Customer Reviews for

Breaking Point (Article 5 Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!!

I loved this!! I love the real relationship that Ember & Chase have. Great book! Hopefully therr will be a 3rd to continue the journey!

posted by 16168354 on February 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

3.5/5 stars Breaking Point is the sequel to the popular dystopi

3.5/5 stars

Breaking Point is the sequel to the popular dystopian novel Article 5. When I read Article 5, I couldn't help but love the different take Kristen Simmons took for her dystopian world. She was able to combine road trip with dystopian and I loved the developi...
3.5/5 stars

Breaking Point is the sequel to the popular dystopian novel Article 5. When I read Article 5, I couldn't help but love the different take Kristen Simmons took for her dystopian world. She was able to combine road trip with dystopian and I loved the developing relationship between Chase and Ember and that they already had a past together. Breaking Point takes us to the hub of the revolutionaries who want to overthrow the current corrupt government. I thought we would get much more action and thrilling scenes in Breaking Point unfortunately we mostly get a whining Ember and a detached Chase. 
It took me a while to warm up to Breaking Point, I was used to the fast momentum and filled action scenes of Article 5 but we take a step back in this novel and concentrate more on Ember, her emotions towards Chase, and her constant internal whining that I honestly couldn't take anymore. I understood Chase's detachment, at least his made sense, and I felt sorry towards him for Ember's indecisiveness towards everything. Moving on from that, we learn more about the ins of the revolutionaries and we meet more characters, some I liked, while others I found to be very suspicious. You get most of the action towards the end of the book and this seems to be a recurrence in many dystopian sequels so I won't dwell on that. 
I always have a soft spots for dystopians so even with all of its flaws I still really enjoyed Breaking Point. I just love the whole government conspiracy that went on in Breaking Point and that we are finally close to fighting the system and that just brings excitement. I can't wait to find out how everything will be resolved and for Ember to finally end her doubts, insecurities, and whining. 

posted by majibookshelf on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    I waited until right before this book released to read its prede

    I waited until right before this book released to read its predecessor, Article 5, and I'm glad I did.  Article 5 ended with a serious cliffhanger, and it was awesome to be able to go right into the sequel without having to wait.  That said, where has this series been all my life?  Frankly, I'm a little over the whole dystopian thing, just as I was over the vampire and werewolf thing in the wake of Twilight.  That said, I've really loved the genre since reading 1984 and Fahrenheit 451 a gazillion years ago, and am more apt to give these books a chance than I was the paranormal stuff; I just do so with a wary eye. Well, I went into this series with a good number of reviews in the back of my mind- some great, some scathing, and a bunch in between- and no firm expectations...  I ended up really liking Article 5, and although there were a few flaws, I felt like it was a solid start to what I expected to be a really good series.  I gave it four stars.  Needless to say, that after reading Article 5, my expectations going into Breaking Point were a little higher.  I'm happy to say that Kristen Simmons totally delivered.
    First off, I enjoyed Ember a lot more in this book.  In Article 5 she had her desire to reach her mother driving her actions, helping her to do a lot of the more kick-ass things she did.  In Breaking Point that motivation wasn't there, but she continued to be kick-ass.  She became strong and independent, with a mind of her own, and she wasn't about to let anyone tell her what to do if it was in compromise with what she thought was right.  Not Chase, not Wallace, not the government.  And speaking of Chase (*swoons a little*), I'm glad Ember still managed to have a mind of her own when he was around.  I'm not sure I would have been that disciplined...

    Further on the Chase subject, because his character was, honestly, one of the main things that kept me from giving Breaking Point five stars...  I think Chase is great in some ways, don't get me wrong.  He is certainly super-hot, and he has his sweet, protective side that makes me go, "Awwww", but he also got on my nerves. A LOT.  You see, I really wasn't into his, "Don't touch me, Ember. I'm damaged and I don't want you to get hurt," broody nonsense.  Yes.  We get it, Chase.  You've been through a lot, but guess what?  So. Has. Everyone. Else.  Get over it, and man up...  I actually still really liked Chase for the most part, but I did find him annoying from time to time.  Then there was Tucker.  Still not sure about him, but I would like to think the changes are legit.  I'm hoping that we get a whole lot of Tucker in book number three, because good-guy or bad-guy, he's become one of my favorite characters.  Another favorite for me was Sean.  I would have never predicted, while reading Article 5, that this would be the case, but he kind of grew on me, without my realizing it, and that is the best...

