Customer Reviews for

Breath of Angel (Angelaeon Circle Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Unfortunately, I was very sadden by this latest book I read tit

    Unfortunately, I was very sadden by this latest book I read titled “Breath of Angel” written by, Karyn Henley. This is one of those books that as you read you are hoping it would get better and I truly wanted to be able to finish it. It began great in the first few chapters, fantasy world with dark vs light along with some human touches. Then I was lost as I continued. The characters were hard to understand and the writing didn’t seem smooth to carry me through chapter by chapter. I was so disappointed. I hate giving bad reviews on a book that someone has worked hard on, but this book wasn’t the right fit for me.

    *The opinions I have expressed are my own and I was not paid for my review, I received this book as complimentary copy from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    fast paced, slightly vague-- 3.5/5

    I received an advanced copy of this book over two months ago. It's taken me that long to get through it.

    When a traveler is murdered by a hawk in the temple courtyard, myths and fantasies known to the priestest Melaia transform into reality. The stranger's cloak falls away to
    reveal the long white wings of an angel, and the hawk returns in human form to keep the stranger's mission fro, accomplishment. Shapeshifters, angels, fantasy, reality? All she has known to be mere stories, ancient mythology in songs has come to life, and Melaia is caught in the middle of a blood feud. Two immortal brothers trapped forever in conflict, responsible for destroying the staircase to Heaven and trapping angels in the earthly realm.

    This book moved really fast. It seemed a little vague and there were times that I felt as though I had missed something, like I had skipped a chapter of background.

    Breath of Angels was also very character heavy, which may not have been a problem except that they had very fanciful names and I had little information to use to help keep them straight.

    The book was well written, and well plotted. It's a nice jaunt in a world of fantasy, but I felt it was definitely written for 'young adults,' that are younger than me, and the blurb on the back didn't do a very good job at letting the reader know.

    I received a free copy of the book Breath of Angel by Karyn Henley from Waterbrook Maltnomah in exchange for my honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    New Angel YA books - gotta love them!!

    The stairway to Heaven is not just a Led Zepplin song anymore. This baby is for real, and someone has closed it down, with no expectation as to when the DO NOT ENTER sign will be taken down. The souls are stuck on Earth with only one direction to go - down.

    Melaia is a priestess trained in healing. She never thought witnessing a murder would turn her whole world upside down. Soon after this fateful murder, she is bought for the king of the land. These two evens may seem a far cry from one another, but we will soon learn all parts of Melaia's fate are intertwined. She and her talents could prove useful to bring the king out of the melancholy that has gripped his heart. The kingdom is without a fully functioning king, and there is hope that Malaia will be able to cure him with the help of a special harp.

    On her way to the castle she is amazed to learn that the man who in essence "purchased" her, is stirring feelings she never considered before. As a priestess, she is allowed to have lovers and a partner, but she never thought that path was one she cared to travel down. Trevin has her completely baffled and causing knots to twist and turn in her stomach. Should a priestess get so tongue-tied over a man? And a man that she doesn't even know that she can trust! This confusion only adds to the list of mounting worries that are piling on as the seconds tick by.

    Oh yea- one thing I forgot to mention so far is the angels. When the stairway was destroyed, angels were trapped here on Earth with no way to return to their rightful place. Over the years many of them have settled down, almost content to live a human-like existence. Dreia, the guardian of the stairway, has perished, and without her, the fate of the gates to Heaven is uncertain. How does Malaia fit into this equation? Why was she pulled from her Temple and into the midst of all the conflict? Malaia is more involved than she could have ever dared to imagine. Her faith, courage, and luck will be tested at every turn. She can only pray that she makes it through alive.

    The angel story has become more popular in the last year or so, with all sorts of variation of angels and their abilities, talents, and hierarchies. This book has a very clear cut and defined organization to the angels, but some of the explanations to the angels and why some of them behaved in certain ways was unclear. It was interesting how only some of the angels had wings, while others did not possess one of the most distinguishing features most people would attribute to angels.

