Customer Reviews for

Breastfeeding Made Simple: Seven Natural Laws for Nursing Mothers

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Should have read this sooner!

    My son was 6 weeks old and breastfeeding was a nightmare! I was crying in pain at every feeding and wanted to give up. I was introduced to this book by a La Leche League leader and it saved me and my son. So many "ah ha" moments and practical things to try. We are still going strong at 6 months now! Highly recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    Erin G. - Illinois

    As I prepared to welcome my first child, I knew I wanted to nurse him for at least a year. The health and bonding benefits are just unbeatable. However, I knew very little about what to expect, and I got so many different answers when I asked. I read this book in my 9th month of pregnancy, was blessed with a healthy baby boy, and I then proceeded to successfully nurse him for a full year, even after going back to work 3 days a week when he was 3 months old. If I had not read this book, I honestly believe I would not have been as successful as I was. This book provided information, but more than that, it provided peace of mind. I have since recommended it to all of my friends who are expanding (or planning to expand) their families.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent & Informative Book on Breastfeeding

    I think this is the only book you need if you want to read about breastfeeding. It explains the nature of babies and breastfeeding, and the value, not only of breastmilk for babies, but the whole nursing process. It also explains the practical side of breastfeeding, including how to do it and how to handle problems associated with it. (There is a chapter in the back dedicated to issues such as low milk production, mastitis, poor latch, etc.) That said, it is very much pro-breastfeeding/anti-formula, so if you plan on feeding your child formula, you might feel a bit slighted when reading this since the authors make no bones about their feelings on that subject. Still, I found this to be an easy read and an inspirational one which cemented my commitment to nursing my child exclusively.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    The best breastfeeding book I read. It answered multiple questio

    The best breastfeeding book I read. It answered multiple questions and got me through the initial difficulties I had. I successfully breastfed for 15 months and do not believe it would have been possible with out the help of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    Breastfeeding Bible!!!

    I call this book my breastfeeding bible because that's exactly what it has been for me. As recommended, I started reading the book before giving birth - if you are still pregnant, definitely do that. It gives you so many useful recommendations on effective breastfeeding and keeping your milk supply high - and it all starts with the first hour your baby is born and the first few days in the hospital. I followed all recommendations and my milk supply is great and we haven't had any nursing issues so far (my baby is 2 months old now). It also gives you great recommendations on what to you when you're experiencing engorgement and how to prevent mastitis. It's a fantastic, easy to read book, which approaches breastfeeding as a very normal and natural thing. I exclusively breastfeed my baby and I am planning to do so until my baby is 6 months old - that's when I want to introduce solid foods to him. However, I want to breastfeed for one year, at least. If your goals are similar, then sufficient milk supply and problem-free breastfeeding is essential. This book will help you reach your goals. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    every new mom should have this

    I'm a fourth time mom and this time I wanted to get it right. I began reading this book during my pregnancy and I knew this time would be different. At the hospital I met with a lactation specialist and everything she was telling me I had read in this book. I think this is an incredible tool that every new mom should have. I gave the book to my sister, who was also pregnant at the time, and she loved it as well. I continue to recommend to all of my pregnant friends as this will broaden their knowledge and expectations of what is to come through this beautiful journey with your new child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I only wish I'd read it sooner!

    This book is simply wonderful! My experience with breastfeeding my son has been very fulfilling for us both and I don't have too many complaints. That said, I still wish very much that I had read this book before he was born. It is so supportive and informative. It makes you realize what an ingrained, natural, and IMPORTANT thing is it too feed your child the way nature has always intended. I had no idea there was so much research into this topic and this book presents it in a very easy to understand and useful way. It makes me look forward to my next experience with nursing. I know it will help my next child and I have an amazing start, middle and end to our breastfeeding relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Inspirational and Informative

    This book gives a lot of great information about breastfeeding including tips and techniques. The authors inspired me to not only "try" nursing my baby for a few months but to see it as a way to provide the perfect nutrition to my infant. I used to advice in the book to help troubleshoot some problem areas and was so pleased with the results! And with the support of the resources I found through this book I feel confident that I will be able to achieve my long term nursing goals. I began working with a lactation consultant who said she wishes all of her clients would rad this book. It gets right to the point of how and why to nurse and how to overcome challenges along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Great Book

    This is a simple and informative book. I bought it in preparation for breastfeeding and thought highly of it, which has not changed as I have begun working in a clinical setting helping others to breastfeed. Basic language, short chapters. Worth the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1