    "Now, what about the plot and pacing and all that stuff?", you ask.  Well, you know I can't give spoilers, but I can tell you this.  Breaking Point kicked some serious ass in that regard.  There was a ton of action, and the story went in a direction that was entirely different from where I thought it would when I finished Article 5.  There were a lot of surprises, the biggest of which was that Kristen Simmons is not at all afraid to kill off important characters.  I love it when authors kill important people for a couple of reasons, but the most important one is that by doing so, they keep me on my toes.  As far as twists go, the only thing I saw coming was who the dishonorably discharged soldier Sean was talking about in the first chapter was. (I only give you even this tiny spoiler, because it was so obvious.)  Otherwise, I was taken off guard at several turns throughout the book.  

    In the end, I think the thing I liked best was the imagining of what this society was like, and what it would be like to be a part of a fringe rebel group.  I thought it was an accurate, and rather disturbing one.  Of all the dystopian fiction I've read, I felt like this series had the most plausible scenario.  No natural disaster or plague caused the crazies to gain control.  The horrors of war helped a religious zealot get control of our country and over time, he basically dismantled the structure of our system of checks and balances through fearmongering, and under the guise of morality.  The people bought it because he was such a principled, moral guy and they craved structure after so much destruction.  I have no doubt that something like this could happen in our future.  Let's hope Kristen's writing isn't  as prophetic as it is compulsively readable! 

    I felt like Breaking Point well outdid Article 5.  I liked the character development more (although there were a few, who are now dead, who I would have liked to know more about), and as I stated before, I liked that the scenario was so rational.  It was action-packed, with lots of death, so I felt like it would have just as much appeal to boys as it would to girls (and we all know books like that are few and far between in YA).  There was an underlying romance, which I liked, but it was never overpowering because the characters involved were exceptionally strong individuals, and able to function solo.  There were no love triangles either!

    Overall, I am super happy that I finally started reading this series.  I am eagerly awaiting the third and final book in this series (that as of now, has no title or release date).  I can't really imagine where the story will go from here, but I am positive of one thing... It is going to be one hell of a ride!

    My Rating: 4.5 stars

    Grade Level Recommendation:  There are a few makeout scenes, but nothing graphic.  As far as sexual content is concerned, this book is pretty clean.  There is a good bit of violence, some of it graphic in nature, but not overly so.  I would say both Article 5 and Breaking Point are appropriate for grades 6 and up (ages 11 and up).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    4.5 Stars BREAKING POINT is another hit from Kristen Simmo


    4.5 Stars

    BREAKING POINT is another hit from Kristen Simmons! Seriously, it was phenomenal! BREAKING POINT delivered everything I hoped it would! Through out this entire book my heart was pounding, my hands were shaking, and my fingers were turning the pages faster then I could read them! I just HAD to know what was coming next! I couldn't get enough of BREAKING POINT, and when I was finished I was ready to dive right back into this world with THREE! It just that good!

    THE PLOT...

    BREAKING POINT picks up where ARTICLE 5 left off, with Ember and Chase declared dead by the Federal Bureau of Reformation's. The new government that has taken the Bill of Rights from citizens and created the Moral Statutes, where no one has any rights that the FBR has not given them. They are cruel and ruthless, and will kill thousands of innocents if that's what needs to be done to keep the control!

    But there are the ones that are fighting back. The ones who have had enough of their cruelty, and murder, and are not standing for it anymore! The ones that will save them all from Federal Bureau of Reformation's! The Resistance!

    Ember and Chase are among the resistance, just trying to survive and stay off the FBR's radar. And it's been fairly easy with the distraction from the sniper picking off guards left and right! That is until Ember's faked death is revealed, and she is put back in the spotlight. But this time it's worse then it's ever been! They've marked her as 1 of the 5 conspirators to the sniper, but that's not all, there's a kill on sight order! If they even think it's Ember, then they have the order to shoot first and ask questions later. Ember just singed the death warrant of any girls that might look like her! And that's a heavy weight to bare!

    Ember has voweled to write the wrongs she has done when she was in the rehabilitation center, when her friend Rebecca was beat by the guards and sent to another rehabilitation center, because of her...

    Sean, the boy she blackmailed to help break her out of the rehabilitation center, and Rebecca's boyfriend has become like family, and he his determined to get Rebecca back. Ember knows without her none of this would of happened to them. So Ember, Chase, Sean, and a unexpected and VERY unlikely "Allie" will fight their way through the resistance, FBR, and any citizens that get in their way in finding Rebecca and making it to the safe house alive!

