BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Breaking the Rules (Troubleshooters Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The latest Troubleshooters romantic suspense is a double dose of second chance at love inside of a family affair

Navy SEALs Izzy Zanella and Danny Gilman have a long standing grudge. When the former met the latter's sister Eden, he fell in love. She became pregnant with someone else's child, but he stepped to the plate and married her. When she miscarried, she also gave up on a...
Navy SEALs Izzy Zanella and Danny Gilman have a long standing grudge. When the former met the latter's sister Eden, he fell in love. She became pregnant with someone else's child, but he stepped to the plate and married her. When she miscarried, she also gave up on a heartbroken Izzy. Danny blamed Izzy for his sibling's unhappiness

Meanwhile Danny and Izzy work a mission in Afghanistan in which the former is wounded and the latter saves his life but almost dies doing so. After a hospital stint in Germany, they come home to learn Eden is trying to rescue her teenage younger brother Ben from their abusive stepfather Greg and his mother Ivette. They head to Vegas along with Danny's on again and off again girlfriend Jennilyn LeMay to help Eden. When Ben rescues Neesha from a child prostitution ring, Eden and Izzy protect her as the mobsters come for their merchandise, but snatch Ben instead.

The latest Troubleshooters romantic suspense is a double dose of second chance at love inside of a family affair. The story line is action-packed in Nevada and Afghanistan, but it is the cast that makes this so much fun as the Gillman crew play first violin in a wonderful thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

So So, glad the series is taking a break

The story was good, but seemed to keep going on and on, it kind of jumped all over the place and didn't seem to really flow. I had major issues with the characterization of Jenn. In the last book, she was described as plain but pretty and almost cute, tall but not ove...
The story was good, but seemed to keep going on and on, it kind of jumped all over the place and didn't seem to really flow. I had major issues with the characterization of Jenn. In the last book, she was described as plain but pretty and almost cute, tall but not overly overweight. In this book she is described as 'larger-than-large & amazon size'. Which is it? I had head that Mrs. Brockmann will be taking a break from writing the Troubleshooters series, and I think it is time to take a break. Troubleshooters only came in to play for about 20 pages of this book, how can it be classified a Troubleshooters book, with no Troubleshooters? Not only that but this book left more questions than answers, Lindsay loosing another baby, then is just okay with it?? On what planet? I hope if this series is restored, we can get back to the actual Troubleshooters.

posted by frosty1 on April 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Troubleshooters romantic suspense is a double dose of second chance at love inside of a family affair

    Navy SEALs Izzy Zanella and Danny Gilman have a long standing grudge. When the former met the latter's sister Eden, he fell in love. She became pregnant with someone else's child, but he stepped to the plate and married her. When she miscarried, she also gave up on a heartbroken Izzy. Danny blamed Izzy for his sibling's unhappiness

    Meanwhile Danny and Izzy work a mission in Afghanistan in which the former is wounded and the latter saves his life but almost dies doing so. After a hospital stint in Germany, they come home to learn Eden is trying to rescue her teenage younger brother Ben from their abusive stepfather Greg and his mother Ivette. They head to Vegas along with Danny's on again and off again girlfriend Jennilyn LeMay to help Eden. When Ben rescues Neesha from a child prostitution ring, Eden and Izzy protect her as the mobsters come for their merchandise, but snatch Ben instead.

    The latest Troubleshooters romantic suspense is a double dose of second chance at love inside of a family affair. The story line is action-packed in Nevada and Afghanistan, but it is the cast that makes this so much fun as the Gillman crew play first violin in a wonderful thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    So So, glad the series is taking a break

    The story was good, but seemed to keep going on and on, it kind of jumped all over the place and didn't seem to really flow. I had major issues with the characterization of Jenn. In the last book, she was described as plain but pretty and almost cute, tall but not overly overweight. In this book she is described as 'larger-than-large & amazon size'. Which is it? I had head that Mrs. Brockmann will be taking a break from writing the Troubleshooters series, and I think it is time to take a break. Troubleshooters only came in to play for about 20 pages of this book, how can it be classified a Troubleshooters book, with no Troubleshooters? Not only that but this book left more questions than answers, Lindsay loosing another baby, then is just okay with it?? On what planet? I hope if this series is restored, we can get back to the actual Troubleshooters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Don't waste your time and money

    Ms Brockmann stopped writing for the entertainment of her fans a few years ago. Now it more like shes shoving her views down our throats. There was a time when I couldn't wait for her books

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    Not much there for me.

    I was really sorry I bought this one.....too many thoughts/thinking that to me wasn't very intertaining at all. I skipped thru the first part of the book and just read for the plot....her first books are a lot better and at least I know what the people have been up to since the last book. Bummer.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    also disappointed.

    waited months for this book. Into the Fire (#13 in this series) was the best of all of them. This was the end of the series and no mention of Deck at all!!!! Want my $12.99 back.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    Very disappointed in this book!!!!!!!! Way too expensive for this book.

