Customer Reviews for

Breaking Nova

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Thanks Jessica

I almost didnt read this because of some of the reviews. Im glad I reconsidered. I see complaints about it being too dark, depressing and too much drug use. Life is not all butterflies and fairytales people. Just take a look around and past the filter we all can put ove...
I almost didnt read this because of some of the reviews. Im glad I reconsidered. I see complaints about it being too dark, depressing and too much drug use. Life is not all butterflies and fairytales people. Just take a look around and past the filter we all can put over our eyes. Was I shocked?..absolutely not. Jessica's characters all have something dark in their lives and we get to read the amazing journey they go through to find themselves. This story is very real and the demons that Nova and Quinton live are close to what so many people have dealt with in real life. Thank you Jessica for your wonderful gift. Im sure you had to go to a dark place to put some of this on paper. I just wish we didnt have to wait so long for the next two books!

posted by 11653245 on September 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Bummer

I've loved Jessica's writing but this, this was bad. Super dark, made me feel depressed and not in the good way that books can do to pull you in. The drugs and talk and descriptions of the suicide was all just too much. Not her best writing in my opinion. I think it was...
I've loved Jessica's writing but this, this was bad. Super dark, made me feel depressed and not in the good way that books can do to pull you in. The drugs and talk and descriptions of the suicide was all just too much. Not her best writing in my opinion. I think it was even a waste of just $1.00! I'm sorry if I sound cruel and/or rude but this book was just horrible for my taste.

posted by 17032560 on September 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    ?..

    I think the problem with this book is Jessica hasn't written a book like this. She just need practice.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    I loved this book. It was dark, but honest. A total tearjerker,

    I loved this book. It was dark, but honest. A total tearjerker, but worth the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    NOVA

    Nook Ebook Vanguard Alliance. Alliances welcome. Post on res 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Raw & inspiring

    Jessica has done it again. I loved the callie and kaden series and this one was just as good. I love stories that go back and forth between the perspective of two characters, such as this one. Two lost, conflicted souls with similar issues form an undeniable bond. While quinton crashes and burns, nova pulls it together and finds herself in the end. This book was raw to the core, and the author held nothing back, loved it! Can't wait to read the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    For all you haters

    If you dont like to read the truth about life, then dont read it!! This stuff is real and you shouldnt down grade a book because its not a fairytale. Suicide is real. Drugs are real.

    I personally really injoyed this book and cant wait for the 3rd one to be released.

    This is about pain and suffering andvthe nity griddy details of life that get thrown under the rug.

    This book is really gripping and emotional and draws you in from the beginning and keeps you there throughout until the end.

    AND YES...there is a cliffhanger...which would be why i would give it a 4.5 instead of a 5 because those are really annoying. Nobody likes a cliffhanger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Wow

    What can I say Jessica Sorensen has a way of getting you so involved in her story. This book had me crying in the first few pages. Felt so sad for Nova but loved how she finally turned it around. Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    I loved this book.

    Once I started reading Breaking Nova I couldn't stop. The book is sad, almost haunting and you're rooting for Nova to find herself as each page turns. If you've lost anyone in your life this book will definitely hit home for you, as it did for me. I won't say too much more, I don't want to spoil the book. I promise you wont be let down if you choose to read this one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Pritteh guud

    (Pretty good lol) it was a little short but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Oh.

    I adore this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Hemshade

    You should continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Pretty good

    &star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Jay

    Dat is awesome...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    The Boy With the Sugar Cubes- Prolouge

    One. <br>
    Two. <p>
    I count off the time. Nothing could stop me from breaking free if I wasn't restrained to the tiny cot I call home. A spot on the wall hypnotizes me and soon a high-pitched buzs fills my ears until I grit my teeth and clamp them shut until my eyes force themselves to close. The bloody back of my mind is calm, for just one second. But before I can gratefully take in the calm, I hear gunfire and the crushing of glass. <p>
    The first attack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Heart Wrenching.

    This book is so real. I felt like it was so insightful to what it is really like dealing with depression. I think Jessica Sorenson does a great job of talking about the hard parts of life. Can't wait to see how healing comes for these two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Oh what can I say !!! I really loved it!!!

