Customer Reviews for

Breaking Dawn Special Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

THE GREATEST AUTHOR OF OUR TIME!!

When I first finished this book, I was thinking about it for MONTHS after reading it. I finished the whole series in 3days because I couldn't seem to be able to put the book down. :) Stephanie Meyer is TRULY So Very Talented!!
This is one of my most Beloved Books of al...
When I first finished this book, I was thinking about it for MONTHS after reading it. I finished the whole series in 3days because I couldn't seem to be able to put the book down. :) Stephanie Meyer is TRULY So Very Talented!!
This is one of my most Beloved Books of all time!! And that is REALLY saying something! :)

posted by luv2beme4life333--xoxo on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Worthy read if you're under 14

I picked this series up based on a recommendation from a woman that i work with (not to mention the hyped up hysteria on the news and such) and was vastly disappointed. Stephanie Meyer, while being talented in the imagination department, lacks creating a stimulating and...
I picked this series up based on a recommendation from a woman that i work with (not to mention the hyped up hysteria on the news and such) and was vastly disappointed. Stephanie Meyer, while being talented in the imagination department, lacks creating a stimulating and conclusive series. Not to mention that she writes like a high schooler. All of the characters get exactly what they want in the end and the big struggle ends in non-violence and inaction. Hah! The first 3 books in the series are great in the fact that we can identify with Bella but once she turns into a vampire (which i laughed outright at) she turns into this boring non-entity that no one could identify with. My advice to all: only read if you like super fluffy endings.

posted by Catniss on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of the best books in our generation. Stephani

    This is one of the best books in our generation. Stephanie Meyer kept me hooked on to the series until the very end. I kept on thinking about the book months after I read!
    This is a must read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    must read

    for young readers. It got my daughter off facebook and the phone to read. That says alot, then she's read the whole series more than once!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It's VERY discriptive and SOOOO detailed that It was my favorite book out of the 4!!!!!

    I love this book. It is so discriptive and so detailed that it blew my mind. You can tell that Stephanie Meyer took her time making this book. And the ending was so sweet. It left me in awe at how wonderful it was. What Edward wanted to do, which was read Bella's mind, he finally got to do. But he said that it made him happy and sad that he couldn't read her mind. In Eclipse, chapter Fire and Ice, he told Jacob that he was happy that he couldn't read her mind because it made Bella happy. But sometimes he wishes he could.

    Altogether, it was an awesome book. I completly reccomend it to ANYONE over the age of 10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Addicting series....NOT just for young readers!!!

    An easy, enjoyable read. I was scepticle at first. I mean, VAMPIRES, really?? But trust me, READ THE BOOKS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Twilight Book that Captures the Reader and Won't Let Go!

    Absolutely wonderful! I can't say enough about this series of books. As you dive into the book the characters become friends, making it nearly impossible to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Maybe the Best of the Series?

    Breaking Dawn was probably my favorite book outside of the original Twilight. While reading Breaking Dawn I couldn't read or turn the pages fast enough to find out what happened next. This by far is Stephanie Meyer's most suspensful book out of the whole series, however, it does leave me wondering what could happen next. Meyer could definitely make a spin-off series from the end of this book and I would read each one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Twilight Breaking Dawn. AWSOME - I am a teacher in a Middle School and the kids and I have shared many hours of discussion going over the series and comparing it to the movies. We loved all the books in the Saga.

    Some of the words in the book are not words that our kids would use on a regular basis. But it challanges them to read and find out what the meanings are. We are reading the books and then we get to watch the movies and talk about what the differences are--and which they like better and why. Beleive it or not we all love the books better. Althought we throughly enjoy the movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Read it as many times as I could

    LOVE the series and this is my favorite from all the series. The story is such an entertaining book that I want the story to continue on with Jacob and Renesmee. I can't wait for the movie to come out and I hope the writer sticks to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    this was an excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    May be the best book I've ever read.