    But it won't be easy, and what happens when they find her? They still have to keep fighting! It's not over, it never will be! Not until the Federal Bureau of Reformation's is destroyed...FOR GOOD!

    Wow, that was such an emotional packed adventure! I loved Ember and Chase's connection in the BREAKING POINT. In ARTICLE 5, they were broken, torn, and felt betrayed. They had this gap between them that they didn't have in BREAKING POINT! Chase was so over protective of Ember, but still respectful of her decisions and didn't stand "Too" much in the way when she wanted to do something he didn't like. I loved them together, they just had this chemistry that was electrifying, and HOT!!!

    From now on when I see a book with Kristen Simmons name on it, I will be quick to pick it up and give it a shot! She is an phenomenal writer, and has broken my heart and repaired it over and over again! THANK YOU Kristen Simmons for such an emotional packed ride through the vicious city's within The ARTICLE 5 Series! :)

    Overall, this is bombshell of a second book! It did NOT in NO WAY suffer from the second book syndrome! Nope, it really exceeded my exceptions for a thrilling follow-up to ARTICLE 5. And I am SO ready to finish this epic journey and battle for freedom from the deadly Federal Bureau of Reformation's!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Oh my god. What a stellar second book. Simmons did not suffer fr

    Oh my god. What a stellar second book. Simmons did not suffer from what people call the sophomore slump. She came back in this book with Ember and Chase and she kicked some ass. I loved the plot of this book even more than I loved the first book. I found myself less annoyed with Ember because she grew up in this book, she took her experiences and grew on them rather than stay the same stubborn person that she was, and could have remained. I loved seeing so much growth in all of the characters.

    I loved that Ember and Chase’s relationship was still a major part of this book, but didn’t overshadow the central plot which was being part of the resistance. There was plenty of love between them (although I did want some more lovin) and I felt that all of their interactions were real. When they started towards having sex, it wasn’t magical and flawless, it was clumsy and awkward the way that it works in the real world. I think what I loved best was the little details that Simmons include like the way that he held her leg after she knee’d his side while lying down, it all felt like real actions that someone would do when they loved someone.

    I think the reason that I like Chase so much is because he reminds me of my boyfriend and how fierce his love is for Ember and how he would do anything to protect her. We see plenty of that in a lot of YA books, but I can really feel Chase as he wants to protect her as he wants to do whatever he can to ease her suffering. He would go to the ends of the world to save her and that was what made me love them so much together. In my review of Article 5, I didn’t think that Ember was worthy of his love because she was so naïve and just rejected him constantly, but I think that she really proved it this time.

    I did find it a little strange that all of the sudden the government decided to put so much into Ember. There really was no plausible reason that I could foresee them taking Embers name and adding her to the list of snipers. What did she really do? She escaped from them, I get that, it sucks, but she really didn’t do anything else, she was a nobody, so why pin the sniper things on her, especially when she was presumed dead. It didn’t really make sense to me. Maybe in the next book we will find out exactly what is going on and why she went from being a no body to being so important.

    There were a ton of surprises in this book that no one could have really seen coming. I loved the group effort for finding Rebecca. At first I wasn’t so sure why Ember was so invested in saving her besides the guilt that it was her fault that she was there, but then I remembered that they had bonded after Ember had caught her and Sean together. I have to say, I also really adored her friendship with Sean and how they grew close and had one anothers backs. I also loved that even if Chase couldn’t protect Ember, Sean was there to cover the slack. There are a few more things I I would love to talk about, but you’re going to have to read the book to see about those!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    This sequel was a bit slower pace than the first one, but a page

    This sequel was a bit slower pace than the first one, but a page turner nonetheless. Ember was annoying at times, but considering she's suppose to be a "moral voice" in the middle of a war, it makes sense. We find out more information on the Resistance, but more questions are left unanswered throughout the book. However, there's bound to be a third book with the way Breaking Point ended. If you liked Article 5, I definitely recommend reading this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Better than the first book

    I was a bit worried about reading the sequel to Article 5 mostly because Article 5 was long ang tedious until the last 10 chapters. I reallt enjoyed this part of the story and the character development. This book left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Good book.

    Good sequel. Looking forward to book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Uh

    I absolutely love this series, and Article 5 was amazing and action packed! Breaking Point was also very good, but i felt like the action level took a step down. Otherwise i loved it. Cant wait for Three!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1