Customer Reviews for

Breaking the Vicious Cycle: Intestinal Health Through Diet

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This book has given me back my health

Having suffered from chronic diarrhea for 3 years, in 2002 I finally decided to get this book and give it a try. What a godsend it has been. I have been on this diet for almost 3 years now (!), and I'm feeling great, with lots of energy, looking great (many people com...
Having suffered from chronic diarrhea for 3 years, in 2002 I finally decided to get this book and give it a try. What a godsend it has been. I have been on this diet for almost 3 years now (!), and I'm feeling great, with lots of energy, looking great (many people comment on how healthy I look), and, of course, no more diarrhea! I rarely get colds, never get flu or any other sickness-- I am 39 and healthier than I have ever been in my life. This diet really worked for me-- I noticed results just by the end of the first day of trying it-- and my health just kept improving. The book is very explicit on what is allowed and what is not allowed, and I followed it fanatically (as the author recommends), and have been thankful ever since to the author and her miraculous wisdom. I recommend this book to anyone with just about any kind of GI disorder, as I understand it has also been of enormous help to many people with Crohn's disease, Ulcerative Colitis, and Irritable Bowel Syndrome.

posted by Anonymous on May 10, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Start to the program

The book explains how the protocol for the SCD diet came about. It gives a basic outline of how to start the diet and includes actual letters and testimonials from people who have been successful while using the diet. The book, however, does not answer a lot of specif...
The book explains how the protocol for the SCD diet came about. It gives a basic outline of how to start the diet and includes actual letters and testimonials from people who have been successful while using the diet. The book, however, does not answer a lot of specified questions you might have in your own personal situation. You will need the internet and other resources to answer those "specific" questions you might have.

The book is just a start to understanding the SCD diet.

posted by 15937475 on September 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    This book has given me back my health

    Having suffered from chronic diarrhea for 3 years, in 2002 I finally decided to get this book and give it a try. What a godsend it has been. I have been on this diet for almost 3 years now (!), and I'm feeling great, with lots of energy, looking great (many people comment on how healthy I look), and, of course, no more diarrhea! I rarely get colds, never get flu or any other sickness-- I am 39 and healthier than I have ever been in my life. This diet really worked for me-- I noticed results just by the end of the first day of trying it-- and my health just kept improving. The book is very explicit on what is allowed and what is not allowed, and I followed it fanatically (as the author recommends), and have been thankful ever since to the author and her miraculous wisdom. I recommend this book to anyone with just about any kind of GI disorder, as I understand it has also been of enormous help to many people with Crohn's disease, Ulcerative Colitis, and Irritable Bowel Syndrome.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2003

    THIS BOOK SAVED OUR DAUGHTER

    We almost lost our beautiful, once healthy 24-year old daughter to ulcerative colitis just last year. Anyone who is familiar with this disease knows how debilitating, frustrating and embarassing it can be. Doctors say 'Eat what you want, it doesn't matter...' Don't believe it!!!! We saw rapid improvement by following the protocol in this wonderful book, and now, a year later we have our daughter back, healthy, happy and radiant. We cannot praise this book and its author enough! If you have GI disease, you have nothing to lose and EVERYTHING to gain by reading this book and trying the SCD Diet. This was our last-ditch effort, and the only thing that worked!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    I've had Chron's for almost 30 years.

    During those thirty years I have had three surgeries and have been on just about every medication under the sun. Nothing worked. Six months ago I started the SCD as described in this book and have amazed my Gastroenternologist with my progress. My bloodwork is all normal, my inflammation is just about gone and I am medication free for the first time in many many years. This diet may not work for everyone but for me it beats a fourth partial bowel resection!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    UC for 12years

    I've been on this for 2wks and I must admit that I've seen significant improvements. No more gassy, bloated feeling all the time.. This is a great book to read and follow if you are fed up with your condition and want to lead a normal life... The first wk was the hardest (with carb. headache) but once you see the way you feel, there is NO TURNING BACK...Word of caution: IF you decide to follow this diet, you must be very committed and no cheating, even if you cheat a little it defeats the purpose... Good Luck!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Very informative read

    After struggling on a gluten free diet, this book finally brought a solution to my woes! Gottschall fully researched the biology that plagues those with Celiac, Colitis, Crones and IBS. Through the help of Dr Haas, they established the SCD to relieve suffers of the painful symptoms surrounding these diseases. In conjunction with recommended websites and yahoo groups, this book is an answer to prayer for those who are dedicated to truly healing themselves. Now, if only the medical profession would catch up and realize the power of healing that the right food can bring!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Good Start to the program

    The book explains how the protocol for the SCD diet came about. It gives a basic outline of how to start the diet and includes actual letters and testimonials from people who have been successful while using the diet. The book, however, does not answer a lot of specified questions you might have in your own personal situation. You will need the internet and other resources to answer those "specific" questions you might have.

    The book is just a start to understanding the SCD diet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Definitely worth trying

    I am a 26 year old woman who has been living with Crohn's Disease since the age of 17. I have been on medications since I was 17 years old, and am now at a point where the medications do not work nearly as well as they used to. When I heard about the SCD, I picked up this book and immediately read it. I have been following the diet strictly and have had a slight ease in my symptoms, so I feel there is some merit to this diet. I'm definitely giving it a shot and believe it to be working so far. To anyone who is suffering from any sort of IBD disease, this is definitely worth checking into. Even if the diet only moderately reduces your symptoms, at least it is an improvement!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2002

    Great for IBS sufferers too

    The thing about ibs is that you can't seem to get a straight diagnosis or treatment;maybe that is because most doctors don't realize why the grain based food pyramid is so unhealthy. I started feeling better within a week on this diet, and I am almost entirely symptom free now, almost 2 months later!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    I recommend this for people dealing with IBS in all its forms.

    This was recommended reading on the website of my gastroenterologist. There were areas that were more technical than I needed, it gave me a good insight into this health problem. FOr me, no immediate solutions but a level of comfort that there is hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you have any "Gut" issue this book is for you!!

    This book is a God send!! I cannot even begin to describe the importance of changing your diet and following this book! I have not even started the complete compliance and I am feeling better and I have spoken with one of the resources in the book. Lots of support and other links and ideas. If you have tried everything this is the book and the lifestyle change for you!! Don't be afraid you will feel SO much better and be happy and excited too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Incredible Results!

    I have had UC for 10 years. I started this diet 1 month before my daughter was born. I wanted to breastfeed, but could not do so with the medications I was on. I stopped 6MP and had only minor flares during postpartum. Now 6 months later, I am still breastfeeding and feel the best I have felt in a very long time(even while on meds). I have more energy than I ever have before. And that's saying a lot considering the new baby. I highly recommend anyone with and IBD to give this diet a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    My Gastroenterologist said I have 'Bad U.C.'

    After taking an antibiotic for a sinus infection, I came down with C.Diff. and 'very bad ulcerative colitis' according to my gastroenterologist. I was given several prescriptions but I felt really awful and didn't have my life back for months until I found this diet. Miraculous!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2