Customer Reviews for

Breakthrough: Eight Steps to Wellness

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Great but Expensive Advice

I have seen Susanne on a TV program recently and this lady really knows what she is talking about. It is not just unsubstantiated fluff, like in case of some other authors. When you listen to her and when you watch her, you see that she is real, that she knows her stuff...
I have seen Susanne on a TV program recently and this lady really knows what she is talking about. It is not just unsubstantiated fluff, like in case of some other authors. When you listen to her and when you watch her, you see that she is real, that she knows her stuff, and that she is actually living it. So, when Suzanne tells me that we are able to live past 100 years in a good health it does get my attention. However, to achieve that we do need to take our health seriously and be proactive.

In "Brakthrough: Eight Steps to Wellness" Suzanne talks about a better life, a healthier life, and a life of youthful energy. Not only she explores the newest developments in the science of longevity and anti-aging but she also gives specific advice of what we need to do to attain our longevity goals. These are the secret of youthfulness that everyone can achieve. Suzanne's "approach to health gives you back your lean body, shining hair, and thick skin", as long as you watch your nutrition, exercise, and live in a toxic-free environment.

However, I have to take one star off the rating for THE COST OF IT ALL! Although her general attitude seems to be against the mainstream medical community, a lot of the remedies that Suzanne offers are very expensive. It is true that we might extend our lives to over 100 but we will also not be able to retire until after late nineties to be able to afford the exact modus operandi that Suzanne does in her own health care. Therefore for anyone with a lower income I highly recommend "Can We Live 150 Years" for much more affordable alternatives to Suzanne's approach. The author is a former head of Center for Health Sciences in Moscow and his books are filled with great advice for living healthy live, proper combining of foods, detoxification, correcting spine problems, and much more. The important thing is that his remedies are based on ingredients readily available in most common households. Another great book of this author is "Cure the Incurable".

posted by Dobrin on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not useful

I did not have to read much to know that this book was way beyond what I expected. I thought this may shed light on alternative health food products however it had more to do with what Suzanne is doing and her path to wellness....which I felt the average person would n...
I did not have to read much to know that this book was way beyond what I expected. I thought this may shed light on alternative health food products however it had more to do with what Suzanne is doing and her path to wellness....which I felt the average person would not be able to afford nor would they want to go to these extremes...I was disappointed - I thought this would be a partner to the People's Pharamacy books - and give some affordable and sensible practices...

posted by 997631 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great but Expensive Advice

    I have seen Susanne on a TV program recently and this lady really knows what she is talking about. It is not just unsubstantiated fluff, like in case of some other authors. When you listen to her and when you watch her, you see that she is real, that she knows her stuff, and that she is actually living it. So, when Suzanne tells me that we are able to live past 100 years in a good health it does get my attention. However, to achieve that we do need to take our health seriously and be proactive.<BR/><BR/>In "Brakthrough: Eight Steps to Wellness" Suzanne talks about a better life, a healthier life, and a life of youthful energy. Not only she explores the newest developments in the science of longevity and anti-aging but she also gives specific advice of what we need to do to attain our longevity goals. These are the secret of youthfulness that everyone can achieve. Suzanne's "approach to health gives you back your lean body, shining hair, and thick skin", as long as you watch your nutrition, exercise, and live in a toxic-free environment.<BR/><BR/>However, I have to take one star off the rating for THE COST OF IT ALL! Although her general attitude seems to be against the mainstream medical community, a lot of the remedies that Suzanne offers are very expensive. It is true that we might extend our lives to over 100 but we will also not be able to retire until after late nineties to be able to afford the exact modus operandi that Suzanne does in her own health care. Therefore for anyone with a lower income I highly recommend "Can We Live 150 Years" for much more affordable alternatives to Suzanne's approach. The author is a former head of Center for Health Sciences in Moscow and his books are filled with great advice for living healthy live, proper combining of foods, detoxification, correcting spine problems, and much more. The important thing is that his remedies are based on ingredients readily available in most common households. Another great book of this author is "Cure the Incurable".

