Customer Reviews for

Breaking Silence (Kate Burkholder Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Thriller

I was fully immersed in this fast-action, page-turning and suspenseful drama that was hard to put down. A strong and conflicted heroine and riveting plot kept me guessing in this spine-tingling murder mystery and I blown away when the killer was revealed, especially si...
I was fully immersed in this fast-action, page-turning and suspenseful drama that was hard to put down. A strong and conflicted heroine and riveting plot kept me guessing in this spine-tingling murder mystery and I blown away when the killer was revealed, especially since I did not see this one coming.

posted by DAinNY1 on July 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The series needs another angle!

Although I like the idea of this series, it is getting a little old with the idea of another Amish family being brutally murdered. I think the series idea is all used up.

posted by 6055560 on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Excellent Thriller

    I was fully immersed in this fast-action, page-turning and suspenseful drama that was hard to put down. A strong and conflicted heroine and riveting plot kept me guessing in this spine-tingling murder mystery and I blown away when the killer was revealed, especially since I did not see this one coming.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Best One In The Series So Far...

    With each Kate Burkholder book, Castillo gains more insight into her characters and gets more comfortable with them. I finished this in a day and a half and I work full time! This story has so many twists and turns and I never saw the end coming. I'm just sorry I have to wait another year for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Great Hit

    Linda Castillo has worked her magic yet again with Breaking Silence book #3 in the Kate Burkholder series. The Kate Burkholder series is a profoundly intense series, not a cozy style type read where everything happens offstage. Sworn to Silence book #1, Pray for Silence book #2 and Breaking Silence book #3 are dark and complex books, here your major characters flawed and very realistic. Events from Kate Burkholder's past are covered again in this book in detail making it imperative that this series be read in order starting with Sworn to Silence. Linda Castillo continues to amaze readers sometimes very detailed and graphic descriptions of not only the scene of the crime, but the crime itself. Linda Castillo still has the amazing ability to capture readers and pull them into the story, sending them on an emotional journey. I recommend this book to anyone looking for an intense thriller. I also will recommend you read the books in order starting with Sworn to Silence, moving to Pray for Silence, and then here with Breaking Silence.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    Great book and series!!!

    Considering that I live within 10 miles of the setting of all three books in the series, I found the books great. Must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Such a great book!!!!

    I just happened upon this book and it was great!! I'm now going back to read her 1st two books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Another great story in series!

    I do recommend reading in order. Wow -great story and didn't see end coming. Can't wait to continue reading next books in series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Excellent Series, highly recommend, if you like mysteries.

    I love this series of books. It has just the right mix of religion and mystery. Kate is a strong woman who is unwilling to let anyone see her in a moment of weakness. The insight to the Amish way of life is interesting if you are unfamiliar with them. I always enjoy her books and look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Great

    Loved this one too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    As good as the last

    I have read all books previous in this series. They seem to get better as you go along. I recommend this book to all who enjoy mysteries. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    A must read

    It was one of the best story I read lots of plot changes . A great summer series to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    loved it

    Couldn't put it down. Read all in the series. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great book..

    Great book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Great story with lots of twists. Keeps you guessing to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Great Series

    I really like this series! Great read, keeps you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Great book

    It was a great book after last one. Cant wait till next one comes out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Breaking Silence

    Love this author. Grew up in the area of Ohio referenced in her novels. Great mystery stories, great characters. Can't wait until she releases another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great series

    I read all three books in the series, all edge of ur seat, cant put down type of reads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Kate is back again

    I am enjoying this new series. Keeps you guessing til the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended-a must read!!!!

    This book is awesome just like the other two in the series. It is set in Amish country and has a twist to it. I like the Amish mystery, it gives things a different outlook on the things that can happen with the Amish, which is a different outlook than some of the other books I have read. I cannot wait for book #4 to come out. Keep writing Linda, I love the books!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4