Customer Reviews for

Breaking Point (Troubleshooters Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Superb suspense thriller

    In 2003, FBI hostage negotiator Chief Max Bhagat saved the life of Gina Vitagliano during a terrorist incident, but he was injured. Over the next few months he went through rehab and she was there. They fell in love, but by January 2004, a desperate Gina forced her beloved to see a relationship counselor; he still hid behind his rationalizations why she needed to find someone else. Not long afterwards, she gives up at least for now and takes a medical aid assignment in Kenya. In June 2005, Jules Cassidy informs his boss Max that Gina was killed in a terrorist incident in Hamburg, Germany. --- Max informs Gina¿s family and accompanied by an unwelcome Jules flies to Hamburg to bring the corpse home. However, at the morgue, the woman identified as Gina is not her. No clue locally gives them much to go on, but for some unknown reason Gina had flown from Kenya to Germany along with fellow aid worker Molly Anderson who has ties to former operative Jones. He is the link and bait to extract Gina from the terrorists who Max feels abducted her; now to find Jones. --- The legendary Max is at THE BREAKING POINT as he feels more pain with Gina¿s abduction than he did during rehab when he thought death would be kinder. The multifaceted story line is more complex and tense than previous tales as it switches time frames back and forth between the events summarized in the first paragraph above, but is also a bit difficult to follow at times. The return of the openly gay Jules will please Suzanne Brockmann¿s fans, who wonder when he will star in a future romantic suspense.--- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    Suzanne Brockmann developes her characters and and stays true to them for three-four books in a raw. That is not an easy task expecially when you're dealing with complex characters like Max or a character that was subjected to a truly traumatic experience like Gina. All the doubts, all the trebulations, as real as life. The book is excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    Can't wait for the next one!

    I love Suzanne Brockmann's books. They're a great escape read. A few thoughts... I find it funny that so many negative reviews center around subplots. This book only has ONE, and yet the complaints still come. Yes, this book takes place in two periods of time, present day, and seventeen months ago. Yes, I too was a bit confused at first, but I just looked at the last line of each chapter header and that told me all I needed to know. If it said 'present day' that's what it was--conversely, if it said 'seventeen months ago'... you get the point. I thought the jumping was quite an effective way to keep from having all the exciting stuff packed into the end. Honestly, if the whole first part of the book was what happened in the past, no one would have gotten through, because it would be too sad and boring. Anyway, I think this book is getting a bad rap for trying something new (for Ms. Brockmann, anyway) and if you decide to pick it up please keep an open mind about the breakup of the plot. It really does work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    This one is a catch-all

    When you team up Max and Jules.. now in charge.. add in Grady aka Jones you have a good start especially going to save Gina who was thought dead but not and in peril again but with Molly, Morant's love. The back and forth thing is a bit harder to get thru but you also see other sides of Max which I love and of Gina and the rest. I am glad it worked out well and of course if not for Jules, the best gay FBI agent around it would not have been quite as interesting or well thought out. Now that Max and Gina are about settled ... it is time for JULES sweetcakes to find his own once and for all. I do not want it to end there but am sure it won't. Definitely a must read though even though some readers quit partway thru I did it in 1 day haha and the hardback I gave up waiting on the paperback to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Max and Gina's Story soars

    Breaking Point by Suzanne Brockmann is a tension packed, moving novel. I really enjoyed all the aspects of Max and Gina¿s story. It really was worth the wait and it delivered all the elements. ______ Max Bhagat had finally pushed Gina Vitagliano out of his life. Gina had dogged him for years, professing her feelings but Max kept his heart at a distance. When news of Gina¿s death reaches Max he is devastated and vows to find her killers. Jules Cassidy, fellow FBI agent joins Max to claim Gina¿s body. Once in Europe, they realize Gina is alive and her and Molly Anderson are kidnapped. ______ Max is forced to team up with Grady Morant aka Jones to save the women they love. _____ This book is told in flashbacks and was very easy to follow the flow of the story. The time line and back-story really set the groundwork for the stunning story in the present time. Suzanne Brockmann is a gifted storyteller and each book is unique. I was glued to my seat from page one and didn¿t want to put this book down. I would certainly hope everyone would give this book a read._____

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Breaking Point (Troubleshooters Series #9)

    I just started reading Ms. Brockman's books and this one was my fourth. While I think she's a great writer and I love that her characters are so real, I have one criticism with her. I do not like that she adds other side characters in her books. I think that it takes away from the main characters. For example, in Out of Control, as much as I liked Karmody and Savannah who were the main characters, I enjoyed Molly and Jones's story better. Same with Gone too far, I preferred Max and Gina's story over Sam and Alyssa. Anyway I enjoyed this book, Although I didn't like all the flashbacks in the beginning. I totally enjoyed Molly and Jones. I was happy that they finally got back together and he was able to come back home to the US. Jules was great and funny. Overall pretty good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Breaking Point (Troubleshooters Series #9)

    This book was good. I just started reading S. Brockmann's books and I like this one better than the other two I have read. I didn't particular like the flashbacks in the beginning - I got bored with it at times. But overall it was fun, exciting and I like the romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    Fantastic Characterizations

    Fantastic Characterizations make for a wonderfully imaginative super thriller novel that will keep you on your toes wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    Favorite Book of All Time!

    I've waited YEARS for this book (okay, since, like 2001, but that's still forever) but I am so pleased with it that I know now it was worth the wait. Max and Gina, Molly and Jones, Jules...two PERFECT HEAs...I couldn't have asked for more! Suzanne Brockmann is a genius!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    Wonderful Ending to the long awaited Max and Gina story

    For a Suz Brockmann fan the long awaited story of Max and Gina was everything I wanted. Max Bhagat the FBI counterterrorism leader met Gina Vitagliano when her plane 4 years ago was hijacked by terrorist. They formed a bond at that time and Gina's love for Max has grown since than. Max has been fighting his feelings for Gina since, because of their age difference and the horrible beating and raping Gina experienced by the terrorist while on that plane. After years of trying to get Max to open up to her without much success, Gina finally walks out on Max and joins a group that teaches AIDs awareness in Kenya. Which brings us to the present day when Max receives news that Gina has been killed in a bombing in Germany. He races to Germany with another agent Jules Cassidy. Max and Jules gets a shock when they discover that Gina is not dead, but was instead kidnapped along with a fellow volunteer Molly Anderson. Max teams up with Jules and Grady Morant an expat who is Mollys lover to find the ladies. The book is filled with alot of heartwarming moments, laughter and adventure. Suz readers will not be disappointed. I could not put the book down. The journey that these two make and the support cast of Jules, Grady, and Molly makes a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    super suspense thriller

    MAX AND GINA MAKE A GREAT COUPLE. SO DO JONES AND MOLLY. GREAT TO SEE THEM AGAIN. KEPT YOUR INTEREST ALL THE WAY THROUGH.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Ms brockmann

    Great book all the series i really love reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Amanda

    She was just on...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Rambler

    "Sorry, I just don't like dragons very much...... or reptiles in general." Candy- "I have't seen her for two months........so yeah......her Nook doesn't work anymore." :("

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Rain

    *kisses him gently* u better get used to her. Riding her is the only way i travel. She wont hurt u.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Courtney

    OKAY! I LIKE MAKING THAT FACE....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Hania to person playing violin

    Do I know u?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Haley

    Hhhmmmm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Bianca/Saphira

    (Im not la oracle.) Bianca smiled and nodded then vanished. Saphira: silent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    LAKE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4