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Not useful

    I did not have to read much to know that this book was way beyond what I expected. I thought this may shed light on alternative health food products however it had more to do with what Suzanne is doing and her path to wellness....which I felt the average person would not be able to afford nor would they want to go to these extremes...I was disappointed - I thought this would be a partner to the People's Pharamacy books - and give some affordable and sensible practices...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Live a Long and Healthy Life

    In Breakthrough: 8 Steps to Wellness, by Suzanne Somers, she outlines how we can live healthy lives past the age 100. The basics include eating healthy 'organic when possible' food, avoiding pharmaceuticals 'except for pain, infection, mental illness or if absolutely necessary,' and avoiding toxins in the home and environment. She also advises the use of what she calls 'breakthrough medicine'--Bioidentical hormone replacement therapy: 'to remain youthful, healthy and energetic.' Somers herself had breast cancer and she takes her own health seriously. Her message is that we must take charge of our own health and be proactive. The book is presented with alternative doctor's interviews between the 8 chapters on the steps to wellness. The 8 Steps: * Get BHRT * Avoid chemicals and detoxify your body * Take nutrition seriously * Care for your GI tract * Avoid pharmaceuticals unless absolutely necessary * Supplement your diet * Exercise regularly * Get proper sleep Somers includes a chapter on her regime, which includes self-administrating vitamin shots, in-home yoga teacher, liver rubs and more. A little intimidating, but hey--she's had cancer and is a celebrity! I really enjoyed this book and felt it has plenty to offer, especially for middle-aged people and older who need hormone replacement therapy. I agree about what she writes about eating natural and organic food, but more could be said on the subject. I recommend Michael Pollan's IN DEFENSE OF FOOD to suppliment Breathrough. I also agree with Somers that a toxic-free environment is imperative to good health. She writes about using non-toxic household cleaners, air quality and filtering water. There is much more great advice on detoxifying your home in the award winning book, HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT: BEAUTIFY, DETOXIFY & ENERGIZE YOUR LIFE, YOUR HOME & YOUR PLANET. For some, the advice from the doctors might seem far out or strange, but alternative medicine has been practiced in Europe for over 50 years with great success. Read this book and decide for yourself--but at least, educate yourself.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't Pass This Up!!

    I LOVE this book! I have passed it along to so many people because it is filled with information that we MUST know as a nation. We take more prescription meds in the US than the rest of the world combined!! Our 8 minute doctor visits that are followed by a prescription for whatever to just get us out of the office are killing us as a nation. The chemicals in prescriptions, foods and our water are poisoning our systems.<BR/><BR/>Don't let the fact that Suzanne once played Chrissy Snow scare you. She is NOT a ding-dong. She has spent years researching many facets of health and her book is filled with jaw dropping information on every page. I first read the book after I borrowed it from the library, but by the 40th page, I realized that the information contained in the book was so vital that I needed my own copy for reference. Suzanne takes medical things that might, in other circumstances, put you to sleep and makes it easy to understand.<BR/><BR/>Our hormones run our entire body and every time we eat crap, or take a pain reliever or worse yet, the anti-depressants your doctor said would make you feel "right" again, it throws our entire hormonal system into chaos. It is then that our organs, and the rest of our body starts to age and become sickly. This book will also help you understand why we are so fat and sick as a nation.<BR/><BR/>Do yourself a favor and buy this book, and have it shipped in the quickest manner possible. The sooner you have it in your hands, the faster you will begin to achieve the wonderful health that nature intended.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cutting Edge medicine without drugs!!!!!

    Suzanne Somers uses her celebrity status to speak out against the current medical system which encourages the use of drugs for every problem without looking for the root cause. This cutting edge book has many interviews with courageous doctors who are treating the whole person for wellness. This is medicine which adds quality to your life. The references offered in this book are worth far more than the price of the book. She has put together a nationwide reference to doctors practicing this age defying medicine. This is her best book yet. I think it should be required reading for every man and woman over 40.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Good anti-aging strategies

    Breakthrough is a great book that provides a wealth of information on anti-aging strategies. Suzanne Somers consulted with physicians to share the latest and greatest that medicine has to offer in everyday remedies we can employ to combat aging and live a fuller life. Some of the strategies are more basic and easy to employ (like managing your sleep duration and when you sleep) and others are not going to be used by everyone, such as injecting vitamins into your body. The good news is there's plenty of information, so that you can choose what's right for you. I also read The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book this week after seeing it recommended here, and I'd like to pass on the recommendation. It's a fascinating book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    An excellent guide to health and wellness

