Customer Reviews for

Breaking Point (Joe Pickett Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Spellbinding!

Kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't stop reading!

posted by 5817709 on March 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Big disappointment

Caution: Contains spoilers

Both of the avid readers in our house have enjoyed C.J. Box's books for years, especially enjoyed his Joe Pickett books, which we keep and occasionally re-read. The everyman Joe Pickett has been an appealing character -- a family man who g...
Caution: Contains spoilers

Both of the avid readers in our house have enjoyed C.J. Box's books for years, especially enjoyed his Joe Pickett books, which we keep and occasionally re-read. The everyman Joe Pickett has been an appealing character -- a family man who gets involved in complex situations and constantly doubts if he is bright enough to solve them. The stories have incorporated balanced views of the often conflicting interests and concerns in the American West -- ranchers, hunters, tourists, environmentalists, developers, individual freedom, community responsibility. However, the last two books in the Pickett series have been major disappointments.

The latest, Breaking Point, reads like some right-wing anti-government pamphlet. The preceding one, Force of Nature, which focuses more on Nate Romanowski rather than Joe Pickett, could have been titled, Jason Bourne Wreaks Havoc Across the Mountain States. Force of Nature comes with a bullet tossing sequence that would work nicely as a comic-bookish, slow motion scene in a John Woo action movie and even includes a close encounter with Osama Bin Laden, of all people.

In Breaking Point the federal government is the primary enemy, although any level of government above Twelve Sleep County, WY is not to be trusted. Environmental regulations are excuses for destroying the dreams of average folk, including Pickett's wife Marybeth. Affirmative action puts unqualified, out-of-touch people into positions of authority. Most of the bureaucrats care only about promotions or holding on to their positions until retirement, and in either case, they will amorally follow even the most destructive orders without question. The main villain, a regional EPA official, is vindictive and evil, and he is able to pull off incredible feats. At one point, he completely flusters the maverick, out-spoken, strong-willed Wyoming Governor Rulon with merely a suggestion that the governor is showing ethnic bias. At another point, just by dropping a few names, he is able to convince the military to send in an armed drone for a missle strike against a fugitive murder suspect who is hiding out in the Wyoming mountains (with disastrous consequences, of course). Another of the breaking points in Breaking Point was the cameo appearance of Nate Romanowski near the end of the book, showing up to conduct some torture -- perhaps of the reader. It is almost as though Box's editor had advised that Romanowski is a popular character in the book series so working him into the story would improve marketability.

We still enjoy mysteries set in America's wilderness areas with solid protagonists who are not immune to human self-doubt and who have to balance their mystery-solving with family and work issues. Evidently a lot of other readers do too. Fortunately, those who were similarly disappointed with the latest offerings in the Joe Pickett series can find excellent alternatives, such as William Kent Krueger's Cork O'Connor series, Nevada Barr's Anna Pigeon series, and Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire series.

posted by SgtJimG on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Spellbinding!

    Kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't stop reading!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    I just can't get enough of C J Box's writing!  I've often said t

    I just can't get enough of C J Box's writing!  I've often said that a good book for me, is one with a great story line, or one with great writing,  Box's books are always the best of both! Each successive Joe Picket, Wyoming Fish and Game Warden, novel just gets better and better.  Characterization, descriptions, conflicts between good and evil, and the pull between legal justice and moral justice are enhanced by stories that connect to headlines of the day.  Box mixes each mystery, with a continuing family story, and a fictional accounting of non-fiction reality. 




    When one of Joe's friends is accused of murder, Joe becomes involved in ways that he'd never imagined.  Lyle, and his wife, have finally gotten a piece of land on which to build their own home.  Permits in hand, Lyle begins grading the land when EPA employees come and demand that he return the land to exactly as he's found it previously.  The fine for not doing so will be $70,000 a day.  And why is this happening?  Lyle is told it's because his land has been declaimed 'protected wetlands'. With no water at all on his land, he questions this declaration.  But no one at the EPA has any paperwork , nor are they answering his repeated phone calls.  So this story begins, and ends in disaster when two EPA agents are murdered, and an all out man hunt is begun by the EPA to "kill the murderer."




