Customer Reviews for

Breaking Through

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    Breaking Through Review

    Breaking Through by Francisco Jimenez
    Review by Felipe Sanchez
    In all memoirs that I've read, this book, Breaking Through, is truly an outstanding piece by Francisco Jimenez. The word choice that he puts into his work adds extremely fine detail. For example, in one part of the story
    Francisco describes his brother as, "awed and speechless" when he's touched and then he adds the finishing touches by saying, "He grabbed the statue firmly with both hands, making sure not to drop it". Put simply this book isn't one of those "repetitive" or "tired concepts". This book inspires you.
    Sure Jimenez wrote a story about his family crossing the border. Sure almost every other author has done that. But the way that that actually happened is just amazing. Francisco deals with problems all over the book. His family can barely make enough money to put food on the tables, everyone is just about sick with working in the fields to only get a dollar a day, and the dad wouldn't even let Francisco go to college! The storyline flows through the book cleverly from crossing the border to watching movies and dancing in clubs. A person who has suffered for being a Mexican, for having a grumpy dad that is not inspiring at all, and for having mono, one of the worst diseases you could have, Francisco did it. He showed that anybody could achieve their goals.
    If I had to describe Francisco in one word, or maybe even the book, it would have to be determination. That guy must have a lot of courage to stand up to his dad and fight for his future. Now, in the end, words are just words. That's all they really are but, the way you organize those words is what makes them come to life. That's why I love this book. That's why it will continue to be great for readers and have that effect for years to come.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    A book for the ages

    The book Breaking Through is a heart warming story about a boy named Fransico Jaminez.He is an immigrant who moves to the U.S and is learning the language and trying to fit in.Through out the story he encounters many difficulties in his middle school and his school times.He also grows up very much.Fransico is very close to his brother and work together on a daily basis.At a young age he starts to work and make money to support his family.Overall this book was very interesting and I enjoyed it very much.I recommend reading this book as soon as possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    Good book!

    'Breaking Through' is the autobiography of Francisco Jimenez. It is his story of immigrating with his family to California from Mexico. They struggled to make a living in California. As a young boy he labored in the strawberry fields while trying to complete his education. When money becomes scarce he gets another job cleaning business offices. All the while he continues to excel in school. He recognizes that an education will lead to opportunities for a better life for him and his family. I like this book because it is a great example of perseverance. Francisco's persistence and his resolution to rise above his circumstances is admirable. He never gave up. Despite family illness and financial hardships he continued to work hard. I would recommend it because it is a good story. It is inspirational. People who recently immigrated might find it reassuring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    I don't know how this book is four and a half stars but it total

    I don't know how this book is four and a half stars but it totally deserves 5 stars automatically 
    My favorite book and highly recommend reading this if your a Mexican American immigrant. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Flight to Hexwing

    WHAT is your problem? I have been in this RP for 7 months, and not treid to change it. You can't just walk in here and demand change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Dave

    Awesome!!!!!!!!! Im so proud of you Fidshing... er... Hexwing!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Rose

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Emma

    She held Vulpix and Weavile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Riachu's gang

    The small Gang arrived at Nibassa city. The lights glimmered and people with cameras took flashy pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Zangoose

    He looks around... "Zang..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    I thought this book was really interesting. why? I thought this

    I thought this book was really interesting. why? I thought this book was interesting because I could relate to Francisco. Francisco is a kid who gets to the US illegally. At the age of Fourteen him and his brother Roberto get deported. The entirely family decides to go back to mexico, but they struggled to keep a stable family. Francisco wants to go back because he had the chance to study and become someone in life. He had a poor family, but he had hopes of succeeding in this country. His family managed a way to get papers for both Roberto and Francisco, when they get back to the US , they start working hard to send money to their parents. As time goes by in Nogalez  Arizona, they grow up and get a car of their own. At first Francisco is ashamed of his dads truck and decides to park it far away from his school. I enjoyed reading this book because it took place not too long ago and the boy was around my age. I could not believe that he had to work to help support his family. I thought it was interesting because whatever money I get, my parents let me keep for myself, but everything he had was given to his parents.I think that theme of the book is the struggle of immigrants. I would recommend this book to anyone because it shows the struggles of a poor family who migrates to the US to succeed; this will be a great motivation to anyone that wants to succeed in life. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Best

    This the best story EVER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Love it

    This book is as good as the first one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Beautiful

    Wonderful heart warming story . A good book for ALL AGES . I LOVED IT !!!!!!!! All i can say is wonderful .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Cool

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    OMG got to read amazing story

    a boy that goes from poverty to a proffeser!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    Breaking Through in the classroom

    I used this book with my ELL students. They enjoyed reading the book and thinking about what their families may have gone through that was similar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Flat as the flattest thing ever.

    I read this book for my reading class. This books is really flat. What I mean is it's not going anywhere. Like other books which starts with a problem, then goes to the struggle of the characters, then to the ending, this book is just like a story you hear everyday. I appreciate the Author's writing style. It's easy to read. This is perfect for first time readers of fiction. However, this book is not worth recommending at all.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    This story is unforgettable.

    A trilling page flipping book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3