Customer Reviews for

The Breath of God: A Novel of Suspense

Average Rating 4
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

A New Light

To be honest, I stumbled upon this book in search of something to satisfy my desire for another Dan Brown type novel. I don't remember if I found it on my own or if someone recommended it, but nonetheless I'm glad I found it. I'm not an extensive reader, but I definitel...
To be honest, I stumbled upon this book in search of something to satisfy my desire for another Dan Brown type novel. I don't remember if I found it on my own or if someone recommended it, but nonetheless I'm glad I found it. I'm not an extensive reader, but I definitely enjoy a good book. I was raised Catholic, but no longer have a real Christian (or other religion) or scientific allegiance. I am open minded about all avenues of spirituality, and I simply desire knowledge and truth. Jeffrey Smalls writing emits a down-to-earth resonance with me. The combination of suspense and underlying meaning made this book difficult to put down. Instead of uncovering a secret dark truth I was enlightened to the possibilty of a legitimate way that humanity could be united, which is something that seems impossible in this day and age. I am anxious to expand my personal knowledge and understanding of many things after reading this. It was a pleasurable and educational read, and easily a book than people from any walk of life can enjoy.

posted by St-Paul-Peter on October 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Do no waste time and money

The topic of this novella may be very noble and engaging (finding common ground for Buddhism and Christianity, etc.), the author is a well qualified scholar...I bought a book, after all, for exactly those reasons... Unfortunately, the result is a danbrown'esque novel th...
The topic of this novella may be very noble and engaging (finding common ground for Buddhism and Christianity, etc.), the author is a well qualified scholar...I bought a book, after all, for exactly those reasons... Unfortunately, the result is a danbrown'esque novel that is quite "secondary", predictable, all those riddles, clues and villans, chases and even Vatican, thus boooring! I am a voracious reader but gave up on the page 124... Would recommend only to those readers who never read any novels of this sort before.

posted by IanaKras on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 292 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Amazing

    Amazing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Great read!

    Lots of twists and turns that keep you turning the pages. Enjoyed it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Just right!

    Very interesting read, great messages for those who are ready. They are tucked in here & there amongst the controversial subject of religion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I love love loved this book! It is an easy read, but one you just can't lay down. I thoroughly enjoyed it and the new possibilities it opens in people's minds.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Highly Recommended - Could not put it down.

    Pretty involved religious context with suspense story wrapped around it. I found it highly entertaining and enlightening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Exciting story line - good read!

    If you enjoy the excitement of what will happen next you will love this book! I can't wait for his next book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Very New Age

    While well written, this book totally supports New Age precepts, that god is in us, and all gods are god as opposed to the God of the Bible being the only God.

    As a Christian, I don't like putting these untruths in my head, and would not recommend it for anyone seeking to know more about the real and only God and Creator of the universe.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    An excellent book, hard to put down.

    Suspenseful, provocative, a great read. I can't wait for his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Jeffery Small is a good story teller. The book takes you all ove

    Jeffery Small is a good story teller. The book takes you all over the world in search of the truth. He has a way of bringing you into the story and rooting for the main characters. Good suspense and and adventure. I would recommend more of his books. A great read that you can hardly put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Wnderful

    I greatly enjoyed ! Thanks for approaching a subject that is touchy to alot of people. I'm a big fan of the what if.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Reserved positive rating

    Addressing the inevitable complaining by Christians, the Issa texts form a part of a long-running debate among eccumenical scholars. This book is NOT an insult to religion, just yours.

    To echo anothe person's criticism, the book is very repetitve. The same things happen repeatedly and at time, the reader is ripped from the story by this.

    Th premise is good. The basics pf the plot are good. What needs work is execution. The primary and secondary villians are too neat and, pardon the aside but, too easily recogniable as potentially every Right-Wing Fundamentalist Christian we meet.

    The author gets a B for plot, a B for character but a C for narrative and pacing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I read this on my husband's Nook. Don't bother. This is billed o

    I read this on my husband's Nook. Don't bother. This is billed on the cover as “suspense,’ but that’s untrue. There is no suspense in this. Long-drawn-out chapters full of repetition drone on. I read the whole book, to give it a fair chance, but it wasn’t worth it. The plot is too coincidental, too convenient; he meets exactly the people with exactly the skills he can use; things just happen to save them in the nick of time. To echo another reviewer, it’s melodrama. It has too much foul language, and the religious references, so-called, are offensive. The main character’s conclusions are all in his mind. No way would the media jump on them, nor would his imaginary texts change religions worldwide. The sicko murderer had to be a ‘true believer’ and ‘chosen,’ which smacks of popular TV, with all its erroneous assumptions and the fiction that Christianity is a myth. I find it derogatory to people of faith. It is full of old, tired clichés and obvious errors. :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Boring

    Free was too much. Typical thinks it is intellectual and edgy actually have read books just like it over and over again. Waste of time read a cereal box instead.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    To What Religion

    It's good to read books that critisize your faith to gain an understanding of their motives and opinions, and to know where they are coming from and if their arguments are valid or not. Very beneficial.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Pretty good read

    NOT Dan Brown but still a good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Horrible

    Worst. Book. Ever. Don't waste your time or money on this book. It is nothing but a dissapointmrnt.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Very good read!!

    Very well written and I would recommed to any lover of books. I look forward to more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Fascinating book

    This book is masterfully written. Well researched and intellectually fascinating without falling into the trap of reading like a history lecture. Fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Fiction

    To all the reviewers who think this is either spiritually enlightening or blasphemous: this is a piece of fiction! Relax and enjoy the ride. If your hold on your faith----whatever it is....is strong then you shouldn't be overwrought about this book.It is just another piece of FICTION. I could tell this was going to be a controversial story theme by the description and comparison to Dan Brown. If you know such things will bother you then don't read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Heretical thinking expressed in story form.

    I will, of course, be scoffed at for narrow-mindedness, but that's ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 292 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15