BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Breakup (Kate Shugak Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

I am stoked that I stumbled upon this author, Ive read four so far and have bought two more! This one was the best yet. Great read......I give it five stars!

posted by Binker on March 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Okay for those following the Kate Shugak series.

There are 27 Kate Shugak mystery novels to date regarding the rural Alaskan Aleut PI. You can skip this one and still have a lot of material left. A Cold Day for Murder, the first in the series, is a solid reading experience, making Breakup a comparative disappointment....
There are 27 Kate Shugak mystery novels to date regarding the rural Alaskan Aleut PI. You can skip this one and still have a lot of material left. A Cold Day for Murder, the first in the series, is a solid reading experience, making Breakup a comparative disappointment. If you are a devoted Kate Shugak reader, you will enjoy Breakup well enough. No boredom here, it runs at breakneck speed from beginning to end. It's just way over the top and devotes too little time to creating any identification much less empathy with any of its many characters. Maybe since its No. 7 in the series, the author assumed the groundwork had been laid and didn't bear repeating. Even assuming that rationale applies to recurring characters, it does not apply to new ones, who range from undeveloped to unlikely.

posted by the_curious_reader on November 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Great book!

    I am stoked that I stumbled upon this author, Ive read four so far and have bought two more! This one was the best yet. Great read......I give it five stars!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    wickedly humorous mystery

    One of the most enjoyable reads I have come across. The author piles one unexpected incident upon another until only a strong, resourceful, woman like Kate Shugak could bear up under the burden of infallibilty her fellow Alaskans feel free to thrust upon her I laughed out loud frequently and hated to have it end. Some of the professional reviewers seem to have the missed the humorous nature of the book and the intent of the author to portray the effects of surviving another long Alaskan winter upon its inhabitants. The publisher's cover art and interior grey splotches do not do this author's work justice.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    Best of the series

    In my opinion this is the best of the Shugak books, the description of th breakup period is mesmerizing, linking the changes in nature with the psychological answers to them. It also is the funniest of the books in this series I have read so far, a nice change of pace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Absolutely recommended

    If you've never lived through Alaskan breakup, as I have, you may not get it, but the humor in this story kept me laughing all the way. Sure, there's a body, but that's her modus operendi. The combination of all those things that makes breakup so exciting are in this book. I laughed until I had tears. I absolutely recommend it to anyone who knows Shugak's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Great Alaska content!

    I have all of her Alaska mysteries and they're all great! This one was quite fun, as well - in some ways the theme of what goes on at breakup was quite humorous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    my favorite so far!

    Full of mayhem, mischief, suspense and tons of humor to boot! This is a definite must read! Stabenow does it again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    This is must read of the Shugak series. My favorite.

    I enjoy all of the books in the Kate Shugak series. Breakup was fun and humerous depicting all the things happening in Breakup. For those who have lived in Alaska during Breakup when the ice melts and moves out, it will bring a smile to your face remembering your own springtime Breakup season. Different parts of the country experience different effects of going from winter to spring. Non so dramatic and entertaining as Dana Stabenow's BREAKUP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Absolutety my favorite so far!

    I have actually read this book more than once, and each time I am still as hooked! Great mystery, and also very humurous! Murphy's Law is definitely in effect in Kate's life all through this book! I LOVED IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    This is my favorite Kate Shugak novel -- enjoyable from start to

    This is my favorite Kate Shugak novel -- enjoyable from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Check this out!

    The entire series is wonderful. You can't help but love this independent character. Read this one and all the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Great Book

    This was my favorite of all the Kate Shugak Series! And funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Super, funny book; a must read

    Great book, funny and exciting. Moves rapidly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Always enjoy Kate Shugak stories

    Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    A Stabenow Fan

    Yep, I'm a Stabenow Fan -- and a Kate Shugak fan. I've read several of this series and have like them all. I also like that they are set in Alaska.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    My favorite Kate Shugak novel!

    There is a reason this book was listed as a fan favorite in the description. Funny, crazy and full of interesting characters. I love this series. This is not the first review I have given on this series. I love Kate Shugak and Dana Stabenow's description of Alaska. It truly transports me away from my world. I would recommend this book, this series and this author to anyone. At .99 cents, what is stopping you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    love kate

    kate is one of the best-written female characters in modern mysteries... would love to see her meet nevada barr's anna pigeon! highly recommend the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    WHAT A FIND

    WAS ON A CRUISE TO ALASKA (HOW APPROPRIATE) WITH ALL MY BOOKS READ--A FRIEND LENT ME THIS BOOK. I WAS HOOKED FROM PAGE ONE. THE DESCRIPTION OF CHARACTERS AND SURROUNDINGS IS SUPERB-THE AUTHOR PAINTS PICTURES THAT ARE HARD NOT TO IMAGINE WITH CLARITY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2001

    Excellent Read

    I have read all of the Kate Shugak mysteries but this one made me laugh out loud. I can't imaginge being shut in all winter and the way I would act being reintroduced to the world again. One of her best novels yet!Always a great mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3