BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Breakup Bible

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

Jennifer had the perfect boyfriend, the All-American Boy, Max Brown, who she has had a crush on since kindergarten. Everything was fine and peachy for them, or at least that is what Jennifer believed. Out of nowhere Max tells her that he has been thinking about this a l...
Jennifer had the perfect boyfriend, the All-American Boy, Max Brown, who she has had a crush on since kindergarten. Everything was fine and peachy for them, or at least that is what Jennifer believed. Out of nowhere Max tells her that he has been thinking about this a lot and just ends their relationships. Heartbroken, Jennifer has no idea what went wrong and is having trouble seeking out the answers, most likely because all she can do is cry in her room.

Jennifer's grandmother believes that the only way she can get over the relationship is by reading The Breakup Bible, the pink book with a golden heart torn in the middle, written by Dr. Emory Emerson. At first Jennifer is still too shaken up about the relationship that she can't even think of her ex's five faults (step one of The Breakup Bible). Jennifer is too busy thinking that Max has figured out that he has made the hugest mistake by breaking up with her. She constantly wonders about this when Max seems to be sending mixed signals to her in their journalism class.

But as Jennifer begins to see that thinking about Max may not be the healthiest thing for her, she takes Dr. Emerson's book and starts using the ten commandments, from trying to not talk bad about your ex to getting a new hobby. But little does Jennifer know that the changes that occur aren't only because of the book--and that the perfect boyfriend she once had isn't so perfect after all.

THE BREAKUP BIBLE is funny, sad, and very sassy all rolled up into one. Melissa Kantor tells the story of Jennifer, who everyone will soon grow to love and cheer for, hoping that she gets together with just the right guy. Not only Jennifer, but also her Nana and mother, makes the story even better. Teen angst never looked so good until THE BREAKUP BIBLE. I say that it is in need of a sequel.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Plain

EXTREMELY BORING!!!! Would not recommend for casual read.

posted by UrbanDecay on May 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    Jennifer had the perfect boyfriend, the All-American Boy, Max Brown, who she has had a crush on since kindergarten. Everything was fine and peachy for them, or at least that is what Jennifer believed. Out of nowhere Max tells her that he has been thinking about this a lot and just ends their relationships. Heartbroken, Jennifer has no idea what went wrong and is having trouble seeking out the answers, most likely because all she can do is cry in her room. <BR/><BR/>Jennifer's grandmother believes that the only way she can get over the relationship is by reading The Breakup Bible, the pink book with a golden heart torn in the middle, written by Dr. Emory Emerson. At first Jennifer is still too shaken up about the relationship that she can't even think of her ex's five faults (step one of The Breakup Bible). Jennifer is too busy thinking that Max has figured out that he has made the hugest mistake by breaking up with her. She constantly wonders about this when Max seems to be sending mixed signals to her in their journalism class. <BR/><BR/>But as Jennifer begins to see that thinking about Max may not be the healthiest thing for her, she takes Dr. Emerson's book and starts using the ten commandments, from trying to not talk bad about your ex to getting a new hobby. But little does Jennifer know that the changes that occur aren't only because of the book--and that the perfect boyfriend she once had isn't so perfect after all. <BR/><BR/>THE BREAKUP BIBLE is funny, sad, and very sassy all rolled up into one. Melissa Kantor tells the story of Jennifer, who everyone will soon grow to love and cheer for, hoping that she gets together with just the right guy. Not only Jennifer, but also her Nana and mother, makes the story even better. Teen angst never looked so good until THE BREAKUP BIBLE. I say that it is in need of a sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    digggg .

    aha , i've never reviewed a book before . but , this one was so good i couldn't help but tell people about it[: i finished it in roughly , 4 1/2 hours , & jus couldn't put it down . i've never got a book to make me ' laugh out loud ' before . but this one certainly made me laugh & cry & drop my jaw from shock RECOMMMENDED! the cover was a turrn off for me , but don't judge a boook by it's cover x3[: must read .

