Customer Reviews for

The Breath of God: A Novel of Suspense

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

A New Light

To be honest, I stumbled upon this book in search of something to satisfy my desire for another Dan Brown type novel. I don't remember if I found it on my own or if someone recommended it, but nonetheless I'm glad I found it. I'm not an extensive reader, but I definitel...
To be honest, I stumbled upon this book in search of something to satisfy my desire for another Dan Brown type novel. I don't remember if I found it on my own or if someone recommended it, but nonetheless I'm glad I found it. I'm not an extensive reader, but I definitely enjoy a good book. I was raised Catholic, but no longer have a real Christian (or other religion) or scientific allegiance. I am open minded about all avenues of spirituality, and I simply desire knowledge and truth. Jeffrey Smalls writing emits a down-to-earth resonance with me. The combination of suspense and underlying meaning made this book difficult to put down. Instead of uncovering a secret dark truth I was enlightened to the possibilty of a legitimate way that humanity could be united, which is something that seems impossible in this day and age. I am anxious to expand my personal knowledge and understanding of many things after reading this. It was a pleasurable and educational read, and easily a book than people from any walk of life can enjoy.

posted by St-Paul-Peter on October 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Do no waste time and money

The topic of this novella may be very noble and engaging (finding common ground for Buddhism and Christianity, etc.), the author is a well qualified scholar...I bought a book, after all, for exactly those reasons... Unfortunately, the result is a danbrown'esque novel th...
The topic of this novella may be very noble and engaging (finding common ground for Buddhism and Christianity, etc.), the author is a well qualified scholar...I bought a book, after all, for exactly those reasons... Unfortunately, the result is a danbrown'esque novel that is quite "secondary", predictable, all those riddles, clues and villans, chases and even Vatican, thus boooring! I am a voracious reader but gave up on the page 124... Would recommend only to those readers who never read any novels of this sort before.

posted by IanaKras on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Seames to be world's religions

    For those asking about the reviews of the book...first the book is free, so you don't loose money of it goes against your beliefs and want to delete later. Second, from the first pages of reviews inside the book... it all comes to world's religions, being opened minded and it is supposed to be a suspense like "Davinci code". Based on history and facts...a novel to have your mind guessing and opened to what else is out there.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Reserved positive rating

    Addressing the inevitable complaining by Christians, the Issa texts form a part of a long-running debate among eccumenical scholars. This book is NOT an insult to religion, just yours.

    To echo anothe person's criticism, the book is very repetitve. The same things happen repeatedly and at time, the reader is ripped from the story by this.

    Th premise is good. The basics pf the plot are good. What needs work is execution. The primary and secondary villians are too neat and, pardon the aside but, too easily recogniable as potentially every Right-Wing Fundamentalist Christian we meet.

    The author gets a B for plot, a B for character but a C for narrative and pacing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    This is a 2nd rate Dan Brown type story. The theological questi

    This is a 2nd rate Dan Brown type story. The theological questions are thought provoking, but the story went on for about 100 pages too long. Some good editing would have made this a more enjoyable story. Still, if you can slog your way through it, it's not a bad read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Issa'll good

    Similar to the religious themed mysteries by Dan Brown, but more realistic this book is a page turner. Very readable and one of those books that makes you question what you thought you knew, and perhaps think "why not?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    SLOW

    It takes too long for the story to develop I almost did not finish reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Good but ....

    Lacking depth. Some characters were very 2 dimensional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book - liked the characters and the plot. I most enjoyed the scenes with the monks, and the comparative religion ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    INTERESTING AND THOUGHT PROVOKING

    I picked up this book because I like historical and religious fiction novels. It wasn't what I expected, though it was still a good read.
    I disagree with the author with his conclusions, but found it interesting to read from his perspective.
    It was well written and interesting, but I can't in good conscience recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    great story

    the story is a dan brown type of novel, with a great plot but with diferent paces when you read this novel at some points you want to throw it away and neer to the end you cant put it down. if it where rewriten editing (shorting) the parts that are irrevert to the drama this could be a number one best seller, and coverted to a movie a boxoffice hit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Great read

    Love the subject matter and the writing is pretty good...in fact i could not put it down. Therefore i can say the plot development gets 4 stars. Character development however gets a 2 at best....pretty one dimensional and none too bright are the protagonists and most everyone else as well. Read the sample for next book and it is testosterone only...no female characters at all. Why would a woman read such a book? Suggest the author study basic psychology to gain a little depth into character building and especially how to include a strong female perspective. Would love to read more novels exploring the spiritual essence at the heart of all religion and how they are all so similar under the politics and dogma.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Free friday book

    This was the free friday book for april 19, 2013.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Free fridays!

    Is this book good for a 16 year old girl. I wish they would have a romance book for once.

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3