Customer Reviews for

Breakthrough!: How the 10 Greatest Discoveries in Medicine Saved Millions and Changed Our View of the World

Average Rating 3
( 396 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(94)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Interesting

It is amazing how medical breakthroughs were so often due to a lucky break. Also how resistant mainstream medicine was/is to accept new ideas. If you have a layman's interest in various medical discoveries then read this book and you will be facinated by the stories beh...
It is amazing how medical breakthroughs were so often due to a lucky break. Also how resistant mainstream medicine was/is to accept new ideas. If you have a layman's interest in various medical discoveries then read this book and you will be facinated by the stories behind major medical discoveries that , today, we take for granted.

posted by tenagail on March 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

read with reason

Mostly garbage reason is presented in this book. The author seems to have little grasp on valid logic and will infer facts that are simply false. Chapter 10 is a perfect example of ignorance, or an immoral, treatment to the pursuit of truth.

posted by 7398283 on March 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    read with reason

    Mostly garbage reason is presented in this book. The author seems to have little grasp on valid logic and will infer facts that are simply false. Chapter 10 is a perfect example of ignorance, or an immoral, treatment to the pursuit of truth.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Interesting

    It is amazing how medical breakthroughs were so often due to a lucky break. Also how resistant mainstream medicine was/is to accept new ideas. If you have a layman's interest in various medical discoveries then read this book and you will be facinated by the stories behind major medical discoveries that , today, we take for granted.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    really enlightening

    I admit I was initially intimidated by this book. But I loved how the author wrote in terms I, not being in the medical field, could understand and learn about things I just take for granted. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    not a story

    im half way through and this book barely ha any stoyry you cn get attached to

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Medical Info Pertinent to Today

    I am a nurse and this book was excellent- loved the "man on the street" reactions to the innovative ideas!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Great!

    I really enjoyed this book! It was easy to read and very informative. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has any interest in medicine, science and history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    verg good knowledge

    was good data

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    surprisingly good

    If you have any medical background whatever you will enjoy this book. I knew some medical history but this book provides detailed play by play of some great discoveries. Did you know anesthetic drugs were first party drugs, and then found their eventual use when the party-goers realized their mishaps didn't hurt? Not a page-turner but a book I enjoyed...thank-you Free Fridays.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Informative and interesting

    I can definitely appreciate a historical book that is both readable and entertaining. This book was easy to digest while remaining thought provoking as it covered large spans of time. Politics aside, this text provides much to ponder regarding our civilization and Western attitudes toward wellness.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    Why??

    Is there a reason this is listed in the free section and on the Free Friday blog but is currently listed at 9.99?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Loved it

    This book was easy to read as it was very interesting. Things that we take for granted were controversial once, and it was fascinating learning about them.
    I definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    I enjoyed this book. Written at a relatable level -- just enough detail to explain but not enough to confuse. If you enjoy history or science, you will enjoy the big picture this book gives on medical history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Fascinating!

    Great deal for a free book. Gotta admit, the writing ( and basic spelling, grammar) of most self-published Smashwords titles are usually unreadable for me...but this one was very professional, engaging & fascinating- great science writing with lively anecdotes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Very good overview.

    Im not in the medical field but found this easy to read and understand. I had a lot of "a ha" moments reading this. They explain all the modern medicine that we take for granted. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Alright

    Some was interesting, especially the early-day information. Got a bit boring and too detailed for the average person towards the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Very interesting

    What a great idea. Hopefully the future brings more discoveries!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Wow

    Very interesting. Author did a great job explaining how these world changing things occurred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    A Solid Tour of the History of Medical Discoveries

    A solid, albeit at some points workmanlike, tour through the top ten breakthroughs in medicine. This book is at it's best when it is describing the historical accidents surrounding medical discoveries; I wont's soon forget many of the anecdotes about early medical cases. After plotting out the many benefits accrued by the slow triumph of evidence-based medicine, the inclusion of "Integrative Medicine" in the final chapter seem a bit incongruous- or at least premature - but the chapter on alternative treatments does give the author a good excuse to digress on the history of medicine in the 19th century in the United States. Overall: a worthwhile, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Interesting but repetitive

    A good premise, well researched, but presented in a very repetitive manner. The 10 sections, each covering one medical "breakthrough," could have been streamlined by reining in the author's tendency to use the same language to make a point over and over again. This book could have been a much better read, had the author shown respect for his readers' ability to understand its message the first time, and not tried to make his point over and over again, often repeating himself word for word or nearly so. With judicious editing, this book could have been much better -- and about 25% shorter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    A bit boring (didmt finish it) but if you are into medicine you'll like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20