BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Breaking Out of Bedlam

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Disappointed

    After reading the oneline review, I thought I would give this book a try. What a huge disappointment. The concept of the story could have been good, as was the beginning. The story was just fair and the further it went the worse it became. I was not sure I would even finish it, but worked my way thru it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Not as good as it started out to be

    I bought this based on a preview, and I was disappointed that the rest of the book did not quite live up to the promise. It was just ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HEARTFELT

    HILARIOUS!!!!! IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A LIGHT HEARTED, HAND CLAPPING, GOOD FEELING SUMMER READ, LOOK NO MORE THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. I COULD NOT STOP LAUGHING AS I ATTEMPTED TO READ THIS BOOK. LARSON HAS A GREAT SENSE OF HUMOR. CORA SLEDGE IS BEING FORCED OUT OF HER HOUSE AND INTO AN ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY. BUT CORA IS NOT TAKING THIS LYING DOWN. CORA DOES NOT WANT ANYTHING TO DO WITH THE PALISADES WHICH LOOKS BEAUTIFUL ON THE OUTSIDE, BUT THE INSIDE IS A WHOLE OTHER STORY. WHILE DETERMINED TO DIE IN THIS FACILITY, CORA BEGINS TO WRITE A TELL-ALL JOURNAL ABOUT HER LIFE. CORA IS UNLEASHING ALL OF HER SECRETS AND REGRETS AND LETTING THE CHIPS FALL WHERE THEY MAY. BUT WHEN CORA STUMBLES UPON A ROMANCE WITH ONE OF THE FELLOW RESIDENTS THINGS START TO CHANGE. THIS WILL DEFINITELY BE ONE OF YOUR GREAT READS. ENJOY...........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!

    I love this book! It's funny, a little sad and too truthful as it reveals how life really can be for many older people who get forced into an assisted living facility by have relatives that think they cannot live alone.
    Ms. Larson's main character, Cora Sledge, seems like one of your own family as her story unfolds in the journals she begins writing in during her stay at the Palisades. She climbs out of her pill-popping funk and creates a new, stronger and wiser Cora. Cora is a hoot and yet so vulnerable in her discovery that SHE can take her life back and "break out of bedlam".
    Kudos to Leslie Larson for writing such a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    An Imperfect Person

    Have you ever wondered what life events have shaped a difficult person, someone you prefer to keep at arms length or would rather not have around at all? Leslie Larson has us consider our moral judgment of people (who perhaps we have disregarded along the way) through the development of her protagonist, Cora Sledge. Cora, a recent resident of an assisted living facility, weighs in at about three hundred pounds and exists somewhere between an off-putting manner and just below the haze of a pill-induced fog. We are pulled into Cora's story as she journals about the daily happenings at her new "so called home." Through Cora's writing, she evolves and we gain a rare glimpse at her past dreams, disappointments, tragedies and sorrows and find that she is after all human, and not too unlike each of us. A surprisingly good read that has us looking for more from Leslie Larson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    Fantastic Read

    This book was fantastic. I was hooked from the first page and zipped through. Cora was delightful and multi-faceted and her observations about her fellow "inmates" were just hilarious. More importantly, she grew immensely as a person even as she grew smaller in size as she reflected on her life, especially the parts that were painful to review. A well-rounded novel, full of interesting people and insights. I highly recommend it. My best friend and I are hoping for a possible sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Great book!

    I liked this book from start to finish, it was an entertaining tale of an elderly woman who refuses to give up her dream of going back to live in her own home. I was afraid it was going to be depressing, since it's set in a nursing home (assisted living center), but it wasn't. I enjoyed Cora's writing in her journal about the secrets she's held onto for all these years. I'm looking forward to more from Ms. Larson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1