    The characters were likeable. Some of the relationships came off slightly two-dimensional. There is a love story going on in the background, but I had a hard time feeling the relationship blossom and grow. The passion, romance, and intrigue just seemed to be missing from this relationship. The lead protagonist, Malaia, was a very strong character. I enjoyed her stubbornness and her possession of self-identity. She always knew what she stood for and who exactly she was.

    This is the first novel in a series. I did enjoy this story enough to look forward to the continuation. This book has me vested enough in the plot line to want to know what happens to the smallest drak (these creatures will give you chills). I am hoping the characters in the next installment show their true colors and give that extra spice and excitement that seemed a bit lacking in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Slightly Overwhelming At First But Interesting

    In the end this turned out to be a fairly entertaining book although it took me a couple of tries to get into it. You are immediately tossed into Melaia's world where myth and fantasy are revealed as reality. There are a lot of characters, perhaps too many, and a substantial amount of series information packed into a relatively small book, which occasionally left me wondering if I had missed something early on. By the end I felt I was getting a grasp on the world of The Angeleon Circle series and I was intrigued enough to wonder what comes next. I think this book will appeal to many young adults and adults who enjoy books filled with fantasy and shape shifters. An added plus is that this book's content was not overly violent or sexually suggestive making it an okay read for advanced younger readers intrigued by the whole shape-shifter theme. I only gave this 3 stars because my rough start with it; but now I'm interested in seeing where this series progresses in the next book.
    ~Disclosure: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for the purpose of completing this review. The Blogging for Books program does not require positive reviews and as always all opinions expressed in this post are my own.~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Good, but not Great.

    Melaia is a priestess who lives in the Temple of Navia, with the young priestesses, and The High Priestess. Her life is perfect, until a stranger walks through the gates and is murdered in front of her.......... by a hawk. After this Melaia's world is spun out of control and she is thrust into one adventure after another as legends come to life right before her eyes. The stories she told to her friends all come to have a foothold in reality, as she meets both angels and immortals during her travels. Before long, she finds her self caught in a feud that has been going on for centuries, and everyone is saying that the only one who can end it is her.







    Breath of Angel, written by Karyn Henley and published in the year 2011 os the first book in The Angeleon Circle series. I enjoyed reading this book, because it's action packed and has a hint of romance. For Melaia there seems to be danger at every turn, coupled with adventure and excitment. I was never bored, and always at the edge of my seat. Melaia makes both friends and enemies in this fantasy tale.



    However, there are some downsides. While it's never boring, it seemed to go a little to fast, one minute someone's murdered and a few days later she's leaving the her home, then suddenly she's here, there, everywhere. While I liked the adventures and adversaries she encountered, she had to face one after the other after the other all at once and when I got to the end I couldn't believe I had finished. And also, the author hardly used the word "said" and at times I got confused, I didn't know who was saying what unless I went back and read it again.

    I would definitely recommend this book to my friends who like fantasy stories that keep them on the edges of their seat, but if you like a story that explains everything at a good steady pace, then this is not for you. But, considering it's faults and highlights, Breath Of Angel is something that I know I will read again, and I can't wait for the next book in The Angeleon Circle to be released.

    I received a complimentary copy of Breath Of Angel from Waterbrook Multnomah for the purpose of writing a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Angelic Fantasy Adventure That Leaves You Wanting More

    Breath of an Angel, Karen Henley is the first in a trilogy of books called <em>The Angelaeon Circle</em>. The book is an engaging journey of angelic fantasy that follows the journey of a young girl Melaia a young priestess who finds out the world is nothing she believed it to be. What begins with the murder of an angel in front of her very eyes catapults her into an adventure that is hard to forget. Karyn Henley's writing is great and leaves you filled with anticipation for the next page. On a negative end the book took a little while to get into. Even though it begins quickly hopping into an action packed opener, it took me a while to think through pronouncing some characters names and I became confused at one point as to who was who and had to go back and reread. Overall I enjoyed the story and look forward to more installments of the tale

