Customer Reviews for

Breaking the Rules (Emma Harte Series #7)

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I love Barbara Taylor Bradford!

I love the proper ettiquette, the classy settings, exotic places and the character of her books! BREAKING THE RULES follows suit, but you need to have read WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE first or you'll be confused. I love strong female characters who achieve, and plenty of heart a...
I love the proper ettiquette, the classy settings, exotic places and the character of her books! BREAKING THE RULES follows suit, but you need to have read WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE first or you'll be confused. I love strong female characters who achieve, and plenty of heart and soul. Another winner! Another book and writer I love has the same quality, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by L.M. Pirrung...Also loved THE HELP, THE FORGOTTEN GARDEN, THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL SOCIETY

posted by DEVILICIOUS on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing

I picked up this book hoping for a good story, but was very disappointed. It starts off okay, about M who is in New York wanting to be a model, and then morphs into a "family danger" story. However, the author spends so much time with the characters and modeling start t...
I picked up this book hoping for a good story, but was very disappointed. It starts off okay, about M who is in New York wanting to be a model, and then morphs into a "family danger" story. However, the author spends so much time with the characters and modeling start that she never really gets to the danger part of the story. Once the fun starts, the story is rushed and unsatisfying. It's like the author got bored with the story that wasn't going anywhere and started throwing in stuff to get it finished. In the end, the family doesn't even finish off the bad guy, someone else takes care of that and the story ends all kissy-kissy happy ever after. Don't get me wrong, I like a happy ending but I want a good story before I get there. I had not read Barbara Taylor Bradford before, and I doubt I will again. This is part of her Emma Harte series, and if you haven't read about the family previously, you will be confused about some of the characters - especially the ones that seem important to the story but are not developed. If you have read other books in the series, it might be a better read for you. The jacket led me to expect a story about a woman willing to "Break the Rules" to protect her loved ones, but I never found that women in this book.

posted by terrillr on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Barbara Taylor Bradford!

    I love the proper ettiquette, the classy settings, exotic places and the character of her books! BREAKING THE RULES follows suit, but you need to have read WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE first or you'll be confused. I love strong female characters who achieve, and plenty of heart and soul. Another winner! Another book and writer I love has the same quality, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by L.M. Pirrung...Also loved THE HELP, THE FORGOTTEN GARDEN, THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL SOCIETY

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Readers of the saga will relish the thirtieth anniversary of A WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE updated for the new millennium.

    In London, the wealthy twenty-three years old granddaughter of Emma Harte suffers an assault. She decides to leave England for New York and pursue a career as a model. The young lady feels she has the looks, the know-how and most important the connections. Thus M is invented.

    M proves reasonably successful as a model and ultimately works in Paris. She falls in love with actor Laurence Vaughn, but eventually that adversary of her family who attacked her in Chelsea recognizes her and sets in motion a plan to destroy M and her loved ones.

    Although much of the tale occurs in 2006, there is a throw back feel to the interesting story line; mostly because of the long running Harte series and somewhat M's courage under fire affirms she has Emma's DNA; she knows when to flight and when to fight. This story is a convoluted with a seemingly zillion support players with respective but related histories of their own that do not tie well together even with the marvelous Ms. M at the vortex. Still fans of the saga will relish the thirtieth anniversary of A WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE updated for the new millennium.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    A wonderful read

    Glad to see another book by Ms. Bradford again. Hopefully there will be more soonest. A good story line that is connected together well. Keep up the good work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Very Disappointing

    I picked up this book hoping for a good story, but was very disappointed. It starts off okay, about M who is in New York wanting to be a model, and then morphs into a "family danger" story. However, the author spends so much time with the characters and modeling start that she never really gets to the danger part of the story. Once the fun starts, the story is rushed and unsatisfying. It's like the author got bored with the story that wasn't going anywhere and started throwing in stuff to get it finished. In the end, the family doesn't even finish off the bad guy, someone else takes care of that and the story ends all kissy-kissy happy ever after. Don't get me wrong, I like a happy ending but I want a good story before I get there. I had not read Barbara Taylor Bradford before, and I doubt I will again. This is part of her Emma Harte series, and if you haven't read about the family previously, you will be confused about some of the characters - especially the ones that seem important to the story but are not developed. If you have read other books in the series, it might be a better read for you. The jacket led me to expect a story about a woman willing to "Break the Rules" to protect her loved ones, but I never found that women in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Truly a Barbara Taylor Bradford Book....

    I can't say enough about this book without repeating myself. I have read everyone of Ms. Bradford's book and this is amazingly one of the best, if that's at all possible. I couldn't put it down..kept me wanting to ready more and more....there were many surprises along the way. If you've read her books before...this one is A MUST....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT ESCAPIST LISTENING

    Winner of he Audie Award for Best Female Solo Narration Katherine Kellgren is in great demand as a voice performer. Lucky for audiobook/Barbara Taylor Bradford fans that she took the mike for this intriguing story of a woman who thought she had everything - yes, "thought," definitely past tense.

