Customer Reviews for

Breaking Point

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Incredible

When i first picked up Braking Point, I figured it would be so boring and be another book about a kid being bullied. This book was soo amazing, it really let you understand the mindset of someone who is bullied/peer pressured. Paul did anything to keep Charlie as a frie...
When i first picked up Braking Point, I figured it would be so boring and be another book about a kid being bullied. This book was soo amazing, it really let you understand the mindset of someone who is bullied/peer pressured. Paul did anything to keep Charlie as a friend. While i was reading i kept thinking why doesnt he just forget about charlie, but as it was ending i realized that all he wanted was a friend. Braking Point is a exellent read and i promise you won't be disapointed.

posted by aj95 on August 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I had to pick between this book and three others to read for sch

I had to pick between this book and three others to read for school and I'm glad I chose this over Lord Of The Flies. When I started reading, it was very good. It grabbed me and had detailed, entertaining text. I flew through the book about four fifths of the way bef...
I had to pick between this book and three others to read for school and I'm glad I chose this over Lord Of The Flies. When I started reading, it was very good. It grabbed me and had detailed, entertaining text. I flew through the book about four fifths of the way before it kind of just changed. The plot seemed to get lost and the writing and dialogue was no longer descriptive and enticing. It was as if the author put all he had into the beginning of the book, but never really planned how he was going to end it, so he improvised and made an ending up on the fly. Some parts would seem like major foreshadowing and then turn out to be nothing, which really made me angry. Honestly, I wouldn't recommend this to any of my friends for an out-of-school read, but I liked it enough to finish it and am convinced that I enjoyed it much more than I would have enjoyed Lord Of The Flies, which I was going to choose initially. All in all, it's kind of half and half depending on what kind of book you like. Most kids my age would probably not notice how poor the writing got at the end if they liked the beginning enough, but I was able to pick up on Alex Flinn's apparent loss of interest or desire to finish the book strongly. It was not particularly impactful and therefore won't stick with me like other novels have in the past.

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    I had to pick between this book and three others to read for sch

    I had to pick between this book and three others to read for school and I'm glad I chose this over Lord Of The Flies. When I started reading, it was very good. It grabbed me and had detailed, entertaining text. I flew through the book about four fifths of the way before it kind of just changed. The plot seemed to get lost and the writing and dialogue was no longer descriptive and enticing. It was as if the author put all he had into the beginning of the book, but never really planned how he was going to end it, so he improvised and made an ending up on the fly. Some parts would seem like major foreshadowing and then turn out to be nothing, which really made me angry. Honestly, I wouldn't recommend this to any of my friends for an out-of-school read, but I liked it enough to finish it and am convinced that I enjoyed it much more than I would have enjoyed Lord Of The Flies, which I was going to choose initially. All in all, it's kind of half and half depending on what kind of book you like. Most kids my age would probably not notice how poor the writing got at the end if they liked the beginning enough, but I was able to pick up on Alex Flinn's apparent loss of interest or desire to finish the book strongly. It was not particularly impactful and therefore won't stick with me like other novels have in the past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible

    When i first picked up Braking Point, I figured it would be so boring and be another book about a kid being bullied. This book was soo amazing, it really let you understand the mindset of someone who is bullied/peer pressured. Paul did anything to keep Charlie as a friend. While i was reading i kept thinking why doesnt he just forget about charlie, but as it was ending i realized that all he wanted was a friend. Braking Point is a exellent read and i promise you won't be disapointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Summary

    This book is about a boy named paul who always was the tall outcast who wanted to fit in. He meet a girl named blinky befor school started. They were good friends until he met charlie, a cool, prep boy who was a tennis play. Who turn off his world upside down. It all start with there secret club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Carly

    Climbs the biggest snd dune ad watches the bay, the wind making her glossy black hair ripple

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Domino

    Sits on the shore arms wrapped around my knees as the water laps at my bare feet my shoes near by

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Sam

    Her golden blomde wavy hair blew in the wind. Also jer blue eyes turned soft green." Gotta be U Harry S. Hotta be U."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    BEACH

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    All the same

    I have not read the book but i have read other books by alex flinn and read what her other books are about. Now I don't know if it is just me or not , but doesn't it seem like all of her books are alike in some way. The poor person at a rich school, that reminds me of Lindy from Beastly and Beastly: Lindy's Diary. Now, do not get me wrong I love the author and I would love to read all of her books. I want to read this book. Sounds good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    A must read story that shows the darker side of reality

    In Alex Flinn's story breaking point, the first line of his authors note is "I write about the things that scare me". Breaking point is a story about desperstely trying to fit in. Fitting in is something we all long for. Some of us "fit in", some of us don't. Breaking point makes those who do fit in wonder if they really do want to fit in with the people they are friends with. Are your "friends" really your friends or are they just using you? Would they take a bullet for you? Would you take a bullet for them? In breaking point the story is written so well that seems like it is a troubling story that a person would see on the national news about teen violence and teen rebellion. The reality of this story makes anyone who reads it connect with the characters but more importantly connect with themselves. After reading this story I felt guilty for all the times I might have picked on somebody. I also felt guilty for the times I may of missed with my "true friends". But the thing that stuck with me the most is that anybody no matter their background could reach the "Breaking Point" where they have nothing to loose and just want to make the people that have them suffer pay the ultimate price. In the last line of Alex Flinn's authors note at the end of breaking point, he says, "Although we can not excuse the acts of kids like Paul, we must try to understand them, it is the first step to preventing them." This book will always stick with me and will make me wonder how this book relates to my life, but on an even greater scale it makes me wonder how it relates to the cold and dark world around me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BREAKING POINT!