    This case is based on a real case in North Dakota, that bends credulity.  There are other actions , also based on "truth" that just may blow your mind.  Joe is caught up in the manhunt, as determined by the Governor, but the more and more that things progress, Joe begins to realize that there is something more that just doesn't make sense.  An edge of your seat story keeps the suspense until the very last page!!  I think I love you C J Box!!!!  Never stop telling stories in books!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Bad

    It is oppsite day

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    I loved it

    If you think that having a drone takes out a sniper is to far fetched than I suggest you wake up. Today the FBI uses drones! Loved the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I can't leave C.J.'s books alone. I was in the middle of another book and quit to read his and finished it in 2 sittings in one day. Can't wait for Highway in July. Joe Pickett and his family are wonderful examples of a hard working American family doing the right thing with a tight family bond. Keep up the good work C.J. as I'll be out here waiting for your next episode.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Stunning, passionate and haunting thriller

    Wow

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    I love this book and the reality of the scenarios that are takin

    I love this book and the reality of the scenarios that are taking place in our real world, right now. I must take issue with "SGT Jim" and other anonymous high-talking, low stand-up folks that don't like the reality for real working folks of the government running amok, but if they feel that strongly about that then they should list their names and not hit and run behind Anonymous. There is no justification for rating C.J. Box's books at a one star just because they aren't happy about others real working folks belief that the EPS, Homeland Security, etc. are working against the citizens. If they believe they can defend them then do so and give valid reasons in a stand alone environment and not rate an author of great merit at a one star because they don't believe the book put forward their Progressive agenda. Very unprofessional. Typical Liberal with their panties in a wad. I bet they couldn't camp with a 5th wheeler. Tell the truth or go home to mommie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Exciting reading!

    Like all the Joe Pickett books, lots of action, fighting for what is right, and love of family!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    I have loved the entire series, starting with #1

    The Joe Pickett series has been my very favorite series ever! I started with one and have read them all this winter. Breaking point did not let me down. The characters have all aged and matured in a profound way. I have already pre-ordered # 14. I must say, I have learned a lot about the north west and the animals that inhabit the area. The stories take place in the present but they still have a feeling of the old west. I have loved all of the Joe Pickett series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Fine read- Give it a try.

    I am a fan of C.J. Box. He's not a complicated writer yet he has a few twists in his books that throw you off. Never expected what the end would be in this book. I like that he is a family man. Loves his wife and kids. Joe's friend Nate, loyal and tough. Descriptions of the Wyoming country that Joe patrols makes the books even more appealing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Always riveting storylines, from the first paragraph.

    Can't praise this series enough. I only wish Mr. Box could crank them out faster.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Awesome.. absolutely awesome.    C. J. Box is still on his game.

    Awesome.. absolutely awesome.    C. J. Box is still on his game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I started the C.J.Box series this spring. A good friend and author recommended that I read his books and I haven't been able to stop reading! Joe Pickett is so real. The descriptions of the natural surroundings and events are highly detailed. You feel as though you are in the middle of the action. This is a great series for problem solvers who want plots that reveal human and animal nature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Another great read

    And a reminder that there are still good caring people as well as how important our land and wildlife are

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Joe Pickett does it again

    Joe Puckett is an outdoors-man who has managed to tick off many of the bureaucrats in his agency by obstinately doing the right thing instead of the politically expedient thing. He has been able to gain a place on the governor's list of people to go to when he needs an honest assessment. As a result, the governor is willing to help out when Joe needs to be pulled out of a jam. A couple of Joe's acquaintances are being framed by a shadowy agency, and Joe is not about to stand still for it.

    It is difficult to put this book down once the reader gets started on it - constant movement teases you onward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Box at his best!!

    The last couple of Joe Pickett books have been formulaic and without the "tang" of the Wyoming mountains and the clarity of prior books in the series. This one is different! It captures your attention and you will not be able to wait for the next page or the next chapter. It is well written, direct and once again, justice triumphs over government run amok. NO ONE does it better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Another great read!

    C.J. Box writes another exciting plot with twists and turns that keep you hungry for the next chapter. Characters are all believable... the good guys are really good and the bad guys are really bad. A sad but noble ending.... Loved this novel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    good read

    Well written book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Love

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Again, C.J. Box has outdone previous works. GREAT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3