    It's hard to believe but it has been 30 years since Bradford's amazing mega-selling A Woman Of Substance. Few who read it have forgotten it. Now, in celebration of that anniversary Bradford has spun off that smoldering tale featuring the redoubtable Emma Harte to give us Breaking The Rules. This is the seventh in the Harte series and stars the mysterious M, a descendent of matriarch Emma who seems to have inherited a healthy amount of Emma's gutsiness and gusto for life.

    M flees what was once her quiet English home to try to put a horrific experience out of her mind and begin a new life in New York City. She is, of course, in addition to being confident unbelievably gorgeous. Wasting no time she rises in the ranks of super models, meets and marries handsome actor Larry Vaughan. She has left behind a fearsome assault and life is now filled with joy.

    That happiness is short lived when the psychopath who darkened her past threatens to take it all away. Will M and her family triumph one more time?

    Again, this is a Bradford book to get lost in as the author takes us to all the glamorous spots in the world peopled by those wearing designer duds and dining at only 5 star restaurants where reservations must be made 3 months in advance. It's great escapist listening.

    Enjoy!

    - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    The book was poorly written and the dialogue felt like it was fo

    The book was poorly written and the dialogue felt like it was for a middle
    schooler. The whole premise of the book was unrealistic and the characters
    had no depth. The Harte family characters are becoming too self righteous and
     too black and white when viewing other people around them. I found myself
    skipping sections to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Breaking the Rules by Barbara Taylor Bradford (BTB) is supposed

    Breaking the Rules by Barbara Taylor Bradford (BTB) is supposed to be the finale of the Harte Family series. This novel is different from the others in the series. The plot twist is different than the normal BTB novels.
    Synopsis:
    M. has come to New York to start her career in modeling. It is off to a slow start until her friend Geo introduces her to Frankie a fashion photographer. His death seems to put M.’s career on hold until his protégé Luke takes over. He discovers and helps launch her career. Shortly thereafter she meets actor Larry Vaughan and marries him. All of the sudden accidents start happening around M. Who could possibly be behind them? Will her family survive these attacks? What will M. do to protect them?
    My Thoughts:
    Before I share my thoughts on Breaking the Rules, I thought I would share about the Harte Family series. I had did read some other reviews as I listened to the novel. I have read the series up to now. I probably had the same questions of what happened to Paula and her family? Many fans had this question. Enter the next set of novels Emma’s Secret, Unexpected Blessings, and Just Rewards. Fans wanted to know what happened to Johnathan Ainsley. Breaking the Rules was supposed to answer this question.
    I liked the novel but had a hard time understanding the purpose of the M. character. Or how would Johnathan Ainsley meet his demise? The first half you the reader are given vague references as to who M. is. Her character is basically built through the first half. If the point was she is to stand alone and work hard for the career she desires then the author is a success.
    For me the part of the novel I didn’t like was the plotting. I felt that there were too many questions in the beginning. Such as who is M.? I was satisfied with the ending. Then I vaguely remembered from reading Just Rewards that Paula had another daughter Emma. Once I made this connection it was an Aha moment for me. I also was not a fan of the narration of the novel because it did not distinguish the characters separately very well. Jencey/Writer's Corner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Very engaging

    This is typical Barbara Taylor Bradford at its best. I have enjoyed all of her books since "A Woman of Substance." Sometmes her language is bit stilted, but still very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Very poorly written

    I loved all the pteviously written books in this series but this one was so very boring. Not even close to believable. Not even entertaining in the least. I suspect a ghost writter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Disappointed

    I read the first six Emma Harte books within two months, I went to read breaking the rules, and to be honest it took me awhile to even start it. When I read the back, it had no corrilation to the Emma Harte series, I even read some of it, and looked through alot of the book and I did not see any of the names that follow the series, I was not going to read it I checked several times to make sure this book actually belongs to that series! You have no idea this has to do with the Hartes until you are at the last 200 or so pages!!!! Very disappointed in this book, not up to the great writing of the other six in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Really?

    I read Woman of Substance years ago and remember enjoying it. I picked this book up at Half Price Books thinking it would be a good summer pool read. The dialogue is laughable and some of the story line is just ridiculous. Luckily it only cost me 3 bucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Another beautifully written mastrrpiece

    What a splendid loving exquisitely written novel. There is nothing better than a Barbara Taylor Bradford novel about the Harte family. The story telling is exquisite!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Not That Great

    I've read quite a few of the Emma Harte books and I have to say that this one just didn't do a thing for me. I felt that it was written poorly and the only good part was the last section of the book when they let you know it was about the Harte family. I passed it on to my Mother and she started it and put it down for a different book. She hasn't told me if she's read it yet or not. I didn't tell her that it was an Emma Harte book because I wanted her to read it without that background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Enjoyable

    I bought it as an escape and that it was perfect for. It was written very well and I did truly enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    Not her Best Effort

    It was an okay book but not up to her normal standards. I finished it because it was a gift.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3