    This is an outstanding guide that opened my eyes to so many health facts, both good and bad. The book is filled with interesting and sometimes provocative information. Highly recommended, as is Dr. Goliszek's new book, Thinking Your Way to Better Health.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Truth Shines

    I can't stop talking about this book to my family and friends. I was absolutely hooked from the minute I picked it up. I have been looking for answers and here they are. I had already enjoyed one of her other books focusing on hormone replacement but this pulls it all together for you. I'm the kind of person that needs to understand the how and why before I can make major changes. The "because I said so" doesn't work for me. This lays everything out for you. Suzanne takes the time to ask the questions you would ask yourself of the experts who know! I'm always a fan of the underdog and I feel that the truth will eventually shine. These people have put their behinds on the line to buck the system and tell us the truths we need to hear. It has set me on a journey to make positive changes. Now that I know, I can't go back. I have to go forward. I am using it as a reference guide and buying it for anyone that I care about so they can be enlightened too. I can't thank them all enough for getting the word out. Unfortunately some technologies recommended are not so affordable for the average joe on a budget. However, there are so many tips for supplements, exercise and nutrition that anyone can adopt. My husband and I have revamped our eating habits and supplements with great results in just a few months. This has also spilled over to my kids. I'm teaching them to read labels and have better eating and exersize habits. This is a must read for anyone who wants to prevent or improve many health issues that accompany aging.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    This was a life changing book for me, and a year later I feel so

    This was a life changing book for me, and a year later I feel so much better than I have for years. I've read other books by Suzanne Somers but this one is by far my favorite. I'm grateful for all of her research and her voice to educate. She's single-handedly making the case for health and wellness and the importance of BHRT. Way to go Suzanne and thank you!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Best description of bioidentical hormones

    After reading many book on the use of bioidenticals I came upon this one and was amazed! Suzanne, with the assistance of interviews with top docs in the anti-aging field are able to get across in laymans terms what we all need to know to get and stay well. I have fibromyalgia and my symptoms are practically identical to those of people with severe hormone imbalances. Working with these cutting-edge docs, I might just have found a way to get well!! This info is lifechanging. This is the type of medicine all doc will be practicing in 30 years. Big Pharma will do all they can to keep this from happening. Hopefully enough of us will educate ourselves and take control of our own health destinies. I cant say enough about this book! Thanks Suzanne. By the way the treatment is currently expensive. But do your research and you will find the right doc for you - I already have!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good book by Suzanne.

    I got this book in paperback after receiving KNOCKOUT as a gift. It continues to motivate me to focus on the well-being of my body for a better life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for the health-conscious person

    This is not a Sommer's preach-a-thon about her views. Most chapters are inteviews with doctors and experts in the field. I researched her research and it's true. This book is outstanding and everyone should read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    Excellent Book

    I saw Suzanne Sommers on the Larry King show. I am not a Suzanne Sommers fan, but after watching her interview, I was convinced. This woman has done her research and knows exactly how to live a healthy life. I ran out and bought 4 copies of her book to give to friends and family. This book was well written and very easy to understand. This book in my opinion was worth the money. Great job!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    KELDEO TO EVERYONE

    WE ARE MOVING TO Spinark RES ONE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Zelda

    I slap a bitaca

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Artemis

    She wandered in. "Viri." [Is it just my luck im locked too?]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Knowledge Is Power

    Somers has come a long way since "Three's Company." Somers has written a book that will change how you look at your health and welfare. It is an eye opener. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness for every woman. Given the chance, it too could change your life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Suzanne's Books Are Always Great

    I have read several of Suzanne Sommers' books, and I always find them to be well-researched, factual, and thought-provoking. Her advice about Bio-identical hormone therapy is right on the money, at least it has been for me. I recommend her books to anyone who is interested in maintaining great health.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a must read for anyone who has cancer

    Finally, someone mainstream who has the guts to blow the whistle on the cancer industry's dirty little secrets. It has long been known in natural medicine and in other countries that there ARE successful treatments and even cures for some cancers. Cancer is misunderstood by the average lay person and does not have to be an automatic death sentence. Suzanne Somers gives power back to the patient by educating them and teaching them the skills needed to be their own advocate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    Breakthrough

    A Clear,compelling in straightforward prose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4