    I believe that Stephanie Meyer is an extremely talented author, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading the entire Twilight Saga.
    I've read and re-read all of the books, and I am a huge fan. However, this book is my favorite. It introduces new characters, new passions and struggles, and Bella's newfound love for her child.
    There is passion, romance, thrills, and excitement. I would have to say, it may be the best book I've ever read. And I would highly recommend this book to anyone, of any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Breaking Dawn

    I very much enjoyed the book. I think it was an entertaining story and very captivating. The only thing I think it lacked was a good ending. I wanted to read more of a happy life with Eward and Bella after all they just went through. It left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book series is about a girl who loves a vampire.

    honeymoon with Edward, which they spend on a private island off the coast of Brazil. Two weeks into their honeymoon, Bella realizes that she is pregnant and that her condition is progressing at an unnaturally accelerated rate. After contacting Carlisle, who confirms her pregnancy, she and Edward immediately return home to Forks, Washington. Edward, concerned for Bella's life and convinced that the fetus is a monster as it continues to develop with unnatural rapidity, urges her to have an abortion. However, Bella feels a connection with the child and refuses.

    The novel's second part is written from the perspective of wolf shape-shifter Jacob Black, and lasts throughout Bella's pregnancy and childbirth. Jacob's Quileute wolf pack, not knowing what danger the unborn child may pose, plan to destroy it, also killing Bella. Jacob vehemently protests this decision and leaves, forming his own pack with Leah and Seth Clearwater. Bella soon gives birth, but the baby breaks many of her bones and she loses massive amounts of blood. In order to save her life, Edward changes her into a vampire by injecting his venom into her heart. Jacob, who was present for the birth, almost immediately "imprints"-an involuntary response in which a shape-shifter finds his soul mate-on Edward and Bella's newborn daughter, Renesmee.

    The third section of Breaking Dawn shifts back to Bella's perspective, finding her changed into a vampire and enjoying her new life and abilities. However, the vampire Irina misidentifies Renesmee as an "immortal child", a child who has been turned into a vampire. Because "immortal children" are uncontrollable, creating them has been outlawed by the Volturi. After Irina presents her allegation to the Volturi, they plan to destroy Renesmee and the Cullens. In an attempt to survive, the Cullens gather other vampire clans from around the world to stand as witnesses and prove to the Volturi that Renesmee is not an immortal child. Upon confronting the gathered Cullen allies and witnesses, the Volturi discover that they have been misinformed and immediately execute Irina for her mistake. However, they remain undecided on whether Renesmee should be viewed as a threat to vampires' secret existence. At that time, Alice and Jasper, who had left prior to the confrontation, return with a Mapuche called Nahuel, a 150-year-old vampire-human crossbreed like Renesmee. He demonstrates that the crossbreeds pose no threat, and the Volturi surrender. Edward, Bella and Renesmee return to their home in peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Fiction!

    Read the books before seeing the movies. I wish Stephanie Meyer would continue the twilight series. When you finish reading the 4 books in the series, you are left wanting more. These books draw you in and won't let you go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Breaking Dawn - A Good Wrap

    I found this fourth book a very good ending to the Twilight series. The story was intriguing, the different perspectives gave a new light to the story that wasn't there before. All four of the books are great for another read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    thrilling

    ! 100% perfect! Bella learns how to let Edward read her mind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    This book is an exciting and stimulating end to the Twilight saga. I have very much liked reading all of the Twilight books and Breaking Dawn was no exception. Stephenie Meyer is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    A SATISFYING CONCLUSION TO THE SERIES

    I loved the whole TWILIGHT saga and wish I had had books like this to read when I was a teen. I could not turn the pages fast enough.

    I really identify with Bella who never is quite able to see herself as Edward sees her. But in the end she has a better sense of her own power and strength and how to use it.

    While I am sure many are tired of hearing about Twilight with the way the media hypes everything, I, for one, can't get enough. I hope Stephanie Meyer has more like this to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Breaking Dawn Special Edition

    My daughter absoulutely loves this series. This was one of the best gifts I could of gotten her. It your kids like the movie, it's a great idea to get the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I think this is the best book of all!!

    I really liked this book because Bella finally gets her wish!! And the book is well written and although I wish the series would continue, I do like the way this one ended. Can't wait for the movie!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Huge Twilight freak right Here.

    I love Stephenie Meyer's Twilight Saga, So overall I have no complaints. The book does kinda falls into lull at some points, and the climax ended to quickly, but the book ending was perfect to me, I don't see what all the complaints were about. Like I said I'm huge twilight fan and Stephenie Meyer is one of top favorite authors. I will most definitely continue to follow her career in my reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10