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    Plain

    EXTREMELY BORING!!!! Would not recommend for casual read.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Great book!

    Jennifer's boyfriend Max Brown dumps her for another girl. Jenn is heart broken. So her nana buys her a book called the breakup bible. As the book progresses Jenn realizes that Max is not the one for her. This book is great because it shows the true love a teenage couple and heartbreak

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    AMAZING

    I love this book. It is funny and it also can help you through a break up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dumped?

    Got dumped? Great book to read when you're feeling a bit down in the dumps. Get your spirits up. It worked for me! Believe me, you have nothing to lose. Give it a try. I promise you'll like it...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Love it

    Such a great book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Funny and cute chick lit

    This book was extremely funny and I loved it. It was a cute idea and i thought it was a good book to read on a rainy day or during SSR time at school. I love Melissa Kantor and the books she has written but many or all of them are chick lits and though I love them, I don't recommend them if you are looking for a deep read.
    Jen is easily relatable but is a little too dramatic about her break up with Max.
    Anyway, I recommend this cute and fluffy book to anyone looking for a light and easy read.

    BTW--- I don't know how blonde the previous commentator is but unless you have customized your username, it remains as Anonymous. Maybe you were being sarcastic or trying to act dumb to get a laugh, but really? That is just sad; obviously there is more than one person reviewing as anonymous : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Stop

    Anonymous you have wroten more than half of every review i have looked at and they are all different so STOP NOW! The book is awesome I could relate to it... The book explained my life

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it

    I could not but this book down, i love all the books she writes and im very happy that i discovered someone that i can start reading there books now. I highly reccomend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Taylerlautnerlover

    I think this was a good book so far im almost to chapter 4
    I think its a lil bit cheasy but not compleatly

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Nothing You Don't Already Know

    This book was like a cheesy made-for-tv movie that you were excited to watch because it seemed interesting, but in the end were let down by because of it over-dramatized ways and cliches. The characters are not developed well and because of that the book seemed shallow. It tries to preach a theme of not needing anyone to be happy, but does so in such a way that it really only succeeds in making you roll your eyes because most of what it says is programmed into us by romantic comedies and t.v. series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    On your way to happiness

    I really enjoyed this bo Dju ok. I recently just got dumped the same way and I was able to relate to all of jen's emitions. I really recommend this book to anyone who is going through a break up. Trust me it helps. I now feel better about myself and no longer feel sad when I am reminded of my ex. By reading this book I have realized that I have finally reached my happiness.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    This book is more relative to teens

    Good book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    The best book ever!!!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted February 20, 2011

    break up bible

    This is a great book!! It will make you laugh and cry. If your looking for a book to help you get over a previous boy friend this is the book to do just that! ENJOY!!! :))))))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    uplifting! & fun too!

    some girls will read this book because you have...dumped. & you couldnt have made a better choice to lift your spirts and make you feel like your not the only person out there with a broken heart ;) but there are some readers who just want to read it for fun and it will appeal to you to because it fun, funny and entertaining has hell! lol good way to spend you money!
    P.S the book i recomended(the lonely hearts club) is very good if your still sad about your break up and it SOOO good! i recomend it to ALL girls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    HILARIOUS book.

    I read it and could not stop laughing out loud. It was hilarious, relatable, and a hilarious spin on a hackneyed teen girl topic. It was one of the best books I had read in quite some time. Thank you, Melissa Kantor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I give it 3 Manhattans

    It was okay, not the best I've read. It reminded me of when me and my boyfriend broke up. I went through pretty much the same things Jennifer went through. A lot of girls could probably relate to Jennifer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Girly

    A nice, light read that is relatable to every teen girl. This book is about Jenny, a high school junior, trying to get over being dumped by her "perfect" boyfriend, while also trying to publish her controversial article in the school newspaper. A fun, girly book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3