Customer Reviews for

Breakthrough Branding: How Smart Entrepreneurs and Intrapreneurs Transform a Small Idea into a Big Brand

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Awesome Book!!!

    This book literally has changed my life! Every chapter has great information that can be used to build a foundation for your brand and consistently maintain it. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    For me, an overwhelmed start-up entrepreneur, this book answers

    For me, an overwhelmed start-up entrepreneur, this book answers "Where do I start?" and "HoFor me, an overwhelmed start-up entrepreneur, this book answers "Where do I start?" and "How do I it?. I found this book easy to read, practical, and inspiring. It is helping me to more clearly focus my business and marketing plans. Catherine Kaputa's engaging narrative breaks down the branding creation process and helps you to very clearly define your business so that it stands out--especially in the ever expanding internet marketplace. First, I borrowed it from the library, then bought my own copy. I'll be using Breakthrough Branding as a reference for a long time. In my opinion, Breakthrough Branding is essential for anyone starting a business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    From Conception to Manifestation--Catherine Kaputa Leads, Guides, & Supports You All The Way

    As an educator-turned entrepreneur, I have buried my head in books and self-study courses on personal branding. Although, I have read remarkable books by international brand strategists, not one book focused on showing me how to take a small idea and develop it into a thriving, dynamic, even global brand. Catherine Kaputa took the time to do so. What you will love about this book is that she does not talk over your head, using a lot of business and marketing jargon; rather she makes every concept or terminology she teaches relevant through engaging stories and descriptive examples. Your success is not left to chance as Catherine guides you from conception to manifestation of the branding process. Undoubtedly, you will experience a breakthrough and your perspective on the vast opportunities available to you in this 21st century will be evident!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    Breakthrough Branding covers all possible ground that an entrepr

    Breakthrough Branding covers all possible ground that an entrepreneur should know about branding to be successful in the modern world. The book allowed me to choose the level of engagement with its journey around the branding world.

    As a web designer, I learnt quite a bit from the chapter on visual branding; not only through the entertaining stories about how different brand looks came to be, but also through the brainstormers and exercises.

    Breakthrough Branding will keep you learning and enjoying as you read it, don't miss out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Catherine Kaputa¿s ¿Breakthrough Branding¿ is a brilliant tour o

    Catherine Kaputa’s “Breakthrough Branding” is a brilliant tour of the
    universe of branding, from positioning a product or a company to
    positioning oneself through one’s relationship to one’s environment and
    those who inhabit it. Through hundreds of real-life examples and the
    knowledge acquired from three decades on Madison Avenue and Wall Street,
    Ms. Kaputa has produced a compelling essential work for individuals who
    wish to understand the difference successful branding can make to
    beneficially affect how their businesses and their selves are perceived.
    The author looks at branding broadly and holistically, so it’s not just
    about names and logos and fonts and colors; rather, one learns what one
    must do to build strong relationships with customers, from idea
    generation, positioning, naming, and packaging to visual identity and
    marketing tactics. This is not a dry textbook on marketing, but a fun
    read filled with provocative ideas and examples. As a CEO who wants to
    impact the marketplace, I enthusiastically recommend this book to all
    working for their companies’ advancement, as well as for their own.
    Entrepreneurs who run businesses and corporate entrepreneurs inside
    companies: Take heed and read it! Jeffrey LaRiche, Chairman and CEO,
    Castle Worldwide, Inc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    If you are looking to create a business or want to be more succe

    If you are looking to create a business or want to be more successful in an existing business, “Breakthrough Branding” will be a helpful and fun read. Lots of success-oriented insights and how to implement them. A glance at the chapter titles will give you a good idea of what’s in store for readers:
    • What’s the Brand Idea?
    • Power Positioning
    • Creating Your Brand’s Look and Feel
    • Pimp My Brand!
    • Brand Big: Boldly Marketing the Brand

    In another chapter, the author talks about internal branding, building a company brand internally to match the external consumer brand with interesting examples on how to do it.

    If you’re looking for one book to guide you on branding, this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    A Great Book With Invaluable Knowledge About Building Your Business!

