephanie Meyer is such a symbolic writer that I had no problem finding a deep meaning in something as simple as her title "breaking dawn" along with the chess peices found on the cover. My intuition told me after a few moments browsing the Twilight section in B&N that this book was going to be really good and without a doubt I enjoyed every waking minute of it. I am happy with her conclusion to the Twilight Saga and feel a deep magical love for the world she created. Is it weird that I am 32?....Ha, I don't care. Jacob is an angel in disguise while Edward is any woman's dream come true, but Bella takes the cake with her journey of self discovery and determination to make her dreams a reality. No matter how unreal they seem. Again....I simply love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps you reading

    The first two books in the series were a Christmas present to me and luckily I went and bought the rest of the series before the snow hit. Also bought The Host, not part of the series and written for adults.

    Adults who like vampire stories will like the series by Brian Lumley, Necroscope and Vamphyri series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    OMG my FAV!!

    Unlike most everyone else I meet that say Eclipse is their absolute favorite book of this series. Mine is Breaking Dawn. There is just so much going on in this book. To read and feel the the emotions going on in this novel had me hooked from beginning to end. The only time I put it down was when I unknowingly fell asleep somewhere in the wee hours of the morning. And as soon as I woke up, I picked up right where I left off. And who in their right mind doesn't love Stephanie for letting them create their own scene in their head of Isle Esme?! OMG! I won't even tell you what I saw/felt/etc. during certain parts of that! Let's just say, this novel would no longer be in the Teen Section. Anyhow, this whole series can give one a different perspective on life, love, and "forever". Again, if you haven't read this book, it is a must read! Thank you again Stephanie for such a wonderful escape from life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Best one of the series.

    I had a smile on my face through the first few capters. Going to Hawaii in a few months, & I can't wait to sit on the beach & reread this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    Loved it!

    I can't wait to read more of her work. Is a marvelous book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    star crossed vampiric love

    this is the perfect twist of love, mystery, desire, jealosy and trust. watch as these feuding races set aside there diferences, all to save there common love from the ranks of the voltori, will they save there youngest or die as one?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome in its Awfulness

    I'm going to be upfront with you: this book is TERRIBLE.

    HOWEVER. Therein lies its COMPLETE AWESOMENESS.

    The writing is mediocre at best, the characters are caricatures of themselves, and a series of absurd plot developments leads to a stunningly anti-climactic climax.

    And I laughed my way through the entire book.

    It is, quite honestly, the most enjoyable, most hilarious book I read in the summer of 2008. At several points in the story, I very nearly fell off of the couch for laughing so hard. There were CAPSLOCKED POSTS OF GLEE in my LiveJournal, sections read aloud to incredulous family members, and general merriment in abundance.

    If you take the Twilight series seriously, you will probably loathe Breaking Dawn. But if in the course of your reading, you've come to the realisation of the lulziness of the Twilight series, I guarantee that Breaking Dawn will be your favorite of the four.

    I have even told friends who haven't read the first three books that they should read Breaking Dawn for no other reason than sheer entertainment value. I *love* this book and re-read my favorite hilariously awful parts whenever I need a quick pick-me-up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    love the series

    it's hard to put the books down once you start reading them

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read (Heck read it twice or more)

    I picked up the First one, well after the movie had come out, I even waited to read it after my mother, sister and best friend told me to go and get the book and read it, I kept putting it off saying I was trying to read something else first....BIGGEST MISTAKE I ever made. Once I picked up these books I couldn't put them down. The characters have been written so well you can't help but to love/hate them as you should. I was torn between two men just as Bella was. I staied up all night reading these books. I couldn't stop talking about the books at work while I was reading them, I talked about them so much that I got others to read them after I was done, they also love them. I cried when it was over because I just wanted more.
    These books stay with you after your done (So much so that I'm reading them all for the 4th time and I've only had them a month)
    I have to say that I'm hoping that Stephenie Meyer will finish writing Midnight Sun (I wouldn't care if it was 5,000 pages) Heck I wish she would write all of the books from Edwards point of view....I just can't get enough.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10