    The book Breaking Point is about a 15 year old boy named Paul Richmond that has just moved to Miami and has to go to a private Christian school with a bunch of preppy rich snobs. Paul himself is a bit of a loser, and has never had many friends as a child because he moves quite a bit because his dad is in the navy. His parents recently split up because his father got a woman pregnant. So he is now living with his mom that is driving him insane in a poor apartment. Paul will do anything to get some friends and be popular. So when the most popular junior guy in the school wants Paul to be in his mailbox smashing group, Paul is overjoyed. He begins to neglect his mother for his new friends and their perfect lives. The end is a shock, and I really loved this book. I love the author Alex Flinn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Breaking Point by Alex Flinn

    Breaking Point is an execellent book. It really gets into detail about how hard being a new kid really is. Paul a new student at Gate High School in Florida and has trouble fitting in. His parents divorced and he now lives with his mom in an apartment. His mom is always pulling his hair for one reason or another and she left his dad for him. Paul is a tall guy and hangs out with the 'uncool' kids and gets all this negative attention, from smelly stuff in his locker to being called names. He gets sick of it and somehow gets the attention of the coolest kid in school, Charlie. They hang-out on weekends and are new best friends. Charlie is not only the coolest kid in school but likes to do pranks. Not just putting a woopy cushion under your chair but much more violent and it has a toll on Paul throughout the book. This book teaches a valuable lesson about loyalty and how big you will go just to get some attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    one of the best ive read.

    this book was, as i said in the title, one of the best books ive ever read. the way charlie manipulated everyone, twisted their minds, to get things exactly how he wanted, really got me into the book. and all the high school drama, the way charlie was messed up in the head, how paul is like a doormat, the way those girls were treating paul on the beach (which made me wanna knock their teeth out).. i just loved the book lol. i read this book in about 3 days, and i'm definitely going to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    'Pain, Death, and Friendship'

    Breaking Point is a book about a teenage boy named Paul Richmond. His parents got a divorce a while ago after his dad got his secretary pregnant. Paul lives with his mom, they just moved to a place named Gate. They moved there because his mom got a job working at the school. Paul is an outcast he has one friend named Binky. After a while at school a rich, popular kid named Charlie Good wants to be his friend. Charlie and Paul crush mailboxes and drink alcohol late at night with some of Charlie¿s other friends. This goes on for a while and Charlie has Paul do other stuff that is bad. Then one time Charlie asks Paul to do something very bad. Will he do it? Read the book to find out. I liked this book a lot. I didn¿t like how the story started off slow and how it didn¿t give a conclusion to the book. Other than that I thought everything was great about this book. It did get a little confusing at times. It was confusing sometimes when Paul wasn¿t talking, like if It switched to Charlie talking. This book is not part of a series. Breaking Point does not remind me really of any other books or shows that I have seen or read. Alex Flinn did a great job of writing this book well, and it is a must read. If you like adventure books, this is a good book for you. Also if you like to read books that you cannot put down, this book is perfect for you. I think this book would be enjoyed by people over twelve because there is some mature content in it. Breaking Point is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Breaking Point

    I thought this book was great. It shows just how far people are willing to go for the things they want. It also brings to the attention just how much of this is true and how many kids are going through this all the time. I believe reading this book helps understand it a lot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    Sad yet true but an amazing story.

    Three days ago, my English teacher told us to find a book to read in the library. I didn't want to bother starting a new book because it wont get done if it's lame and boring. So I randomly opened a page in the middle, saw an intimate part and decided,'what the hell, i'll check it out.' There I was in my room, eyes practically glued to the book! I could have finished last night but I wanted to read more the next day, leaving the last two chapters after the school incident that brought my attention to the max. I couldn't believe a found another book that I couldn't let go! I highly recommend this book to anyone really. And if by any chance, you grew up in a military family (such as my mom), you will understand the true feelings of Paul. But anyways, read it for yourself and you'll never regret reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    Breaking Point

    My parents were like totally stoked when they found out I was reading a book. And I was all like...Its okay Mom, this is totally the best book in the whole world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    relate to this...

    Breaking Point by Alex Flinn is a remarkable book. Flinn writes about the impossible years of high school that Paul Richmond must push through. Although with Paul¿s exceptionally hard case to get past, he goes through more than anyone can imagine, adding excitement and more things than ever to relate to. Paul must go from being an absolute misfit throughout the whole school to being one of the most popular teens there; although of course, with a crazy experience like this, there has to be a twist. Flinn pulls you through a torturous year of high school watching how one student, Charlie Good, can completely manipulate another, Paul Richmond, then ditch him at the end, where Paul hits rock bottom and could use nothing more than a good friend. I found Flinn¿s choice of events, and the order in which they occurred, added up to her creating a spectacular book that¿s easy for virtually everyone to share similar feelings and experiences with. Being able to connect with the book so well simply makes it that much more likeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    Great Book

    This book, paints a great picture on how hard it is for teens today have to deal with at school. This book took me back to my High School days and made me think of all the stupid stuff I did for the aprove of others. The reader should learn from this book that its okay to be different and not one of the clones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2004

    a look at pressure in schools

    This book was awesome! Cuz people do this stuff to make friends and to be seen. They'll believe the unbelieveable and they'll do what you ask becuz u have wat they want. you have popularity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    A fantastic book

    Breaking point was like a Shattering Glass, except less happened to the main character. Although this book is wonderful, and has the same sneaky characters, it doesn't hold the same magic as Shattering. I still recomend this book highly with all my heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2