    I am a young entrepreneur trying to set up my own freelancing business, and this book has been a great insight into what it takes to build a brand. I have been concerned about how to market my business, how to stand out from the crowd, and how to make my image and services unique. This book explains just that and more. As I read, I find myself excited to apply the techniques inside to my own business. The book is written in a very simple, engaging manner, making the reading very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this book to anyone else looking to make their business the best that it can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Standing Out

    Catherine Kaputa delivers the goods. Her concepts of self-branding are thought provoking, and her ideas on how to implement them are even better.

    The author goes into ways to differentiate yourself and stand out in person and virtually on the Internet through your website, blog or on social media like Twitter, Facebook and
    LinkedIn.

    The keys are to be different, relevant and consistent at every touchpoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    useful too. It will get you ready to launch your company or spif

    useful too. It will get you ready to launch your company or spiff up your brand, whatever the case may be.

    I’m in sales and I’ve always said that you’re an entrepreneur if you’re in sales. And nothing can be sold unless there is a good sales persona behind it. The author sees it a little differently. She says, nothing is sold until it’s branded.

    All in all, well worth the time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Best of the Best There are a lof of branding books, but most a

    Best of the Best

    There are a lof of branding books, but most are too much like textbooks and way too theoretical. This book is the opposite: fun, informative, inspiring.

    If you’re an entrepreneur, and if you’re not, you should think like one – this book is for you. It’s a must-read that I’m telling my friends to pick up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    You need this book if you're an entrepreneur! I am a solo entrep

    You need this book if you're an entrepreneur!
    I am a solo entrepreneur, so I am constantly on the lookout for ways to increase the effectiveness of everything I do. This book provided so many insights on how I can leverage myself and build my business' brand. It certainly exceeded my expectations.
    "Breakthrough Branding" is a must-have book if you're an entrepreneur. It provides practical ideas for thriving in today's competitive business market. Catherine Kaputa presents real examples and company stories to support each of her principles and tactics. So the book is not just theory, but a fun read that gives you many ideas you can implement -- right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    As the author, Catherine Kaputa, says, “We’re all en

    As the author, Catherine Kaputa, says, “We’re all entrepreneurs now whether
    we work in a company or have our own business. We all are responsible for our
    company’s growth. We all need to be brand builders.”

    I just read Breakthrough Branding, and as a corporate entrepreneur, this book gave
    me new insights into how to transform a small idea into a big brand.

    Here are some of the key ideas in the book:
    - Nothing is sold until it’s branded.
    - Branding is building an image and creating emotional connections with customers.
    - Find a “small idea,” a simple, focused brand promise that defines what’s special
    about your brand.
    - It used to be, the bigger your business plan, the bigger its potential.
    Now, it’s the smaller your business plan, the bigger its potential.
    - Better entrepreneurs don’t win. Entrepreneurs with better perceptions win.
    - The name you give your business or idea is your first and most important strategic
    and creative decision.
    - Touching the truth cord is the root of all great branding lines. Tell the truth, but
    make it interesting.
    - You’ve got to come up with something that visually defines the brand.

    I could go on and on, but pick up the book for inspiration and guidance on
    innovation, creativity and branding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    If there is one book to guide you as an entrepreneur, it’


    If there is one book to guide you as an entrepreneur, it’s Breakthrough Branding. I should know since I’ve ready just about everything that is out there. So, I picked up this book not expecting too much and was very happy that I did.

    I didn’t have high expectations because so many branding books are too theoretical, but this book is practical yet inspiring. I was captivated by the many short brand histories throughout the book, including how mega brands like Twitter, Forever 21, Honest Tea and many others got their starts. The book has brand stories covering every type of product and service so there is something for everyone.

    The book covers everything you need to know about branding, starting with finding your business idea, naming it, figuring out how your product and website should look, and finding your brand voice.

    To help you implement the branding ideas, each chapter contains exercises, which I found very helpful for my business. I have some new products that are in development so I found the chapter on naming your products very valuable.