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Interesting read

    The stranger's cloak had fallen back, and with it, a long, white, blood-stained wing. When Melaia, a young priestess, witnesses the gruesome murder of a stranger in the temple courtyard, age-old legends recited in song suddenly come to life. She discovers wings on the stranger, and the murderer takes the shape of both a hawk and a man. Angels. Shape-shifters. Myths and stories-until now. Melaia finds herself in the middle of a blood feud between two immortal brothers who destroyed the stairway to heaven, stranding angels in the earthly realm. When Melaia becomes a target, she finds refuge with a band of angels attempting to restore the stairway. But the restoration is impossible without settling an ancient debt-the "breath of angel, blood of man," a payment that involves Melaia's heart, soul, and destiny. (book blurb) First, the cover for this book looks cooler in real life than the picture shown here, but just didn't fit the mood of the book to me, so I was sort of expecting something different, perhaps a little "darker". There are certainly darker moments, but it's not a bad read. The story is fast-paced, but some of the scenes felt a bit slow to me. If you're looking for a book with several twists, then this one has them. There's one instance of a word that reads more like it's being used as a curse word to me, but the rest of it was pretty clean (aside from a few mild suggestive references). It's the first paranormal-fantasy book I've read, and it's pretty interesting. The plot is very interesting and different than anything I've read before, and I'm curious to see where the next book takes the story. I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Breathless for Angels

    A fantasy kingdom inhabited by dwarves, woodland creatures, priestesses and...angels? Such is the setting for the book Breath of Angel by Karyn Henley. Melaia, a young priestess in training, is suddenly thrust into the middle of a conflict between good and evil angels and their descendants(!). The angelology is based loosely on biblical angels, and some Christian themes are found throughout the story.

    Despite initial misgivings, I found myself drawn in by the story about halfway through. I could even see myself reading the sequels as when they are published. Henley's writing is solid, and she maintains enough of a level of suspense to keep the reader interested. Another strong point is her character development, in which she masterfully leaves the reader wondering as to whether a good character might actually be evil, or vice-versa.

    So if you into the Fantasy/Adventure genre you might enjoy Breath of Angel. Just don't develop your theology of angels around what you read.

    Exasperating disclaimer: This book was given to me free of charge by Multnomah Press in return for a review as part of their Blogging for Books program. I am in no way obligated to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A review by Free Book Reviews

    I think Breath of Angel has merit and I enjoyed the story. When I first began to read it, I was afraid that it would degenerate into nothing more than a romance story line and I had prepared myself not to like it. Then I was pleasantly surprised for while there certainly are the obligatory romantic undertones in the work itself, the entire work is not of an overly or even a blatantly romantic nature and this is something I can certainly appreciate. The main character, Melaia, is certainly of a relatable nature and I thought it was excellent that Karyn didn't write her as the modern feminine ideal in an effort to turn her into something she's not. Very well done.
    I had also guessed the twists and turns in the plot well before I'd gotten very far in the book. Whether or not Karyn was not nebulous enough in her tiny details and her foreshadowing, I didn't consider the plot line terribly difficult to guess and I wasn't surprised after I had guessed correctly about the second time around. Stated simply, Breath of Angel didn't particularly keep me lost in the story based on peeling back the layers in the plot because I had most of it figured out pretty quickly though the implementation did keep me interested.
    There were also some areas that I had a bit of a difficult time figuring out what the author was trying to say. It's not that some places were overly descriptive and some not descriptive enough, it was more that some places in the book had the quality of an unfinished thought and it left me vaguely frustrated when that was the case.
    I also very much liked the way the story found a way to humanize the ethereal for while the humans were every bit human, the angels didn't try to stop the humans from making their mistakes but rather, walked through the humans' mistakes with them and in truth suffered the consequences just like the humans. I thought this was a fine viewpoint and I congratulate you Karyn on your originality.
    Overall, I'd have to give Breath of Angel three stars because the characters were believable and not terribly typecast, the twists and turns in the plot were easy to guess and didn't rock the world on its axis for me though the storyline stayed fluid. There were places I would hazard a wager would've been far more enriching for the overall reading experience had Karyn followed her thought pattern to its conclusion, however you can rest assured that I'll look forward to the next novel in The Angeleon Circle, whatever the title may turn out to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1