    This is such a good book!!! So much is like the real world we live in!! Very heart touching!!! Ready for the next one!!! Great job Jessica!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Let me say first that I love Jessica Sorensen as an author. The

    Let me say first that I love Jessica Sorensen as an author. The writing was not bad. The characters and the story just bothered me. I could not connect. Nova just could not get over Landon. Yes, she knew him for a long time, but they only dated for 6 months before she found him dead. Nova was out to find out why Landon did what he did, but she did not want to look at the tape he made. That made no sense to me. I felt like I was missing something.
    Quinton has gone through his own grief. I actually felt sorry for him and all that he was going through and no one to help him. When Nova and Quinton meet, Nova thinks that Quinton is Landon since they look very similar. Nova thought by getting to know Quinton, she could better understand Landon. That bothered me throughout the rest of the story and made it hard for me to connect. When I thought I was feeling a connection, Nova would say or think something that would again aggravate me and the connection would be lost.
    This could have been a great story with two people who suffered and found each other. However, it took too long to get there with Nova and her thoughts about Landon who I really did not see anything redeeming.
    A copy was provided by Forever (Grand Central Publishing) via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Love

    Cannot wait until the next books. Loved the emotion in it and *LITTLE SPOILER ALERT* I hope Quinton finds a way to get out of that life not only for Nova but himself too. Very good Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    A story of two beautifully broken souls

    Breaking Nova presents a realistic and moving story line with realistic characters. Nova Reed and Quinton Carter carry the cross of their past experiences painfully each day. Both feeling guilt and trapped within their own minds. Depression and remorse consumes them everyday that they don’t know how to find the light at the end of the tunnel.

    Nova has had a hard life with losing her father at a young age and the recent death of her boyfriend. Landon unexpected death sent Nova’s world in a destructive whirl wind because she thought they would be together forever. Nova spends everyday trying to find control of her own life and find the answers behind Landon’s death. She can’t bring herself to break away from the invisible chains that detain her to live her old lifestyle again.

    Before Landon’s death Nova dreamed of becoming a famous drummer and living her happily ever after with the love her life. She now struggles to find peace and happiness and turns to things she never would have considered doing before. Everything changes once she lays her eyes on Quinton. There is a spark of life, a second chance, a feeling of passion as he enters her life.

    Quinton reminds Nova of Landon with his intense and saddened honey brown eyes. As they get to know one another its as if their lost souls find a connection. Quinton has had a rough life with his mother dying at his birth, and being in a car accident that took the life of his beloved girlfriend and cousin. Quinton briefly died on site but they were able to revive him.

    He hates that he was given a second chance at life because he feels solely responsible for the death. A piece of Quinton died that night since his life now consists of drugs and wallowing in regret. Nova makes him feel like there is a chance to be happy again, but his depression and issues outweigh his feelings for her. He struggles with his self-conflict of coming to terms with his past and starting over.

    <i>Breaking Nova</i> is written in dual prospective which is amazing since we get to pick at the psyche of Nova and Quinton. Sorensen successfully once again pulls you into her addictive story with her passionate and meaningful words. The angst love story will have you in tears, break your heart and mend it with a hopeful happy ending. The amount of detail and imagery will allow you to feel the raw and painful emotions that Nova and Quinton endured. Sorensen places you in the middle of the book and you can feel, see, taste, and hear all the experiences that consumed Nova and Quinton’s life.
    Sorensen ends with a wicked cliff-hanger that will leave you longing to know what lies ahead for Nova and Quinton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Pack being made

    Beauty and the wolf res 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This has got to be the most depressing book I ever read. Honestl

    This has got to be the most depressing book I ever read. Honestly, I was expecting that type of read. I expected it to be dark and edgy but this story just made me sad.

    Plot: So this plot is very depressing. The first half of the book was going back into the character past and seeing their pain. I mean, these characters leave in it every…single…day. I mean, their thoughts are always so sad, so self- blaming and so depressing that I honestly believer that this book is nothing but a downer. These characters do have hurtful past, so I get it, but…they just carry so much on their shoulder is hard to even see past it and see if they will be able to move on.

    Love: This love is very hard. I mean, you can’t even call it a love because their is no time to love since their past is consuming them every single moment. I was very curious as to how this author will turn things around. I can tell you this. There is no love but really a developing friendship. Because you can love someone if you don’t love yourself and these characters do not love theirself. They are sad 24/7 and it really just gets (and sorry to say this) annoying. It’s always about the past. It always about how they feel and the hurt they lie with. I get it. I do. But…this love can not happen without some kind of turn around.

    Turn Around: Finally at the end of the book, Nova gets it. She finally has a break through and HALLELUJAH! She is once again a character I can read about. Not some depressing person constantly crying and whining. (Sorry but it’s true). Since this turn around did happen, I’m curious and scared to see how the next book will go. Being that this book is soooo depressing, I can only imagine what will happen to Quinton. That boy has some major demons following him. At this point, I’m a little nervous.

    This book is okay. If you don’t like characters that are constantly whining, crying, always thinking about the past 24/7 this book might not be for you. On the other hand, if you enjoy such great emotions/drama, then read this book. But I must warn you so be cautious since this plot can be depressing. Breaking Nova is a good, heart-felt book that takes a hard journey of letting go. Certainly a very kind of different read, Breaking Nova is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7