    The book also has a chapter on internal branding, building an internal brand with your employees that complements the external brand and helps you be more successful. The author shares inside stories from companies like Zynga, Kayak, Google, McDonalds and others on things you can do to create a dynamic internal culture.

    I think you’ll find the book a helpful addition to your library as an entrepreneur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Breakthrough Branding Rocks I picked up Breakthrough Branding o

    Breakthrough Branding Rocks

    I picked up Breakthrough Branding on a whim since I’m in the process of launching my own non-profit.

    The book is a manifesto for entrepreneurs and social entrepreneurs beginning with finding your business idea and making sure it’s what Kaputa calls a “small idea,” a business concept that’s simple, focused and different. That way you can own a niche in the marketplace and survive the “Valley of Death,” the difficult start-up phase that kills off so many entrepreneurs.

    Kaputa started her career in branding with the two positioning gurus Al Ries and Jack Troup, and she emphasizes positioning your brand against competitors. Here ate the 13 positioning strategies she suggests:
    1. Own an attribute
    2. Target a specific market
    3. Be the first
    4. Be the leader
    5. Be the maverick
    6. Have a magic ingredient
    7. Have a special process
    8. Connect with a celebrity
    9. Be a cheapener
    10. Align with a cause
    11. Highlight a special heritage
    12. Create scarcity
    13. Go green and sustainable

    Kaputa also goes into how to develop a strong verbal identity – name, mission, tagline, and how to crease a distinctive visual identity – “own a visual something, a look, a color, a shape, a logo, a design esthetic. “ There are chapters on how to market your brand through traditional and new media. I found the chapter on “The Art of the Pitch” very insightful on how to pitch investors and other constituencies.

    In short the book is a must read if you’re a new entrepreneur or an established one. Or you work in a company where innovation, creativity and brand building are important – and that’s just about everywhere these days.

    You Are a Brand

    In today’s job market, we’ve all got to be in charge of our brand

    I highly recommend You Are a Brand to everyone, literally everyone.

    As the author points out, we’ve all got to think like branders in today’s market place. That’s just the way it is now. As the author says, “If you don’t brand yourself, other people will.”

    The author has a background in branding and advertising, so rather than the normal fluff about personal branding, Kaputa introduces principles and strategies from the commercial world of branding, and shows how you can use the same techniques for Brand You.

    As the author says, “cardinal rule of branding is to be different.” Oh yeah, I thought, how do you do that. But the author includes exercises and mini case studies to show you how to find your USP, unique selling proposition, the value that you bring to a business situation.

    Through interesting stories and principles, she shows you how to “package” yourself with a Visual Identity (look, clothes, trademark items) and Verbal Identity (messages, communication style).

    It was a fun and compelling read. I felt that I learned a lot, and it’s written in a breezy style that got me involved in the stories she told. I loved the different client stories that show how to apply the principles of branding in a real world setting.

    You Are a Brand is a great book that I highly recommend.

    The Female Brand

    The Story of Success for Women

    If you’re a woman, you need to read this book. It’s a robust and compelling examination of women in business, how it can be different for women, and how to succeed. The core of the book is about understanding the source of your competitive edge and utilizing all your strengths. The author focuses on female aptitudes that women can leverage in business such as emotional intelligence, empathy, people and relationship skills, verbal ability and leadership style. It’s written in a compelling, highly readable style.

    As a woman in business, I could see how I could apply Kaputa’s ideas and wisdom to my own career success, and it’s made a big difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    I read Catherine Kaputa’ first book “You are a Brand

    I read Catherine Kaputa’ first book “You are a Brand” and it was very insightful and inspiring to me. So I bought this book right after it published since I’ve heard that this book talks about branding targeting on entrepreneurs and Startup Company owners. I own a small business and I needed to brand my company as well as myself in order to make my business grow.

    I read the book thoroughly and it was again, mind-blowing. The book makes me contemplated how to take charge of the brand of my company. She talked about in the book that how to strike the right balance between innovation and staying true to the brand. She also provided six insightful branding tips for business leaders, which gives me great ideas of how to pitch my own company brand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1