Customer Reviews for

The Breath of God: A Novel of Suspense

Average Rating 4
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

A New Light

To be honest, I stumbled upon this book in search of something to satisfy my desire for another Dan Brown type novel. I don't remember if I found it on my own or if someone recommended it, but nonetheless I'm glad I found it. I'm not an extensive reader, but I definitel...
To be honest, I stumbled upon this book in search of something to satisfy my desire for another Dan Brown type novel. I don't remember if I found it on my own or if someone recommended it, but nonetheless I'm glad I found it. I'm not an extensive reader, but I definitely enjoy a good book. I was raised Catholic, but no longer have a real Christian (or other religion) or scientific allegiance. I am open minded about all avenues of spirituality, and I simply desire knowledge and truth. Jeffrey Smalls writing emits a down-to-earth resonance with me. The combination of suspense and underlying meaning made this book difficult to put down. Instead of uncovering a secret dark truth I was enlightened to the possibilty of a legitimate way that humanity could be united, which is something that seems impossible in this day and age. I am anxious to expand my personal knowledge and understanding of many things after reading this. It was a pleasurable and educational read, and easily a book than people from any walk of life can enjoy.

posted by St-Paul-Peter on October 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Do no waste time and money

The topic of this novella may be very noble and engaging (finding common ground for Buddhism and Christianity, etc.), the author is a well qualified scholar...I bought a book, after all, for exactly those reasons... Unfortunately, the result is a danbrown'esque novel th...
The topic of this novella may be very noble and engaging (finding common ground for Buddhism and Christianity, etc.), the author is a well qualified scholar...I bought a book, after all, for exactly those reasons... Unfortunately, the result is a danbrown'esque novel that is quite "secondary", predictable, all those riddles, clues and villans, chases and even Vatican, thus boooring! I am a voracious reader but gave up on the page 124... Would recommend only to those readers who never read any novels of this sort before.

posted by IanaKras on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    More Steve Berry than Dan Brown

    Not quite up to The DaVinci Code standard however a good read non-the-less.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Great Book

    If you like Dan Brown you'll like Jeffrey Small. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. I'd highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Great read!

    Lots of twists and turns that keep you turning the pages. Enjoyed it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Just right!

    Very interesting read, great messages for those who are ready. They are tucked in here & there amongst the controversial subject of religion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Exciting story line - good read!

    If you enjoy the excitement of what will happen next you will love this book! I can't wait for his next book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Jeffery Small is a good story teller. The book takes you all ove

    Jeffery Small is a good story teller. The book takes you all over the world in search of the truth. He has a way of bringing you into the story and rooting for the main characters. Good suspense and and adventure. I would recommend more of his books. A great read that you can hardly put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Pretty good read

    NOT Dan Brown but still a good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Fiction

    To all the reviewers who think this is either spiritually enlightening or blasphemous: this is a piece of fiction! Relax and enjoy the ride. If your hold on your faith----whatever it is....is strong then you shouldn't be overwrought about this book.It is just another piece of FICTION. I could tell this was going to be a controversial story theme by the description and comparison to Dan Brown. If you know such things will bother you then don't read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    A great read!

    Intrigue, action, mystery, suspense and religion all rolled into one fast paced interesting story. Well worth the time spent reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    New Author

    Great first book! Reccommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Thought provoking

    ...and exciting. Keeps you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    Absolutely a must read

    I really liked this book. Even though this book is about religion, it has so much suspense with twists and turns that are unbelievable. It took great passion and some romance to accomplish their goal, but nothing seemed to stop the pair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Great read!

    If you like intrigue and religon, this book is for you. Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Great book

    Gret book along the lines of dan brown and thw divinci code. The main characters were very well done. I cried over kinley and cheered ummon the older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Loved it

    Great read held my attention

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Jeffery Small is a great story teller!

    Wow, what a book! From the minute I opened this book, I was white water rafting, then learning philosophy from monks! This book did what a good book should. It was thought provoking! I could not put it down! If you have not had a chance to read it, put it on your summer reading list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Pretty Good

    Pretty good. Interesting story line. Interesting concept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    I love a good yarn.

    I love a good yarn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Move over, Dan Brown!! Jeffrey Small has written a suspense-thri

    Move over, Dan Brown!! Jeffrey Small has written a suspense-thriller about a grad student's quest for the truth about Jesus' life from age 12 to his ministry that is gripping, exciting and intriguing.

    Grad student Grant Matthews has heard stories about an ancient text that details the "missing years" of Jesus' (aka Issa) life in India and Bhutan, where Jesus learned the secrets of Hinduism and Buddhism. Grant decides to find the text and base his doctoral thesis on it, so he travels to Bhutan in the hops of finding it. A freak accident lands him in a Bhuddist monastery in Bhutan where he eventually discovers yet another ancient text that details how Jesus spent his youth travelling through India and Bhutan. Excited by his discovery, Grant returns to the US to announce his discovery to the world, only to have his photos and noted mysteriously erased from his laptop and his discovery called fraudulent by an evengelical minister who feels the texts threaten the foundation of Christianity. (After all, if Jesus studied and learned from other religions, he couldn't really be God, right?)

    Not one to accept defeat, Grant, and the photo-journalist, Kristin, who he meets while she's visting the monastery, travel back to Bhutan to bring the ancients texts to the US. Their journey is fraught with danger and intrigue. The author presents the religious perspectives in a matter-of-fact manner that allows the reader to see the interconnectivity between religions. Unlike Dan Brown, Small is never pendantic or preachy (my issue with The DaVinci Code).

    I have to admit that by the end, I was starting to tire of the "bad guy," but there's a surprise twist at the end that was hinted at but that I really didn't see coming. But, all and all, I highly recommend this book for its well-crafted, suspenseful plot..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    For Seekers of Ideas Hidden in a Thriller.

    The writing style, fictional narrative, and characterizations follow conventional lines. The background research that shines through, however, is fascinating, even worthy of highlights and notes. For those who have a similar experience with reading this book, the author has written a scholarly nonfiction book that offers further exploration of the author's extensive research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5