    This book was a disappointment to me. I had looked forward to reading and was very disengaged with the first two or three chapters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Horrible!

    A book is extra special when the author manages to get the reader to despise all the main characters. I should have listened to the reviews. I kept reading so I could find out if those kids were rescued. Eventally I knowlonger cared. Don't know how it ended. Don't care.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    The real deal.... again

    I didn't think after reading the preview on this book it would measure up to the previous books in the series. I was wrong. Once again Suzanne has delivered a terrific story with lots of action, family drama, romance and yes of course a happy ending. I curled up on Saturday with this book and just couldn't put it down. A great way to escape in a book to a world most of us have never experienced except throuhg the Troubleshooters eyes. I hope there will be more stories.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    LOVE SB

    I absolutely love Suzanne Brockmann and have not ONCE been disappointed. Breaking the Rules once again shows what a fantastic author Sue is! I have everyone of her books and I suggest to anyone out there...READ THEM ALL!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not that good

    I've read all Suzanne Brockmann's Troubleshooters books and I have to say this was not that good. The book could have been cut in half if the characters' whining had been kept to a reasonable level. The actual story was good, but the writing was long and drawn out. Izzy doesn't trust Eden who doesn't trust Izzy--back and forth, back and forth. I actually ended up skimming page after page just to get to the end of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    I loved it. I felt like I had to wait forever for Izzy and Eden's story, and this was a great mix of them and Dan, and Jenni. I had a feeling this was gonna be the last in the series, but Suzanne did not disappoint. I love the action, and all the scenerios surrounding the romance. I loved the way Izzy and Eden got it together. Thank you for not letting me down. This series is one of my three collections. When I cant find a new good new book I just go back to these. Love you SB.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    Loved It!!!!!

    I love this whole series and once again it did not disappoint me!! Could not put it down. Sam and Izzy are my favorites so once again found myself laughing out loud at Izzy's crazy personaity. The only thing disappointing is that the author is taking a break from the series!! Hope she reconsiders!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced action right to the last minute!

    I couldn't wait for this book to come out as I have read all 16 books in the Troubleshooters series and all 11 of the Tall Dark and Dangerous Series which is being reissued by HQN. Both are series which feature Navy SEALs, and FBI agents. This latest book continues the story of Izzy Zanella and Eden Gillman, who married when she became pregnant by another man and separated when Eden miscarried. Add to the mix Eden's brother Danny, who is in Izzy's SEAL unit and isn't exactly his best bud. Danny has issues of his own with his quasi-girlfriend JenniLynn, a full figured aide to a NY politico. Danny & Izzy get injured during a mission and all four are brought together.



    Izzy and Eden have to start communicating with each other before they can decide whether to move on together or separately. Eden is working as a dancer, trying to raise money so she can provide a place for her 15 year old brother to live. Ben is haunted by bad experiences in New Orleans during Katrina, has diabetes, and is targeted by his stepfather because he is gay. Eden is frantic about keeping him safe and realizes she needs help from both Izzy and Danny. All four of the adults need to work together to help Ben and it isn't easy.



    There is a sublot involving child prostitution that adds a little more tension to the story. It is fast paced and you have to pay attention to keep up with the plot. Just like her earlier books in the series, the action is realistic and the characters are true to life. Although the hits keep on coming and it seems overwhelming at points, the plot never becomes overblown. It's a nailbiter right to the end. And I love that my favorite character,Jules the FBI man, gets a brief part of the action. In true Suzanne Brockmann fashion, there is humor interspersed that is needed at times in this thrilling story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Not Bad

    I thought this was not bad. I enjoyed seeing Izzy again and he and Eden were great together. For those complaining about the price I would say stop complaining it is less than the price of the hardback. Overall I say it was fine just not amazing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    So disappointed

    I *love* the Troubleshooters series, and have been waiting forever to read Izzy's book, but this just feels so RUSHED. Supposedly this is the last book of the series and there was no epilogue to resolve everything.7

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I own and love everything SB writes and was looking forward to I

    I own and love everything SB writes and was looking forward to Izzys story. This was a huge disappointement that dragged on in a wishy washy fashion where you did not care if they ended up together. I especially could not get into an 18 yr old female lead. yikes. you know they will be divorced in 2 yrs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    My favorite

    I must admit, this is my very favorite of the whole series and the one I most frequently return to when I want to reread parts of the book-- My second favorite is when Sam finally wins the love of his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    The entire series is great.

    The entire series is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Great Book

    I have read all of the troubleshooters books and love them. The characters are fantastic and I can't wait for the next one! Suzanne Brockmann is an awesome writer - can't put her books down once I've started reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I love Suzanne Brockmann. I have read all of her Troubleshooters books. I would recommend them to any who like mystery. Wonderful and can't wait for each new one to come out. Keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13